Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 971 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

doloresmendoza53

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour guide was very informative. You should warn potential visitors that it is a steep climb requiring stamina. The lunch was not that great but salad was good. It would have been great to have WIFI on the bus as it was a long ride both ways.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Kirk B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome place, very comfortable bus Paris City Vision, very knowledgeable guide, but could have been a tad longer at the Mont as travel time alone to and from Paris was aprox 8 hours, so when you factor in a quick lunch lunch, you have about five hours to explore, which seems like a lot of time on paper, but when you get there you wish you had more time.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a long bus ride from Paris but worth the trip. We chose the option of having lunch and a guide. The meal was good and service fast. The guide was very knowledgeable and provided a good commentary.

I would recommend taking this trip, but bring along some snacks. The stop coming back was a road side rest area. The food options were very limited.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Brian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My wife and I had a great time on our four day tour. The guide was very knowledgable and the food, hotels and van were excellent.

Doing what: 4-Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour

Teresa Marie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of the most beautiful places I was able to visit on my trip to Europe. It is a lot of walking, many stairs, and uneven ground. Wear comfortable shoes and if you are traveling in the winter it is very windy. Make sure you know where the bus is going to be for departure time, because the bus that takes you to and from the Abby changes stops in the afternoon without you knowing and it can cause you to miss the bus.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

DELYS H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

absolutely incredible. a must see. to think monks built this by hand with tidal forces .

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

Hannah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great! If you have a full day free and want to get away from the city to see some beautiful countryside, this is the tour for you. You will take about a 4.5 hour bus ride there, so be prepared for that! We definitely recommend selecting the option that includes lunch. It was nice knowing that it was taken care of, and the lunch spot has an incredible view of Mont St Michel while you're dining. Our tour guide was excellent and really gave us all the wonderful history and use of each room in the abbey - something you definitely don't get in an unguided version. It rains here every day, so bring an umbrella and also be prepared to walk and climb all the way to the top - there's no elevator, but trust me, the climb is worth the view!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

WPagan529

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a magical place! You will not regret visiting it! Dress comfortably.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Rach

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2016

I was 9min late to return.I waited 25min for the transfer bus,which I was told was a 4min ride.No mention you have to wait 5 buses and allow for that.On my return I was treated awfully and shamed over the microphone in 3 languages (!).When you end up crying at the end, there and #39;s something very wrong!

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

Cheryl L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Dominique was incredible with her ability to remember all of the historical details with such detail. Despite our bus breaking down in Rouen, we had an incredible 3 day trip and would recommend this to anyone who wants to have a great overview of northern France.

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont Saint-Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An awesome day out - not to be missed!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

flink_william

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Caroline was an excellent guide and host during our visit to Mount St. Michel. She has a very good grasp of the history of the region. We enjoyed ourselves emensely. Very well worth the time and money spent to make this visit.

Doing what: 2-Day Mont St-Michel and Loire Valley Castles Tour from Paris

flink_william

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Caroline was an excellent guide and host during our visit to Mount St. Michel. She has a very good grasp of the history of the region. We enjoyed ourselves emensely. Very well worth the time and money spent to make this visit.

Doing what: 2-Day Mont St-Michel and Loire Valley Castles Tour from Paris

Donna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

At first I thought this was a pricey tour but it was worth the money! Not having to drive and worry about directions was nice. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and very personable. He showed us every spot at Mt. St. Michel. He was able to recommend and book a yummy and authentic lunch.

Doing what: Private Day Tour of Mont Saint-Michel from Bayeux

HEATHER L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very pretty place however the ride was too long

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

Guy s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Could not have been better! the Bus was super. the in-between stops were appropriate the host was very knowledgeable and accommodating

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

John R S

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

I had wanted to visit Mont St. Michel for a long time and while in Paris for a week I took the opportunity to take the day-long bus ride out there. MSM is simply beautiful, especially as it sits out on that giant rock just offshore.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

dwvonfischer

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

The guide was great. Maybe guests need a little more warning about the climb up. You need to be in shape on the old stairs with no hand rails.
Lunch at the restaurant was very poor. I noticed that most people did not eat much of it either. Maybe just a bus stop for a picnic would be better.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Jessica M

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

It was a very time-efficient and affordable way to see Mt Saint Michel. There is beauty in and around the fort. We went with a good group of people, unfortunately you had so many people on your tour. The tour split plenty of times. We were on a tight time table since commute back and forth was a total of 8 hours from Paris.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Norman R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great scenery and sights.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Valerie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fabulous tour. We had perfect weather so the views of Mont San Michael from the distance and the views form Mont San Michael were spectacular.

Doing what: The Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip from Paris

Cindy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I highly recommend this tour if you're trying to get to Mont St-Michel from Paris. It's a 5-hour trip each way, and there's no mass transit other than buses because it's so remote. Our bus driver made stops about halfway through each way, at a very nice rest stop type area where there were plenty of restrooms and lots of choices for drinks and food. Along the way, the guides that were with the tour gave us some history of the site.

Once at the bus parking area, a tram was available to take us to the main entrance. Some of those on the bus were taking the guided tour, but we were signed up only for the independent tour, and honestly, I feel like we got to see more at a more leisurely pace. I'm sure the guide offered some interesting tidbits and history, but I did my own research online before we went so we could explore at our own pace, and by doing so, we didn't waste time at the lunch that was scheduled for the tour group. We had plenty of time to see it all and we didn't feel rushed. I had time to walk the ramparts and look for photo ops, while my husband had a cold beer.

I highly recommend that you walk quickly past the numerous stores and street vendors at the bottom of the hill and head straight for the Abbey at the top. The crowds at the top get very overwhelming late in the afternoon, and you won't be able to see nearly as much. After you see the Abbey, you can then take a leisurely stroll back down, enjoying the sights as you go. Do take time to notice how quickly the tide rushes in around the island.

This company was higly organized, professional, and on time. Much better than several others that we worked with in our 3-week European vacation. I highly recommend them and this tour.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

ssabs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed this tour, specifically how self guided it was!

The coach was great to travel in and we were given lots of good information from our guide before arriving at Mont St-Michel! We had the perfect amount of time to explore the town, the abbey, have lunch and leisurely walk back to the bus. There were also audioguides available to rent at the abbey for anyone who wanted more info as well!

Definitely would recommend this tour, especially for people who like the self explore and see sites at their own pace!

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

Lisa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour! It is a great way to see the French countryside in a short amount of time. The hotels we stayed in were very comfortable. Our guide was very nice and gave us lots of great history about the areas we were in. I highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont Saint-Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

Isaiah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was worth the trip. Although we toured the abby independently, yet our tour guides and drivers were all very helpful. The coach was comfortable and relaxing. Thank you for conducting this tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message