The small mountain village of Oberammergau, tucked away in the Ammergau Alps on the Austrian border, has secured a place for itself on the Bavarian tourist trail, thanks to its legendary Passion Play.  A tradition dating back to 1634, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 325 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

r.britton.63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an excellent tour with a charming and very informative guide. My only criticism was that there was an exhibition in the theatre at Oberammergau which we were not told about and only discovered when we had to go back to the coach. Max could have told us of this, but he was first rate on all the important things so I would not want to over emphasise it. Perhaps guides could be reminded to mention it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

M H M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic excursion. We enjoyed both castles very much and Oberammergau is a gem. Definitely worth paying the extra fee for tour inside the castles. Victor, please allow at least 2 hours for exploring and shopping in Oberammergau.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Rand N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Because Gray Line tries to sell out their buses, this small group tour was well worth it. When we went, there were only twenty people on the bus, which offered very comfortable seats with plenty of room. The snacks were nice and our tour guide was quite efficient. The visits to Neuschwanstein and Linderhof justify the trip, but we also visited Oberammergau--a very pleasant surprise. The only downside: this is a very full day and a very busy itinerary!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Liliana V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Choose this trip!!!!! Reasons:
1. It's a small group we were 15 and it's easier to get into the bus on time, it's more civilized and quiet
2. The bus is extremely confortable
3. You go to Neuschwanstein first during the morning so you avoid big crowds in the afternoon
4. Plenty of time to see it all
5. In Oberammergau you MUST GO INSIDE THE CHURCH

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Catherine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Although it poured rain much of the day, this was a great trip. Having the small group was nice for allowing lots of personal interaction with our great guide, Ursula, on the wonderfully comfortable coach. The castles were wonderful, and the scenery along the way exquisite...especially once the sun came out. It was nice to get to Oberammergau, although the amount of time there was very short. All-in-all a fabulous day!!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Jerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The drive to the castles was beautiful. Linderhof was built as a hunting lodge by Ludwig II. We stopped at the small town of Oberammergau, home of the Passion Play. Neuschawnstein Castle the Disney castle was built in 1869. It is quite a trek to walk up to the castle and once inside there are about 300 steps. We are glad we took the hike. The view from up top is amazing.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Gary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour.Firstly Linderhof Castle is stunning(though sadly not much time to see the grounds).Then a quick stop in beautiful Oberammergau for shopping and a lovely ice cream.Then Neuschwanstein which is magical.Its very busy(especially the bridge) lot of walking involved so have good shoes.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Miyeko K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day! Both castles were so beautiful and amazing to walk through. The only thing would have been nice is to have a longer time to walk around Oberammergau. 20 minutes just wasn't long enough.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Phil R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would thoroughly recommend this tour. We had a very informative tour guide by the name of Ursula who provided an excellent commentary throughout the day. We enjoyed visiting both castles and also the stop over at Oberammergau. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jenny62thompson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

No wonder it is such a popular tourist destination, everything about the Royal Castles is fascinating. Great to begin the day with an informative tour of Linderhof Castle as well as a short but enjoyable wander through the beautiful gardens. Great too to have a lunch break in Oberammergau and get to see some of the distinctive fresco painted houses. The highlight of the day was seeing and going on the guided tour of Neuschwanstein Castle. A simply amazing castle and the views from it out over the countryside are stunning.To fit everything in on this day tour, you have to keep moving but our bus guide was wonderful at no only giving us an informative commentary on our travels, but also keeping everyone well informed on time frames. Would highly recommend this day tour to see and marvel at some amazingly beautiful places in Barvaria.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Keith J J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We visited Linderhof on a rainy day in June but it was still beautiful, as were the gardens. The weather just added a certain charm to the day. Our time there was nice and relaxed.
Oberammergau is a quaint town with painted buildings, shops and cafes. It's like stepping into a fairytale! So lovely! We felt that there wasn't enough to time to explore it though and after tourist shopping we only had time for coffee, no lunch. The tour was on a Sunday, so not all the shops were open.
Must say that our tour guide was fantastic! She was so nice and informative!
Definitely an amazing day out from Munich and would do it again!

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

tiffanywhite2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Tour director was very informative and friendly. Wished we could've spent more time in Oberammergau but understand time constraints. Wouldn't change anything else. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip to see all three castles was everything we hoped! We even stopped in Oberammergau, the place that has the Passion Play for a visit and gelato. Thank you European Castles Tours. Fredrico you were the best guide. It was wonderful!

Doing what: Bavaria Highlights Tour from Fuessen: Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Oberammergau and Hohenschwangau

John M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour with a knowledgeable and friendly guide that stopped at Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein. Beautiful Barvarian countryside. Oberammergau was very picturesque. Once at Hohenschwangau village we had lunch with very quick service as recommended by the Tour Guide. We then took the horse-drawn carriage from the village up to the Neuschwanstein castle. Our tour tickets were timed so we had to enter the castle at a precise time. After the tour, time to buy a few souvenirs and then back down to the waiting bus for the trip back to Munich. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Paulette.damico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Visited Linderhof on a very rainy day, but it was still beautiful and worth getting soaked for. Oberammergau is worth a visit. Lovely painted buildings and the time we had there to look round was just right

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

cherylamcneil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fantastic trip. We had beautiful weather, and Monica was a wonderful tour guide. She was very knowledgeable about the area, the castles and of course King Ludwig. She was able to realize that most of the other tour buses were headed to Linderhof first, and had our group do our shopping in Oberammergau first so we didn't have to wait in lines as much, and were able to shop without a huge crowd.
A tip for when you get to Neuschwanstein: there are food and drink options up by the castle, as well as restrooms. These are not on the maps given out. It would be easier and possibly less crowded to go to the top first, eat up there, and then be ready for your tour, instead of eating down below and then having to rush up the hill to make your tour. The lines for both the bus and carriage line are very long, and you could wait up to an hour. The carriage ride is easier on your body, but goes at the same speed as the walkers, so plan accordingly.

Also - the bus has drinks onboard. They are less expensive than purchasing elsewhere while on the trip.

All in all, it was a wonderful tour and we count it as a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Rossana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

1.        This tour has been one of the most fantastic tours I've done in my life
Reaching the castles of King Ludwig and admire its magnificent beauty , know the Linderhof Palace that is worth to walk and see and the small, charming village of Oberammergau in only 8 hours and without having to make the long lines
Our guide was very informative historically, was a pleasure and lucky for us to have her as a guide

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Dana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time! Linderhof was even better than I expected, so I'm glad I chose a tour that went there too. The outside of Neuschwanstein is incredible, but after Linderhof I wasn't as impressed with the inside of Neuschwanstein. Still worth it though. We also did a stop in Oberammergau. I'm not really sure what the purpose was, except maybe to give us a chance to buy some souvenirs. However, they had amazing ice cream in Oberammergau. 1 euro for a medium size scoop of some of the best ice cream I've ever had.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Janet L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip... comfortable bus, tour guide was amazing and she gave us a lot of information about Munich and the palace. Linderhof was small but beautiful. Be sure to go on a nice day because the grounds are amazing. Oberammergau is a quaint town with shops and cafes. I would recommend this trip to experience the true heart of Bavaria.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

Desiree L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day touring the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof! We stopped at a gorgeous Bavarian village, Oberammergauand did some shopping. Our tour guide was very kind, and she was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Wendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed the day immensely. Was well worth the visit to Liderhof as we managed to see the grotto this time, something we'd never had time to see before. Oberammergau was lovely!

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

Leah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the one I was looking forward to the most on our 2 weeks traveling around Europe, and it did not disappoint! The first two stops at Linderhof and Oberammergau seemed a bit rushed, but it was worth it to have so much time in Hohenschwangau and to tour Neuschwanstein. When they drop you off for lunch before your tour, I definitely recommend walking to the lake and eating outside at Alpenrose am See. The food is pricey, but probably the best food we had in Germany and the view is stunning!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour. Small group is the way to go!! We had 13 people on the tour and the bus was amazing. Everyone had their own seat which swiveled to be able to look out the windows. We each got a snack box, which was mostly candy. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The lines to get tickets for Neuschwanstein were long, but we could skip the line and go right to the castle. There was plenty of time to enjoy lunch. Linderhof was not as crowded as Neuschwanstein, and quite different. The one negative would be in Oberammergau--we didn't have enough time to enjoy this charming Alpine town.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

marty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed this tour very much. The castles are really worth visiting and Oberammergau is a very pretty town. Well organised and the guide was great and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

marty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed this tour very much. The castles are worth visiting and Oberammergau is a very pretty town where we stopped for ice cream sundaes. Would recommend this tour. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable too.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message