Omaha Beach was the location of one of the most significant moments of fighting in World War II. On June 6th 1944, American troops were given the task of securing the beach as part of a strategy to land Allied troops along five points on the coast ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1789 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

DOROTHY H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the most memorable trip I made in France! Our guide, Rafael, was outstanding - so knowledgeable and interesting! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Harley W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

My wife and I loved the trip. We enjoyed all of the sites we visited and found the guide Dominique to be very knowledgeable with a lot of insight. We have only one comment. The hotel in Caen was uncomfortable since the air conditioning in the room could not be lowered below 25C. Since it was very hot at the time of our trip, this led to an uncomfortable night.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Christine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Antoine, was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the information he shared with us. For someone who went into the tour knowing next to nothing about D-Day or even WWII, I still felt like I got a lot out of the tour. The beaches were beautiful and it was really interesting to see the bunkers and learn about how the invasion happened. The highlight for me was when Antoine drew a play by play map in the sand to explain how it all went down. It was also very sobering to see the two graveyards. The small group size was nice as well as it allowed us all to ask a lot of questions and get a very personal experience.
I was most impressed by what happened after the tour. I realized once I finished the tour and headed to a nearby restaurant for dinner that I left my extra pair of shoes on the van. We called the tour company and Antoine promptly answered offering to personally deliver them to where we were eating dinner. He definitely went above and beyond and I greatly appreciated it!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Everything about this trip was excellent.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Blakney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

LOVED the tour. It was such an experience to be able to see all of the main sights. I think the timing is wonderful and at each sight we had plenty of time to see and walk around the area. The cemetery is very moving and I like that our tour guide explained things and then let us have free time there to experience everything for our self. We took the train from Paris to Bayeux and it was the most perfect day trip!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Margie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WOW!! This was an amazing tour. Sophie was our guide and from the moment we got in the van when she picked us up at our hotel to the time she dropped us off, she taught us so much: German Cemetery, Ste. Mere Eglise, Utah Beach, Porte du Hoc, Omaha Beach, American Cemetery. Driving through Normandie roads she pointed out so many interesting areas and what was happening then in 1944. Tour was from 8:30am to 6:00pm. A must if you want to experience the history here. Very sobering. Margie and Bill

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

William d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the Normandy invasion. There was not a question that she could not answer. The trip was well-planned and allowed us free time to take photos and spend time where we wanted to.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Rhonda S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WOW! The tour guide Charlie was fantastic. A young history enthusiast. We stoped at Utah beach, Omaha Beach and the cemetery where my uncle was buried. If you have a loved one there, look up their marker location before you go. It will save time! Cider tasting was plentiful. Stories and sights were magnificent and touching. Pointe du Hoc was amazing and sad, with blown out bunkers all over the place and craters stretched as far as you can see. Ability to walk around all the bunkers and craters. Long drive from Paris with breaks at the gas station/truck stop for food, etc.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Randall R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guides, Charlie and Hugo were absolutely wonderful! They did an amazing job of showing us the D-Day area and answering any questions .They were both very knowledgeable in WWII history. It was a great experience and an informative day. Visiting Pointe de Hoc and the American Cemetery was very moving. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Steven F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had the best guide you can ever have for this tour. David was incredibly knowledgeable and passionate. He had a true respect for the soldiers that fought there, and I hung on to every word he said. Trust me when I say this if you go on this tour ask for David. By the way, he was also funny and a great guy to hang with.
Steve - Los Angeles

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Mallory S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Top notch tour from start to finish. The museum tour was very well done, with a highly knowledgeable guide. It is a long day filled with many different sights and facts that I had never heard before. A must do if you have a full day to devote to it.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

JOHN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Maryline was excellent! We had a wonderful and informative day!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Steeljester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Philip was a great guide. He did a good job of showing and telling details about the sites and battles that aren and #39;t covered in everyday WW2 info, which definitely increased the value of the tour for me.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Lindsae L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Half day was perfect! Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Margaret D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was a perfect half day tour. We experienced the major points, had time at each for reflection, pictures and experiencing not only the history but the beauty of the area. The size of the group was PERFECT.. bigger group would have definately took away from the experience. Our guide was WONDERFUL.. knowledgable, easily understood, kind and point on!! I would recommend this tour over and over again!! I spoke to others on the tour and they agreed - this half day was PERFECT!!!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Patric F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was spectacular. If you can, I would recommend doing the full day tour because there's so much to see. Our tour guide, Rose, was very knowledgeable about the subject and provided us with a great history lesson. You visit Pointe Du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American Cemetery. Rose had many pictures from World War 2 and would show us what everything looked like during that time. I am very grateful for this tour. Thanks Rose!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour with a knowledgeable tour guide that adds interesting facts and detail into the events surrounding the 6th June 1944. The tour has plenty of stops and goes at a comfortable pace. Great if you only have a day and good if you want an overview for a longer stay.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Douglas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A must do trip for every Australian. Our guide Valentine impressed us with his incredible and interesting knowledge.
Thanks valentine a great day.
from 2, 60 year old Aussies

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Guide very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Great day! She was very helpful returning us to our hotel. Just disappointed we weren't at the beach during low tide to see the hedge hogs on the beach.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Lisa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful tour! It is a great way to see the French countryside in a short amount of time. The hotels we stayed in were very comfortable. Our guide was very nice and gave us lots of great history about the areas we were in. I highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Normandy, St Malo, Mont Saint-Michel, Chateaux Country Tour from Paris

Craig D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had Adrienne and he was a great tour guide. For us, the half-day trip was the ideal length of time. The tour was well structured and historically accurate as I checked things out after the fact. This particular tour was very much worth the price.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Felix and Kate, our tour guides made the trip so enjoyable with their knowledge and sense of humor. The whole tour was exceptionally well coordinated from the time we left until we returned. For the most part, we enjoyed enough time at each of the stops, but we could have used more in others. We realize that is the nature of a one-day trip, so this is more of an observation than a criticism. The lunch at a quaint restaurant was delicious freshly caught fish!, and the cider tasting was a very pleasant side trip. Normandy has been on my husband's bucket list for a long time, and this trip exceeded all expectations--truly a memorable experience. Thank you!

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message