The little town of Waitangi looms large in New Zealand’s national psyche. It was here in 1840 that the famous Treaty of Waitangi was signed by local Maori chiefs and representatives of Queen Victoria. The Waitangi Treaty recognized Maori ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 164 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Ben was a great tour guide who shared authentic experiences as a New Zealander. He also has a great sense of humor. He let the tour very precisely, giving passengers the time they needed to see things, yet keeping us to schedule. I personally enjoyed the Bay of Islands tour, with the added bonus of seeing the island of Russell. It is a long day, but the bus is comfortable, and is a great way to see things if your time is short.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Danielle V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Long drive but bay of islands is really nice, we had nice weather, saw a lot of dolphins and sealions.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Molly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide/driver made the trip organized and entertaining! Beautiful area to visit, strongly recommend if you only have one day to spend in the Bay of Islands.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

djnightside

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The tour went off without a hitch. The ferry ride was nice and the mini tour was very informative. I was the only one on the tour, so it was even more personalized. The tour was about 30 minutes, so it left plenty of time to walk around the fishing village and explore.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

kjschlapp

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

I loved all the things we got to see and do. The only fall back is that most tours and trips did not come with food (which is fine) and did not leave enough time to get your own and started before hotel breakfast was available

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Madonna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

very organized. packed with value. Great hotels. Clean buses well maintained with WIPI. . courteous bus drviers. Best land tour we have had.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Adrienne R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Having just completed a 10 day tour of the Southern Island and part of the Northern Island, finishing in Auckland, we regreted we hadn't continued our tour up to the Bay of Islands, so we were delighted to find this tour. it was a long bus tour with an early start 7.30am but was very scenic and included a tea stop and comfort break. The included visit to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds was very educational and the traditional Maori meeting house was beautiful.. Then we got the ferry across to Russell, an early European settlement where we had a very nice tour of the island followed by a swim and picnic lunch. We had some delicious ice-cream from one of the local creameries before getting the ferry back to Paihia for the return bus home. It was a long day out but very worth it. We arrived back into Auckland around 8pm.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Catherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Long journey but comfortable and the driver was great. The treaty ground talk was especially interesting the guide explained the history really well.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Sotheary M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to and from the Bay of Islands was a long ride, but it was definitely worth it. This place is so beautiful and definitely a must see. I would recommend the tour that includes overnight stay because there is so much to do in this area.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Vikram N

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Good tour and nice way to spend a day

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Andy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great day out to see some breathtaking scenery

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Scott H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Was a great day next time would stay overnight sightseeing was rushed

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Katherine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great full day tour of this wonderful area. Bay of Islands is a must see destination in New Zealand.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Claude I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

It's a long bus ride 4 hrs from Auckland to Bay of Islands, but well worth it. If you want to see some of New Zealand's countryside--the green rolling hills, the deep blue lakes, the herds of fat sheep and dairy cows--this is an excellent choice. Bay of Islands is a stunningly beautiful area. The Waitangi Treaty Grounds are pristine and lovely. It is easy to see why they each decided to settle there. The ferry to Russell, once the Hell Hole of the Pacific was a sunny 10-minute ride across sparkling waters to a sleepy little holiday town. No pirates left. Rachel, our guide, was super organized, very informative, and gave us a good overview of the area and New Zealand in general. A great day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Debra F

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

There was alot of miscommunication regarding our pick up and drop off at the agreed upon location. The driver was good, the tour was all good. Enjoyed the day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

debbietraina

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

This is the worst tour I have ever taken. Not worth the tine it takes. It an all day tour but you are on the bus 7 to 8 hours and very little time in Bay of Islands. Even the two tours were poorly done and then had an hour to wait for the bus to return to Auckland. Not a tour I would EVER do again..

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Ribu

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

The bus had got a flat tyre and the whole program was delayed by an hour. The Maori cultural village and treaty grounds were rushed to complete

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

David P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip was great

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Bradley N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great Tour have to say it was very organized. Always had are names and picked up on time.
All buses were great as they all had free wifi on board. All bus drivers were very informative and friendly. Highly recommend this trip all the activities are great

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Marie-Therese B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Absolutely beautiful. Just about the best place I've been to yet. I was disappointed that the weather didn't allow a tour to the hole in the rock.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

mail

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

The bus was modern and comfortable and the driver excellent but this trip entailed a long drive to Pahia - itself hardly an attractive location. The tour of the Waitangi treaty grounds was interesting but our guide needs serious coaching in presentation skills. The ferry ride to Russell was enjoyable but there's little, if anything, to do in the town other than wait for the return ferry. To make the long drive worthwhile it's best to arrange a boat trip around the bay.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland

Rachel P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fabulous! Each day was different and with a different company. However it was well organized and a lot of fun. I loved doing 3 days instead of just one so we could slow down and take in the sights in Pahia. We thought it was too much to do in just one day. 90 mile Beach and going to the light house in Cape Regina were the highlights for us.

Doing what: 3-Day Bay of Islands Trip from Auckland

Raul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

All the reservations, connections and transports worked.
The places visited were nice and very interesting.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

monika.lamprecht

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

An absolutely impressing tour - the only disadvantage: due to big distances sometimes simply to much driving. But all the visits on the tour: just grandious! Will go back to some places one time, that is for sure.

Doing what: 5-Day Bay of Islands, Rotorua, Waitomo Caves and Hobbiton Movie Set Tour from Auckland

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message