The small mountain village of Oberammergau, tucked away in the Ammergau Alps on the Austrian border, has secured a place for itself on the Bavarian tourist trail, thanks to its legendary Passion Play.  A tradition dating back to 1634, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 347 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maxine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was a great tour, well worth the money. An early start on a crisp morning, but very relaxing on the coach. The Bavarian countryside was beautiful and our first stop was Linderhof Castle. An optional tour of this castle is very good and worth doing. The surrounding countryside was quite stunning. Next stop was the town of Oberammergau beautiful. We had a reasonable amount of time to take in some sights.

Then onto Schwangau and the Neuschwanstein Castle. It took about 45 minutes to walk up to the castle, but don't worry, you won't be on your own. We didn't do a tour of this castle, just looking from outside it is awesome. Walking to Marienbrücke Queen Mary's Bridge took about another 20 minutes, but the views along the way are fantastic. One of the best views of the castle is from this bridge, but you won't be alone. The crowd was quite orderly and you just have to be patient. It's worth it.

Plenty of places to get food up the hill or down in the village, we had the standard bratwurst in a bun at the top of the hill and then enjoyed a hot drink at Hotel Müller, Then headed back to Munich at 4:30. It was good to be on the coach as it was getting fairly cold outside. Back in Munich about 6:30. Thanks to Elizabeth for her friendliness and professionalism and thanks to Daniel for delivering us back safely. A great day out.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

2dhismom Indonesia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Fantastic tour! Did the tour on mid of October. It started from Oberammergau, Linderhoft Palace and Neuschwanstein castle. Beautiful view along the way and beautiful castles. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and we had beautiful memories. I highly recommended this tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

SkyyStrike Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic tour gave us access to Linderhof, Neuschwanstein and Oberammergau. Tour guide was great, tour covers everything as described. Appreciate the options given during free and easy times.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

h m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was really well organised. Max our tour guide was very informative and was very personable.
Started off at Linderhofen and time spent there was exactly right enough time for tour and shopping.
Next to Oberammergau not enough time here but Max gave us great shopping tips.
Then to the castle this didn't disappoint plenty of time to get to the cast!e tour and food and shopping.
The coach had a toilet on board and you could buy drinks as well
Would say if you're visiting Munich this tour is well worth it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Theodore T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Neuschwanstein - First telephone in a castle, running water, picturesque views of mountains and lakes... this place has it all. Plus you get to visit Oberammergau and Lindderhof.. this is a great day of sight seeing. Someone else takes care of the driving, beer and water are available. What is not to love?

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Sheena M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Had done the 2 castles and Oberammergau before but the private tour ands the train back made the day a much better day ... great trip

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Neuschwanstein Castle, Linderhof Castle and Oberammergau from Munich Including Return-Trip by Train

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Did this tour in October and had a great day out, the tour was full on but very interesting. Did both tours of Linderhof and Neuschwanstein both so different but beautiful. The guide was very good and tour was well organised. Had a stopover at a little town called Oberammergau famous for their passion play, which the guide explained the history of, the town was so beautiful surrounded by the Barvarian Alps. The guide explained the history of King Lugwig II which made touring the castles more wonderful. Linderhof is a lot smaller more like a mansion than a castle but no less impressive and the surrounds are beautiful, but the main attraction was Neuschwanstein even though it was never finished inside, it is still worth the tour but mind you there is about 300 steps of spiral staircases to climb but well worth it. You also have to walk up to the castle but lots of food and drink kiosks on the way but there is a shuttle bus or a horse and carriage that can take you there as well. Lovely day out, lots crammed into the day but well worth it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

mrosenki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

1. Arrival and the Bus oh that bus!
When we arrived a little early at the bus stop in Munich, one of the friendly Viator employees recommended us where to get the best and cheapest coffee across the road. He was right, it was excellent and cheap. When we returned to the bus we found they had set up a red carpet for us! Equipped with excellent and cheap coffee in hand and after taking pictures on the red carpet we entered the bus only to find the most amazing bus interior we had ever seen. The custom interior literally only had 14 seats in the whole full-size bus. To call it ample leg-room is a massive understatement. There is only one seat on each side of the isle and they are offset. So if you are travelling alone, you can pretty much ignore everyone around you. Each seat can be tilted far back for snoozes. But not only that - they can be shifted along the base, either toward or away from the window and even rotated around 120 degrees to either face the isle or the window. The seats also come with attachable tables. See my pictures for an impression.

2. Service and Guide
From the start, the small tour offers a very exclusive VIP travel experience. Starting with the red carpet to the included snack pack and incredibly nice and supportive staff, you feel in good hands. The kickass, all-female bus staff and travel guide team introduced themselves charmingly and did a great job at letting us know about the plans for the day. It was a tight schedule overall, but the ladies made sure we weren't delayed too much by dalliers.

3. The Tour
The organisation of the tour was excellent throughout. Especially at Neuschwanstein. It was a rainy day, so everyone on our tour wanted to take the transit bus up to the castle and not walk, or take the horse carriage. This transit bus is run by Neuschwanstein and not by Viator so it does cost 1.80 Euro extra Our tour guide jumped out to pick up our pre-booked tickets for the castle avoiding the MASSIVE queues and also arranged for the bus to the castle to meet us. As the Small-Group aka VIP really did feel like it we got to go on the transit bus before anyone else. Since this is a public bus it waits to fill up completely, but this meant we were pretty much the only ones to get a seat, while the other tours and other castle visitors had to stand. This tour includes the audio-guide over the human-guide version of the castle tour, which was actually preferable, since it gives you a little more time to stay in the individual rooms and look at things, instead of being ushered or rushed through.
After a short half an hour stop in Oberammergau where we got to see the Passion production's theatre and many a woodworking shop, we continued to Linderhof castle. While we were a little disappointed that the Oriental pavilion was closed and that the tour didn't include a visit to the cave, the castle tour itself was great and scheduled perfectly to let us see the water fountain in front of the castle in action.
By the end of the second castle tour we were all pretty tired, but happy to be on our way home. The tour guide did a good job at not overloading us with information at this point and letting us all rest/nap until we got back to Munich.

4. Overall / Summary
The small-group tour is really a VIP tour. No time was wasted waiting for buses, tickets or anything. The tour guides information was interesting and charmingly delivered throughout. The bus was amazing - as were the castles themselves. Even though it was a misty/rainy day the views were incredible and memorable. We would definitely recommend this to anyone and are hoping for more small-group VIP bus tours to be organised. While it doesn't look like the cheapest on paper, it's excellent value.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Vi V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was very knowledgeable not only on the story of King Ludwig, but also into the history of the towns passed/visited. Her enthusiasm for King Ludwig really brought his story and that of his castles to life! The castles themselves were beautiful, although a bit more time to explore the grounds of Linderhof would have been good. The short visit into Oberammergau was also a highlight- a very cute little town which again we would've loved to have spent more time in. Understandably though it was a long day with a lot to cover so with that in mind, the times allocated were reasonable. We thoroughly enjoyed this tour and would recommend

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Josephine Chan Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Was a great tour. Will be most perfect if can spend more time in Oberammergau.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Kaitlin M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was probably my most memorable day on this trip to Europe! The castles were beautiful and the guides were great. When we went to the town of Oberammergau, it just was not enough time there. That was the only portion of the trip that felt rushed. Being at the Neuschwanstein Castle was amazing. My only recommendation was to skip going for lunch and bring your own for the hour they give you to eat. Walk around the grounds and take it all in. Definitely glad we didn't stop at the restaurant. Paddle boats were cheap and a great way to see the castles from the water! Highly recommend that!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jim.azarelo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great Tour and a spectacular Value. If you get a chance to do this tour, don't hesitate. Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau and the village of Oberammergau in a 10.5 hour tour is jam packed. Tickets for the tours inside both Neuschwanstein and Linderhof were taken care of by the fabulous guide for an additional 21 euro. Everything was made very convenient.Plenty of time was spent at Neuschawnstein/Hohenschwangau. Oberammergau village was a quick shopping stop with beautiful Fairy Tale painted homes and businesses. I found prices for souvenirs cheaper here than Munich. Overall a fairy tale trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

r.britton.63

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was an excellent tour with a charming and very informative guide. My only criticism was that there was an exhibition in the theatre at Oberammergau which we were not told about and only discovered when we had to go back to the coach. Max could have told us of this, but he was first rate on all the important things so I would not want to over emphasise it. Perhaps guides could be reminded to mention it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

M H M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fantastic excursion. We enjoyed both castles very much and Oberammergau is a gem. Definitely worth paying the extra fee for tour inside the castles. Victor, please allow at least 2 hours for exploring and shopping in Oberammergau.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Rand N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Because Gray Line tries to sell out their buses, this small group tour was well worth it. When we went, there were only twenty people on the bus, which offered very comfortable seats with plenty of room. The snacks were nice and our tour guide was quite efficient. The visits to Neuschwanstein and Linderhof justify the trip, but we also visited Oberammergau--a very pleasant surprise. The only downside: this is a very full day and a very busy itinerary!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Liliana V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Choose this trip!!!!! Reasons:
1. It's a small group we were 15 and it's easier to get into the bus on time, it's more civilized and quiet
2. The bus is extremely confortable
3. You go to Neuschwanstein first during the morning so you avoid big crowds in the afternoon
4. Plenty of time to see it all
5. In Oberammergau you MUST GO INSIDE THE CHURCH

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Catherine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Although it poured rain much of the day, this was a great trip. Having the small group was nice for allowing lots of personal interaction with our great guide, Ursula, on the wonderfully comfortable coach. The castles were wonderful, and the scenery along the way exquisite...especially once the sun came out. It was nice to get to Oberammergau, although the amount of time there was very short. All-in-all a fabulous day!!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Jerry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The drive to the castles was beautiful. Linderhof was built as a hunting lodge by Ludwig II. We stopped at the small town of Oberammergau, home of the Passion Play. Neuschawnstein Castle the Disney castle was built in 1869. It is quite a trek to walk up to the castle and once inside there are about 300 steps. We are glad we took the hike. The view from up top is amazing.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Gary J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really great tour.Firstly Linderhof Castle is stunning(though sadly not much time to see the grounds).Then a quick stop in beautiful Oberammergau for shopping and a lovely ice cream.Then Neuschwanstein which is magical.Its very busy(especially the bridge) lot of walking involved so have good shoes.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Miyeko K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great day! Both castles were so beautiful and amazing to walk through. The only thing would have been nice is to have a longer time to walk around Oberammergau. 20 minutes just wasn't long enough.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Phil R Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would thoroughly recommend this tour. We had a very informative tour guide by the name of Ursula who provided an excellent commentary throughout the day. We enjoyed visiting both castles and also the stop over at Oberammergau. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jenny62thompson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

No wonder it is such a popular tourist destination, everything about the Royal Castles is fascinating. Great to begin the day with an informative tour of Linderhof Castle as well as a short but enjoyable wander through the beautiful gardens. Great too to have a lunch break in Oberammergau and get to see some of the distinctive fresco painted houses. The highlight of the day was seeing and going on the guided tour of Neuschwanstein Castle. A simply amazing castle and the views from it out over the countryside are stunning.To fit everything in on this day tour, you have to keep moving but our bus guide was wonderful at no only giving us an informative commentary on our travels, but also keeping everyone well informed on time frames. Would highly recommend this day tour to see and marvel at some amazingly beautiful places in Barvaria.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Keith J J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

We visited Linderhof on a rainy day in June but it was still beautiful, as were the gardens. The weather just added a certain charm to the day. Our time there was nice and relaxed.
Oberammergau is a quaint town with painted buildings, shops and cafes. It's like stepping into a fairytale! So lovely! We felt that there wasn't enough to time to explore it though and after tourist shopping we only had time for coffee, no lunch. The tour was on a Sunday, so not all the shops were open.
Must say that our tour guide was fantastic! She was so nice and informative!
Definitely an amazing day out from Munich and would do it again!

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

tiffanywhite2000

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Tour director was very informative and friendly. Wished we could've spent more time in Oberammergau but understand time constraints. Wouldn't change anything else. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jann

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our trip to see all three castles was everything we hoped! We even stopped in Oberammergau, the place that has the Passion Play for a visit and gelato. Thank you European Castles Tours. Fredrico you were the best guide. It was wonderful!

Doing what: Bavaria Highlights Tour from Fuessen: Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Oberammergau and Hohenschwangau

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message