The small mountain village of Oberammergau, tucked away in the Ammergau Alps on the Austrian border, has secured a place for itself on the Bavarian tourist trail, thanks to its legendary Passion Play.  A tradition dating back to 1634, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 308 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour with a knowledgeable and friendly guide that stopped at Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein. Beautiful Barvarian countryside. Oberammergau was very picturesque. Once at Hohenschwangau village we had lunch with very quick service as recommended by the Tour Guide. We then took the horse-drawn carriage from the village up to the Neuschwanstein castle. Our tour tickets were timed so we had to enter the castle at a precise time. After the tour, time to buy a few souvenirs and then back down to the waiting bus for the trip back to Munich. All in all a great experience.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Paulette.damico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Visited Linderhof on a very rainy day, but it was still beautiful and worth getting soaked for. Oberammergau is worth a visit. Lovely painted buildings and the time we had there to look round was just right

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

cherylamcneil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a fantastic trip. We had beautiful weather, and Monica was a wonderful tour guide. She was very knowledgeable about the area, the castles and of course King Ludwig. She was able to realize that most of the other tour buses were headed to Linderhof first, and had our group do our shopping in Oberammergau first so we didn't have to wait in lines as much, and were able to shop without a huge crowd.
A tip for when you get to Neuschwanstein: there are food and drink options up by the castle, as well as restrooms. These are not on the maps given out. It would be easier and possibly less crowded to go to the top first, eat up there, and then be ready for your tour, instead of eating down below and then having to rush up the hill to make your tour. The lines for both the bus and carriage line are very long, and you could wait up to an hour. The carriage ride is easier on your body, but goes at the same speed as the walkers, so plan accordingly.

Also - the bus has drinks onboard. They are less expensive than purchasing elsewhere while on the trip.

All in all, it was a wonderful tour and we count it as a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Rossana D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

1.        This tour has been one of the most fantastic tours I've done in my life
Reaching the castles of King Ludwig and admire its magnificent beauty , know the Linderhof Palace that is worth to walk and see and the small, charming village of Oberammergau in only 8 hours and without having to make the long lines
Our guide was very informative historically, was a pleasure and lucky for us to have her as a guide

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Dana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time! Linderhof was even better than I expected, so I'm glad I chose a tour that went there too. The outside of Neuschwanstein is incredible, but after Linderhof I wasn't as impressed with the inside of Neuschwanstein. Still worth it though. We also did a stop in Oberammergau. I'm not really sure what the purpose was, except maybe to give us a chance to buy some souvenirs. However, they had amazing ice cream in Oberammergau. 1 euro for a medium size scoop of some of the best ice cream I've ever had.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Janet L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip... comfortable bus, tour guide was amazing and she gave us a lot of information about Munich and the palace. Linderhof was small but beautiful. Be sure to go on a nice day because the grounds are amazing. Oberammergau is a quaint town with shops and cafes. I would recommend this trip to experience the true heart of Bavaria.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

Desiree L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day touring the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof! We stopped at a gorgeous Bavarian village, Oberammergauand did some shopping. Our tour guide was very kind, and she was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Wendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed the day immensely. Was well worth the visit to Liderhof as we managed to see the grotto this time, something we'd never had time to see before. Oberammergau was lovely!

Doing what: Royal Castle of Linderhof and Oberammergau Day Tour from Munich

Leah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the one I was looking forward to the most on our 2 weeks traveling around Europe, and it did not disappoint! The first two stops at Linderhof and Oberammergau seemed a bit rushed, but it was worth it to have so much time in Hohenschwangau and to tour Neuschwanstein. When they drop you off for lunch before your tour, I definitely recommend walking to the lake and eating outside at Alpenrose am See. The food is pricey, but probably the best food we had in Germany and the view is stunning!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour. Small group is the way to go!! We had 13 people on the tour and the bus was amazing. Everyone had their own seat which swiveled to be able to look out the windows. We each got a snack box, which was mostly candy. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The lines to get tickets for Neuschwanstein were long, but we could skip the line and go right to the castle. There was plenty of time to enjoy lunch. Linderhof was not as crowded as Neuschwanstein, and quite different. The one negative would be in Oberammergau--we didn't have enough time to enjoy this charming Alpine town.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

marty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed this tour very much. The castles are really worth visiting and Oberammergau is a very pretty town. Well organised and the guide was great and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

marty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed this tour very much. The castles are worth visiting and Oberammergau is a very pretty town where we stopped for ice cream sundaes. Would recommend this tour. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable too.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Valerie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome tour! Could spend more time at Oberammergau and castle neuschwanstein because it felt rushed. But if all you want is to tour castles, it was fantastic!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Peggy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We met in front of the Karlstadt Mall great shopping by the way and loaded into a bus where each row was single seating and staggered allowing for each seat to have a foot rest. Christine our guide and Freida our driver were both excellent. Christine did an excellent job with commentary and keeping our group together, getting tickets and suggesting shopping and dining spots.

Frieda gave us the smoothest ride, slow and easy. I would have liked a stop or two to take some scenic pictures, but I understand that it is not possible to stop in the middle of the road.

We were provided a snack box and coffee, water and sodas on the bus. Since Frieda was the only one that knew how to use the coffee machine, you could not have coffee during the ride which really was no big deal.

We had good weather for most of the trip, some rain during our Neuschwanstein Castle tour, umbrellas are not available from the bus, but vendors around the area sell them for 5 Euro. There is a lot of walking and stairs. You can take a horse coach to the castle and back, but there is a bit of walking...all pretty easy through the castle.

It was suggested to have lunch in the town, but we really didn't have time. I know some on the bus did, but I don't see how unless they ran up to the castle and ran back down.

We then traveled to Linderhof, passing through a wonderful woodcarving town of Oberammergau. We had a brief stop to shop, use the restroom and grab a coffee. Then on to Linderhof which was a better experience than Neushwanstein as far as grounds and lines go.

The little extra paid for this tour over a crowded bus with no leg room was well worth the price. We were a small group and a very good time. For us, this is the only way to tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Leah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour! Bus ride was comfortable, air conditioned but no Wi-Fi. Neuschwanstein and Linderhof were beautiful, Oberammergau very quaint. Great day, highly recommend this tour :

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

gailseedsman Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was the best way to see so much in one day. We could never have seen Linderhof Palace, Neuschwanstein Castle and walked around Oberammergau in the time. We avoided long queues for tickets, enjoyed guide's commentary along the way. And we did not feel hurried or pressured at all. We were a group of 6 with 2 children and we all thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Thank you!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

iswanto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

First of all, the booking choice and process of 4 consecutive day-trips via Viator was easy and convenient. Having read the previous reviews, all the guides seemed to have a very good knowledge of the history and professional in conducting the tour, so was ours. Markus guide and Markus coach driver were 5 stars in taking and guiding us to 3 different locations, Oberammergau, Neuschwantein and Linderhof, timing was just perfect.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Kristopher K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My friend and I had a blast on this tour. Our tour guides were fantastic. They were informative and entertaining. The trip to the castle was smooth and we also got to visit the beautiful Bavarian town of Oberammergau. I would recommend this trip to others.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Munich with Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit or Bike Tour

Cynthia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although it was a drizzly day, our trip was on time and the guide's cheerful attitude made the whole day worthwhile. This tour visits 3 sites - Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein.
The stop at Oberammergau was a quick on-off -run-shop stop...but it was interesting to hear about the Passion Play and the region.
The tours at Linderhof and Neuschwanstein were very interesting. Just a note that the entrance fees are NOT included in the Viator reservation - I think it was an additional 23 euros.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Chris M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a great tour that I would recommend for those who have never explored the 3 locations that you visit: Linderhof palace, Oberammergau town location of the Passion Play, and of course Neuschwanstein, the dream-medieveal castle built by King Ludwig II that inspired the Disney castle. Linderhof palace is a beautiful retreat home built by Ludwig II set back into the mountains on extensive garden grounds near Oberammergau. Linderhof is done in the style of Versailles and is truly visually magnificient and over the top!. I would recommend taking the long walk up to the castle Neuschwanstein, as the walk is full of sights both up to the castle and down across the valley that it overlooks. Taking the horse buggy or bus does not save you from having to walk, so you might as well enjoy it! Unfortunately, like many multi-site tours, it felt like not much time was given to each location. One only has about an hour for Linderhof and Oberammergau each, with the rest of the trip being dedicated to Neuschwanstein and getting to and from locations. While this is ok for a first-time visit to these locations, anyone looking to really dig deep into each one should set out and explore on their own.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Lisa J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A must to see! Our group kicked off and headed to Linderhof Castle for a scenic tour of this smaller castle, then to Oberammergau for time to touring and end at Neuschwanstein. Francesca was fabulous with suggestions to see or do at locations and full of information! We had a GORGEOUS day of weather and so the views were spectacular from the castles. The only drawback was Marien's Bridge Marienbrucke closed for repairs. Still the views are wonderful and well worth the time to visit!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Yvonne Yat May S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The luxury coach is really comfortable and it was really a small-group tour 8 of us. By virtue of the small group which made us agile, the tour guide made a quick stop at Oberammergau which was a BIG bonus. It would be better still if our tour guide could lead a quick walking tour around Oberammergau as we were kind of lost and unsure of the directions. Overall was a pleasant experience especially experiencing winter wonderland during this trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Dorothy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour and excellent guide. The day was packed, but the pace was good. We had ample time to view both castles. I highly recommend visiting the castles through a tour group to avoid ticket and entry disappointment.
Oberammergau was also a charming little town. Unfortunately, the day we visited was a holiday, so everything was closed, but the shop windows were all very interesting and the history provided by the guide was as well.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyable trip to visit the castles at Neuschwanstein and Linderhof with a stop at Oberammergau. Our tour guide was outstanding and we enjoyed all three stops. The castles are amazing, and the highlight of our time in Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The small tour bus was the most luxurious bus we have ever been on. 25 large swivel chairs made the 12 hour trip very enjoyable and comfortable

The tour director and bus driver were very knowledgeable of the area of Germany we traveled through.
Neuschwanstein and Schwangau castles is in a beautiful area of the Alps The history behind the castles are very interesting. We had plenty of time to explore the area. The tour guide had tickets for our tour of the Neauschwanstein castle at an appointed time.

There was a nice stop at Oberammergau for lunch, snack or shopping. It is a cute little village in The Alps.
The final stop was at Linderhoff Palace. The palace tour is beautiful from the interior rooms to the exterior statues and fountains.

On the ride back we were treated to wine and beer to enjoy while we drove back to Munich.
If I have the chance to take a small group tour again I will The additional cost is definitely worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message