You could be forgiven for forgetting you’re in Spain when you visit the Basque Country (País Vasco). Its green, mountainous interior and rugged coastline seem to have served as a buffer from the outside world over the centuries, allowing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 227 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Larry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide with useful and interesting information and great food! Wear comfortable shoes!!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing tour led by Oihana from Urban Adventures. She was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and a pleasure to spend 1/2 a day with. We were lucky in that we were the only people on the tour, so my wife and I spent a wonderful morning hiking to Pasaia from San Sebastian. The hike was not too onerous, but also not for everyone. It was approx 6 miles from start to finish with about 500 or 600 feet of elevation change. The end of the tour we spent in a quaint village on the harbor of Pasaia and had some lovely views along the way. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Oihana was a wonderful guide through the complexities of pintxos and local drinks. We tasted wonderful things we wouldn't have known we could even order! She showed us an enjoyable evening walking around town. Highly recommend - but ask for Oihana!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Carly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and did a fantastic job! Its a must do tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Jan C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Got to see San Sebastian without wearing out our feet. We were staying on top of Mount Igueldo so the bus was a great way to get to and from the the funicular.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

gerd.sjoholm

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The guide talked far too much and his English was not good

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Cacay M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Don't bother with this tour. There really isn't much to see in San Sebastian. Just focus on the food. The audio itself wasn't even in sync with the sights.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Kathleen M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This was rescheduled to a time that I could not do it.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Catherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Maria was our local tour guide for the Way of St. James Hiking Tour from San Sebastian to a neighboring village. Maria is an excellent and very knowledgeable guide. She knows the history of the Way of St. James and the local area, and is very personable. This is a hike on a trail, not a stroll on the beach or on the city streets. It can be steep and rocky in some places. Maria and my sister helped me to keep my footing, at times. Wear good shoes for hiking! Beautiful trail and views along the Way... The village was very nice with a lovely lunch at the end of the hike. Highly recommend Maria for a guide and the hike!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Mohammed E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Very enjoyable and educational. First rate tour guide. Highly recommended

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

cguzzardi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great hike we had.....san sebastian views are amazing,oihana our guide was fantastic! She guided with great knowledge that also came from the heart. Thankyou oihana you made my first hike a great experience
This is a definite must do!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There truly isn't enough that we can say about this lovely excursion! Our guide, Stephan, our itinerary and our lovely companions on the way - all were fabulous! We travelled in great comfort and style and we went from a very tranquil and reflective place all the way up to the fast and furious San Sebastian. Every place we went was very special and this trip will stay in our hearts and minds for ever. Thank you!

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Jody P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Pintxos and Wine tour was highlight of my visit to San Sebastian last July. The tour guide Maria was fun and resourceful. I had a great time and enjoyed the tour. I'd highly recommend it for anyone who visits there for the first time.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Jessica Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was our most authentic experience in Basque country. Oihana, with Urban Adventures via Viator, was a very lovely guide and you could tell she had a real connection with the locals we met on our hike. The pintxos at the little fishing village at the end of the hike were amazing. The views were stunning. Definitely do this!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Laura M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour and guide maria we're amazing ! Would highly recommend. Great way to see the coastline, maria kept us informed along the way, which was also well shaded a blessing on a v hot day. Many thanks.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Brittney E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The views along Saint James Way were stunning! HIGHLY RECOMMEND. We did this on our honeymoon and shared the trip with several other travelers. Maria, our tour guide, was FABULOUS! She shared a lot of history about the trail and even offered her opinions on restaurants, bars, shops, etc to visit during the rest of our trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

federico.ninetto

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Good tour, experienced guide with overall good service. We focused the day on the Basque culture, which we appreciated a lot. But one thing let us disappointed: due to lack of time we skipped the Butron Castle, which was shown us through the guide's i-phone. We didn't understand this actually, because in fact we thought the time for a quick visit was enough. We think that to give a high service the tour leader should make as much as possible to guarantee all the tour steps. Anyway, recommended if you don't want to drive by yourself

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

marlin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exce)entry. Our guide was friendly, informative and fun. We had a great time

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Brenda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Oihand our tour guide was amazing, we experienced a little bit of rain but she made our trip a fun day out

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Angela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This to her was the highlight of our trip to Donostia San Sebastian, for two reasons. First, the scenery along the coast is absolutely spectacular. Second, our guide, Maria, was outstanding: she was warm, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic, and we learned a lot from her about local culture and history.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Maura J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Paris and northern Spain. Our guide Thomas seemed to know not only lots of local lore but most of the folks we met along the trail. The local wine and Tapas were a well deserved treat after our hike.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Kuhre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great tour. It was a great guide. She could tell a lot of San Sebastian and the different restaurants and bars. The amount of pintxos and wine was perfect. I will recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Ignacio B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Perfect¡ the views was awesome, we really enjoy it

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

De Leong H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was definitely worth the money and our guide Stephan is excellent and kept to his time. Keep it up!

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Mary Jo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Oihana, with Urban Adventures via Viator, hosted me for a half-day walk on El Camino de Santiago de Compostela St. James Way. This was quite a feat, as it was pouring rain all morning and the other participants were no-shows. We were drowned rats by the end of it. Nevertheless, this was my only day to experience the Camino, so Oihana cheerfully escorted me up the muddy path over Monte Ulia to Pasajes San Juan, where we took a short ferry ride to the other side of the bay and had some delicious pintxos and a glass of txakoli local white wine at a local seafood restaurant. The views throughout the morning were fantastic. We then returned by bus to Donostia/San Sebastian.
Oihana is a friendly young woman with a bubbly and accommodating personality, and she was a delight as a tour guide. Her English is excellent, and as a Basque woman, she is full of local cultural, political, linguistic and literary knowledge. She recommended that I watch a comedy hit film, Ocho Apellidos Bascos. I couldnt find it, but I was lucky enough to find Ocho Apellidos Catalanes with the same actors on my flight home. It was very funny. Ill keep looking for the other one!
I highly recommend this tour with Urban Adventures, and I wish I could give Oihana six stars!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message