With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1024 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Adrienne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Victoria was pleasant and informative. We truly enjoyed visiting Montserrat. We never felt rushed and had time to do everything we wanted.
The Skip-the-Line to La Sagrada Familia ticket worked well, but we did not know that we needed a different ticket to access the tower or to have a guide.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Sharon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My teenagers and I loved the half day trip to Montserrat. It was very well planned and the right amount of time to explore this beautiful place during our limited time in Spain. We rode the car up the mountain to hike, see the best views and take pictures. Our tour guide was great and very informative.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

LISA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent tour with an excellent guide - Francis! It's hard to describe the beauty of Montserrat. The views are spectacular - especially if you take the funicular up to the top and hike down like we did. Since the entire group wanted to go up the guide came with us. I was disappointed that I didn't hear the boys choir though.
Lunch at the winery was great too. The food just kept coming along with the wine! Next we toured the vineyard and winery and did our wine tasting. The history is mind-blowing and Francis had all the details! My only disappointment was that they only sampled red wines and I'm a white drinker.
This was another amazing and full day and we literally crashed when we got back to our hotel!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Melissa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a perfect end to our 10 day Paris/Barcelona trip. The tour guide was easy to find and the bus left right on time. The views from and of Montserrat were amazing. Lunch at Oller del Mas was delicious. The thing that made this trip worth 5 stars was our tour guide, Simon. He shared so much information with us during both tours. He went above and beyond to make sure our day went smoothly. I especially enjoyed the conversations between him and the rest of our small group 9 people during and after our lunch.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Alice Y United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic tour. We were picked up at Plaza Catalunya because our hotel was just a little down on the Ramblas. Our 15 people tour van showed up on time and our guide called us by name! We were the first to be picked up and we went to each groups hotels to pick our group up.

We were given a clear explanation of our schedule and were taken to Montserrat first. This was because our guide Dolsa wanted to beat the crowd of the long weekend. Dolsa is very warm and friendly. Her english is fluent and she gave us great information on our one hour drive to the mountain. We did not have time to explore every trail around Montserrat but it was a nice overview of the place.

In the afternoon, we went to a vantage point on Montjuic, walked around the outside of Sagrada Familia and then to Park Guell. Again, we did not see every corner of the park but had enough time to get a good idea of the place. We were then taken back to our pick-up point.

What made the tour so special was Dolsa. She knew when to let us doze off on the ride, when to give us the photo ops we want, gave great information, minimized how much we had to walk, and took great care of us all around. She actually sounded like she liked the places she took us to, which I cant say of other guides.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Jackie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had to wake up really early to make the bus pick up, but it was totally worth it when we got there ahead of the wave of fellow tourists.
Our tour guide was knowledgeable of Montserrat and took everyone's need into consideration.
We also love the small group.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Aviva R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best trips we've ever taken! Julia, the tour guide, was awesome. Beyond creating a fun, welcoming experience, she shared just a load of local information. We learned so much! Montserrat was just beautiful, we were able to take a walking trail up the mountain. The Cava Trail portion of the trip was even better. We visited Cordoniu, one of the oldest cava makers in Spain I think. It was both interesting and moderately intoxicating :. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

cfryan1970

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Gloria was friendly and knowledgable! Great trip and fun combination of Montserrat with the winery tour. Even my teen kids loved it!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

patricia g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very beautiful trip! Guide informative and helpful. We had just enough time to explore the beautiful scenery for the Montserrat part, then on to the Cava winery tour. There were plenty of dining options at Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Kathy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nice ride through the countryside and up the winding mountain road to the great Montserrat. Truly lovely.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

popo63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Montserrat is simply spectacular, must see! Well organized tour at the mountain with lots of free time. Wine tour was also fantastic, Parés Balta is an and #34;organic and #34; winery, great guide Maria gave us great overview and sampling of the wines.Most amazing part was our tour guide Julia! Merce

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Erika H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour of Montserrat is definitely a must do while in Barcelona. Plenty of time to explore, shop, and take the cable cars to the top. Lunch at the winery was leisurely and the food and wine just did not stop. I think we spent about 2 hours eating, talking, and relaxing. The food itself was great!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Joseph S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth getting up early to be the only tour group at Montserrat!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

agneschg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A good way to see Montserrat if you don and #39;t have much time. The guide was knowledgeable. We got just enough time to see the black Madonna and listen to the boy choir - which was heavenly. Will definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Risa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was great! Guide was very knowledgeable but kept things light and fun. 2 hours of free time in Montserrat was just enough to explore. Lunch was great (ton of food) and the wines we tasted were delicious (all reds, FYI). First viator tour and would definitely go again

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Gilles L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wow, what a fantastic day! Our guide Francesco was great! We went up to the top of the mountain with the cog railway, takes about 10 minutes and walked down the south side of the mountain. It took about 45 minutes and the path was paved and easy to walk even though some places are a bit steep. It is well worth it because the views are incredible at the top and on the way down there are lots of photo opps!The visit to the winery was wonderful. We had a fantastic lunch outside at the winery and had tons of great food and the wine was delicious! The views of Montserrat where dramatic from the winery. The wine tasting was fun and very delicious! A great day!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I and #39;ve taken two Viator tours now (other was Malaga to Gibraltar) and loved both. We left on time, guide was great, and the trip to Montserrat was fantastic. The views there are wonderful! The wine tour was also very informative and interesting. Overall a great trip and good value.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Maritza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was an extraordinary experience to see Montserrat Monastery early in the morning when there is no other tourists around. A beautiful place and a most see while in Barcelona!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Hanson N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It's really good idea to be at Montserrat early with less people, less heat

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Meigan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent time! Montserrat is a must see and having a guide to bring us and provided recommendations was a bonus. The Cava tour was also fabulous and the tasting even better. We had a great group and our tour guide Joseph really made it special.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Pamela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Phenomenal tour! Clara rocked it! This was an all day adventure! Montserrat is breathtaking. The food was awesome and plentiful, with copious amounts of wine at luncheon, and the winery was fantastic! I cannot rave enough. This is a must do if you have a full day to enjoy a tour. Thanks, Clara!!!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

kathleen.h.kam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommended. Montserrat was beautiful and the views were amazing. Lunch was fantastic and the winery was a fun experience. The wine is great and learning how they make and bottle it was interesting.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

marius s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

highly recommended with great tour guide Elena but more time should be spent at Montserrat

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was excellent and provided a wonderful of Barcelona and Montserrat.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must do when in Madrid. The scenery and views are breathtaking. Montserrat is something like I've never seen before.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message