Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 889 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Yvonne N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really good tour, save a lot of hassle with the transportation and getting of the entrance tickets to the castle. Sufficient time to see everything.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Aidan was an excellent guide and was very knowledgeable as well as personable. The grounds and the Castle were impressive despite the challenging weather we encountered.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

dreamy_anjo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the scenic train ride on the way to Fussen. We had enough time to visit the castle as well as explore the surrounding. Our guide Aiden was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Alastair M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour with a very knowledgeable guide. Was most helpful to have arranged everything in advance as there were lots of stages to negotiate and long lines at most of them. Beautiful castle with stunning views. Highly recommended

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

sylviagreene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was well informed and managed our tour expertly. Transportation to the castle by bus and return by Horse-Drawn Carriage was wonderful since the climb is long and steep and we had a light drizzle. It is always a more enjoyable experience in a small group. Our only disappointment was that Mary's Bridge giving the best distance photos was closed but, that wasn't the tours fault.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

Neil G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a lovely time. Roland was an engaging guide who told us some fascinating stories surrounding the history of the castle's creation. The only thing is that time is a little rushed after visiting the castle. Would have been nice to have an extra hour to walk around after the castle tour. Overall though, a great tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

rregan1988

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a wonderful time on our small group tour to Neuschwanstein Castle. Our guide Petra, was so friendly and knowledgeable. Would absolutely book this tour again.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Marsha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great full day tour to Neuschwanstein - our tour guide was very knowledgeable. You start with a train ride followed by a bus, then you can decide whether to hike up the very steep hill please note it is tough or take a horse-drawn carriage. You tour around the castle then have a couple hours for yourselves to venture up to Mary's Bridge please note this was closed and I was told it will be for the near future due to damage from landslides or head over to the Hohenschwangau castle which is back down the hill and across the way. I went past Mary's bridge to a clearing where you could see the iconic view of the castle with Mary's bridge in front.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

JamesR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Your Guide was Amir and he was awesome! They are very prompt, so you must be on time. There is a walk from the bus dropped to the castle with some uphill climbs, so be prepared. The carriage ride is from the castle back down the hill which is very nice and relaxing. Great tour! Definite must do!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Radius Tour group is a well run group for this tour. You take a 2 hour train ride through the picturesque Bavia country side then transfer to a bus to a small village for a quick lunch while you wait for your assigned tour time to castle. You walk up hill for 45 minutes suggest if you have knee or back problems to pre-arrange with Radius a van to take you to the castle for only 2 Euros - but worth it. The inside tour 40 minutes of the castle is outstanding. This is the castle used in Sleeping Beauty and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang movies. Well worth the time and expense for this sight.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Rebecca R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was amazing!

Can not describe how beautiful the alps and castle are.

This is a must do for your Munich trip

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Candice W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour, great guide Sabri, and the castle is AMAZING from inside and outside! Definitely recommend the trip. Also going on a tour we avoided a very long line! Only negative is that it says Small-group but we were at least 36 people, and this is not a small group in my opinion.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Milan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Easy and convenient. Only way to evade hustling with long bus or castle lines. Guide was helpful and friendly.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

Raechel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a long day, but our wonderfully entertaining, funny, and very knowledgable and informative guide Ollie made the day very memorable. The castle is beautiful as is the cute little town of Fussen, and not to be missed. We wish Ollie all the best.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

phillip.jones0816

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We LOVED this tour!! Our tour guide, Austin, was AMAZING! He knew the history and was very entertaining. Took the train to the towns train station, then a bus to the town below the castle. We were given 30 minutes to take a lunch break, thank goodness! Our tour guide required us to take a small bus up the hill to the actual castle additional 2 euro's per person so avoid the 45 minute hike up the hill. Totally worth it! We had a scheduled tour time, where a representative from the castle takes you into the castle for a 30 minute tour not our Radius Tour guide, this is because the castle is owned by the state. The castle's tour guide are not good at all. After the tour we had about an hour to explore the area surrounding the castle which was great!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Debbie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was my 1 favorite visit throughout our European vacay. We had a mishap and was unable to meet at the designated time. I called the number and spoke to our tour guide. She was very nice and gave me exact instructions to meet them at the base of the castle. I wish i remembered her name. She was a lovely lady with long dark blonde hair. We met the group at the base with no problem. She was informative and walked us to different spots for picture prior to going to the castle. We were very lucky and had a beautiful day and had just breathtaking views. This tour came with the carriage ride. I would recommend to just purchase the tour without it. The lines and the wait for the carriage ride was VERY long. So long that we just decided to skip it and walk down the mountain instead. However, it was a long walk, but very pretty. This place is simply gorgeous and I hope you have great weather as we did to truly see the views.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

Diana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide Nic was very knowledgeable and entertaining. It was nice to have someone guide us to the castle and give us a background story! I will definitely use viator in the future.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

mommie.amy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would highly recommend this to anyone traveling to Germany---our guide Aiden had excellent insider tips and really make the day trip to the castle go smoothly for us

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide, Nic, did a wonderful job building the narrative of Ludwig's life. He was charismatic and a great story teller. The trip was very well organized and we had plenty of time to walk around the castle and the lake after the initial tour was done.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Julie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is a must do tour when in Munich. Well organized and easy to find the meet up location at the train station. Comfortable train ride to and from Fussen and our guide Ollie provided us with interesting information and facts on the way to the castle and on the return trip. Had a nice lunch in Fussen before taking the carriage ride up to the castle. On the way down I took the bus. Just be prepared to walk up hill and to do stairs. Lots of stairs and walking on this tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Kelli L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Austin was incredibly informative and entertaining. The castle itself is very impressive, but even more so was Austin's history lesson before/after the castle. I will be ordering a book about Ludwig soon after being so enthralled with his story. Also - shout out to Austin's dad Larry. I hope you're still reading his reviews...you should be very proud of Austin!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Wendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a lovely day! Olly was an excellent guide, very helpful and friendly, and allowed plenty of time to walk up the steep climb to the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Elizabeth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An amazing experience in spite of the rain. Our guide Werner was fantastic and I learnt so much from him not just about the castle and its history but about Bavaria and all things Bavarian!!! A fabulous day out to be recommended,!,

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Roman E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Pros:
- Excellent tour guide outside the Castle
- Beautiful sights

Cons:
- Very regimented tour inside the Castle
- Dodging horse manure on the path to the castle

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Richard D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Aiden was fabulous! The views are breathtaking! and the Castle is gorgeous!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message