The little town of Waitangi looms large in New Zealand’s national psyche. It was here in 1840 that the famous Treaty of Waitangi was signed by local Maori chiefs and representatives of Queen Victoria. The Waitangi Treaty recognized Maori ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 186 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Terrence J P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A great day visiting the birthplace of New Zealand. The Bay of Islands is picturesque.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

David P USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our only complaint was with the weather of that day, we had light rain and leaden skies and sea. But we especially enjoyed the Council House, the Maori guide was incredibly knowledgeable, the history extremely enlightening, the war canoes most impressive. The lunch that was provided was perfect. Russell was most interesting and we had a great guide there. We got shopping in, too! The sun did come out on the way back to Auckland. Our driver on the long runs back and forth was informative and took breaks from talking at times so we felt a good balance was held. We'd do it again on a nicer day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

ANNA P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Wonderful day.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Madonna M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Fantastic day only thing I would have done is stayed over night to have extra time to have a look around. Great tour if you are on limited time. Long day however the bus trip was very comfortable and plenty of time to rest.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Joseph A K

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We really enjoyed most of the sites and events. The only negative was too much time spent on bus rides..

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Peter B

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Bit of a long journey, but worth it.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Getbusytraveling United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Beautiful tour. Highly recommend

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Lesley B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent driver and tour guides. Very informative. Lovely place to visit and so glad we made it part of our trip

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Bernadette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our family thoroughly enjoyed this action packed holiday and especially recommend it to those who have a limited time to see highlights of the North Island. We were so impressed by the exquisite scenery, the kindness of the countrys people and the richness of the Maori culture. Our only issue with the 5-day tour was that we would have preferred more detail about our itinerary and how to coordinate with the tour operators. Although Viator organised the bus transportation, hotel accommodations, and individual tours, we were left to coordinate when/where for pickups etc. for tours and transportation to the next locations.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

laizcampos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The place is totally worth the visit!! The driver was great!!!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Dakshina M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Overall the tour was good. The guides were knowledgeable, friendly and informative. Waitangi treaty grounds tour was rushed and at times the guides commentary was too fast. The Intercity bus trip from Auckland to Roturua had lots of stops and the driver was somewhat rude. After the conclusion of Hobitton tour - wait for the bus back to Auckland was the most disappointing. It was a open shelter - extremely windy, cold and there was heavy downpour while waiting for the delayed bus. We were dropped off without much info other than your connection will be here shortly. Calls to your tour center was also unhelpful. For the tour costs paid for a Superioir Gold package the shortcomings were extremely disappointing.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Kat P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

We recommend package tours like these because it saves you the trouble of driving out to remote locations and arranging the boats on your own.

About the tour: The driver was absolutely amazing! The boat portion of the tour was slightly crowded, so it was difficult to secure great outdoor seats. Besides the actual Hole in the Rock, parts of the cape tour were a bit slow -- it was mostly waiting around to get to the good parts. However, the boat crew were complete pros!

As with any outdoor tour in NZ, you need to remember that visibility is VERY dependent on the weather. Be sure to bring rain gear and expect cool temps, even in summer.

Doing what: Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise departs Auckland

kpw223

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Warning, this 5 day tour consists of a lot of riding in tour bus, so much of the enjoyment depends on who you have as a bus driver or tour guide that day. The first 2 days of the tour was very good going north of Auckland to Bay of Islands and Cape Reinga. The 3rd day of tour was not enjoyable as it is just a whole day spent riding in 2 separate buses to Rotorua. The 4th day was good going to Waitomo Caves and Mauri village for dinner/show. The 5th day is pretty packed. For us, the tour operator screwed up and did not book our tour on the 5th day, so we were stuck in the hotel waiting all morning. This really bummed us out as we were looking forward to the fully packed 5th day activities, and we were very concerned about being able to get from Rotorua back to Auckland to catch our flight back to US the following day. It took a few hours of waiting for tour operator to get their act together and we eventually got rebooked for the 5th day afternoon tour to Hobbiton, but the mistake by the tour operator really tainted our experience. To make the experience worse, when we were offered the refund for their mistake a couple of week later, the refund came in ridiculously low. I had to contact Viator a couple of times before Viator offered a fair refund amount we asked for 20 back as 1 in 5 days was ruined.

What I learned:
1. Make sure that the tour operator book you for all 5 days reconfirm with tour operator if possible this can get difficult as you are on the move during the tour, so try to reconfirm before tour begins.
2. Viator seems like a reliable company as it did ultimately offer a fair refund, but only after I contacted them a couple of times.
3. New Zealand is a beautiful country with natural and cultural wonders.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

wilhelmino

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful experiences everywhere we went. Definitely worth the price. The crew were very friendly and punctual. Would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Penny G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Stunning trip. Great coach drivers super friendly service

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Tess H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Such an enjoyable trip! Rachel was great, funny and so accommodating! Highly recommend!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Mherm70205

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

GREAT GUIDE AND GOING ON RUSSELL TOUR WAS FANTASTIC.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Jamie C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a bit far from Auckland 4 hours, but the driver was super-nice. He warned us of potential bad weather, but by the time we got there, it wasn't too horrible. The guided historical tour of the treaty areas was very fascinating and well-timed the waka was no kidding huge. I also enjoyed the ferry ride over to the peninsula. And since I was the only one who selected a tour of the town of Russell, I had the guide to myself a VERY friendly ol' chap who lived there permanently and had a ton of fun stories/local knowledge.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

irenetpete

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Pretty good, just be aware that there is another option of doing a dolphin cruise/hole in rock boat tour. If you want to do that you'll have to pay a lot more, it was worth it, but wish there had been 2 options listed on viator. If you book directly through the company I guess you can do that, but I definitely did not see a way to do it on this website. Our guide Rachel was fantastic!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Betti-ellen W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

We would have preferred to do the Rock tour once we knew it existed. Even the bus driver tried to talk us out of this tour. The treaty ground visit was too short and you couldn't see the cultural show. The ferry ride over to the island was nice, as well as the shuttle. However, it wasn't worth the 4 hour ride each way.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ben was a great tour guide who shared authentic experiences as a New Zealander. He also has a great sense of humor. He let the tour very precisely, giving passengers the time they needed to see things, yet keeping us to schedule. I personally enjoyed the Bay of Islands tour, with the added bonus of seeing the island of Russell. It is a long day, but the bus is comfortable, and is a great way to see things if your time is short.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Danielle V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Long drive but bay of islands is really nice, we had nice weather, saw a lot of dolphins and sealions.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Andrew Michael S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

In theory, the tours were great- but.. After pick up from our hotel, we were instructed to walk up three blocks with our luggage to meet our connecting bus as it's faster. We assumed the pick up time would be reliant upon us getting transported the whole way despite saving time for the driver. Our driver had no idea who was looking after our itinerary after we arrived. Finally his company called another company and found that they were responsible for the next two days. Eventually our luggage was delivered to our hotel but they delivered the wrong bags.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Molly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide/driver made the trip organized and entertaining! Beautiful area to visit, strongly recommend if you only have one day to spend in the Bay of Islands.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message