Bay of Islands ATTRACTIONS See all

Cape Brett Hole-in-the-Rock

Wild and lonely Cape Brett is a remote location on the scenic back road leading along the coast from Russell. Along the route is the traditional Maori village of Rawhiti, the starting point for the rugged 7.5-hour trek to Cape Brett. On ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 219 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew Michael S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

In theory, the tours were great- but.. After pick up from our hotel, we were instructed to walk up three blocks with our luggage to meet our connecting bus as it's faster. We assumed the pick up time would be reliant upon us getting transported the whole way despite saving time for the driver. Our driver had no idea who was looking after our itinerary after we arrived. Finally his company called another company and found that they were responsible for the next two days. Eventually our luggage was delivered to our hotel but they delivered the wrong bags.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

kjschlapp

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I loved all the things we got to see and do. The only fall back is that most tours and trips did not come with food (which is fine) and did not leave enough time to get your own and started before hotel breakfast was available

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful and very informative tour. Would highly recommend the tour especially if you only have a short time to visit the area.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Madonna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

very organized. packed with value. Great hotels. Clean buses well maintained with WIPI. . courteous bus drviers. Best land tour we have had.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Christine P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Great fun. Didn and #39;t get to hole in the rock due to weather but still worth it.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Brittany D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We had bad weather on the cruise and the captain didn't think we could make it to the Hole in the Rock but tried for about 20 minutes anyways before giving up. Wish that time had been spent on the island stopover or just given back to us at Paihia. Overall, it was just driving around for 4 hours so a bit long.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

jacquikay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour - staff on the boat were great. A little confusing where to actually go to get on the boat, get the ticket etc, but worked out ok in the end

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Micheal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip. The captain went out of his normal route to find us a pod of killer whales orcas which we stayed and watched for about an hour. The experience was great being so close to these majestic mammals. The rest of the trip was great with the captain giving us a running commentary the whole way round. Well worth the money

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Walter

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The cruise was excellent and we enjoyed it very much. Waves were high so boat could not go through hole in rock. Stop at little island on way back was beautiful

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

sallyspelman

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

When we boarded the vessel to take us to the hole in the rock we were warned by our female skipper that it would be rough out there and it was doubtful whether we would be able to go through the hole. We were also told we could get off if we were worried about seasickness. On reflection I should have got off but I really wanted to see the hole. Sadly I was poorly on board and missed quite alot, however, our skipper was excellent in handling the boat in such difficult seas. I think it would have to be a mill pond before I would attempt the trip again. Thankfully my husband was fine and managed to get some nice photos. Be guided by the skipper and if she says it is going to be rough and you suffer from seasickness then you should most definitely get off the boat

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

In a word 'fantastic'.

Will worth the trip.

The pilot was friendly and knowledgeable. A great experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Lorna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was absolutely wonderful even though we couldn't go through the hole because of the currents. We were lucky enough to have a wonderful sunny day. The captain was terrific - warm and informative and she found dolphins for us which was an absolute highlight!! I had 3 friends from overseas and they thought the whole experience was magical - one from the USA had wanted to come to the Bay of Islands for many years and she was totally bowled over. Thanks for a lovely experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Nettie

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful ,informative, beautiful and a relaxing day trip. Saw some much the Bay of Islands

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Stephen L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We had a perfect morning for this cruise, with blue skies and little breeze, so the Bay was calm, except for a few swells out near the rock, which is pretty much in the Pacific Ocean! We saw dolphins and spent maybe 20 minutes near them, so everyone could get pictures. Because the tide was high and there were some strong, predictable currents, our captain decided it was best not to go through the hole in the rock, which was only wise. however, we got great picks. On the way back we had a stop-over and walk on another island, which was just beautiful and we stayed at Russell for lunch, and took the complimentary ferry trip back to Paihia later in the day. Great trip!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

pteach

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The cruise was very good, but the weather was not. We were given the option to cancel, but I don't think the warning was strong enough.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If there were more stars they would get them all! Fabulous cruise.
Our captain actually drove through the hole in the rock...amazing! A 'must-do'!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was very good and was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Micheal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fully recommend this trip. When we went out the captain Billy told us that he was going off schedule because he had been told of a pod of killer whales in the area he wanted to find for us. He duly found them and the experience was amazing Billy seemed to be able to play with them and encourage them closer to the boat. Went through hole in wall in quite a swell which showed the captain's skill

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Louise G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a great day out! Saw dolphins as we were coming home after a dull weather day in Paihia turned out to be glorious around the islands. Brilliant and knowledgeable crew.
Will go again if I go back to the bay of islands and recommend you do too.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

jrobinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was fantastic! An absolute must do, even for those of us who are a little bit afraid of flying in a helicopter. The pilot was exceptionally professional and informative. Be sure to include the landing on top of the rock portion of the tour --- it is well worth it.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Kenneth J P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

There's no better way to see Bay of Islands than by helicopter and landing on the Hole in the Rock was a great thrill. Our pilot/guide was terrific. We highly recommend this adventure.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Vicki H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved it - I was a bit disappointed that helicopters are able to land on the hole in the rock - spoils the experience and what about the cultural implications? Nevertheless, the trip was wonderful and the whole area is absolutely amazing. Our skipper was hilarious and also extremely informative. Had a lovely day - thank you so much :

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Robert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a memorable time we had and we actually sailed through the Hole in the Rock. This was our first time in New Zealand and the Bay of Islands is just amazing. So many memories. The young man who sailed us through was great. He had a great sense of humor and extremely informative and good looking as well! What more can I say. Well done and thank you.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Theresa P

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

It would have been a great excursions if the weather would have been nicer. Rough waters

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Bradley N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great Tour have to say it was very organized. Always had are names and picked up on time.
All buses were great as they all had free wifi on board. All bus drivers were very informative and friendly. Highly recommend this trip all the activities are great

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message