Wrapped around three glorious beaches - the perfect bays of La Concha and Ondarreta, as well as less visited Playa la Zurriola across the Urumea River - San Sebasti á n is already a privileged local. Add exquisite Isla Santa Clara, with its ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Mary Jo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this introduction to dining in Donostia/San Sebastian. We met at the harbour, and walked through part of the Old Town, where Athenea, our tour guide, pointed out some private eating establishments and explained their cultural and historical significance. Then we sampled pintxos at award-winning bars in both the Old Town and across the river in the middle-class neighbourhood of Gros.
Athenea was very friendly, accessible and knowledgeable, and her English was excellent. We had a mixed group of middle-aged Brits/Aussies with a young American honeymoon couple. She accommodated our diverse needs very well, and we were a cohesive group within minutes.
As a middle-aged solo woman traveller, I was unsure how to approach the San Sebastian experience, but this tour gave me the confidence to go out and enjoy the pintxos bars like a local. I highly recommend this tour with Urban Adventures via Viator.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Kuhre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great tour. It was a great guide. She could tell a lot of San Sebastian and the different restaurants and bars. The amount of pintxos and wine was perfect. I will recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Bonnie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was Athenea and she was wonderful. So passionate and knowledgeable about San Sebastian. We truly felt like we were locals. The food and wine was fabulous!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Heidi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A hop on hop off with a schedule - the times are posted at the bus stops - and they are on time! San Sebastian is a bit too big to walk so this is perfect. Highly recommend

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Samantha T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The San Sebastian Pintxos and Wine tour was one of the best tours myself and my partner have been on.
Tomasz the tour guide has a great knowledge of San Sebastian's history, the Pintxos bars and wine. Additionally Tomasz has a great sense of humor and enjoys a laugh, which makes the whole tour just that much more enjoyable.
Would recommend to anyone looking for an introduction to San Sebastian, especially those who are first timers or have who know limited Spanish, as the tips, tricks and general history given throughout the tour can be very handy and insightful for the remainder of your stay

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Lisa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved the tour. Tomas was a great tour guide, funny and knowledgeable. The food and wine were delicious and the two hour tour ended up being 3 1/2 hours of fun! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting San Sebastian.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

raquelmartin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide, Tomasz, was very personable and knew how to get everyone involved. He's married to a local and had lots of inside tidbits to give us about life in San Sebastian, as well as giving us a great pintxos and wine tour. We went to three different pintos bars and sampled, among other things, kobi beef sliders accompanied by txakoly a local young white sparkling wine pork cheeks sounds horrible but is delicious!! and brie coated in poppy seeds accompanied by a young red wine and spider crab mousse and tortilla española accompanied by a local cider wine,w which seems to me to be a cross between beer and wine. The best offerings were the kobi slider and txakoly at Fuego Negro. Delicious! It was a fun tour. Great guide, fun tour participants and good food and drink. We had a great time and highly recommend this tour and this guide!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Ashley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had the most amazing tour with Tomasz on our recent trip to San Sebastian. 3+ hours full of history, delicious pintxos in a variety of styles from several different bars, local wines and cider, and lively conversation about San Sebastian's culture. We enjoyed everything we tried and were very impressed with the structure and content of the tour -- Tomasz was able to include SO much and still keep things exciting rather than overwhelming. We got several suggestions for other activities for the rest of our trip and just had the best time. This tour was the highlight of our time in San Sebastian and I can highly recommend it! Start your trip with this tour!!! Big thanks to Tomasz!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

oneillc5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tomas has an enthusiasm for San Sebastian's that is infectious. This is not only an introduction to pintxos hopping, but to San Sebastian's history and culture. I attended on the first night of my stay, which I highly recommend, as it helped set the stage for the rest of the trip. Our 3+ hour journey lead us through the Old Town and Gros. A unique, exciting and fun gastronomic adventure. I might add that everything we ate and drank was adventurous and delicious. Book with Tomas! Highly, highly recommend.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and I very much enjoyed our tour of San Sebastian and surrounding areas. It was lovely only being 3 of us on this tour and being driven around in a BMW wagon. Our tour guide Garry really made it a very special and personal day for us. he was so knowledgeable and warm and friendly. We particularly loved San Sebastian and the beautiful beach there. Mu husband really enjoyed seeing all the history live he has studied. Thank you so very much.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Jessica V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This may have been the highlight of our honeymoon. We picked Spain for our honeymoon because we LOVE food. It's probably our biggest expense when we're at home, and we were so excited to go to San Sebastian after hearing so much about the food culture there. Our tour guide was Tomas. He was AMAZING. He took us to 3 different Pinxchos spots in Gros and in the Old Town. Not only did he show us 3 amazing locations, but we got to try different wines and ciders, and Tomas gave us background information about the history of Pinxchos as well as the history of the Basque region. It really gave us a full perspective of the area. He also gave us recommendations for dinners for the rest of our trip and encouarged us to hike Mount Urgell and Monte Igueldo which were fantastic. I highly recommend this tour. Ask for Tomas though!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

CATHERINE V W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

A lovely day despite the awful weather! the guide was knowledgable, and although quite a rushed day and pouring rain we saw all we wanted, and the best afternoon views over San Sebastian from high above and at last sunshine, as if to show the stunning beauty of the beautiful crescent beach.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

koen l

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Tomasz is a very enthusiastic guide , who explains a lot more then only pintxos and wine...:-
Recommended for everyone who visits the beautiful San Sebastian

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

C S Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

An interesting trip to San Sebastian and Biarritz. San Sebastian turned out to be the most beautiful and the most interesting of the two. The Lunch break in Hondarribia was also a pleasant surprise. The guide was knowledgeable and very enthusiastic.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

G J R M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour taking in the highlights of Biarritz, St Jean de luz and San Sebastian. Our guide Gary was genuinely friendly. He spiced up the tour with instructive comments and anecdotes on the region's history and current events. The tour participants were mostly Iberian but he ensured that english speakers (only 4 of us in a full bus) weren't short-changed. He even accompanied us on our short walks around the tour sites.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Jackie

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Biarritz and San Sebastian are really so awesome to visit. The clear blue seas are superb! Seafood and wine are great. You should try pintxos, different kind of foods in small portions on a stick. We would love to go back. Our guide was great.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Kathleen Susan M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2011

I really enjoyed seeing Biarritz and the small towns before San Sebastian. I had expected to eat in San Sebastian and had researched it for a place but we didn't get to to eat there so the advertising needs to not say lunch there as it is misleading. John was very enthusaitic but a bit hard to understand at times since it was so fast. Loved the little beach town and would so this again. Well organized.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

KAREN S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

This tour was excellent, but a little too jam packed. There was no free time other than 45 minutes to have lunch. It would have been nice to drop our first stop and have a little time on our own in Biarritz and San Sebastian.. No coffee nor toilet stops were offered and luch was very late - around 3. Then off to San Sebastian which was very rushed. Still very worthwhile and the scenery will not disappoint..

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Maggie

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

San Sebastian is a wonderful place. Friendly people and beautiful. It us only small and the tour is good but nothing like the Paris or Barcelona tours. Still interesting though

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Carina B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2012

I enjoyed the day and, our Guide was lovely, however, I (and my fellow travellers) felt that it was not worth the money paid- I recently paid less in Tunisia to visit Carthage, Sidi Bou Said and Tunis, with entry fees to all the sites included and lunch- there was only one entry fee on this trip and no lunch- it was basically a minibus trip to Biarritz and San Sebastian (not enough time there and it was the place we all wanted to see most) + a boat/ferry trip across a bay. I enjoyed it, however, was definitely over priced in my opinion (I've worked in the travel business for the best part of 15 yrs). Sorry!

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Diana W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

too little time in San Sebastian and we see even more less time in Biarritz.
My advice : rent a car - drive to Biarritz yourself.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message