Bayeux ATTRACTIONS See all

Mont Saint Michel

The slender towers and sky-scraping turrets of the abbey of Mont Saint Michel are one of the classic images of northern France. Rising from flat white sands, the abbey sits atop a small island encircled by stout ramparts and battlements, connected ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1087 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Courtney S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What an awesome trip. It is definitely a long day - and a lot of stairs to climb, but the views and the tour were worth it. It is a 4 hour drive to the Mont Saint-Michel parking lot, where you then board the shuttle bus to the town. Lunch was actually really great. Another poster said they had salmon and as I do not like salmon, I was a bit worried about it - but we had some sort of white fish prepared Normandy Style with cream and butter, with rice and veggies. It was delicious.

Then we toured the abbey and finished with time on our own before heading back, just as the description said. We stopped once during the drive each way to get a snack and go to the bathroom, so you can get some dinner as you don't get back to Paris until after 9pm. We happened to be coming past the Eiffel Tower at 9pm exactly and caught the light show, which was a really great addition to our awesome day trip.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

cherylsf28 .

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide was AWESOME! She was able to navigate us through the long lines of people/other tour groups who did not have their pre-purchased entrance ticket, which saved us a lot of time. She was also very knowledgeable about the castle.

One thing I would change, I would have preferred to skip the lunch and would have loved to spend more time wondering around Mont Saint Michel.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Julio L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Get ready for a long day. We took this trip and loved it

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Handy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The lunch package this tour gave us is really good. The trip itself in overall is great. Highly recommended..

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Robin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A long day but well worth the trip, as always guide was excellent.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Sol R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Love the journey to the abbey and it's magnificent view!

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

darcy a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It was perfect, I was traveling solo. Viator it's a excellent company to plan your one day vacation? It was easy, I didn't have to worry about anything. I just enjoy it. I wouldn't change anything. It was very pleasant.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

Suzi Mildern Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Spectacular! Loved this day. Be warned its a long day but VERY worthwhile. Walking through Mont Saint-Michel was a highlight of our trip. Observing the lifestyle of the monks and walking along the board walk. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

mness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I did the independent tour and thoroughly enjoyed myself. I had a great lunch in the village and had plenty of time to climb and then explore the Abbey. It is truly a beautiful place. Be forewarned, the bus ride is very long and may be too much for smaller children. The bus is quite comfortable, but there is no getting around the length of time it takes to get there and get back. I took the metro to the meeting place, arrived at 6:45am and at the end of the day took the metro back to my hotel and arrived a bit after 10pm. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

mZbreeZe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

overall, a very well organized trip! the coach ride was very long but comfortable. corinne, the tour guide is very knowledgeable indeed. despite the unfortunate gloomy weather, it didn't dampen our mood to witness and explore such a magnificent medieval architecture. only downside of the entire trip is the lunch which was provided which I really didn't enjoy considering after so many hours on the road, the highlight upon arrival was really at least a satisfactory meal!... the selection could have been better!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Carrie E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Awesome time in Mt St Michel. Guides were well versed, friendly and well organized. The only thing I would have liked would have been a smaller group.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

swarry

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Brilliant 4 days, excellent value and would totally recommend this tour. So much to see and learn and each area was different from the day before. Hotels and food inclusions were good value and standard. Very happy travellers.

Doing what: 4-Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour

Cedric R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip to Saint-Michel was truly breathtaking. Truly a full day excursion from Paris, but such a rewarding excursion to Normandy. Sweeping views of the surrounding countryside and sea from a variety of outlooks within the abbey, at a fortification with an amazing history. Great guides, and smooth travel. I highly recommend this trip!!!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

kaleff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Visiting Mont St Michel was absolutely magical! The independent tour worked out well for us, since it allowed us to go at our own pace and we still had plenty of time to see everything we wanted on the island. There were plenty of options to eat lunch on the island so if you do the independent tour, I would recommend heading to the island to eat. Overall, it was a long, but exciting day!

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

Robert C N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Great tour, great guide Pascal who really knew her stuff. Very efficient use of our time that combined group experiences with time to explore on our own. My only complaint was that the food especially at the first hotel was so-so at best. The hotels were fine--clean and comfortable.

Doing what: 4-Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour

josevicentejrsantiag ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

a must visit when in France,it is not recommended to go there on your own, best to book on viator when going to Mt st michel .

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

Roz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Long drive, but oh so well worth it! I am so glad I saw this place!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

s.wan926

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We opted for the Independent tour after reading other reviews and were happy with our choice.

Once the bus had parked we took the first shuttle to Mont St Michel. Most of the shops on the laneway were closed, but we were heading for the Abbey so did not mind. The Abbey is spectacular! We were very glad to see it ahead of the bustle of the rest of the crowd. There were no lines to wait in when we entered but as we exited, there definitely were. We had a late lunch at Croix Blanche after wandering the outer walls then slowly made our way back to the shuttle pick up.

We did not feel we had missed out not having a headphone talk while on the bus, or having to wait for the rest of the group having a set lunch. We packed a quick breakfast for on the bus and kept snacks for the journey back.

The pickup/drop off point was extremely convenient and easily to navigate to. Staff are very clear on expectations when to be back at the bus on all pit stops. The bus was clean and seats were comfortable - sitting on the ground level at the table gave us extra space.

An easier way to see a spectacular location. The perfect day trip. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

Alan C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Only problem is the long commute that takes up most of your day. Once your there it's a very unique experience walking around.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

ASLI S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

I enjoyed the tour but the lunch took too long and in the end there was little time to see the small village.
And in order to see the high tide you need to either go there early in the morning or stay the night.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

doloresmendoza53

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour guide was very informative. You should warn potential visitors that it is a steep climb requiring stamina. The lunch was not that great but salad was good. It would have been great to have WIFI on the bus as it was a long ride both ways.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Kirk B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Awesome place, very comfortable bus Paris City Vision, very knowledgeable guide, but could have been a tad longer at the Mont as travel time alone to and from Paris was aprox 8 hours, so when you factor in a quick lunch lunch, you have about five hours to explore, which seems like a lot of time on paper, but when you get there you wish you had more time.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a long bus ride from Paris but worth the trip. We chose the option of having lunch and a guide. The meal was good and service fast. The guide was very knowledgeable and provided a good commentary.

I would recommend taking this trip, but bring along some snacks. The stop coming back was a road side rest area. The food options were very limited.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Brian H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My wife and I had a great time on our four day tour. The guide was very knowledgable and the food, hotels and van were excellent.

Doing what: 4-Day Normandy, Saint-Malo, Mont Saint-Michel and Chateaux Country Tour

Teresa Marie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

One of the most beautiful places I was able to visit on my trip to Europe. It is a lot of walking, many stairs, and uneven ground. Wear comfortable shoes and if you are traveling in the winter it is very windy. Make sure you know where the bus is going to be for departure time, because the bus that takes you to and from the Abby changes stops in the afternoon without you knowing and it can cause you to miss the bus.

Doing what: Independent Mont St-Michel Tour with Transport from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message