Bavaria ATTRACTIONS See all

Hohenschwangau Castle

Perched on a hilltop overlooking the Alpsee and Schwansee lakes and close by the Austrian border, the magnificent Hohenschwangau Castle (Schloss Hohenschwangau) is a dramatic gothic fortress dating back to the 19th century. The sister castle to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 909 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Wendy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guide -Roland -v good and entertaining. Remember additional cost for bus and tour of castle. Even after bus there us quite walk from viewing platform to castle esplanade. If you choose horse and carriagedo on way down as you won't want go viewing platform, uphill, after castle. Queues for bus tickets ridiculous in hot weather. More needs done to process bus tivket queues quicker. Remember if u choose to walk from bottom, it is v long and steep. You'll need to be fit and have lots water. Castle v well preserved inside and out and spectacular views on good day. Hof ttowards bottom hill -with seating up side, v good and reasonably priced.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

jaclyn k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Our tour guide Keith was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. The castle is definitely a must see! Don't forget to enjoy Quarkballchen donut that the area is known for...so good!!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Taking the city bus was a little disconcerting at first, but once we were near the castle it became clear why we had paid a little extra for the experience. The timing for the ride up to the castle, the tour and the carriage ride all were perfectly timed so that we had time to look around but also moved to the next thing without waiting. I would have liked the tour for Neuschwangau to be included also--once you are there, you really do want to go in both castles, but adding it on a sunny day in July wasn't possible because of the line.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

markpbyers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide couldn't have been better. He was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. The tour of the castle interior was rather short and by audio guide because that's how Neuschwanstein is run... but there was plenty to absorb from our real guide before and after. The grounds were fun to explore as well. Also: getting to the castle is slightly complicated, so having a guide is a definite plus!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Wilmot H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour w/Aidan as our tour guide. Train ride was great, castle stunning. About a 30 minute walk up a steep paved road to reach the castle. Take the bus if you need to. Marian Bridge was open, see that for the best photo op. Just a wonderful day. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Holly D C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Adrian was the best tour guide! He made the day into an adventure... sharing so much rich backstory and history along our travels to and from the castle. He was a wealth of information! The tour was great, all the work was done for us, we just had to be at the set locations at the set times and all of the thinking and navigating was done for us.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Anna F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had wonderful experience with our trip to Neuschwanstein. Our tour guide, Petra, did an excellent job providing historical background, guiding us through the trains/bus, and making sure everyone received personal attention.

If we had it to do over, I would include the Hohenschwangau tour too- just to see more of the interior of the castles because the interior tour of Neuschwanstein is only 30-40mins. Also, I would recommend taking the bus to the castle rather than walking due to the time limit you have. This would allow you to see more of the castle grounds/Marian bridge before your group goes into the castle.

We were very pleased with our trip- Thank you!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Luke E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This is a great day trip if you are staying in Munich. The price includes your transportation to and from the castle. It's an unbelievably beautiful place and we'd highly recommend visiting.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Donna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We had an enthusiastic and friendly tour guide - Austin - who kept us all together for the journey to and from the castle from Munich. Austin stopped periodically to talk about Ludvig II and how the castle came to be in his own style which was funny, factual and compelling. I highly recommend this tour, and Austin, as both were well organised and allowed us to skip all the tourist lines and long walk up to the castle. Everything was smooth and easy and it was an enjoyable day.
Don't go to Neuschwanstein yourself - go through this tour and make your day quicker and easier!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Matthew W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Aidan was awesome, hilarious and remembered all of our names! Super impressive and a great guy. The castle was amazing as was the tour. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

anju_lamba

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour with a wonderful guide who gave lots of tips on other things to see in the area as well. We were limited with time, so this was a great way to see the castle without having to worry about the very long lines.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

Jann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip to see all three castles was everything we hoped! We even stopped in Oberammergau, the place that has the Passion Play for a visit and gelato. Thank you European Castles Tours. Fredrico you were the best guide. It was wonderful!

Doing what: Bavaria Highlights Tour from Fuessen: Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Oberammergau and Hohenschwangau

Theresa L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed the beautiful castle as well as the countryside. Susanne was really nice and very informative. Would recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Lorri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a very unusual experience while on this tour to the Neuschwanstein Castle. We enjoyed 2 nice train rides and then a bus ride to get to the castle. Upon arriving, we ate lunch at a nice cafe and then began our steep walk up to the Castle which took an hour. The actual tour of the castle is about 45 minutes. Susanna, our guide did a great job with giving us loads of information about the history of the castle. After leaving the site, we returned to Munich via the bus and train. It happened that on this day, Munich experienced a shooting in a shopping mall and just as we were getting into the vicinity of central Munich, we heard about it on the train. The decision was made for us to get off the train at the train stop Munich - Pasing since it was outside the area that the shootings were occurring. Susanna did a great job keeping our group together during the chaos and advised us to stop in at a biergarten in the area to have dinner as we waited to hear about updates as to what was going on in the city center. We spent several hours in the restaurant and later learned that all trains, buses, were shut down and taxis were very limited. As the night wore on, Susanna stayed with us and then made the very generous offer that her husband would be arriving soon to the restaurant and would shuttle groups of us back into the city to our hotels! What a lifesaver for us, since we had no other way to get back to our hotel. We were very grateful for the kindness of Susanna and her husband. We can't say enough about these 2 people and how helpful they were to us and other members of our tour group!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Yvonne N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Really good tour, save a lot of hassle with the transportation and getting of the entrance tickets to the castle. Sufficient time to see everything.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Aidan was an excellent guide and was very knowledgeable as well as personable. The grounds and the Castle were impressive despite the challenging weather we encountered.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

dreamy_anjo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We enjoyed the scenic train ride on the way to Fussen. We had enough time to visit the castle as well as explore the surrounding. Our guide Aiden was very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Alastair M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour with a very knowledgeable guide. Was most helpful to have arranged everything in advance as there were lots of stages to negotiate and long lines at most of them. Beautiful castle with stunning views. Highly recommended

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

sylviagreene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was well informed and managed our tour expertly. Transportation to the castle by bus and return by Horse-Drawn Carriage was wonderful since the climb is long and steep and we had a light drizzle. It is always a more enjoyable experience in a small group. Our only disappointment was that Mary's Bridge giving the best distance photos was closed but, that wasn't the tours fault.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

Neil G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a lovely time. Roland was an engaging guide who told us some fascinating stories surrounding the history of the castle's creation. The only thing is that time is a little rushed after visiting the castle. Would have been nice to have an extra hour to walk around after the castle tour. Overall though, a great tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

rregan1988

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Had a wonderful time on our small group tour to Neuschwanstein Castle. Our guide Petra, was so friendly and knowledgeable. Would absolutely book this tour again.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Marsha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great full day tour to Neuschwanstein - our tour guide was very knowledgeable. You start with a train ride followed by a bus, then you can decide whether to hike up the very steep hill please note it is tough or take a horse-drawn carriage. You tour around the castle then have a couple hours for yourselves to venture up to Mary's Bridge please note this was closed and I was told it will be for the near future due to damage from landslides or head over to the Hohenschwangau castle which is back down the hill and across the way. I went past Mary's bridge to a clearing where you could see the iconic view of the castle with Mary's bridge in front.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

JamesR

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Your Guide was Amir and he was awesome! They are very prompt, so you must be on time. There is a walk from the bus dropped to the castle with some uphill climbs, so be prepared. The carriage ride is from the castle back down the hill which is very nice and relaxing. Great tour! Definite must do!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

Michael W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Radius Tour group is a well run group for this tour. You take a 2 hour train ride through the picturesque Bavia country side then transfer to a bus to a small village for a quick lunch while you wait for your assigned tour time to castle. You walk up hill for 45 minutes suggest if you have knee or back problems to pre-arrange with Radius a van to take you to the castle for only 2 Euros - but worth it. The inside tour 40 minutes of the castle is outstanding. This is the castle used in Sleeping Beauty and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang movies. Well worth the time and expense for this sight.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Rebecca R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was amazing!

Can not describe how beautiful the alps and castle are.

This is a must do for your Munich trip

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message