Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1046 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Harley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I loved the trip. We enjoyed all of the sites we visited and found the guide Dominique to be very knowledgeable with a lot of insight. We have only one comment. The hotel in Caen was uncomfortable since the air conditioning in the room could not be lowered below 25C. Since it was very hot at the time of our trip, this led to an uncomfortable night.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Norman R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great scenery and sights.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Valerie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Fabulous tour. We had perfect weather so the views of Mont San Michael from the distance and the views form Mont San Michael were spectacular.

Doing what: The Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip from Paris

Cindy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I highly recommend this tour if you're trying to get to Mont St-Michel from Paris. It's a 5-hour trip each way, and there's no mass transit other than buses because it's so remote. Our bus driver made stops about halfway through each way, at a very nice rest stop type area where there were plenty of restrooms and lots of choices for drinks and food. Along the way, the guides that were with the tour gave us some history of the site.

Once at the bus parking area, a tram was available to take us to the main entrance. Some of those on the bus were taking the guided tour, but we were signed up only for the independent tour, and honestly, I feel like we got to see more at a more leisurely pace. I'm sure the guide offered some interesting tidbits and history, but I did my own research online before we went so we could explore at our own pace, and by doing so, we didn't waste time at the lunch that was scheduled for the tour group. We had plenty of time to see it all and we didn't feel rushed. I had time to walk the ramparts and look for photo ops, while my husband had a cold beer.

I highly recommend that you walk quickly past the numerous stores and street vendors at the bottom of the hill and head straight for the Abbey at the top. The crowds at the top get very overwhelming late in the afternoon, and you won't be able to see nearly as much. After you see the Abbey, you can then take a leisurely stroll back down, enjoying the sights as you go. Do take time to notice how quickly the tide rushes in around the island.

This company was higly organized, professional, and on time. Much better than several others that we worked with in our 3-week European vacation. I highly recommend them and this tour.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

ssabs

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Really enjoyed this tour, specifically how self guided it was!

The coach was great to travel in and we were given lots of good information from our guide before arriving at Mont St-Michel! We had the perfect amount of time to explore the town, the abbey, have lunch and leisurely walk back to the bus. There were also audioguides available to rent at the abbey for anyone who wanted more info as well!

Definitely would recommend this tour, especially for people who like the self explore and see sites at their own pace!

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Lisa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour! It is a great way to see the French countryside in a short amount of time. The hotels we stayed in were very comfortable. Our guide was very nice and gave us lots of great history about the areas we were in. I highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont Saint-Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

Isaiah T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was worth the trip. Although we toured the abby independently, yet our tour guides and drivers were all very helpful. The coach was comfortable and relaxing. Thank you for conducting this tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Janet C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The trip was well-organised and although it was a long way by coach the journey was comfortable with an interesting commentary. we enjoyed lunch with a wonderfu view of Mont St Michel and then a very interesting guided tour. The free time in the village was quite short but long enough as we didn't want to do any shopping -except for an ice cream. We would have appreciated more information about where to get the shuttle for the return over the causeway as this was not at all clear. Altogether I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Tifton T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The bus transportation was first class. Was not happy with the pickup point because there were no bathroom facilities available. Going on a 4 hour bus ride it is necessary to have them available. The tour guide was pleasant and soft spoken. Nice! The stop on the way was clean and had many eating options. However, on the return trip the stop was quite limited in options. After a long day, we were hungry and disappointed.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Aditya B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

It was a very good tour. Very Informative. The fact that we had to change buses twice was a the reason why I wont give it five stars.
Overnight stay was in a good hotel. Included meals were good and tasty. We had the option to eat chicken both times. Not sure how many options will be available for Vegetarians.

Doing what: 2-Day Mont St-Michel and Loire Valley Castles Tour from Paris

Jakon T

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Long bus ride, but the scenery was absolutely stunning.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Marian P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

The trip was great. Well organized even when we had a breakdown of the bus. They found a replacement quickly. Our guide was very knowlegable. Our only problem was we were in the back of the bus and it took a long time to exit. She was sometimes well on her way before we were out. Otherwise, a wonderful trip. We met lots of fun people.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Christine Joyce F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Good option to book this tour while in Paris. You can go at your own pace. Just get visitors guide at the entrance of the abbey so you will know the explanation behind all the rooms inside.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Ron K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was such a comprehensive two-day tour of the Normandy area, we don't see how much more could have been included. Our tour guide was so informative and responsive to questions. She was just super. We were also pleased with the overnight hotel and dinner. Good job.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Alan R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Good guide. The restaurant for lunch serves the worst food in France. Cold, under-cooked salmon, served by a surly and disinterested staff. Ironically, the guides ate steak while seated at another table. It look nearly 5 hours to reach Mont Saint-Michel. Good tour followed by wading through thousands of people shopping at the worst and most over priced gift shops. The 5.5 hours back to Paris. A long trip for a 43 minute tour. Not a good value.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

prleonard84

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

It was really crowded. I wanted to see the high tide come in, but we left before it did. Every stop we made the women's restroom line was ungodly long. We also left so early that most of us didn't get to eat breakfast. It was either buy something to eat or use the restroom for most of the women. I heard that the meal that came with the higher priced tour wasn't very good and the lady that did the tour rushed through everything really quickly. I did luck out and go to La Mere Poulard for lunch. It was delicious. That was probably the best part of the trip.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Pat

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2016

Not enough time at the D-Day sites. This was my prime purpose and there was so little time allowed.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

JOHN W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Not worth the money, a 4 hour ride to and a4 hour return to Paris is not what I expected. The only good thing was how the plane was built but you find many prettier churches in Italy. Not worth the money or time!!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

muhammadnaumanchught ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Good tour. Would recommend this one over the more expensive ones that include lunch and a guide. You have the freedom to have lunch on your own instead of a fixed menu and you can get audio guides reasonably cheap at the abbey. And you can climb at your own pace in case you have issues doing so together with a group. Also, the Guide did give info along the way in the bus, we separated from the group once off the bus, since we had not paid for that part of the guided tour and lunch.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Round-Trip Transport from Paris

Arturo S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excelent tour, grat guide and comfortable all the time

Doing what: 3-Day Mont St-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

Newton D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This a two-day whirlwind sampling tour. Highly recommended. Pascal, our guide, was knowledgeble, informative and courteous. She communicated clearly what our schedule was so we could manage our free time don't miss the bus. She handled the wandering millenials with aplomb. No more searching for the millenials after the first stop. The bus was comfortable. No travel segment was too long so we could stretch and attend to our personal comfort. There is a lot of walking. Mont St. Michel, at 80 meters above sea level, entails a lot of steps. The lunches on our own in Honfleur and St. Malo were excellent, breakfast included in the tour was very good, the included dinner was Ok, but not up the French standard. The wine extra was reasonable and good. The room was comfortable despite some technical issues the hotel had with the master lock system. The trip back to Paris was slow because it was the end of the long weekend. The Thursday-Friday trip might be better during peak tourist season. We left wanting to explore Normandy/Brittany on our own with more time.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Edward W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great trip, the guide was fantastic. This company really has there trips down to an art, every detail planned down to the moment. I would highly recomend this company and any of there trips !!

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved the tour. Our guide Helene was fantastic. It was a great experience.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Ashley J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Worth the drive. Magnificent place. Knowledgeable guide, comfortable bus and great experience.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Hank F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Incredible experience, we spent 1 month in Europe and i think this tour tops most of the other tours we took. lots of climbing but gives you plenty of time to climb the island, we had the lunch included with our tour, but i think the option without the lunch will give you a lot more time to explore on your own and opportunity to try the food in the little restaurants in the island.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message