The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2006 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Derek H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A local's perspective on the area is so invaluable and insightful. This was a fantastic trip with a great value for the length and personal touch to the entire trip. I would HIGHLY encourage this tour to anyone who wants to use the best of their time in a day to see the American sites, and the German cemetery. Learned so much more than ever would trying to do this on our own.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Dijana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour!
Loved every minute of it. My husband and i enjoyed it. I, myself am a history teacher and my husband a history enthusiast and we gained information we did not have before this tour. Honestly something i think every person should do while visiting France.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Jrlindb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a great day top from Paris! Karen was fantastic! I highly recommend comfy shoes for some off the path walking! The timing was perfect to get sand and rocks to bring home. Had we taken the evening train train back to Paris we could have stayed in Bayeux for dinner.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Gerald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A very interesting and informative tour. Tour guide David was exceptional - very knowledgeable and entertaining. Highly recommended

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Kelly R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

David B was an informative guidelines. Tour, sites, and experience was amazing. Highly recommend

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

jnllb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A lot of Operation Overlord knowledge was packed into this 9-hours sightseeing trip. Our tour guide, Rose, was wonderful and we were fortunate to have only four in our group the max is eight. We definitely were able to get a small feel for some of the obstacles the landing mission faced on that fateful day of June 6, 1944. I would definitely recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

wycee20

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Rose was very knowledgeable and fun to be around. It was great to not have to worry about the transportation and she took us to more than just the beach. We really enjoyed the history and the landscape of this tour. It is definitely a must-do in France.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Courtney S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What an awesome trip. It is definitely a long day - and a lot of stairs to climb, but the views and the tour were worth it. It is a 4 hour drive to the Mont Saint-Michel parking lot, where you then board the shuttle bus to the town. Lunch was actually really great. Another poster said they had salmon and as I do not like salmon, I was a bit worried about it - but we had some sort of white fish prepared Normandy Style with cream and butter, with rice and veggies. It was delicious.

Then we toured the abbey and finished with time on our own before heading back, just as the description said. We stopped once during the drive each way to get a snack and go to the bathroom, so you can get some dinner as you don't get back to Paris until after 9pm. We happened to be coming past the Eiffel Tower at 9pm exactly and caught the light show, which was a really great addition to our awesome day trip.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

cherylsf28 .

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide was AWESOME! She was able to navigate us through the long lines of people/other tour groups who did not have their pre-purchased entrance ticket, which saved us a lot of time. She was also very knowledgeable about the castle.

One thing I would change, I would have preferred to skip the lunch and would have loved to spend more time wondering around Mont Saint Michel.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Julio L

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

Get ready for a long day. We took this trip and loved it

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Handy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The lunch package this tour gave us is really good. The trip itself in overall is great. Highly recommended..

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Robin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

A long day but well worth the trip, as always guide was excellent.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Suzi Mildern Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Spectacular! Loved this day. Be warned its a long day but VERY worthwhile. Walking through Mont Saint-Michel was a highlight of our trip. Observing the lifestyle of the monks and walking along the board walk. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

mZbreeZe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

overall, a very well organized trip! the coach ride was very long but comfortable. corinne, the tour guide is very knowledgeable indeed. despite the unfortunate gloomy weather, it didn't dampen our mood to witness and explore such a magnificent medieval architecture. only downside of the entire trip is the lunch which was provided which I really didn't enjoy considering after so many hours on the road, the highlight upon arrival was really at least a satisfactory meal!... the selection could have been better!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Carrie E

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Awesome time in Mt St Michel. Guides were well versed, friendly and well organized. The only thing I would have liked would have been a smaller group.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Cedric R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The trip to Saint-Michel was truly breathtaking. Truly a full day excursion from Paris, but such a rewarding excursion to Normandy. Sweeping views of the surrounding countryside and sea from a variety of outlooks within the abbey, at a fortification with an amazing history. Great guides, and smooth travel. I highly recommend this trip!!!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Leonard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guide was remarkable. She had a ready answer to every question, and usually had documentation in her very large binder to support the answer. The tour lasted longer than what was advertised because of the interest shown by the group.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Roz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Long drive, but oh so well worth it! I am so glad I saw this place!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Alan C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Only problem is the long commute that takes up most of your day. Once your there it's a very unique experience walking around.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

ASLI S

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

I enjoyed the tour but the lunch took too long and in the end there was little time to see the small village.
And in order to see the high tide you need to either go there early in the morning or stay the night.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

doloresmendoza53

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Tour guide was very informative. You should warn potential visitors that it is a steep climb requiring stamina. The lunch was not that great but salad was good. It would have been great to have WIFI on the bus as it was a long ride both ways.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Marie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is the way to go! Small group of 8 people. Full day tour led by an extremely knowledgeable guide, Franois. He was excellent! I highly recommend the full day tour!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Robert A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

It was a long bus ride from Paris but worth the trip. We chose the option of having lunch and a guide. The meal was good and service fast. The guide was very knowledgeable and provided a good commentary.

I would recommend taking this trip, but bring along some snacks. The stop coming back was a road side rest area. The food options were very limited.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip including Local Lunch

Dorothy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Full day tour. Fantastic guide. Perfect weather. A must to better understand the sacrifices made by the Allied forces. A very moving and memorable experience.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Edwin J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful experience. Very moving and educational. Our tour guide, David, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message