With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1133 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Chee.andrea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Montserrat was captivating. Breath-taking sights and a delightful walk. A fabulous experience for the family - very memorable and pleasant.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

roslynrosejos0512

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I simply love Martha, she knows her history and she even talked about the culture in Catalan and in Spain as a whole. I really enjoyed the Montserrat trip. Furthermore, I believe that the small group is a lot more enjoyable than a big group tour, the tour is not rushed and we have time to interact with our fellow tour members.

Martha is really a gem and a very good tour guide.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Thomas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Montserrat is a definite must when visiting the area and the guide was very knowledgeable. Everything was very well organized from the time we checked in to the time we were dropped off. Needless to say it was awesome!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Todor K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

A very well organized tour with everything from the Montserrat visit to the winery experience lunchwine tasting.
We we not lucky with the weather rain, wind and fog... - however the tips from our guide Alex helped us to take the most from Montserrat. An that's why you always have to add the winery afterwards, as it compensates for everything that might have been wrong with the weather :

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Maria F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Montserrat is a very nice place to visit where you can touch the Black Madonna. Lots of religious history, etc

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

g_racheva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing!. Montserrat in the morning is a quite spectacular view! The wine tasting was quite fun and the history behund the winery very impressive. I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Ramon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Excelent choice!!!! I fully enjoyed the trip to Montserrat, the views, the church and to learn about all the history about the place, specially about Loyola. Our tour guide was perfect, very kind and always willing to help. The wine tasting and the food ar Oller del Mas was really good too. I really recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

arabesque1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was the best, great value, Montserrat is a must see when in Barcelona.
Brian and Kerry

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Maria Lisa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a great experience being in Montserrat before the crowd and having the place all to yourself for a moment at least. I thought the free time was just enough. We were able to take the tram up funicular, though it was kind of foggy upon reaching the top, it was still an awesome experience. I would do it again without a doubt.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

fatz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was an amazing tour to see Montserrat!!!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

Carol J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We loved this tour and would highly recommend it to everyone. Everything went like clockwork, the pickup at Catalunya Plaza was perfect. It was a cold, rainy, and cloudy day so we didn't get to see the sunrise, but it was still beautiful and wonderful to be there before the crowds. Make sure you go to the Audiovisual presentation. The boys choir and the adult soloists plus the pictures were spectacular. You can take pictures in the Basilica as long as there is not a religious service going on no flashes though. Be sure and get the free cookies if your ticket includes them as they are delicious. I didn't eat them til we got on the bus. I would recommend buying more as they are so good. If you go on the Early Access Tour, you will find street vendors have set up along the street by the time you leave. They have free samples and the cheese is so good. There's a wonderful feeling at Montserrat and we are so glad we went. Oh, there are hikes you can take which would really be fun, but it was rainy when we went. We would love to go again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

suemarieklas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Both of our tours that day were amazing. We lucked out with beautiful weather, knowledgeable and friendly guides, and manageable crowds. I highly recommend both Montserrat and the Gaudi tour. If you can handle a 9-10 hour day, do both on the same day. Otherwise, split them up. And don't miss the La Sagrada Familia inside tour!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

lisasonrisa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was wonderful! Our guide, Xavi, was so knowledgable and friendly, from giving us a brief history of Spain and Montserrat to his excellent presentation on wine tasting. My husband and I had a great time, and highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

Kyoko T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was definitely one of the highlights of my Barcelona trip. The morning tour was awesome - not as crowded. Once up on Montserrat -- we were guided towards the church where the Noir Virgin resides, but going further up the mountain is on your own. Once at the top via Tram -- take the left trail when you exit the tram -- to get to the cross. There really was no marker / map to guide you.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

danielle

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing Trip. WE went for Montserrat which was FABULOUS! But what we really loved was Joseph and the pleasant surprise of the Cava Cave tour! Joseph made it personal and fun. And the Cava Caves tour was by far the finest wine tour i've ever been on with a gorgeous facility, full sized samples and not one, but 2 train rides :

A gorgeous day in a gorgeous location with a skilled guide. We recommend for all!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

lexieberger

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This experience was WELL worth what you pay. Our guide was fun, knowledgeable, and super friendly. Montserrat is so beautiful, a sight that really shouldn't be missed. We also loved going to the winery with our group and just sitting down to have a chat with people who have come from so many different places. Plus the wine was delicious. All in all it was one of our favorite days of our trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

rlineweber

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was an amazing tour, the winery was just great so old and so much history. Montserrat was well worth the visit. Hearing the boys sing was so much fun and so many people were in the church. A little rain for lunch but it was under cover and very good to visit with our tour partners.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Narelle K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a fantastic tour. Our guide, Albert was so personable and knowledgeable. the weather wasn't conducive to great photos, raining and foggy, but Albert kept the tour so interesting. The museum at Montserrat is worth a visit. The cathedral and surrounding areas are amazing. Our lunch @ Oller de Mas was beautiful and the wine tasting a great learning experience. To be within a castle built in 964AD was incredible. Would recommend this tour 100. A wonderful experience!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

marilu o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Going to Montserrat is the highlight of my stay in Barcelona. The place is beautiful and going early is good because we avoided the crowd.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

larryporsch United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The guide was very good. The Montserrat area WITHOUT people was worth getting up early.
Nice sun raise. Many great pictures without people in the way

When leaving so many buses over 40. Some parking down the hill.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Nicholas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

AWESOME!!!
Mind blowing views, incredible history, and the best tour guides in all of Spain!!!
Montserrat is a definite 'must see' and our lunch with wine tasting tour was nothing short of a five star experience....just book it and avoid any regrets. I guarantee you will find this money well spent.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

colbyb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Spectacular views in Montserrat.The tour guide was very informative about the history of the area.The winery was cool and we got to meet the owner.They were harvesting the grapes the day we were there.I hope you are hungry because there was lots of wine and a 6 course meal

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Lena V United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour guide was amazing! The tour itself was incredible. Montserrat was worth the drive, and the driving up that winding road. So beautiful, and such a view of the countryside. The Wine/Cheese tasting was educational, learned a lot about wine, and to be able to walk the grounds of the vineyard, and learn the history of it was something I'll never forget.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

Brian F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We arrived at Montserrat before any other tours. We were able to watch as the sun rose over the mountain displaying a beautiful sunrise. Because we were there so early there was no line to see the Black Madonna. There is a very peaceful calm early in the morning. I didn't realize how many hiking trails you could take. I would highly recommend to tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

dfsalinas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Montserrat was a great visit! After a quick tour around, our guide gave us the majority of time to explore. There were 8 of us in the tour and the drive out of the city was a little long, so we were glad we did the full day tour and not spend all that time traveling just for a half day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message