At the northernmost tip of New Zealand is one of the country's best kept secrets: the picturesque Bay of Islands. This is where the locals come for holidays - there is something for whatever strikes your fancy: sailing, fishing, snorkeling, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 168 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

carol w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Well organised. Informative driver - without information overload
Loved the short stop to see the kauri trees
Long day - although there are several stops, do bring extra drinks with you.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Ksjscreen United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

I thought 11 hours would be brutal, but it flew by. We had lousy weather and poor visibility, but Jackie made it so fun. The history and stories were great. Nice group we went with. 2 top highlights were riding on 90 mile beach and sand surfing. All in all it was a great trip.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Karl P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great day out sailing around the Bay of Islands, Friendly crew, great food we would recommend this trip to anyone

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Andrew k P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Book it now, you will have a truly wonderful day to treasure. Brilliant friendly crew, making all ship mates feel at ease.
At 56 it was great to have the opportunity and encouragement to climb the rigging and even take the helm of this great ship.
Ask the crew about the boats history documented in two books.
Lunch was great too.
Just BRILLIANT

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Alan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An amazing experience. It's costly, sure, but well worth it. The area is beautiful and to get a chance to see it from above is too good to miss. The pilot provided an interesting commentary on the history and landmarks there and back to the hole in the rock, and even pointed out a huge shoal of fish for us. There are plenty of photo opportunities so make sure your batteries are charged up- you won't want to miss a moment of this magical trip.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Reno N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Had an amazing sail out in the Bay of Islands. The rope swing off the side was fantastic. It was great to be supporting educational opportunities for local kids and to have a blast doing it. Our crew was very knowledgeable and friendly. The boat is designed to sail with a very small crew of 4 or 5 people, so while there were opportunities for the 50 odd passengers to help sail the Tucker if they wanted to, it was first-come first-serve and I didn't get a chance to participate as much as I was hoping to. That didn't matter though, because we spent a lot of time out on the bowsprit and up in the rigging just hanging out. Great time from start to finish!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

amandamccloskey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Enjoyable few hours learning about the flora and fauna of the rainforest shown by a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

Natalie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A great afternoon trip. I loved the visit to the chocolate factory, the stone house and the Ancient Kauri kingdom.

Doing what: Kerikeri and Crafts Half-Day Tour from Bay of Islands

Marjorie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Brilliant trip, lots of varied experiences from sand dunes to Kauri giants, beach drive and excellent complimentary lunch. If you get the chance, take this trip.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

bucket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had already toured for two weeks the North and South islands and this trip ranked up at the top of the experiences we had.
This topography was not expected - how beautiful and if I would relocate to NZ this would be the region. Do It !!!!!

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Debra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent way to view the bay of islands. Staff were very friendly and professional, went out of their way to ensure we had a great experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great day and well worth it. Getting to see isolated bays you can't approach from land.
Crew very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Jenny F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fabulous day out despite changes to date because of bad weather - communicated this well and fitted us in the following day
Lunch tasty but not generous , particularly for vegetarians

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great experience, fun climbing the rigging. Very good BBQ chicken lunch. Friendly and helpful crew.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Roger B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great introduction to what New Zealand has to offer. Great views seen in the quiet of sail rather than noise of motor power. Steve and crew kept us entertained and the bbq lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Colin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

In a word 'fantastic'.

Will worth the trip.

The pilot was friendly and knowledgeable. A great experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful ship ride with a friendly crew, delicious food on a great boat!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Scott P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

One of the best days I have ever had. Professional and fun crew made everyone feel at ease - what an awesome day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

woodtick United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Helen was a very enthusiastic tour guide. Her excitement and knowledge about all the life in the Rainforest really added experience. Very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Shore Excursion: Puketi Rainforest Guided Walk

Dave Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour, very informative, fish and chip lunch was terrific. The run up the beach was interesting and fun when they turn in via a river bed. The real fun was the sandboarding, if you have the energy to walk up the sandhill you must give it a go.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Kenneth J P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

There's no better way to see Bay of Islands than by helicopter and landing on the Hole in the Rock was a great thrill. Our pilot/guide was terrific. We highly recommend this adventure.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

jrobinson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour was fantastic! An absolute must do, even for those of us who are a little bit afraid of flying in a helicopter. The pilot was exceptionally professional and informative. Be sure to include the landing on top of the rock portion of the tour --- it is well worth it.

Doing what: Bay of Islands and Hole in the Rock Scenic Helicopter Tour

Ronald W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent Coach Driver from both a comfort view and gave very interesting commentaries.
Would recommend this trip to all visitors to the Bay of Islands

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Jim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The cruise and crew were amazing. The trip to an uninhabited island was interesting. We had a very nice lunch of chicken and salad. Climbing the mast was made easy and fun. Great day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We all thoroughly enjoyed this trip. It was very well conducted and there was just enough time at each stop.
I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone visiting the Bay of Islands.

Doing what: Cape Reinga and 90 Mile Beach Tour from Bay of Islands

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message