With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1170 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Francis P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Well worth the money. Elena picked us up at the cruise port at 8:30, drop us off at the hotel at 5. Very knowledge and fun to be with, gave time at at each stop to sightsee, eat and shop. She took us to Montserrat first to beat the crowds. She was just a very sweet girl and I think all 11 of us had a good time

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

JANNINE R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

AMAZING!
This is definitely worth the price and experience.
First of all, we went in late November when it was low season which I think is the way to go.
More importantly though, we got a whole bus to ourselves there were literally only like 20 of us on a large company touring bus so everyone got their own row and then some, we were the first ones at Montserrat so all my photos look great with little or no people in them. Secondly our tour guide was phenomenal - she didn't rush us, was patient to explain all the history and was very knowledgeable regarding any questions.

Highly HIGHLY recommend. Do it, you won't be sorry!
Inside tip though, be prepared for the cold, it is on a mountain and super cold - 30 degrees with slight winds and a little drizzle

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

susansung

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We booked this tour and so happy that we did! Sasha was a wonderful, friendly and informative guide! She was there to greet us promptly in the morning, provided many interesting facts on the bus ride to Montserrat. She has a great sense of humor and was always upbeat! This was a mother and daughter trip, but next time, I will take my husband and kids!
The Early Access was the best! We were able to get in photos without tourists all over the background. An hour after we were there, did other buses start pulling in. If you love to photograph, this is the tour for photographers!
Loved it! Thank you so much, Sasha!
Susan and Mary-Brooklyn, NY

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Beth A P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Montserrat was an excellent trip. On the way to Montserrat, Mark, our guide, gave us lots of great information. It was lovely to see. The only downside was that Mark fell and broke his leg. I certainly hope he is doing well.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Ruby Rose Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great tour! Able to see much of Montserrat before the crowds arrived. Sasha our guide was great and even gave us parting gift. Only thing bad was the very cold and windy weather. Will recommend to all my friends.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Elsie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Best tour ever! We got picked up at Plaça de Catalunya and were on a luxury bus for about an hour while the tour guide spoke about the history of Barcelona. Albert was the perfect tour guide -- so passionate and knowledgeable. He took us to Montserrat and explained everything thoroughly. After a brief tour and touching the Black Madonna, we got to have our own time to explore the gift shops, take the funicular, or hike 20 minutes up to the cross for pictures. It was a short hike and I highly recommend doing it. There's also a cafeteria and some local vendors outside selling honey and cheese. After that, we went to Oller del Mas for a delicious lunch with wine and amazing extra virgin olive oil. The wine tour was in depth and I learned so much about the vineyard and history of the family. We did a tasting with 3 red wines and had the option to purchase any of their wines and olive oil. We did so much during this full tour in 10 hours!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Dennis L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Montserrat was outstanding and only surpassed by the castle/wine experience that was provided as a part of this tour. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine Tasting and Tapas

tonysev

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The place itself is just breathtaking! Sascha our guide was a true professional. Knowledgable, accommodating, super energetic, personable and just a really nice person! The trip felt rushed, but certainly enough time to see the major aspects of Montserrat and left me wanting to return armed with the knowledge I gained from Sascha to explore further. Do it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Sam United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Montserrat is one of the most beautiful places we have ever seen. Spiritual, peaceful, quiet. Must see when in Spain. We took the early morning tour to beat the crowd. Monastery is must visit, breathtaking views from the top. We also paid for funicular railway to Santa Cova then hiked for 20 mins to get to caves. It's highly recommended to visit this place, try to go during off peak times. Our tour guide Sasha was a sweetheart, very knowledgeable local guide but she was too overexcited to explain too much without realising it was freezing cold. We had a memorable tour and we'd like to thank Viator, Sasha, driver and Amigo Tours.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Donna A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour and great guide. Great introduction to Barcelona and Montserrat

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

judith m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

It was cold and still dark but the early tour to Montserrat was better since there was no crowd in the cathedral and cafeteria. our female tour guide was awesome.explain things with pictures too. enjoyed our tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

sfeldine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

If you ever have the chance to visit this area, Do Not miss this excursion ! This was one of the highlights in a 12 day visit to Europe. Montserrat can't be described enough as to its beauty and history, The Air was crisp and cool so dress warmly since the temperature change was about 6-8F lower from the city when the air chill is figured in . The wine tasting was very informative and the lunch was very good .

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Joan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We loved our tour of Montserrat and cava tasting. Gloria is an excellent, knowledgeable guide. She has a fun and lively personality! It was snowing the day of our tour. Montserrat looked magical. The cava tour was very informative and delicious! We absolutely recommend this all day tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Valerie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a fantastic trip, mainly due to our guide, Fransesc. We were a diverse little group who all got along well, and having Fransesc along was like having a friend show you around. We had considered just going to Montserrat, but we are delighted we decided to include the lunch and wine tasting. Montserrat is well worth the visit we skipped the line, and Fransesc gave us a lot of details, but there were a couple of areas he wasn't allowed to go in, such as the chapel of the black virgin. After our tour of the monastery, we have some free time. The more adventurous everyone but us went up the funicular to the top of the mountain. They said the views were spectacular. We elected to walk down to a little chapel, but even that is a bit hair-raising, as you are on a path which clings to the side of a precipitous mountain. We did use the smaller funicular to get back up to the main level, and that was enough for us. After the monastery, we went to the winery. The lunch was excellent, and they were able to accommodate dietary concerns. There were a variety of appetizers, a main and dessert, and it was accompanied by wine. With all the food and wine, we could easily have had a nap, but Fransesc took us over to the vineyard and gave us an overview of the wine-making process. We then proceeded to the wine-tasting, which Fransesc led. The group voted to chip in an extra 5 euros to try another wine not included in the tasting, and we really enjoyed it. Then it was back on to the bus to go home. Fransesc came and sat with us and gave us suggestions for where to buy wine in Barcelona and what to ask for, and answered various questions. This trip was definitely one of the highlights of our two weeks in Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Lucie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour! I highly recommend this tour to everyone who is interested in visiting Montserrat. Beautiful and comfortable bus to and from the place.. Beautiful views of the mountains.. Very calming and majestic place to visit..

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Kimdrago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great time on these tours. For both Montserrat and Gaudi, each guide was very knowledgeable and enjoyable to follow along with. In Montserrat, enjoyed the chance to explore on our own as well. I cannot remember the name of our Gaudi tour guide, but she was fantastic clearly passionate about the works she speaks to.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

Lorenzina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Montserrat was spectacular! Wish we had more time to explore. We missed seeing the choir and the Black Madonna.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a great tour! This was my second visit to Montserrat, but first time to go up the mountain on the funicular. We had time to tour the cathedral, take the trip up the mountain, shop, taste some local cheeses, and even some local liquor. The trip to Oller del Mas was scenic and our guide was very knowledgeable about the area. Lunch was very nice, then on to the winery and tastings. The property, vineyard and castle were just so pretty! After a tour of the processing area, we were taken to a room in the castle for bread, cheese and wine. Perfect day!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Linda

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Such a wonderful tour! Our guide picked us up at our hotel in a van we shared with 3 other tourists. A local, he was extremely enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and considerate. It was a great time-saver to be delivered to Montserrat and Park Guell rather than having to find our own way. Our guide provided a very informative tour of the outside of Segrada Familia - what a treat. We were able to see a great deal of Barcelona while learning about its history and culture. Every stop was a beautiful experience. It's hard to pick a favorite, but Montserrat is not to be missed. We chose to visit the art museum there, an impressive and moving collection.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

John H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Montserrat is a breathtakingly beautiful place - well worth a visit! Our guide Martha was helpful and informative and we also had plenty of time to do the fantastic walk out to the chapel which I recommend. The cog wheel to the very top was closed for maintenance which was disappointing but we saw the black Madonna and heard the choir sing which was special! And then we had the unexpectedly fun experience of a tour of the cava caves and a generous tasting! A highlight of our Barcelona trip!
Karen

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Courtney E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour, our tour guide Marc was very informative and fun. He gave us a brief tour or Montserrat's highlights and then allowed for about an hour and a half of free time. I suggest walking out to the cross to take some amazing pics of Montserrat. Next we ventured to the winery. The lunch provided had a ton of food 3-4 apps, main course and a dessert or coffee and was delicious, definitely recommend the sausage plate if that is an option. The wine tasting was fun and informative as well. Definitely recommend this day trip, a nice outdoor escape from the city.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

dehuggins1915

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide Sasha was wonderful. We got to Montserrat very early, leaving the meeting spot at 7:15.... which I highly recommend. And even though it was COLD and a bit uncomfortable we were the first visitors and were able to see everything in a non-rushed manner. She was a wonderful guide who was enthusiastic and obviously into the entire spectacular story of Montserrat. I would highly recommend this tour, Montserrat is not to be missed and this is a great way to see it. If you go early in the winter or probably early spring be sure to bundle up!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Amy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Awesome tour! We got to Montserrat early and took a short tour with our guide before being given about three hours to explore on our own. This gave us plenty of time to take a funicular up to the top, each a picnic lunch with stunning views, and hike back down to the monastery. We then drove a short ways to a family-run winery where we took a tour of facilities and sampled 5 different cavas and wines. I wouldn't change a thing about this day - it's was perfect. Our tour guide, Julia, was fantastic - friendly, energetic, and knowledgeable. I'd highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Janet G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Not usually a fan of group tours, but this was very well organised, small group, plenty of free time to explore montserrat. Nice vineyard and wine tasting. Alex was a great guide.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Carl D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It did not take long to understand why Montserrat came so highly recommended by Spaniards on the plane... Montserrat is so close to Barcelona yet so far in experience. To travel through the serrated mountains, view the Abbey and then partake in a first-class meal and wine tasting tour was a memory only equalled by La Sagrada Familia. The tour was well priced, well timed and has our strongest recommendation.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message