You could be forgiven for forgetting you’re in Spain when you visit the Basque Country (País Vasco). Its green, mountainous interior and rugged coastline seem to have served as a buffer from the outside world over the centuries, allowing a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 217 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Catherine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Maria was our local tour guide for the Way of St. James Hiking Tour from San Sebastian to a neighboring village. Maria is an excellent and very knowledgeable guide. She knows the history of the Way of St. James and the local area, and is very personable. This is a hike on a trail, not a stroll on the beach or on the city streets. It can be steep and rocky in some places. Maria and my sister helped me to keep my footing, at times. Wear good shoes for hiking! Beautiful trail and views along the Way... The village was very nice with a lovely lunch at the end of the hike. Highly recommend Maria for a guide and the hike!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Mohammed E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour. Very enjoyable and educational. First rate tour guide. Highly recommended

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

cguzzardi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

What a great hike we had.....san sebastian views are amazing,oihana our guide was fantastic! She guided with great knowledge that also came from the heart. Thankyou oihana you made my first hike a great experience
This is a definite must do!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Donald M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

There truly isn't enough that we can say about this lovely excursion! Our guide, Stephan, our itinerary and our lovely companions on the way - all were fabulous! We travelled in great comfort and style and we went from a very tranquil and reflective place all the way up to the fast and furious San Sebastian. Every place we went was very special and this trip will stay in our hearts and minds for ever. Thank you!

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Jody P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Pintxos and Wine tour was highlight of my visit to San Sebastian last July. The tour guide Maria was fun and resourceful. I had a great time and enjoyed the tour. I'd highly recommend it for anyone who visits there for the first time.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Jessica Anne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was our most authentic experience in Basque country. Oihana, with Urban Adventures via Viator, was a very lovely guide and you could tell she had a real connection with the locals we met on our hike. The pintxos at the little fishing village at the end of the hike were amazing. The views were stunning. Definitely do this!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

federico.ninetto

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

Good tour, experienced guide with overall good service. We focused the day on the Basque culture, which we appreciated a lot. But one thing let us disappointed: due to lack of time we skipped the Butron Castle, which was shown us through the guide's i-phone. We didn't understand this actually, because in fact we thought the time for a quick visit was enough. We think that to give a high service the tour leader should make as much as possible to guarantee all the tour steps. Anyway, recommended if you don't want to drive by yourself

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

marlin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exce)entry. Our guide was friendly, informative and fun. We had a great time

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Brenda F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Oihand our tour guide was amazing, we experienced a little bit of rain but she made our trip a fun day out

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Angela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This to her was the highlight of our trip to Donostia San Sebastian, for two reasons. First, the scenery along the coast is absolutely spectacular. Second, our guide, Maria, was outstanding: she was warm, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic, and we learned a lot from her about local culture and history.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Maura J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was the highlight of our trip to Paris and northern Spain. Our guide Thomas seemed to know not only lots of local lore but most of the folks we met along the trail. The local wine and Tapas were a well deserved treat after our hike.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Kuhre

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great tour. It was a great guide. She could tell a lot of San Sebastian and the different restaurants and bars. The amount of pintxos and wine was perfect. I will recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Ignacio B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Perfect¡ the views was awesome, we really enjoy it

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

De Leong H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The tour was definitely worth the money and our guide Stephan is excellent and kept to his time. Keep it up!

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Mary Jo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Oihana, with Urban Adventures via Viator, hosted me for a half-day walk on El Camino de Santiago de Compostela St. James Way. This was quite a feat, as it was pouring rain all morning and the other participants were no-shows. We were drowned rats by the end of it. Nevertheless, this was my only day to experience the Camino, so Oihana cheerfully escorted me up the muddy path over Monte Ulia to Pasajes San Juan, where we took a short ferry ride to the other side of the bay and had some delicious pintxos and a glass of txakoli local white wine at a local seafood restaurant. The views throughout the morning were fantastic. We then returned by bus to Donostia/San Sebastian.
Oihana is a friendly young woman with a bubbly and accommodating personality, and she was a delight as a tour guide. Her English is excellent, and as a Basque woman, she is full of local cultural, political, linguistic and literary knowledge. She recommended that I watch a comedy hit film, Ocho Apellidos Bascos. I couldnt find it, but I was lucky enough to find Ocho Apellidos Catalanes with the same actors on my flight home. It was very funny. Ill keep looking for the other one!
I highly recommend this tour with Urban Adventures, and I wish I could give Oihana six stars!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Mary Jo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I really enjoyed this introduction to dining in Donostia/San Sebastian. We met at the harbour, and walked through part of the Old Town, where Athenea, our tour guide, pointed out some private eating establishments and explained their cultural and historical significance. Then we sampled pintxos at award-winning bars in both the Old Town and across the river in the middle-class neighbourhood of Gros.
Athenea was very friendly, accessible and knowledgeable, and her English was excellent. We had a mixed group of middle-aged Brits/Aussies with a young American honeymoon couple. She accommodated our diverse needs very well, and we were a cohesive group within minutes.
As a middle-aged solo woman traveller, I was unsure how to approach the San Sebastian experience, but this tour gave me the confidence to go out and enjoy the pintxos bars like a local. I highly recommend this tour with Urban Adventures via Viator.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Arlene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful time on our tour. Our guide Stefan was knowledgeable, informative and entertaining, he was great! The scenic drive was pleasant. We really enjoyed Casa de Juntas in Gernikara Guernica and having pintxos with our guide. I only wish there was time to explore San Juan de Gaztelegutxe, perhaps it should have it's own tour. Overall, we had a great time. Definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Akiko H

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Too many things too see with very little time.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Cantabs

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the walk and learning about the local culture and history. You need to have a good level of fitness to enjoy this beautiful coast. The lunch was of average quality and of insufficient quantity.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Diane F

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

It's a very good idea to do this on your first day in town, to learn the lay of the land and see the major attractions. They give you headphones for the audio guide in choice of five languages and the narration is good. The bus leaves from in front of the Maria Cristina hotel on the hour. If you go to Bilbao and want the tour bus there, find out at the bus station at what time it stops at Sagrado Corazón I got tired of waiting for it there and walked.

Doing what: San Sebastián Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Maria was our guide for what was scheduled to be the Half-day Walking tour on the Way of Saint James. But as my wife and I were the only clients for this tour, and the trail was slick and muddy in spots, Maria easily modified the tour to be more in-line with our interests. After a brief walk on the Way' and a chance to talk to the pilgrims we encountered, we decided to instead take a bus to Maria's charming village. We learned much of the Basque culture and their fishing/farming traditions, enjoyed calamares frites and wine at their harbor, and returned to San Sebastián by bus for a walking tour of old town. I recommend Maria highly, and this tour in general --- but, be aware that access to the Way is via many steep steps, and the Way itself can be slick and/or rocky. We wore our tennis shoes, but hiking boots would have been better. The Way has been used since medieval times -- I admire the dedication and stamina of those pilgrims. That must have been some mighty nutritious gruel!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Maria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent activity to do while in San Sebastian! We really enjoyed our hike and the nature and views was absolutely breathtaking. It was very interesting for us to experience even in a small dose the Camino de Sandiago and also to hear the history of the camino, of the Basque country and its people by our lovely guide Maria. Maria was a fantastic person, full of love for her home country and we couldn't ask for a better guide. It was fun!

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Brendan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A wonderful tour with a special mention for our guide, Maria, who was superb, many thanks.

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

Scott G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The best tour I and #39;ve done. It was raining a bit when I arrived and Oihana offered to do a different hike, but I was happy to risk it. Oihana is a lovely young woman and is extremely nice. She and #39;s passionate about here country and is quite knowledgeable.
Very very happy with everything. 11/10

Doing what: Half-Day Way of St James Hiking Tour from San Sebastián

shfox

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed this tour and Atheana was a very knowledgeable guide.
The bars we visited were fabulous and it was great to cross the bridge and explore a part of San Sebastián we would not have seen.

Doing what: San Sebastián Food Tour: Pintxos and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message