Omaha Beach was the location of one of the most significant moments of fighting in World War II. On June 6th 1944, American troops were given the task of securing the beach as part of a strategy to land Allied troops along five points on the coast ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1761 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was so far above my expectations - primarily because of our guide, Matthew. His depth of knowledge, research and photo log, combined with the personal sharing of the stories of his grandparents moved this so far beyond a history lesson and made it an encounter with history.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Herman G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Francois, was excellent. He was very friendly and knowledgeable. He grew up in Normandy and could draw on family discussions about the Battle for Normandy which made the tour particularly interesting. He was a pleasure to know. We would highly recommend him.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

LESLEY F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing!!!!! Our tour guide was the best! He was French but had traveled to the US to learn about our culture and talk with WWII vets. We did the American tour and we spent just enough time at each site to learn all the background. Only 6 people in the van so our guide made it personable and was able to answer all of our questions. The lunch at the Caen Museum was out of this world!!! Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Shane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very knowledgable guide, punctual, organized and friendly. Highly recommend

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Mario was an excellent tour guide full of historical knowledge and interesting facts for our tour. Wish the tour was expanded to include Utah Beach in US American tour.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

kimerama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My guide, Felix, was amazing and attentive and knowledgable! The company even called to make sure I knew how to get to the meeting location in the morning. Also the lunch was surprisingly fantastic. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Jane V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The trip was just as we hoped it would be. We had only half a day and it was amazing what she covered. We got to the beaches before the huge groups and it was virtually private! We loved that there were only six of us in a small van so we could communicate easily throughout the trip. She was a charming guide and very knowledgeable. Exactly what we wanted.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Andrea L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved every moment of this tour! Our guide François was fabulous! He was incredibly knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. I learned a massive amount during this tour and walked away totally impressed. You see all the key sights plus a couple more. Book this tour, you won and #39;t be disappointed!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Salvador C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Terrific guide, very knowledgeable, professional and personable.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Newton D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This a two-day whirlwind sampling tour. Highly recommended. Pascal, our guide, was knowledgeble, informative and courteous. She communicated clearly what our schedule was so we could manage our free time don't miss the bus. She handled the wandering millenials with aplomb. No more searching for the millenials after the first stop. The bus was comfortable. No travel segment was too long so we could stretch and attend to our personal comfort. There is a lot of walking. Mont St. Michel, at 80 meters above sea level, entails a lot of steps. The lunches on our own in Honfleur and St. Malo were excellent, breakfast included in the tour was very good, the included dinner was Ok, but not up the French standard. The wine extra was reasonable and good. The room was comfortable despite some technical issues the hotel had with the master lock system. The trip back to Paris was slow because it was the end of the long weekend. The Thursday-Friday trip might be better during peak tourist season. We left wanting to explore Normandy/Brittany on our own with more time.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

mmarkoe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours ever. Tour guide Francois was not only knowledgeable, but passionate. You had to stand on Omaha beach to truly understand what troops faced on D-Day.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Dianne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed our tour. Sunny was delightful. She was very well informed about the history, and was able to tell us some great anecdotes about the area since she is a local. She kept the tour on track and on time, and got us back to our hotel first so we could comfortably catch the late train to Paris. The tour helped us maximize our experience in the short amount of time we had in Normandy for this first visit.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Melanie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I took this day trip from Paris, and it was a real treat from start to finish. We really appreciated that we had only 6 people, and we were driven around in a van, not a bus. Our guide was wonderful - she was knowledgeable about the area and the history behind the events that occurred there. I am not a history buff, but I found the subject matter fascinating and sobering. We were well taken care of from the moment we stepped off the train in Caen until the van dropped us off again that afternoon. Even the lunch at the museum was incredible I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in the Normandy sites.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

ccreagh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Adrien M. was a phenomenal guide! We learned so much from this entertaining, articulate, and knowledgeable young man. His portfolio of war photos to accompany our tour showed us exactly where we were standing on D-Day. We had time to wander on our own at all 3 places too.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour was excellent and our tour guide, Adrian, was impressive. He was very knowledgeable of all the history around the D-Day landing events. We would recommend this tour to anyone in the future.

Thank you

Rob DiBella
USA

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

parisengland1912

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I am so glad I did this. I wish I would have had more time in the museum but I'm so glad I was able to see what I saw. A very moving day. Taps and the flag lowering at the American cemetery was especially moving. It brings history to life. The tour guide was fantastic, very informative and open and able to answer any questions we had. While we had time limits for each stop on the tour she was very accomodating if we needed more time.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Edward W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great trip, the guide was fantastic. This company really has there trips down to an art, every detail planned down to the moment. I would highly recomend this company and any of there trips !!

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

beeclaire615

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was a walking encyclopedia! It was a very pleasant experience and we learned a lot. The museum is huge and it is actually better to skip the audio tour because it doesn't match up too wel to the museum...easier just to look and read.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Renee K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Francois is an awesome guide. I would highly recommend this tour with him. It is worth every penny!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Anne E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely wonderful young man, Antoine, took us on an amazing tour! He was very knowledgeable and very personable. Wouldn't have missed this for the world. Every American needs to see Normandy at least once in their lifetime!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Loved the tour. Our guide Helene was fantastic. It was a great experience.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

maria a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable about what happened in Normandy.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Taylor M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A highlight of our trip. Our guide Mr. Cardinale is a lifelong resident of the area and historian with impressive knowledge and personal passion for these weighty sites. He also provided good doses of spunky humor, and good cheer. It was a fascinating and moving day. Top recommendation.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

jimskinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An excellent tour. We learned a great deal about D-day, the preparations, the assault on the beaches, and the crawl through 'hedgerow hell' of Normandy. I especially enjoyed the tour of the American Cemetery -it was most touching, and a perfect resting place for those of the greatest generation that gave their all so we could be free.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Susan b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing. Our guide was very knowledgable and friendly. It was a very good mix of historical, religious and artistic sites. There was enough free time to explore on our own. The only draw back was the hotel and meal in Caen. It was the only disappointing meal we had in France.

Doing what: 2-Day Normandy, Saint Malo and Mont St Michel Tour from Paris

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message