The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1987 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Cedric R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip to Saint-Michel was truly breathtaking. Truly a full day excursion from Paris, but such a rewarding excursion to Normandy. Sweeping views of the surrounding countryside and sea from a variety of outlooks within the abbey, at a fortification with an amazing history. Great guides, and smooth travel. I highly recommend this trip!!!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

doloresmendoza53

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour guide was very informative. You should warn potential visitors that it is a steep climb requiring stamina. The lunch was not that great but salad was good. It would have been great to have WIFI on the bus as it was a long ride both ways.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Marie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is the way to go! Small group of 8 people. Full day tour led by an extremely knowledgeable guide, Franois. He was excellent! I highly recommend the full day tour!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a long bus ride from Paris but worth the trip. We chose the option of having lunch and a guide. The meal was good and service fast. The guide was very knowledgeable and provided a good commentary.

I would recommend taking this trip, but bring along some snacks. The stop coming back was a road side rest area. The food options were very limited.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Dorothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Full day tour. Fantastic guide. Perfect weather. A must to better understand the sacrifices made by the Allied forces. A very moving and memorable experience.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Edwin J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful experience. Very moving and educational. Our tour guide, David, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Mary K C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an excellent place to visit and this was an excellent tour. If you go to France, do yourself the favor of coming and seeing the Normandy Beaches and hearing the incredible story of our brave soldiers. It is truly amazing and mind-blowing.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Hannah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was great! If you have a full day free and want to get away from the city to see some beautiful countryside, this is the tour for you. You will take about a 4.5 hour bus ride there, so be prepared for that! We definitely recommend selecting the option that includes lunch. It was nice knowing that it was taken care of, and the lunch spot has an incredible view of Mont St Michel while you're dining. Our tour guide was excellent and really gave us all the wonderful history and use of each room in the abbey - something you definitely don't get in an unguided version. It rains here every day, so bring an umbrella and also be prepared to walk and climb all the way to the top - there's no elevator, but trust me, the climb is worth the view!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

WPagan529

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What a magical place! You will not regret visiting it! Dress comfortably.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Marla B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had an amazing guide take us through the tour. We were picked up in a van at the train station, drove to Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery and Memorial. Our guide took us through some back roads to help us get a feel for the landscape, she gave us lots of history and background in the van while we drove. She also took us out on Omaha beach and drew in the sand to explain exactly the chain of events that happened there. It was a great visual and very powerful. It was also moving to hear the story told from the perspective of a local who really understood the impact of what the war had done and how these events saved the lives of so many.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Nancy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Emily picked us up and we drove in a van with 5 other people. Emily had a mic that used the speakers of the radio, so we could all hear her clearly. She commented on the countryside, the local customs, the war, the troops, the beaches, ...everything of interest. It was fascinating and very moving. It was well worth the price.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Nathaniel F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour with a brilliant tour guide. I would highly recommend them for seeing the key areas of the American aspect of the Normandy invasion.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Mary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We were thrilled with our 9-hour tour of the battlefields and the American and German cemeteries. Participating in taps at the end of the day at the American cemetery was both emotional and inspiring.Our guide, Adrian, was extremely knowledgeable and nice and we thoroughly enjoyed our day with him, including the picture-perfect weather. Would recommend him highly to friends who are considering this trip.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Thomas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Rose, was fantastic. She was extremely knowledgeable of the battles that took place and took us along the backroads of the area as if we were back in 1944. Well worth the price, especially if you're on a limited timetable. I'd highly recommend.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Rebaylor1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Outstanding in every way for a first time visit to the D Day invasion sites, concluding at the American Cemetary above Omaha Beach.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Laura C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Very Humbling experience, the guide was good, gave a good perspective from a native point of view.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

don

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Matthew sp? made the trip. He filled our time with historical information and stories including about his grandfather, who was in the French resistance!. We could tell he has really done his homework, including a trip to Washington DC to find additional information and photos. Very passionate about WWII for a 35-year-old young man. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Nic.cantor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Francois was an excellent guide. He gave us a really good and factual accounting of the D Day and Normandy invasion events. He put it all into a very comprehensivei tour, and explained the differences between the Omaha terrain and the other beaches, and why it was so much harder for the US troops to land and to take this beachhead. Really a very good and comprehensive and factual account, and much appreciated.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An awesome day out - not to be missed!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Judith Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Kate, was knowledgeable and experienced. She even adapted the tour times to meet an unexpected schedule issue for the other family that was with us, and yet made sure that our own group was still accommodated.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was excellent. Extremely knowledgeable and very personable. A great day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries from Bayeux

Patricia H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

For us, the half day tour was just right. We visited two beaches as well as the American cemetery. The tour was emotionally moving and half day was enough. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and passionate.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Lisa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour of Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery with Matthieu. He's a local and his personal experiences of the war made this a wonderful tour.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Donna W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. We learned a lot in the 4 hours we had. I only wish we had more time to explore so maybe the full day tour would have been better. Sometimes we got rained on but that happens.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message