Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1299 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

DOROTHY H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the most memorable trip I made in France! Our guide, Rafael, was outstanding - so knowledgeable and interesting! I would highly recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Christine

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Antoine, was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the information he shared with us. For someone who went into the tour knowing next to nothing about D-Day or even WWII, I still felt like I got a lot out of the tour. The beaches were beautiful and it was really interesting to see the bunkers and learn about how the invasion happened. The highlight for me was when Antoine drew a play by play map in the sand to explain how it all went down. It was also very sobering to see the two graveyards. The small group size was nice as well as it allowed us all to ask a lot of questions and get a very personal experience.
I was most impressed by what happened after the tour. I realized once I finished the tour and headed to a nearby restaurant for dinner that I left my extra pair of shoes on the van. We called the tour company and Antoine promptly answered offering to personally deliver them to where we were eating dinner. He definitely went above and beyond and I greatly appreciated it!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Blakney H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

LOVED the tour. It was such an experience to be able to see all of the main sights. I think the timing is wonderful and at each sight we had plenty of time to see and walk around the area. The cemetery is very moving and I like that our tour guide explained things and then let us have free time there to experience everything for our self. We took the train from Paris to Bayeux and it was the most perfect day trip!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Sheila M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The young man that took us on the tour was very knowledgeable and personably, he was able to answer our questions and gave us ample time to reflect. Thank you for choosing such excellent guides.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Daniel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I can't recommend this enough! Our tour guide, Mike, was incredible and EXTREMELY well read. Never have I met an individual as enthusiastic and passionate about their job as Mike. He could show me around a shoe factory and I'd still have a good time. Aside from the awesome tour guide, the tour itself was incredible. We went to 5 very pivotal locations and learned more than you could ever hope to. Visiting the German cemetery added a level of understanding and empathy that I honestly had never had for German soldiers of WWII prior to this tour. This alone, would be reason enough to book this tour, I could argue. Aside from that the other locations were incredible, and even daunting as well. While we learned so much from our very informed tour guide, we also got to check out each location a bunch on our own. Nothing felt rushed at all. We were even provided a very good lunch at a very unique, beautiful location. I can't recommend this tour and Mike enough.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

PHILLIP N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The full day tour of Normandy D-Day beaches was fabulous. Our tour guide Jon was very knowledgeable and articulate and made this day wonderful. The tour covered everything we hoped to see and having a group of only 10 on our trip made things easy and accessible. He provided the history and insight into the events of D-Day and my wife and I had a wonderful day. The small tour bus was comfortable and having the video of events between stops was great. The included lunch was good and the 8-9 hours just seemed to fly by. Great tour !!! Phil N.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Rhonda S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

WOW! The tour guide Charlie was fantastic. A young history enthusiast. We stoped at Utah beach, Omaha Beach and the cemetery where my uncle was buried. If you have a loved one there, look up their marker location before you go. It will save time! Cider tasting was plentiful. Stories and sights were magnificent and touching. Pointe du Hoc was amazing and sad, with blown out bunkers all over the place and craters stretched as far as you can see. Ability to walk around all the bunkers and craters. Long drive from Paris with breaks at the gas station/truck stop for food, etc.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Wstender

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you have limited time in Normandy this is a MUST DO thing. This is a long day but great overview of all major American invasion events. Unfortunately we did not get a chance to go into any of the great looking museums in this region specializing in the D-Day experience. In retrospect we could have spent 3 days in this region of France, so if you are still planning your trip add more days!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Randall R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guides, Charlie and Hugo were absolutely wonderful! They did an amazing job of showing us the D-Day area and answering any questions .They were both very knowledgeable in WWII history. It was a great experience and an informative day. Visiting Pointe de Hoc and the American Cemetery was very moving. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Mallory S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Top notch tour from start to finish. The museum tour was very well done, with a highly knowledgeable guide. It is a long day filled with many different sights and facts that I had never heard before. A must do if you have a full day to devote to it.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

JOHN R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide Maryline was excellent! We had a wonderful and informative day!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Lindsae L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Half day was perfect! Excellent tour guide.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Sandy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide spoke excellent English and was extremely knowledgeable about the events of D-Day and beyond. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire day and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to see the beaches of Normandy and hear the the events that occured on that day.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Margaret D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

it was a perfect half day tour. We experienced the major points, had time at each for reflection, pictures and experiencing not only the history but the beauty of the area. The size of the group was PERFECT.. bigger group would have definately took away from the experience. Our guide was WONDERFUL.. knowledgable, easily understood, kind and point on!! I would recommend this tour over and over again!! I spoke to others on the tour and they agreed - this half day was PERFECT!!!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Myriam E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved our tour Jon was so informative could answer our questions . Again a great driver the transportation was comfortable we hope go back again

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Brent C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our guide, Mike, of Bayeux Tours, was superb. His knowledge of history, geography, and the events surrounding D-Day was amazing. He was easy to understand and is very passionate about the subject. Our group consisted of just one other couple, which made for an enjoyable, easy-going day. We could not have learned as much as we did nor found our way around easily on our own. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Patric F United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour was spectacular. If you can, I would recommend doing the full day tour because there's so much to see. Our tour guide, Rose, was very knowledgeable about the subject and provided us with a great history lesson. You visit Pointe Du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American Cemetery. Rose had many pictures from World War 2 and would show us what everything looked like during that time. I am very grateful for this tour. Thanks Rose!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Ron C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour was great! Mike was absolutely phenomenal as a tour guide! Besides that, he went the second mile. My father had landed on Omaha Beach, and after I gave Mike so of the information I had available, he actually found out some new additional information about where and when he landed on the beach. Then he took us there and pointed out where the documents indicated he landed.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Linda F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful guide with great information and side stories that bring the tour to life. A very moving experience for one day. Enjoyed the multimedia presentations on the bus.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Joe G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Adrian was absolutely fantastic. He was prompt, friendly, knowledgeable and willing to improvise for senior citizens. I would give him an A for my adventure to Normandy. If I can only give stars I'd give him 5 bright stars.

Doing what: Le Havre Shore Excursion: Private Day Tour of Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and Normandy American Cemetery

LESLEY F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour was amazing!!!!! Our tour guide was the best! He was French but had traveled to the US to learn about our culture and talk with WWII vets. We did the American tour and we spent just enough time at each site to learn all the background. Only 6 people in the van so our guide made it personable and was able to answer all of our questions. The lunch at the Caen Museum was out of this world!!! Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Michael H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Mario was an excellent tour guide full of historical knowledge and interesting facts for our tour. Wish the tour was expanded to include Utah Beach in US American tour.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message