Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1358 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dijana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent tour!
Loved every minute of it. My husband and i enjoyed it. I, myself am a history teacher and my husband a history enthusiast and we gained information we did not have before this tour. Honestly something i think every person should do while visiting France.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Jrlindb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a great day top from Paris! Karen was fantastic! I highly recommend comfy shoes for some off the path walking! The timing was perfect to get sand and rocks to bring home. Had we taken the evening train train back to Paris we could have stayed in Bayeux for dinner.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Hugh V United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

On a father/son trip to London we decided to take the ferry to Normandy and visit the D-Day landing beaches. Very moving experience, particularly when the French military veterans lowered the American flag at the Omaha Beach US Cemetery at sunset. A must for history buffs, family of veterans who took part in WWII, and all who appreciate the sacrifices made by our Allied military, whether American, Canadian, French, or British to liberate the Continent and preserve our freedoms.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

wycee20

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Rose was very knowledgeable and fun to be around. It was great to not have to worry about the transportation and she took us to more than just the beach. We really enjoyed the history and the landscape of this tour. It is definitely a must-do in France.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Linda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a 5-star experience all the way. I'm so glad we chose this tour --we would have been lost in Caen and floundering to find the beaches. We were met at the train station as promised and taken to the museum-immediately the guide started to tell us the history of the area and the museum. We had an English speaking guide so that made everything much easier. The museum also had each plaque in several languages including English. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about the museum, the area and the history. We spent the morning at the museum, then were provided a first rate lunch I was expecting sandwiches, but these were hot plated lunch choices and on to the van where our party of 5 was taken to 5 or 6 stops along the Channel and the countryside. It was quite a positive experience we learned so much in a relatively short period of time and it was fun learning it. We were dropped off back at the train station at 6:30. We had been picked up at 9am. Again, so much was packed into this day it was amazing. Highly recommend. One constructive criticism -- the headphones used in the museum were very helpful I would recommend using them in the van as well.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Kathrine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour guide, Rose, was fantastic. We were picked up right on time from our hotel in Bayeux and there was one other couple on the tour. Rose was very knowledgeable about the history of the area and took us to several points of interest. It was a good mix of guided and self-guided tour. We highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Claudia D

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

This was a great tour. I might have skipped the cider tasting. That was no big deal for us. The trip was great. Tour guide was very knowledgeable - he was previously a history teacher. Lunch at a nice restaurant. Saw all the sights. If we skipped the cider tasting then maybe we would have more time to shop. Didn't get any time to visit any of the gift stores. The scenery was beautiful. Was able to walk on the beaches.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour including Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Joseph M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Had the full day Normandy D-Day beaches tour and this turned out to be the highlight of our 12 day vacation in France. Our tour guide Mike was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the Allied invasion. He literally made you feel like you were there that day as he explained what really happened at the various battle sights we visited. It was a very sobering and enlightening experience and an important part of our history. Highly recommend this tour to others who want to learn about this major event in our battle for freedom.

Doing what: Full-Day Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

SMF01264

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide was particularly exceptionally fantastic! knowledgeably incredible. A very long but informative day. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour including Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Edmond T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The tour guide is very professional. The lunch is great. I enjoy the tour so much and learn a lots from it.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Janine N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great experience. Our guide was very knowledgeable, had visual aids, multimedia TV videos in the van and was interactive with questions. Mike was very kind, went during January the cold time so our group was small which allowed one on one interaction. We had enough time for photos and we got to visit the American Cemetery during the lowering of the flags. It was a great experience. Highly recommended and would do it again.

Doing what: Full-Day Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

kkay

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour, from 9 am to 5:30 pm, with our guide Mike Van Den Dobbelsteen, was superb! Outstanding! More exciting and informative than we ever expected. We learned so much and shared profound emotions that are strong even to this day. We were highly moved and know that words can not express our thanks and gratitude to Mike for sharing his passion and knowledge about D Day with us.

Doing what: Full-Day Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Katherine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fascinating! Our guide Laurent brought history alive for us. He was so interesting, knowledgeable and extremely passionate. I think he enjoyed the day as much as we did. The day was very well organized and easily manageable.

I have been on hundreds of tours over the years and tnis one was one of my all time favorites!p

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Katherine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fascinating! Our guide Laurent brought history alive for us. He was so interesting, knowledgeable and extremely passionate. I think he enjoyed the day as much as we did. The day was very well organized and easily manageable.

I have been on hundreds of tours over the years and tnis one was one of my all time favorites!p

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

George R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Solid driver for 7-passenger van excellent guide. Well-structured tour. Special opportunity: because the tour was experienced on November 30 when sunset was about 4:45pm, we were able to observe the formal Taps ceremony at the American Military Cemetery. A very solemn and poignant occasion. The Cemetery stop did not include a tour of the Visitor's Center however, if you hustle during free time, it is worth the effort and time to experience the VC no charge. The lunch at the Caen Memorial that was included in the package far exceeded the norm for a tour group.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Lucy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic 5 stars! Our guide was great. I've keep his name for future friends who may want to do a tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

vabandit

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I simply cannot say enough about this fantastic tour! It was everything we had hoped for, and so much more. First, I must brag about Mike, our guide. Mike was FANTASTIC! He was informative with an exhaustive knowledge of all things D-Day, yet he conveyed the information in an extremely accessible way. Our small group included those who were very informed on D-Day and those who had very little knowledge of the events, and Mike made each one feel as though they were continually learning new things. His facts, mixed with anecdotes and stories, brought the events of June 1944 alive in a stunning fashion. Moreover, Mike was more than willing to adjust the trip schedule to accommodate the personal interests of the group. For example, when he learned that four of us were from Virginia, and had visited the Operation Overlord memorial in Bedford, VA the town that lost the largest number of men per capita of any US city, he took us to the statue at Omaha Beach that commemorates the Bedford Boys and is the sister statute to the one in Virginia. An extremely moving moment for us, and all thanks to Mike.

Of course, Mike had plenty to work with as we traveled from the landing beaches to the towns in Normandy made famous during the invasion. In each town, Mike made the events of the day come alive as if we were there. And he related the events to popular movies The Longest Day, Saving Private Ryan, etc and tv shows Band of Brothers, pointing out where those Hollywood versions were accurate and where they were not. Coupled with the multimedia presentation in the van as we moved from one place to the next--a highly effective way to convey additional information and to show then and now pictures of the areas we were passing through--it was as thorough overview as we could ask for.

I should note that at first we were concerned because we would not be visiting any of the museums along the way--time simply would not allow it--but these fears were quickly allayed. Quite frankly, Mike's presentation and the multimedia show in the van was far better, and more informative, than any museum with its docents would have been. In fact, we were glad NOT to have spent time in the museums so that we could spend more time with Mike in the actual historical places.

Speaking of which, Bayeux Shuttle owner Andy Sutherland's idea to purchase to buy a small French farmhouse, made famous in a Life Magazine photo, to use as a lunch stop midway through the tour was a stroke of genius. They have redecorated the home to look just like it might have looked when US soldiers stopped there for a rest in June 1944, and they had homemade sandwiches--made to your personal order--ready for us when we arrived. It was a blast to pose with the guns and uniforms of that time as we took lots of historical reenactment photos. Like the multimedia part of the tour, this is truly a unique aspect of the day something you will not find with any other tour group in Normandy, and truly makes Bayeux Shuttle standout from its competition.

Mike also timed our visit so that we would arrive at the US Memorial Cemetery at Omaha Beach at 5pm, in time for the very moving playing of taps and the retiring of the U.S. Flag for the evening. As if visiting the Cemetery was enough, being able to watch the flag lowering was beyond words. Mike then walked us through the cemetary, showing us many of the famous men buried there as well as many of those who were not so famous. I've been fortunate enough to visit Arlington National Cemetery, as well as U.S. memorial cemeteries in Tunis, Tunisia and Pusan, South Korea, but nothing compared to the cemetery at Omaha Beach.

Without complaint or concern, Mike even extended our tour at the end of the day, well into dark, to ensure we got to see everything. We can't thank him or praise him enough for this fantastic day. If you are coming to Normandy, particularly to see the beaches and do an historical tour, you simply must use Bayeux Shuttle. They work well with you to schedule your tour, and then to bring the events of the day alive while on the tour. And be sure to request Mike as your guide. I'm sure the others are just as good, but our personal experience with Mike clearly makes him the best of the best! You will not be disappointed!

Doing what: Full-Day Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Laura Ann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Breathtaking and sorrowful. Take the tour, you won't regret it.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Edwin J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful experience. Very moving and educational. Our tour guide, David, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I went on this tour and absolutely loved it! Our guides, Emily and Charles, were incredibly knowledgeable and did a fantastic job of educating us and giving us the history of each site that we went to. Each location was incredibly powerful and I wish we had more time to absorb it all. Also, the cider tasting and lunch were delicious!

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour including Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Mary K C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an excellent place to visit and this was an excellent tour. If you go to France, do yourself the favor of coming and seeing the Normandy Beaches and hearing the incredible story of our brave soldiers. It is truly amazing and mind-blowing.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Joseph B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful tour led by Mike our very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. The history tells its own story but Mike's detailed explanations pulled it all together for my wife and I. Really enjoyable trip and highly recommended for all.

Doing what: Full-Day Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Marla B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had an amazing guide take us through the tour. We were picked up in a van at the train station, drove to Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery and Memorial. Our guide took us through some back roads to help us get a feel for the landscape, she gave us lots of history and background in the van while we drove. She also took us out on Omaha beach and drew in the sand to explain exactly the chain of events that happened there. It was a great visual and very powerful. It was also moving to hear the story told from the perspective of a local who really understood the impact of what the war had done and how these events saved the lives of so many.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

David V G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is a great tour and comes highly recommended! We left Paris in a beautiful coach bus on a dark, rainy morning in November and arrived at Utah Beach before 11:00AM. We were greeted by a beautiful sunny day - we left the rain behind us in Paris! The museum at Utah beach was great - full of stories and artifacts from D Day. We then went on to the Cider tasting which was very interesting and relaxing - a nice change from the beaches. We then had lunch at a wonderful French restaurant in a marina a short distance away. We then went on to see more of the beaches and were able to enter the actual bunkers used by the Germans. Next was the American Cemetery which was simply beautiful and very inspiring! Our final stop was a short visit to Omaha Beach. All in all this was a great day - we were back in Paris just before 9:00PM - it was still raining!
Just one more thing to mention - our guide Felix was just great! Beside being very friendly and charming, he was very knowledgeable about World War II and was able to answer the many questions we had abut D Day and the war.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour including Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message