With its stunning coastal scenery and languid waters, the Bay of Islands is a picture-postcard New Zealand destination. The bay is dotted with around 150 islands, reached from the mainland towns of Paihia and Russell. Getting your feet wet in this ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 207 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Greg

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

Even though the weather was not great, this was an excellent afternoon on a very comfortable boat and many great photografic opportunities of both wildlife and landscapes.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Kathleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Beautiful and very informative tour. Would highly recommend the tour especially if you only have a short time to visit the area.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Anthony M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great day and well worth it. Getting to see isolated bays you can't approach from land.
Crew very friendly and informative.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Christine P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Great fun. Didn and #39;t get to hole in the rock due to weather but still worth it.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Brittany D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We had bad weather on the cruise and the captain didn't think we could make it to the Hole in the Rock but tried for about 20 minutes anyways before giving up. Wish that time had been spent on the island stopover or just given back to us at Paihia. Overall, it was just driving around for 4 hours so a bit long.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

jacquikay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour - staff on the boat were great. A little confusing where to actually go to get on the boat, get the ticket etc, but worked out ok in the end

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great experience, fun climbing the rigging. Very good BBQ chicken lunch. Friendly and helpful crew.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Micheal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great trip. The captain went out of his normal route to find us a pod of killer whales orcas which we stayed and watched for about an hour. The experience was great being so close to these majestic mammals. The rest of the trip was great with the captain giving us a running commentary the whole way round. Well worth the money

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Jenny F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fabulous day out despite changes to date because of bad weather - communicated this well and fitted us in the following day
Lunch tasty but not generous , particularly for vegetarians

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Walter

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The cruise was excellent and we enjoyed it very much. Waves were high so boat could not go through hole in rock. Stop at little island on way back was beautiful

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

sallyspelman

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

When we boarded the vessel to take us to the hole in the rock we were warned by our female skipper that it would be rough out there and it was doubtful whether we would be able to go through the hole. We were also told we could get off if we were worried about seasickness. On reflection I should have got off but I really wanted to see the hole. Sadly I was poorly on board and missed quite alot, however, our skipper was excellent in handling the boat in such difficult seas. I think it would have to be a mill pond before I would attempt the trip again. Thankfully my husband was fine and managed to get some nice photos. Be guided by the skipper and if she says it is going to be rough and you suffer from seasickness then you should most definitely get off the boat

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Mike C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a wonderful ship ride with a friendly crew, delicious food on a great boat!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Roger B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great introduction to what New Zealand has to offer. Great views seen in the quiet of sail rather than noise of motor power. Steve and crew kept us entertained and the bbq lunch was excellent.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Lorna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was absolutely wonderful even though we couldn't go through the hole because of the currents. We were lucky enough to have a wonderful sunny day. The captain was terrific - warm and informative and she found dolphins for us which was an absolute highlight!! I had 3 friends from overseas and they thought the whole experience was magical - one from the USA had wanted to come to the Bay of Islands for many years and she was totally bowled over. Thanks for a lovely experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Nettie

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful ,informative, beautiful and a relaxing day trip. Saw some much the Bay of Islands

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Stephen L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We had a perfect morning for this cruise, with blue skies and little breeze, so the Bay was calm, except for a few swells out near the rock, which is pretty much in the Pacific Ocean! We saw dolphins and spent maybe 20 minutes near them, so everyone could get pictures. Because the tide was high and there were some strong, predictable currents, our captain decided it was best not to go through the hole in the rock, which was only wise. however, we got great picks. On the way back we had a stop-over and walk on another island, which was just beautiful and we stayed at Russell for lunch, and took the complimentary ferry trip back to Paihia later in the day. Great trip!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

pteach

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The cruise was very good, but the weather was not. We were given the option to cancel, but I don't think the warning was strong enough.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Michael P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

If there were more stars they would get them all! Fabulous cruise.
Our captain actually drove through the hole in the rock...amazing! A 'must-do'!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Kirk A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time with the crew and captain. My wife Bonnie climbed the rigging I was chicken, we had an awesome lunch, a great hike and a great experience. The icing on the cake was when three killer whales swam along side of us and gave us some terrific photos. We recommend this trip to anyone and will go again when we return to New Zealand next year.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Christine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A great trip. The crew were wonderful, the lunch really tasty and it was the highlight of our trip to the Bay of Islands. My husband got to climb the rigging. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was very good and was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone.
I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Jim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The cruise and crew were amazing. The trip to an uninhabited island was interesting. We had a very nice lunch of chicken and salad. Climbing the mast was made easy and fun. Great day!

Doing what: Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

Micheal L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Fully recommend this trip. When we went out the captain Billy told us that he was going off schedule because he had been told of a pod of killer whales in the area he wanted to find for us. He duly found them and the experience was amazing Billy seemed to be able to play with them and encourage them closer to the boat. Went through hole in wall in quite a swell which showed the captain's skill

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Louise G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a great day out! Saw dolphins as we were coming home after a dull weather day in Paihia turned out to be glorious around the islands. Brilliant and knowledgeable crew.
Will go again if I go back to the bay of islands and recommend you do too.

Doing what: Best of the Bay Supercruise: Original Cream Trip

Vicki H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved it - I was a bit disappointed that helicopters are able to land on the hole in the rock - spoils the experience and what about the cultural implications? Nevertheless, the trip was wonderful and the whole area is absolutely amazing. Our skipper was hilarious and also extremely informative. Had a lovely day - thank you so much :

Doing what: Bay of Islands Cape Brett 'Hole in the Rock' Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message