With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1042 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nikki R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour guide, and great tour! Fantastic bus driver that was able to go up super curvy roads. It was VERY nice to be in Montserrat before the crowds!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Nikki R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour guide, and great tour! Fantastic bus driver that was able to go up super curvy roads. It was VERY nice to be in Montserrat before the crowds!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Dadrie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My visit to Montserrat superseded my expectations. A place you have to experience for yourself to understand the breath taking views and serenity combined.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Lorna I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Trip was very, very enlightening. Time frame too short to absorb all that Montserrat has to offer. Missed our wine tasting opportunity, but would still recommend the trip. Loved the Basilica a lot.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Teresa L K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We loved the Montserrat half - Day tour. It let us see some of the country side around Barcelona. The views from the top of the peak were amazing.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Montserrat is a must see! It was a wonderful trip, the tour guide and transportation were great.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Steve M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip. Montserrat was beautiful and our guide Laura was very knowledgeable. We had no idea what to expect on the Cava tour and were very pleasantly surprised

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lynne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Love the mountains? Then a short drive from Barcelona find Montserrat, the beautiful mountain home of some monks and a great place to get a 360 degree view of the valley all the way to the Pyrenees mountains. There are also several hiking trails to various points. Our guide did a great job of explaining the history of the area and the buildings. We had plenty of time to do some exploring on our own. There was also a local farmer's market onsite the day we visited selling local products honey, cheeses, etc....

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

rcutajar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Fantastic tour and Fantastic Guide. The explanations given by the personal guide were exhaustive from the geology of the caves to the turbulent history of the catalans and their Montserrat Abbey. Would definitely recommend it to families with kids who want to experience something different.

Doing what: Montserrat Abbey and Caves Private Tour from Barcelona

Narelle Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was a highlight of our trip. Montserrat is an amazing place and having the early access and no crowds is worth every cent. My family moaned about the early start, but when we were leaving at lunchtime, having enjoyed Montserrat without the crowd, they were all thanking me! The choir was on holidays anyway, but keep in mind this tour leaves before they sing. Josef our tour guide was wonderful! He kept us all informed and entertained. Loved this tour!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Tara A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Such an amazing day! We loved Montserrat! I had no idea what to expect, and it was unforgettable. My 11 year old daughter was very happy with the experience too! We also loved Sagrada Familia, the light and colors definitely left an impression!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

beezee2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great tour, led by a very friendly and knowledgable guide, Elisabeth. The city tour and explanations, including seeing architectural masterpieces by Gaudi was amazing! We also had a wonderful tour in Montserrat, especially it being a nice clear day, a breathtaking view! It was a great day, with just the right amount of free time to stroll around Park Guell and the other sites. We loved the small group 11 people and the hotel pick-up!!

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour of Montserrat and wine tasting with our guide Simon. He was extremely knowledgable, courteous, and had a great sense of humor. Buses were clean and air conditioned. This is a not to be missed experience when visiting Barcelona - truly memorable!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Tiara F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour - one of the best, if not the best, excursion I have ever been on. Our tour guide, Simon, was super knowledgeable, funny and friendly. He taught us about the history and religion relating to our visit to Montserrat and then switched hats and taught us about the wine-making process and wine tasting at the vineyard. The lunch was surprisingly good - even my picky 11 and 12 year old had no problem partaking in the lunch. The wine tasting was a lot of fun - I have been to Napa, but this was more personal and Simon taught my husband and I things that we did not learn in California! I promise you, this tour will not disappoint. Wear comfortable shoes and remember that the Montserrat Mountain is cooler than the temps in Barcelona!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Adrienne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Victoria was pleasant and informative. We truly enjoyed visiting Montserrat. We never felt rushed and had time to do everything we wanted.
The Skip-the-Line to La Sagrada Familia ticket worked well, but we did not know that we needed a different ticket to access the tower or to have a guide.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Sharon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My teenagers and I loved the half day trip to Montserrat. It was very well planned and the right amount of time to explore this beautiful place during our limited time in Spain. We rode the car up the mountain to hike, see the best views and take pictures. Our tour guide was great and very informative.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

LISA C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was an excellent tour with an excellent guide - Francis! It's hard to describe the beauty of Montserrat. The views are spectacular - especially if you take the funicular up to the top and hike down like we did. Since the entire group wanted to go up the guide came with us. I was disappointed that I didn't hear the boys choir though.
Lunch at the winery was great too. The food just kept coming along with the wine! Next we toured the vineyard and winery and did our wine tasting. The history is mind-blowing and Francis had all the details! My only disappointment was that they only sampled red wines and I'm a white drinker.
This was another amazing and full day and we literally crashed when we got back to our hotel!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Melissa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was a perfect end to our 10 day Paris/Barcelona trip. The tour guide was easy to find and the bus left right on time. The views from and of Montserrat were amazing. Lunch at Oller del Mas was delicious. The thing that made this trip worth 5 stars was our tour guide, Simon. He shared so much information with us during both tours. He went above and beyond to make sure our day went smoothly. I especially enjoyed the conversations between him and the rest of our small group 9 people during and after our lunch.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Alice Y United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a fantastic tour. We were picked up at Plaza Catalunya because our hotel was just a little down on the Ramblas. Our 15 people tour van showed up on time and our guide called us by name! We were the first to be picked up and we went to each groups hotels to pick our group up.

We were given a clear explanation of our schedule and were taken to Montserrat first. This was because our guide Dolsa wanted to beat the crowd of the long weekend. Dolsa is very warm and friendly. Her english is fluent and she gave us great information on our one hour drive to the mountain. We did not have time to explore every trail around Montserrat but it was a nice overview of the place.

In the afternoon, we went to a vantage point on Montjuic, walked around the outside of Sagrada Familia and then to Park Guell. Again, we did not see every corner of the park but had enough time to get a good idea of the place. We were then taken back to our pick-up point.

What made the tour so special was Dolsa. She knew when to let us doze off on the ride, when to give us the photo ops we want, gave great information, minimized how much we had to walk, and took great care of us all around. She actually sounded like she liked the places she took us to, which I cant say of other guides.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Jackie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had to wake up really early to make the bus pick up, but it was totally worth it when we got there ahead of the wave of fellow tourists.
Our tour guide was knowledgeable of Montserrat and took everyone's need into consideration.
We also love the small group.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Aviva R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the best trips we've ever taken! Julia, the tour guide, was awesome. Beyond creating a fun, welcoming experience, she shared just a load of local information. We learned so much! Montserrat was just beautiful, we were able to take a walking trail up the mountain. The Cava Trail portion of the trip was even better. We visited Cordoniu, one of the oldest cava makers in Spain I think. It was both interesting and moderately intoxicating :. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

cfryan1970

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Gloria was friendly and knowledgable! Great trip and fun combination of Montserrat with the winery tour. Even my teen kids loved it!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

patricia g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very beautiful trip! Guide informative and helpful. We had just enough time to explore the beautiful scenery for the Montserrat part, then on to the Cava winery tour. There were plenty of dining options at Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Kathy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Nice ride through the countryside and up the winding mountain road to the great Montserrat. Truly lovely.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

popo63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour! Montserrat is simply spectacular, must see! Well organized tour at the mountain with lots of free time. Wine tour was also fantastic, Parés Balta is an and #34;organic and #34; winery, great guide Maria gave us great overview and sampling of the wines.Most amazing part was our tour guide Julia! Merce

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message