Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1249 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

charleygirl1974

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Fantastic and amazing! Getting to Normandy in the comfort of a coach bus with fun and knowledgable tour guides allows you to enjoy the experience stress free. Do not miss the chance to experience this part of history. Kate and Linda were great tour guides!

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Laureen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Emilie. Tour guide was outstanding and took the time to explain and answer questions. We booked the tour an hour prior to start and were very impressed as we only had half a day to spend. Would recommend for those that want a small group and time to walk on their own in addition to learning

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Diane P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Rose W. P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a wonderful guide very knowledgable and informative. The driver was also very good. I would rate this a five.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Scott C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Alyson S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour was fantastic! Francois spoke beautiful English and was extremely knowledgeable. He made sure everyone in our group was comfortable and understood. He had pictures and maps that really helped bring it all together. Overall it was a great experience that I would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Kristen Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a great tour. Very informative, and the guide Oliver was very good.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

joe_witalec

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing! Our tour guide, Jonathan, was prompt about picking us up at the train station. At our first stop. Pointe du Hoc, you can walk among the ruins of the German defense positions and get a good feel of what the Allies were facing. The beach and cemetery were incredible also.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Ed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Daniel was excellent, kept thing interesting and moving without anyone feeling rushed. The weather (cool, rainy, and windy) added to the ambiance of the tour. Would recommend him for any tour he leads. Thanks for a great time!

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Slavina R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It is worthed. We have learned so many interesting historical facts. Wonderful experience. Just make sure you book the correct train to Paris, I mean at the correct time after the tour is finished.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Amber M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Outstanding! From the accomidating last-day booking to the professional and personable tour guide (thanks Mathieu!), we were thrilled with the experience. We LOVED the charming town of Bayeux and each of the sites of the tour, especially Omaha Beach, Pont do Hoc and the beautiful U.S. cemetery. Awesome!

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

tbear

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This trip was fantastic! Several times through the years I had planned to do this trip on my own, but I am so glad I did this tour instead. It was so easy, and so much fun! Our guide Felix was absolutely amazing! I can't say enough good about him. The trip from Paris to the beaches was on a comfortable bus and the driver Larry was great. Along the way Felix filled us with details and history. At each stop we learned more. Felix rattled off answers and facts like our personal Google... Amazing! Lunch by the sea was wonderful and the entire trip was just enough, but not rushed. This trip was a great value, I can't believe we did it all in one day! Fantastic!

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Lindsay S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My mom and I spent the day on the D-Day Tour during our visit to Paris. It was so well worth it! Pray that you get Mario- he was absolutely amazing! The train system was easy and they were right there when we arrived to Caen. You start off at the museum which is so well spent and organized. I recommend taking time to wander outside to the gardens then go into the bunker. We didn't feel rushed at different sites, they gave you time to wander on your own, and some of the places have little stores for snacks, coffees, beverages etc. Again, I highly recommend this for a day trip.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Jonathan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide was François. He picked us up from Lion d'Or in Bayeux and also picked up others from the Bayeux train station. We rode in a 9 passenger van.

He was an energetic, friendly guide with fluent English a fun personality and also a deep understanding of Normandy and the sites that we visited. In fact he grew up in Caen and shared personal tidbits about his family's history with WWII.

All three sites were amazing. Please note there is a museum/information center at the American Cemetery that I would highly recommend visiting. We didn't know about it and so we weren't able to go. The tour roughly gave us 15 minutes of personal time at Pointe du Hoc and Omaha beach and then 1 hour at the American Cemetery. I would suggest spending more time at the Pointe du Hoc and Omaha beaches and less time in the Cemetery.

Take this tour! It was so helpful to have a guide explain the historical facts and point out the different places things happened and why things occurred the way they did. Hands down a great use of money and time.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

PSH

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

What a wonderful tour. Very educational. Our guide, Mario, did a great job. He gave us details we would not have picked up on our own. It made the whole tour so much meaningful.
It rained some and was cool and sometimes windy. Definitely bring layers for your comfort, no matter the time of year.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Neil F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Francois was a great guide and we felt that the tour was very important and informative.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! The drivers and guides were prompt, courteous, professional, and very knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend it. It is an all day tour...small group 6-7 people in mini vans. Good lunch included.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Brady S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you want to do a day trip to Caen and experience the Dday beaches from Paris, this is the tour to take. Our guide Mario was incredibly nice and knowledgeable. Keep in mind!- you could spend 2 weeks here learning about everything so it does feel a little rushed, but that and #39;s a day tour for you.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Daniel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Barry S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great tour. The guide Pierre was excellent. The group size was small enough as well. We were blessed with excellent weather and because the group was small enough, we were able to save enough time to actually get to Omaha beach as well as Utah beach.

Both the lunch and the cider tasting stops were VERY good indeed. Great lunch, and I have a personal preference for cider -- we managed to purchase a bottle which we now have at home.

This is a LONG tour -- which is made clear in the description. Because of that, I'd not recommend it for families with small children -- 14 hours is a long time and of course there is quite a bit of bus travel totally unavoidable.

The Utah museum and the other sites including the cemetery were also spot on choices.

I'd highly recommend this tour and our guide.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

John N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was informative and the guides knew what they were talking about. Only drawback was the rainy weather which did not allow a lot of time at the cemetary but you cannot predict the weather. The lunch at a seaside restaurant was fantastic. I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Lori P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour, our guide was from Normandy so she was very informative and enthusiastic. Went to Point du Hoc, Omaha Beach, and the American Cemetery. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Omaha Beach Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Christopher E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Guide was terrific, knowledgeable, and informative. Definitely worth the visit. Our guide was willing to help find our family member's grave. Thank you again Charles. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message