With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1152 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lorenzina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Montserrat was spectacular! Wish we had more time to explore. We missed seeing the choir and the Black Madonna.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great tour! This was my second visit to Montserrat, but first time to go up the mountain on the funicular. We had time to tour the cathedral, take the trip up the mountain, shop, taste some local cheeses, and even some local liquor. The trip to Oller del Mas was scenic and our guide was very knowledgeable about the area. Lunch was very nice, then on to the winery and tastings. The property, vineyard and castle were just so pretty! After a tour of the processing area, we were taken to a room in the castle for bread, cheese and wine. Perfect day!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Such a wonderful tour! Our guide picked us up at our hotel in a van we shared with 3 other tourists. A local, he was extremely enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and considerate. It was a great time-saver to be delivered to Montserrat and Park Guell rather than having to find our own way. Our guide provided a very informative tour of the outside of Segrada Familia - what a treat. We were able to see a great deal of Barcelona while learning about its history and culture. Every stop was a beautiful experience. It's hard to pick a favorite, but Montserrat is not to be missed. We chose to visit the art museum there, an impressive and moving collection.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Montserrat is a breathtakingly beautiful place - well worth a visit! Our guide Martha was helpful and informative and we also had plenty of time to do the fantastic walk out to the chapel which I recommend. The cog wheel to the very top was closed for maintenance which was disappointing but we saw the black Madonna and heard the choir sing which was special! And then we had the unexpectedly fun experience of a tour of the cava caves and a generous tasting! A highlight of our Barcelona trip!
Karen

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Courtney E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour, our tour guide Marc was very informative and fun. He gave us a brief tour or Montserrat's highlights and then allowed for about an hour and a half of free time. I suggest walking out to the cross to take some amazing pics of Montserrat. Next we ventured to the winery. The lunch provided had a ton of food 3-4 apps, main course and a dessert or coffee and was delicious, definitely recommend the sausage plate if that is an option. The wine tasting was fun and informative as well. Definitely recommend this day trip, a nice outdoor escape from the city.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

dehuggins1915

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide Sasha was wonderful. We got to Montserrat very early, leaving the meeting spot at 7:15.... which I highly recommend. And even though it was COLD and a bit uncomfortable we were the first visitors and were able to see everything in a non-rushed manner. She was a wonderful guide who was enthusiastic and obviously into the entire spectacular story of Montserrat. I would highly recommend this tour, Montserrat is not to be missed and this is a great way to see it. If you go early in the winter or probably early spring be sure to bundle up!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Amy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour! We got to Montserrat early and took a short tour with our guide before being given about three hours to explore on our own. This gave us plenty of time to take a funicular up to the top, each a picnic lunch with stunning views, and hike back down to the monastery. We then drove a short ways to a family-run winery where we took a tour of facilities and sampled 5 different cavas and wines. I wouldn't change a thing about this day - it's was perfect. Our tour guide, Julia, was fantastic - friendly, energetic, and knowledgeable. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Janet G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Not usually a fan of group tours, but this was very well organised, small group, plenty of free time to explore montserrat. Nice vineyard and wine tasting. Alex was a great guide.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Carl D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It did not take long to understand why Montserrat came so highly recommended by Spaniards on the plane... Montserrat is so close to Barcelona yet so far in experience. To travel through the serrated mountains, view the Abbey and then partake in a first-class meal and wine tasting tour was a memory only equalled by La Sagrada Familia. The tour was well priced, well timed and has our strongest recommendation.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Brittany M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The guide that I had was fantastic! Simon knew so much about the monastery and the vineyard, it was great. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone, Montserrat is a beautiful area.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Ragnhild F Norge

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I absolutely recommend these small-group tours in stead of large groups. We were 8 the guide and it was perfect. The guide told us about all kinds of things we passed on the way, and when we arrived Montserrat he first took a guided walk with us and then we were on our own to choose what we wanted to do. I visited the basilica where we could touch the black madonna and the art museum that the guide recommended as it have some masterpieces of famous artist, but still the art museum is not well known. The rest of the time I was wandering around taking pictures. Many good spots for nice pictures there.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

scenicwhirlpool

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Good to go early - when we are leaving crowds are coming in
Bring more warm clothing - it can be cold in the morning when you reach
Remember to buy breakfast the previous day, as shops / cafes are not opened yet when you board the bus from barcelona city centre meeting point
Will recommend to anyone to visit this half day tour of Montserrat!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Margaret J. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Would have been a beautiful site from Montserrat except that day was rainy and the fog was so thick we couldn't see beyond 10 feet in front of us. The monastery was beautiful and the boys choir was angelic to hear. The black Madonna was a nice feature to see. The second stop was to Cordorniu Cava vineyards for a tour and tasting. Beautiful facility and the tour was kinteresting and educational. Tastings were quite nice with opportunity to purchase additional Cava from the company store.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

sreeram.shankar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A great trip to the amazing Montserrat, our guides Alex and Albert were great and always helping us, the wine tasting and the countryside was also amazing spots for great pictures, this tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Chee.andrea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Montserrat was captivating. Breath-taking sights and a delightful walk. A fabulous experience for the family - very memorable and pleasant.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

roslynrosejos0512

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I simply love Martha, she knows her history and she even talked about the culture in Catalan and in Spain as a whole. I really enjoyed the Montserrat trip. Furthermore, I believe that the small group is a lot more enjoyable than a big group tour, the tour is not rushed and we have time to interact with our fellow tour members.

Martha is really a gem and a very good tour guide.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Thomas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Montserrat is a definite must when visiting the area and the guide was very knowledgeable. Everything was very well organized from the time we checked in to the time we were dropped off. Needless to say it was awesome!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Todor K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very well organized tour with everything from the Montserrat visit to the winery experience lunchwine tasting.
We we not lucky with the weather rain, wind and fog... - however the tips from our guide Alex helped us to take the most from Montserrat. An that's why you always have to add the winery afterwards, as it compensates for everything that might have been wrong with the weather :

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Maria F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Montserrat is a very nice place to visit where you can touch the Black Madonna. Lots of religious history, etc

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

g_racheva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing!. Montserrat in the morning is a quite spectacular view! The wine tasting was quite fun and the history behund the winery very impressive. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Ramon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excelent choice!!!! I fully enjoyed the trip to Montserrat, the views, the church and to learn about all the history about the place, specially about Loyola. Our tour guide was perfect, very kind and always willing to help. The wine tasting and the food ar Oller del Mas was really good too. I really recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

arabesque1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was the best, great value, Montserrat is a must see when in Barcelona.
Brian and Kerry

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Maria Lisa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great experience being in Montserrat before the crowd and having the place all to yourself for a moment at least. I thought the free time was just enough. We were able to take the tram up funicular, though it was kind of foggy upon reaching the top, it was still an awesome experience. I would do it again without a doubt.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

fatz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing tour to see Montserrat!!!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

Carol J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved this tour and would highly recommend it to everyone. Everything went like clockwork, the pickup at Catalunya Plaza was perfect. It was a cold, rainy, and cloudy day so we didn't get to see the sunrise, but it was still beautiful and wonderful to be there before the crowds. Make sure you go to the Audiovisual presentation. The boys choir and the adult soloists plus the pictures were spectacular. You can take pictures in the Basilica as long as there is not a religious service going on no flashes though. Be sure and get the free cookies if your ticket includes them as they are delicious. I didn't eat them til we got on the bus. I would recommend buying more as they are so good. If you go on the Early Access Tour, you will find street vendors have set up along the street by the time you leave. They have free samples and the cheese is so good. There's a wonderful feeling at Montserrat and we are so glad we went. Oh, there are hikes you can take which would really be fun, but it was rainy when we went. We would love to go again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message