The lovely old town of Bayeux is in the département of Calvados, famed for its sought-after butter, cheese, cider and distinctive apple-flavored brandy. The D-Day beaches extend along almost the entire coast of Calvados, making Bayeux the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1916 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide had encyclopedic knowledge of D-day and was very engaging. Omaha beach and the American Cemetery were especially memorable. This was on my bucket list of things to do and was the best tour I have ever experienced.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Laureen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Emilie. Tour guide was outstanding and took the time to explain and answer questions. We booked the tour an hour prior to start and were very impressed as we only had half a day to spend. Would recommend for those that want a small group and time to walk on their own in addition to learning

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Charlotte M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sunny was an awesome tour guide. She gave us information about the liberation of France during D-day and she also gave us a French perspective of the liberation. Her grandparents lived through the occupation and liberation. Sunny grew up in Normandy. I was so fortunate to have Sunny as our tour guide. I also forgot one of the souvenirs that I had purchased in Sunny's tour van. She came back to return the souvenir to me at the train station.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

halperwilson

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Matt, our guide picked us up with four other people. We visited two cemeteries (American and German), Utah Beach, Omaha Beach, and drive through one lane roads to see where airfields had been placed and how the remnants are being used. Seeing these out of the way places enhanced our understanding.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Alyson S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was fantastic! Francois spoke beautiful English and was extremely knowledgeable. He made sure everyone in our group was comfortable and understood. He had pictures and maps that really helped bring it all together. Overall it was a great experience that I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a wonderful tour. Our guide, Rose, was so knowledgeable and interesting about everything...The Normandy invasion, the surrounding countryside, the affects of the war in this part of France. She answered all of our questions about the site and France and the French in general. Her English skills were excellent. I highly recommend this tour and our guide. We couldn't have been more satisfied.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

joe_witalec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide, Jonathan, was prompt about picking us up at the train station. At our first stop. Pointe du Hoc, you can walk among the ruins of the German defense positions and get a good feel of what the Allies were facing. The beach and cemetery were incredible also.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

pete d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jean-Francois shared his knowledge of the events and actions of the landings at Utah and Omaha beaches, as well as the nearby areas. He was very accommodating, as my wife was having a mobility issue that day. He made a special effort to tell the rest of the tour the stories in some areas and then went back to the van to tell the same story to my wife. I really appreciated his caring attitude. I highly recommend him to anyone that takes the tour. Pete D.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Amber M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding! From the accomidating last-day booking to the professional and personable tour guide (thanks Mathieu!), we were thrilled with the experience. We LOVED the charming town of Bayeux and each of the sites of the tour, especially Omaha Beach, Pont do Hoc and the beautiful U.S. cemetery. Awesome!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Eleanor Zahra T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A great place to visit. I loved every bit of it despite it was windy and cold when i visited this place. The tour guide rep was passionate about this place and provided comprehensive explanation in English and Spanish. I was impressed by how she provided comprehensive guidance in two languages .

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Michael L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour. The guide was very informative and gave us time to explore on our own. Thank you!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Kathleen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jean-Francoise was a great tour guide! He was highly knowledgeable and full of interesting historical stories. The small group atmosphere was nice and I got to know the fellow Americans on the tour in our minivan that day. I'd recommend this trip to anyone wanting to see Omaha and Utah beaches and learn more about their history.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Cathleen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide Juliette was terrific!

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Jonathan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was François. He picked us up from Lion d'Or in Bayeux and also picked up others from the Bayeux train station. We rode in a 9 passenger van.

He was an energetic, friendly guide with fluent English a fun personality and also a deep understanding of Normandy and the sites that we visited. In fact he grew up in Caen and shared personal tidbits about his family's history with WWII.

All three sites were amazing. Please note there is a museum/information center at the American Cemetery that I would highly recommend visiting. We didn't know about it and so we weren't able to go. The tour roughly gave us 15 minutes of personal time at Pointe du Hoc and Omaha beach and then 1 hour at the American Cemetery. I would suggest spending more time at the Pointe du Hoc and Omaha beaches and less time in the Cemetery.

Take this tour! It was so helpful to have a guide explain the historical facts and point out the different places things happened and why things occurred the way they did. Hands down a great use of money and time.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Janet L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide, Sunny, was fantastic. She made the tour a lot of fun, and we saw so much without ever feeling rushed. The tour ended with the American cemetery and at the end of the day - taps and the lowering of the American flag. Truly moving.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Mark S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A very comprehensive tour. Our guide was very knowledgable and gave us personal insights which are not seen in mainstreem media. A lot of quiet reflective time at the museums and memorials to take in the enormity of the events and sacrifices that gave us the freedoms we enjoy today. Highly recommend

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Neil F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Francois was a great guide and we felt that the tour was very important and informative.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Sunny was a terrific guide! Passionate and well informed on the subject. She was very personable and animated with her delivery! It was very educational.

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Marcia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fabulous! I and #39;d been wanting to experience this since learning French in high school. Quite overwhelming.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Tom W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Long day but worth it if your looking for a change pace from the Paris streets.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Megan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a must do for me! Absolutely beautiful place. Be aware that its a long drive from Paris and there are a lot of stairs, but again...totally worth it.

Doing what: Mont Saint-Michel Day Trip

Elta M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Romin was a fabulous tour guide!!!!! A ver enjoyable,informative and moving trip.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had an excellent day long tour of Normandy with our very knowledgeable guide Amelie. The tour was well organized and we never felt rushed as we explored the various places we stopped on the tour. Amelie's knowledge of history is astounding. By far one of the highlights of our France vacation!!

Doing what: Normandy Battlefields Tour - American Sites

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message