The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1954 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Christine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Antoine, was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the information he shared with us. For someone who went into the tour knowing next to nothing about D-Day or even WWII, I still felt like I got a lot out of the tour. The beaches were beautiful and it was really interesting to see the bunkers and learn about how the invasion happened. The highlight for me was when Antoine drew a play by play map in the sand to explain how it all went down. It was also very sobering to see the two graveyards. The small group size was nice as well as it allowed us all to ask a lot of questions and get a very personal experience.
I was most impressed by what happened after the tour. I realized once I finished the tour and headed to a nearby restaurant for dinner that I left my extra pair of shoes on the van. We called the tour company and Antoine promptly answered offering to personally deliver them to where we were eating dinner. He definitely went above and beyond and I greatly appreciated it!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Norman R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great scenery and sights.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Everything about this trip was excellent.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Blakney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

LOVED the tour. It was such an experience to be able to see all of the main sights. I think the timing is wonderful and at each sight we had plenty of time to see and walk around the area. The cemetery is very moving and I like that our tour guide explained things and then let us have free time there to experience everything for our self. We took the train from Paris to Bayeux and it was the most perfect day trip!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Margie United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WOW!! This was an amazing tour. Sophie was our guide and from the moment we got in the van when she picked us up at our hotel to the time she dropped us off, she taught us so much: German Cemetery, Ste. Mere Eglise, Utah Beach, Porte du Hoc, Omaha Beach, American Cemetery. Driving through Normandie roads she pointed out so many interesting areas and what was happening then in 1944. Tour was from 8:30am to 6:00pm. A must if you want to experience the history here. Very sobering. Margie and Bill

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

William d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the Normandy invasion. There was not a question that she could not answer. The trip was well-planned and allowed us free time to take photos and spend time where we wanted to.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Steven F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had the best guide you can ever have for this tour. David was incredibly knowledgeable and passionate. He had a true respect for the soldiers that fought there, and I hung on to every word he said. Trust me when I say this if you go on this tour ask for David. By the way, he was also funny and a great guy to hang with.
Steve - Los Angeles

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Steeljester

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Philip was a great guide. He did a good job of showing and telling details about the sites and battles that aren and #39;t covered in everyday WW2 info, which definitely increased the value of the tour for me.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Lindsae L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Half day was perfect! Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Margaret D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was a perfect half day tour. We experienced the major points, had time at each for reflection, pictures and experiencing not only the history but the beauty of the area. The size of the group was PERFECT.. bigger group would have definately took away from the experience. Our guide was WONDERFUL.. knowledgable, easily understood, kind and point on!! I would recommend this tour over and over again!! I spoke to others on the tour and they agreed - this half day was PERFECT!!!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Patric F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was spectacular. If you can, I would recommend doing the full day tour because there's so much to see. Our tour guide, Rose, was very knowledgeable about the subject and provided us with a great history lesson. You visit Pointe Du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American Cemetery. Rose had many pictures from World War 2 and would show us what everything looked like during that time. I am very grateful for this tour. Thanks Rose!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour with a knowledgeable tour guide that adds interesting facts and detail into the events surrounding the 6th June 1944. The tour has plenty of stops and goes at a comfortable pace. Great if you only have a day and good if you want an overview for a longer stay.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Douglas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A must do trip for every Australian. Our guide Valentine impressed us with his incredible and interesting knowledge.
Thanks valentine a great day.
from 2, 60 year old Aussies

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. Guide very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Great day! She was very helpful returning us to our hotel. Just disappointed we weren't at the beach during low tide to see the hedge hogs on the beach.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Alan R

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

Good guide. The restaurant for lunch serves the worst food in France. Cold, under-cooked salmon, served by a surly and disinterested staff. Ironically, the guides ate steak while seated at another table. It look nearly 5 hours to reach Mont Saint-Michel. Good tour followed by wading through thousands of people shopping at the worst and most over priced gift shops. The 5.5 hours back to Paris. A long trip for a 43 minute tour. Not a good value.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

JOHN W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Not worth the money, a 4 hour ride to and a4 hour return to Paris is not what I expected. The only good thing was how the plane was built but you find many prettier churches in Italy. Not worth the money or time!!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was so far above my expectations - primarily because of our guide, Matthew. His depth of knowledge, research and photo log, combined with the personal sharing of the stories of his grandparents moved this so far beyond a history lesson and made it an encounter with history.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Herman G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our guide, Francois, was excellent. He was very friendly and knowledgeable. He grew up in Normandy and could draw on family discussions about the Battle for Normandy which made the tour particularly interesting. He was a pleasure to know. We would highly recommend him.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Shane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Very knowledgable guide, punctual, organized and friendly. Highly recommend

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Andrea L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I loved every moment of this tour! Our guide François was fabulous! He was incredibly knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. I learned a massive amount during this tour and walked away totally impressed. You see all the key sights plus a couple more. Book this tour, you won and #39;t be disappointed!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

mmarkoe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours ever. Tour guide Francois was not only knowledgeable, but passionate. You had to stand on Omaha beach to truly understand what troops faced on D-Day.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Dianne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed our tour. Sunny was delightful. She was very well informed about the history, and was able to tell us some great anecdotes about the area since she is a local. She kept the tour on track and on time, and got us back to our hotel first so we could comfortably catch the late train to Paris. The tour helped us maximize our experience in the short amount of time we had in Normandy for this first visit.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

ccreagh

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Adrien M. was a phenomenal guide! We learned so much from this entertaining, articulate, and knowledgeable young man. His portfolio of war photos to accompany our tour showed us exactly where we were standing on D-Day. We had time to wander on our own at all 3 places too.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our tour was excellent and our tour guide, Adrian, was impressive. He was very knowledgeable of all the history around the D-Day landing events. We would recommend this tour to anyone in the future.

Thank you

Rob DiBella
USA

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message