You could be forgiven for forgetting you’re in Spain when you visit the Basque Country (País Vasco). Its green, mountainous interior and rugged coastline seem to have served as a buffer from the outside world over the centuries, allowing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 242 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amir Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

the guide was excellent.He was very helpful and was in no hurry.He even helped me to find a hat that was made in spain

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

evoy.gori Malaysia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

We met a friendly tour guide. You can find a better pintxos and wine without tour guide recommendation.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

puishih

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Maria, is very friendly and thoughtful guide. We enjoyed the hike very much despite the drizzle. She also gave us insight to the Basque culture and even tips on how to cook Spanish omelette!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Sue W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our Tour Guide Thomas, was very knowledgeable on all sorts of Spanish topics and particually the Camino Trail that we walked a part of. We enjoyed his company and the coastal views it offered.
The walk does require a level of fitness if it is to be enjoyed.
A must do if you are in San Sebastian.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Luis O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Maria, was the BEST guide we've had on our 2 week trip to Spain. It's one thing to have such a knowledgable and friendly guide, but another to have a guide that would go out of her way to welcome you to her city AFTER the tour has ended. The views were breath taking, to say the least. There are a few stretches of physical challenges for the novice hiker. This is a hike where you will break sweat but reap the rewards of such effort.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Haryadi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The participant of this tour only my husband and I, We were lucky to Tomasz of Urban Adventures as our guide. He was so pleasant and patient to guide us in our pace. We had a very nice experience with him and enjoyed this tour. HIghly recommend this half day trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Haryadi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We love this tour, highly recommend! We love our guide, Oihana from Urban Adventures, she was very friendly, pleasant and and explained all about the food and history of the town.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Sharon N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous guide, Maria. Made our day despite the rainy and cloudy day. Lots of interesting knowledge and history.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Esther B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour! I would recommend anyone who enjoys a medium level of physical activity to join in!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Tat A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Maria is an enthusiastic guide whose energy really hyped the group for a great hike despite the gloomy weather in the beginning of the hike. She also picked an easier hiking trail where the steepest part of the hike was downhill. This was much appreciated by the group. She also answered all our questions regarding Basque culture by using her family as an example. She also recommended where to go for pintxos after we got back to San Sebastian. Love be the whole experience. Highly recommend. It,

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Ms L C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Our Tour guide, Marija did a fantastic job at informing us about the local cusine, the wines and the various local customs. We had a great group that really enjoyed the experience together.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Larry G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide with useful and interesting information and great food! Wear comfortable shoes!!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing tour led by Oihana from Urban Adventures. She was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and a pleasure to spend 1/2 a day with. We were lucky in that we were the only people on the tour, so my wife and I spent a wonderful morning hiking to Pasaia from San Sebastian. The hike was not too onerous, but also not for everyone. It was approx 6 miles from start to finish with about 500 or 600 feet of elevation change. The end of the tour we spent in a quaint village on the harbor of Pasaia and had some lovely views along the way. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Oihana was a wonderful guide through the complexities of pintxos and local drinks. We tasted wonderful things we wouldn't have known we could even order! She showed us an enjoyable evening walking around town. Highly recommend - but ask for Oihana!

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Penny H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a fantastic hike with our guide, Tomasz. HE was so pleasant and very knowledgable. we learned so much and enjoyed the hike and conversation. HIghly recommend this half day trip.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Carly M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and did a fantastic job! Its a must do tour.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Keith C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful guide but needed more food on the trail

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Jan C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Got to see San Sebastian without wearing out our feet. We were staying on top of Mount Igueldo so the bus was a great way to get to and from the the funicular.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

gerd.sjoholm

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

The guide talked far too much and his English was not good

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Cacay M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Don't bother with this tour. There really isn't much to see in San Sebastian. Just focus on the food. The audio itself wasn't even in sync with the sights.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Kathleen M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

This was rescheduled to a time that I could not do it.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Catherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Maria was our local tour guide for the Way of St. James Hiking Tour from San Sebastian to a neighboring village. Maria is an excellent and very knowledgeable guide. She knows the history of the Way of St. James and the local area, and is very personable. This is a hike on a trail, not a stroll on the beach or on the city streets. It can be steep and rocky in some places. Maria and my sister helped me to keep my footing, at times. Wear good shoes for hiking! Beautiful trail and views along the Way... The village was very nice with a lovely lunch at the end of the hike. Highly recommend Maria for a guide and the hike!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Mohammed E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Very enjoyable and educational. First rate tour guide. Highly recommended

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message