The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1934 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was so far above my expectations - primarily because of our guide, Matthew. His depth of knowledge, research and photo log, combined with the personal sharing of the stories of his grandparents moved this so far beyond a history lesson and made it an encounter with history.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Herman G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Francois, was excellent. He was very friendly and knowledgeable. He grew up in Normandy and could draw on family discussions about the Battle for Normandy which made the tour particularly interesting. He was a pleasure to know. We would highly recommend him.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Shane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very knowledgable guide, punctual, organized and friendly. Highly recommend

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Andrea L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved every moment of this tour! Our guide François was fabulous! He was incredibly knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. I learned a massive amount during this tour and walked away totally impressed. You see all the key sights plus a couple more. Book this tour, you won and #39;t be disappointed!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

mmarkoe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours ever. Tour guide Francois was not only knowledgeable, but passionate. You had to stand on Omaha beach to truly understand what troops faced on D-Day.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Dianne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed our tour. Sunny was delightful. She was very well informed about the history, and was able to tell us some great anecdotes about the area since she is a local. She kept the tour on track and on time, and got us back to our hotel first so we could comfortably catch the late train to Paris. The tour helped us maximize our experience in the short amount of time we had in Normandy for this first visit.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

ccreagh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Adrien M. was a phenomenal guide! We learned so much from this entertaining, articulate, and knowledgeable young man. His portfolio of war photos to accompany our tour showed us exactly where we were standing on D-Day. We had time to wander on our own at all 3 places too.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour was excellent and our tour guide, Adrian, was impressive. He was very knowledgeable of all the history around the D-Day landing events. We would recommend this tour to anyone in the future.

Thank you

Rob DiBella
USA

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Renee K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Francois is an awesome guide. I would highly recommend this tour with him. It is worth every penny!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Anne E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Absolutely wonderful young man, Antoine, took us on an amazing tour! He was very knowledgeable and very personable. Wouldn't have missed this for the world. Every American needs to see Normandy at least once in their lifetime!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Ashley J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Worth the drive. Magnificent place. Knowledgeable guide, comfortable bus and great experience.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

maria a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable about what happened in Normandy.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Maureen B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Loved the tour overall.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Scott S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The tour was fantastic. Adrian was a great tour guide. We learned so much more than if we had just wandered around on our own. One guide for eight people was just the right size too.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Anthony D

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Very good tour, and wonderful guide!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

James H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

This a great tour for history enthusiasts! The visit to the German and American Cemetery's was outstanding and Pont Du Hoc was excellent as well. The beaches Omaha and Utah were very interesting, made so by our tour guide Roman. I definitely recommend this tour for history buffs.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide had encyclopedic knowledge of D-day and was very engaging. Omaha beach and the American Cemetery were especially memorable. This was on my bucket list of things to do and was the best tour I have ever experienced.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Laureen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Emilie. Tour guide was outstanding and took the time to explain and answer questions. We booked the tour an hour prior to start and were very impressed as we only had half a day to spend. Would recommend for those that want a small group and time to walk on their own in addition to learning

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Charlotte M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sunny was an awesome tour guide. She gave us information about the liberation of France during D-day and she also gave us a French perspective of the liberation. Her grandparents lived through the occupation and liberation. Sunny grew up in Normandy. I was so fortunate to have Sunny as our tour guide. I also forgot one of the souvenirs that I had purchased in Sunny's tour van. She came back to return the souvenir to me at the train station.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

halperwilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Matt, our guide picked us up with four other people. We visited two cemeteries (American and German), Utah Beach, Omaha Beach, and drive through one lane roads to see where airfields had been placed and how the remnants are being used. Seeing these out of the way places enhanced our understanding.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Alyson S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was fantastic! Francois spoke beautiful English and was extremely knowledgeable. He made sure everyone in our group was comfortable and understood. He had pictures and maps that really helped bring it all together. Overall it was a great experience that I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a wonderful tour. Our guide, Rose, was so knowledgeable and interesting about everything...The Normandy invasion, the surrounding countryside, the affects of the war in this part of France. She answered all of our questions about the site and France and the French in general. Her English skills were excellent. I highly recommend this tour and our guide. We couldn't have been more satisfied.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

joe_witalec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide, Jonathan, was prompt about picking us up at the train station. At our first stop. Pointe du Hoc, you can walk among the ruins of the German defense positions and get a good feel of what the Allies were facing. The beach and cemetery were incredible also.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

pete d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jean-Francois shared his knowledge of the events and actions of the landings at Utah and Omaha beaches, as well as the nearby areas. He was very accommodating, as my wife was having a mobility issue that day. He made a special effort to tell the rest of the tour the stories in some areas and then went back to the van to tell the same story to my wife. I really appreciated his caring attitude. I highly recommend him to anyone that takes the tour. Pete D.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message