Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

British War Cemetery

The peaceful Bayeux War Cemetery is the largest of the 18 Commonwealth military cemeteries in Normandy. It contains 4,868 graves of soldiers from the UK and 10 other countries (including Germany, in contrast to the American cemetery at ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rose W. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful guide very knowledgable and informative. The driver was also very good. I would rate this a five.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Cynthia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a wonderful tour of some powerful sites. Our guide spoke excellent English and navigated the need to do the tour in English and French with poise and efficiency.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Katharine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour was great. We had an unfortunate problem with our return train reservation and had to leave the tour early. Our tour guide was very helpful and got us transportation to the station. We will definitely come back for another tour.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Jeffrey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour of the D-Day sites and the Caen Memorial Museum provided us with a better understanding of the magnitude of the D-Day invasion and of the young heros who paid the ultimate price for the valor. The guide and driver were on time and very informative regarding the questions we had and they gave us time to explore on our own especially when we visited the American Cemetery. A good value for the tour, museum and audio guide.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great tour with a fabulous tour guide, Patricia! Her vast and detailed knowledge of D-Day, the beaches, the towns and the events was amazing!!!

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Trace H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I brought a group of doctoral students from the U.S.A. with me on this tour and they and I loved it. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to Europe!

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Terence K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Patricia and driver Jann were excellent and the tour was very informative, moving and enjoyable. I recommend it without reservation

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Lawrence A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Personable tour guide and driver took us to the sites and explained some of the details of the areas. We had adequate time to look around and ask questions. The tour guide had a good command of English. The museum was interesting as well.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

andy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great guide. Clean and comfortable van. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Franklin R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Tour consisted of six people, which was great. The only problem was that we were the only non - French couple. The tour guide, which was French, would speak for a number of minutes in French, then say, and #34; I was explaining to them about.... and #34;
This made the tour seem disjointed. Should be separate tours

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Joanne C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an excellent tour. I learned so much from the guide. It would have been good if we could have stopped once in a while to take some special photos that popped up along the way but that was a small thing. Thank you.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Robert P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Well organized and thorough. Very good English speaking guide.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

james m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was very articulate, well informed, and worked very hard to make it the excellent experience that we had hoped for.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Rex W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Friendly,knowledgeable what else do you need.very interstering

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Rex W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The British sector tour is excellent and should be a must for all Nationalities.Both the Driver and Patrica my Guide were excellent

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Jeffrey Z

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

The tour was great and the guide was really nice for the beach tour. She was a little young and while her English was much better than my French, there were a few things that got lost in translation. Having time to walk around the memorial by yourself is amazing too. It's one of the best memorials I've been to.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Robert F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

good tour, but the description which mentioned admission to the Museum should have stated that the guided tour time did not include any museum time.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

tombosl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We were very fortunate to have Julian for out guide. His knowledge of events of D-Day, plus his way of presenting it, made this tour an outstanding one ! The pacing of this tour allows you time to reflect on the importance of these sites. As mentioned this is a good five hour tour !
We had taken the late morning train to Caen and started the 2:00 tour so did NOT have time to visit the Museum, but was able to do that the next day, which in itself is an all day event. At least it was for us.
If one has any interest at all about D-Day do take this tour. It is a WONDERFUL one !!!!!

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Sheila D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved the tour, all very informative and well led.
Would have liked a little longer in some places but on the other hand perhaps that would have meant not seeing so much? So on balance, excellent, would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

Jerome B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

It was a good day. The tour guide seemed to have the facts accurate as we are history buffs.
Would have enjoyed more time at Point du Hoc and American Cemetery.
It was too bad the others were not able to see Omaha Beach at Low tide. It has such more of an impact. Luckily we stayed at Omaha and were able to walk the beaches at low tide. I would suggest arranging the day differently.
Other low points: The bus has 12 large adults and it was uncomfortable as it felt over-crowded.
Pegasus Bridge was reproduction and the original was 1 block away at a museum which we just walked past.
With as many places as there are to eat including Hotel du Casino Omaha Beach and many others, were taken to Bayeux and directed to a few streets to pick our own, but it worked.
The following day, we had a rented car and did enjoy this much more at our own pace, but the roads can be a bit confusing so the tour does work well for that.
We will go back to Normandy as there are is so much to see. If were to do it again, we should have chosen the American Sectors for us.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Day Trip: Omaha, Sword and the British Airborne Sector

Steven R Lane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It rained for most of our tour but it was still an unforgettable experience. The museum was also eye-opening! It was a very solemn and heart-rendering display.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message