Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 968 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rachel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Simply awesome :) thanks Petra for the wonderful tour and detailed info of King Ludwig prior to visiting the castle. It snowed in pretty hard so the walk up to the castle was a little challenging but totally worth it 5/5 stars!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Anthea D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A brilliant tour! A very long day but worth it to see an amazing castle. Worth outlining that if it is snowing or likely to be, wear some decent shoes some of our group didn't as if the bus isnt running you'll have a 30 minute walk to the castle totally worth it! Our guide Petra had a great grasp of English and had a great insight into the history of the monarchy and the castle and provided pictures and information whilst on the train journey to Fussen. Well recommended tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Kathi K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This castle is a Do Not Miss! We went Dec 30th and it was no small-group tour, but because of the holiday I guess it's understandable. While on the train our guide British but forgot his name was super in going up and down speaking to everyone and beginning the story of the castle.
You get on a bus from the train and take a short ride through the really charming town and get off at the foothills of the castle.
Then you walk and walk and walk going up a very winding but beautiful road to the top. We stopped at a cute restaurant half way up and had a brat which was delish!
The tour of the castle is given by a castle guide, not Viator's guide. It was still great.
It's a fantastic story and a really fun day trip.
Great gift shops too.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

atirado

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This trip is incredible! The guide gives you a lot of the information and is open to further questions at any time. The area around the castle is quite an scenery and there are good restaurants nearby.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Kalynn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour! Loads of information about the Royal Family and the intrigue surrounding this castle. Would recommend to family and friends.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

bryanvalcj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Austin from Radius Tours was the best tour guide we've ever had. We'd even consider flying him all over the world to lead us on other tours. I highly recommend requesting him. He may the tour funny, and interesting. The castle itself was amazing, too!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Jingwei H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We really enjoyed the tour. Neuschwanstein castle, alps, and German countryside are amazing!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Suekat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

After three weeks of seeing many many castles, this trip was worth it. Our tour guide Kevin was great, keeping us amused along the way. The train trip was around two hours each way but the scenery was worth it in December and the doughnuts!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Terry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was such a beautiful tour! Our guide was very fun and interesting, which made for a great day to look at such a beautiful castle!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Austin from Radius Tours was fantastic and made sure everything had a great day and fun time travelling to Neuschwanstein Castle. The day went very smoothly and we learned a lot about the history of the castle and King Ludwig II. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone interested in going to this castle. You will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Lee T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

If you visit Munich then this Day Trip is a must! A very well Organised trip to see one of the biggest landmarks in Germany.
Our Tour Guide Roland was excellent, helpful, knowledgeable and very well spoken, he even knows a few short cuts/ tricks to help all the party enjoy their day and avoid the inevitable queues.

The castle itself is fantastic and every bit as good as it looks online, Roland pre booked our tour times and allowed us plenty of time to see as much of Schwangau as we could before avoiding the rush back.

We booked everything through Viatour online, very easy and all the staff we came across were very helpful. Really enjoyed Roland's stories regarding Ludwig extremely interesting, a credit to his company.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Jonathan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Well organised and smoothly run tour with good mix of an informed guide and some free time and space to explore the castle and the surrounding area. As the viator site clearly states the castle ticket is not included in the price thus be sure to factor in 12euro into the total price when considering the tour, although the guide is excellent at ensuring easy transport, and also ensures that you dont have to join in the rather substantial ticket queues.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a surprisingly great tour. I didn't have the highest expectations, I mean, the castle is beautiful and all but is it really an all day thing? Our guide Austin made it so fun, from his story telling abilities, understanding of history and the larger societal forces at the time, to simple knowledge on how to best get around, it made for a great balance of info, scenery, and time to enjoy the foothills of the alps on a crisp, clear autumn day.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Bill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Traveling to foot of the German Alps was a great idea, and these guys make it easy to do. The price of a Viator-contracted tour is fair, and the local guides they use are eminently qualified. I think that the grandeur of Neuschwanstein Castle speaks for itself, so all that's left to do it visit the castle both inside and out.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

kimhayes001

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Brilliant tour, Nic our guide was funny, informative,engaging in all aspects of the days trip. Easy 2hr train ride to Fusson station and then a 40min walk up a rather steep incline which Nic stopped our group to rest for 10mins at 3 stages to make the walk easier. We loved this tour and would thoroughly recommend to anyone to do. The castle and its history brilliantly explained to our tour group by Nic our guide was the best tour I've been on. Nic is a brilliant tour guide.

Sharlene and Kim Hayes

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Tryon B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a wonderful experience-lake Alpsee, the Alpsee Rose restaurant, both castles.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Christina T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour. Very glad I booked it because the walk up to the castle with a 4 year old and 2 year old would have been horrible. At least with this tour we were bused up to the castle and then had the Horse -Drawn Carriage Ride coming down. The view from Mary's bridge of the castle was breath taking! The castle is a lot younger than i excepted and the tour on the inside was about 30 minutes if that because there isn't a lot to see. And be prepared to walk down about 200 steps to get out of the castle. The views definitely made this trip worth while.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

Stacey F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I enjoyed this with Radius Tours. Aiden was our guide and did a wonderful job. Once we arrived in Fussen we had a little time for a snack before the long walk up to the castle. After the castle tour we had our own free time, but was not enough as we had to hussle down the hill to get ready for our ride back to Munich.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Yvonne m H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We loved it. This was the best tour ever, our guide was excellent. When we entered the castle the guide said no pictures were to be taken.
But at the end of the tour he turned away and we all got to take awesome pictures.
We also had a horse carriage ride down the mountain. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

georgegodfrey United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was exceptional. Keeping us together for the train ride and the tour. I apologize for not remembering his name....I feel like such a Nob. He will know who he is with that said. From Africa He made some great recommendations on grabbing a quick bite to eat before we started up Heavy Metal and Sausages! Awesome! and he had a wealth of information. We learned so much about the hows and the whys of the castle. Also information he gave us about the castle showed up in Munich when we toured a day later. Great tour and even greater tour guide. THANKS! PS. take the time to walk up to the bridge!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Oleksandr M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Neuschwanstein is obviously one or the most charming places you can go, located near the Bavarian Alps just half a click from the Austrian border it's quite romantic and spectacular. You would enjoy both surrounding landscapes and the castle itself observing the beauty of the castle and nature outside watching the paragliders in the air above.
Try planning your trip on a sunny day to get best pictures from around the castle and of course Marienbrucke.
Also, special thanks to our tour guide Verena from Radius Tours who was keeping us engaged with her stories of the castle and King Ludwig all the way from the very first second of our tour to the last one.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Jamie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was amazing. Our guide Keith Scottish was very knowledgeable and made the day more fun. It was nice having a guide escort us to the Castle and back. The trains on the way back ended up being canceled and Keith arranged transportation back without us having to worry about it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Jaime E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Spectacular!! Our guide Jeff was very entertaining and helpful the whole day. The tour is really nice, even the train rides through the Bavarian country side have amazing views. Then the castle, just as if it came out of a fairy story.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Angela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was great for the price. It was nice having travel accommodations to and from the castle handled for us. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and made sure we had a great time. We also were able to skip the line and go right into the castle. Great views everywhere. Definitely worth it!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Lori B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A truly beautiful place! Verena was fun to travel with and she had very good stories about King Ludwig and his castles.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message