Though it isn't the political capital of the Pais Vasco, Bilbao is its cultural and economic heart, a city of almost a million that stretches from the beautiful Bay of Biscay to the foot of the mighty Pyrenees. Fine Basque cuisine reaches its tasty ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gerd.sjoholm

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The guide talked far too much and his English was not good

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Kathleen M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This was rescheduled to a time that I could not do it.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Ed K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Do not recommend this at all, old buses and not a friendly driver

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Mohammed E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Very enjoyable and educational. First rate tour guide. Highly recommended

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There truly isn't enough that we can say about this lovely excursion! Our guide, Stephan, our itinerary and our lovely companions on the way - all were fabulous! We travelled in great comfort and style and we went from a very tranquil and reflective place all the way up to the fast and furious San Sebastian. Every place we went was very special and this trip will stay in our hearts and minds for ever. Thank you!

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

federico.ninetto

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Good tour, experienced guide with overall good service. We focused the day on the Basque culture, which we appreciated a lot. But one thing let us disappointed: due to lack of time we skipped the Butron Castle, which was shown us through the guide's i-phone. We didn't understand this actually, because in fact we thought the time for a quick visit was enough. We think that to give a high service the tour leader should make as much as possible to guarantee all the tour steps. Anyway, recommended if you don't want to drive by yourself

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

De Leong H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was definitely worth the money and our guide Stephan is excellent and kept to his time. Keep it up!

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Arlene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful time on our tour. Our guide Stefan was knowledgeable, informative and entertaining, he was great! The scenic drive was pleasant. We really enjoyed Casa de Juntas in Gernikara Guernica and having pintxos with our guide. I only wish there was time to explore San Juan de Gaztelegutxe, perhaps it should have it's own tour. Overall, we had a great time. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Akiko H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Too many things too see with very little time.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

PETER F

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Route included items of little interest to tourists - e.g. railway station and immediate environment
there were also quite a number of stops which took a long time - presumably because of pick-ups.
Is there a way of speeding this up e.g. better cash/money handling by the driver?. Sound equipment
was poor - buttons for volume control did not work well and earplugs were very uncomfortable!

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Barry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fast and courteous service exactly as requested and promised

Doing what: Bilbao Airport Private Departure Transfer

ALEXANDER L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth taking

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Sheba S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I think this is a good value tour. It rained most of the day, so we were not able to fully experience all that was advertised, but that is not something that can be helped. I liked our guide - he was warm, friendly and had a lot of information. Since we had both Spanish-speaking and English-speaking participants, he had to provide information in both languages. I was in the back of the van and it was very difficult to hear him. I would not do this again unless I knew there was amplification through a microphone. I missed quite a bit of what the guice had to say. Also, he never did introduce himself - so I don't know his name.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Susan T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was a great adventure. The bus broke down, but the guide handled ii well. We saw so much, we would not have been able to do it on our own in one day.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

George United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Tour was worth it for a city orientation. We stayed on the bus for the hour and didn't use the on/off option.
The bus was old and rather uncomfortable. You had to listen to the site explanations in three languages, which was rather tedious. The same tour bus in San Sebastian was more advance and provide head sets so you could select the language you wanted.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sissel Beate S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Nice trip, but we had to wait one hour for a New bus to take us further.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Sue A. R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Driver waiting for us. He carried luggage to hotel lobby which was about half block from where he had to park the car.

Doing what: Bilbao Airport Private Arrival Transfer

Nevena M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Unai was great and answered all of our many questions while driving expertly along some windy roads! The tour itself was nice and as we had good weather it made all the difference.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Frank R Spain

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Just a single bus operates this service, so schedules can be delayed during the day, depending on traffic conditions. Frequency, therefore, can also be a problem. The tour itself is around one hour long and is a comprehensive tour of Bilbao old town and environs with stunning views of the Guggenheim Museum. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Deborah D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Dissapointing tour. Commentary was in three languages, so it was tiring to wait for my language English to came on each time. The commentary did not match the sites we were seeing for the first half of the trip. Bus was not particularly well kept.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I enjoyed the tour bus. I thought it was very educational and it told me a lot of really cool places to visit. I basically sat on the bus for the entire loop around the city to get background info and then I used it for one of the stops. These buses are great for getting to know the city!

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Aurelia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Nice and comfortable way to see the sights of Bilbao and decide on which sights to visit. Friendly staff - really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I went on this tour with our 21 year old son - the three of us had a very nice day in this small group tour. Pedro was an excellent driver and guide - very friendly and knowledgeable about everything that we saw and experienced. Much appreciated.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was great!!
The tour was interesting but not much different than similar tours in other countries.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was really enjoyable. Only thing is with all the stops we made, the tour should be split into two separate tours. We did not have enough time to spend in each place. Our tour guide, Pedro was wonderful. Especially being so patient speaking in both English and Spanish. After seeing these places, we know we want to go back and spend more time there.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message