With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1070 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Patricia Fryer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Barcelona City Tours did a fantastic job. Guide was great. We saw a lot in a full day of touring. Had no idea what to expect at Montserrat and am so glad I went. Loved Park Guell and the all things Gaudi.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Bob S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Marc, our tour guide, was amazing. He combined Montserrat history with its' architecture, culture, and background of religious influences. The site is inspiring and beautiful.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

wilsonj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip of Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip the-Line Park Guell Entry and Hotel pick up was really a great time and saw so much - The tour guide was very good - enjoyed the whole tour! wish we would of had more time

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Martha C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was the highlight of our Mediterranean vacation. Marta is an excellent guide and made the entire day both informative and delightful. Our van was comfortable and our driver extremely helpful.
Our overview of Barcelona and the drive to Montserrat as well as Park Quell more then met our expectations. My husband and I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Warwickfamily

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Well worth doing the early morning tour to beat the crowds and get access to the Madonna. The natural beauty of the place is amazing. We saw everything went up the finicular, walked to San Miquel Cross and enjoyed the liquor tasting, and the samples from the market vendors. Purchased the most fabulous Montserrat biscotti and almond biscuits. Thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Jennifer E S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

One of our best tours. Had a great guide for both places. Montserrat we were give a small tour with our guide and then left to free time, which was great. Local produce being sold there gave us the opportunity to have a picnic. Plenty of time to do what we needed. Unfortunately the boy choir were not there as they leave September every year.
The Cava tour was a surprise. This was really interesting. We were handed to the guide from the Cava House and he was knowledgeable and entertaining. Would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Gary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The Montserrat is a must see if you are in the Barcelona area. Not only the facility but the view from the mountains is breath taking.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

twills Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A lot packed into a day but gives a great overall insight to see what you can go back to if you want. Montserrat was awesome. You must take the cog train.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Kathy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic tour all around, Feliciano was an excellent guide. Montserrat was spectacular, and Feliciano had perfect suggestions for timing our free time exploring the grounds. The cava tour was excellent as well, I can't recommend this tour more highly! Definitely need the longer amount of time to see Montserrat, you could easily spend a full day here!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Cassandra C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very well-planned, timely and organized tour. The day started off with our amazing tour guide, Marc, showing us Montserrat and providing historical background on the area. Following, we had a decent amount of free time to do any additional sightseeing/shopping/etc we wanted. The lunch and wine tasting was good and also fun as we got to know the other people in our group. The castle at Oller del Mas also had quite an interesting history to it as well. Only downside was the lack of air conditioning at the restaurant on a very hot day. I highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Stewart S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-line Park Guell was guided by Marta who gave all 12 of us a very thorough and informative tour around the sights of Barcelona. Our hotel was in a restricted traffic zone so we had a less than 10 minute walk to the pick-up point. Marta spoke perfect English spending many years in the U.S. and was pleasant and attentive to our needs. A great tour and guide.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Marion K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful tour, but should have more time in Montserrat. There was so much to do and we had to race around trying to fit everything I but couldn't. We didn't have time to eat or look at the market stalls and we rushed everything we did see.
The mountains are superb, and so much to do there. Definitely recommend taking the funicular to the top.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Eunbyul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was probably the most memorable part of our trip! Marta and David were great! Marta was so funny and answered every single question we had. We were also a small group of 14 people which was amazing. Montserrat was breathtaking! During our 1 and half hour of free time in Montserrat, my mom and I took the Sant Joan Funicular and did some hiking. I recommend doing this tour during your first day of visit. My mom and I went back to Sagrada Familia the next day and understood Gaudi's work much better thanks to Marta's tour.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

M A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Frances made this experience really wonderful. Montserrat is stunning tucked away in the serrated mountains that inspired Gaudi. I had a lovely time wandering at the top of the funicular. Lunch at Ollers del Mas was lovely, very nice food, free flowing wine and water and then the wine tasting and tour of the winery. A great day out. I returned to my hotel at the end of the day and fell into bed happy and relaxed.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Anthony B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a full day of touring, Nick our tour guide was very engaging and accommodative providing us options with how we would like to spend the day. The morning was spent at Montserrat, while the afternoon was spent in Barcelona. Everyone had different favourites whether it was Montserrat, the view of Barcelona from Montjuic, Sagrada Familiar or Gaudi.
We found Nick very knowledgeable about history and the area, he proved to be a very good tour guide.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Douglas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great Montserrat tour!!! Our tour
guide was good too!
Margriet- Explore Catalunya was so helpful in changing our La Sagrada Familia tickets to add the Tower on the Passion façade. Seeing the towers is a must!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

KK Toh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Montserrat is definitely worth the visit! I would recommend a full day tour instead to truly admire and explore its beauty and charm.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Nikki R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour guide, and great tour! Fantastic bus driver that was able to go up super curvy roads. It was VERY nice to be in Montserrat before the crowds!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Nikki R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour guide, and great tour! Fantastic bus driver that was able to go up super curvy roads. It was VERY nice to be in Montserrat before the crowds!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Dadrie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My visit to Montserrat superseded my expectations. A place you have to experience for yourself to understand the breath taking views and serenity combined.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Lorna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Trip was very, very enlightening. Time frame too short to absorb all that Montserrat has to offer. Missed our wine tasting opportunity, but would still recommend the trip. Loved the Basilica a lot.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Teresa L K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved the Montserrat half - Day tour. It let us see some of the country side around Barcelona. The views from the top of the peak were amazing.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Montserrat is a must see! It was a wonderful trip, the tour guide and transportation were great.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Steve M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip. Montserrat was beautiful and our guide Laura was very knowledgeable. We had no idea what to expect on the Cava tour and were very pleasantly surprised

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lynne A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Love the mountains? Then a short drive from Barcelona find Montserrat, the beautiful mountain home of some monks and a great place to get a 360 degree view of the valley all the way to the Pyrenees mountains. There are also several hiking trails to various points. Our guide did a great job of explaining the history of the area and the buildings. We had plenty of time to do some exploring on our own. There was also a local farmer's market onsite the day we visited selling local products honey, cheeses, etc....

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message