Bayeux makes an ideal launching place to take a trip through history to the final stages of the Second World War. It was on the Normandy coast near Bayeux that the Allies undertook the biggest amphibious landing in history. It was the first stage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1342 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katherine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fascinating! Our guide Laurent brought history alive for us. He was so interesting, knowledgeable and extremely passionate. I think he enjoyed the day as much as we did. The day was very well organized and easily manageable.

I have been on hundreds of tours over the years and tnis one was one of my all time favorites!p

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Katherine G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour was fascinating! Our guide Laurent brought history alive for us. He was so interesting, knowledgeable and extremely passionate. I think he enjoyed the day as much as we did. The day was very well organized and easily manageable.

I have been on hundreds of tours over the years and tnis one was one of my all time favorites!p

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Edwin J S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful experience. Very moving and educational. Our tour guide, David, was extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Sarah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

My husband and I went on this tour and absolutely loved it! Our guides, Emily and Charles, were incredibly knowledgeable and did a fantastic job of educating us and giving us the history of each site that we went to. Each location was incredibly powerful and I wish we had more time to absorb it all. Also, the cider tasting and lunch were delicious!

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Mary K C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is an excellent place to visit and this was an excellent tour. If you go to France, do yourself the favor of coming and seeing the Normandy Beaches and hearing the incredible story of our brave soldiers. It is truly amazing and mind-blowing.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Joseph B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Wonderful tour led by Mike our very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. The history tells its own story but Mike's detailed explanations pulled it all together for my wife and I. Really enjoyable trip and highly recommended for all.

Doing what: Full-Day Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Marla B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had an amazing guide take us through the tour. We were picked up in a van at the train station, drove to Pointe du Hoc, Omaha Beach and the American Cemetery and Memorial. Our guide took us through some back roads to help us get a feel for the landscape, she gave us lots of history and background in the van while we drove. She also took us out on Omaha beach and drew in the sand to explain exactly the chain of events that happened there. It was a great visual and very powerful. It was also moving to hear the story told from the perspective of a local who really understood the impact of what the war had done and how these events saved the lives of so many.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

David V G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is a great tour and comes highly recommended! We left Paris in a beautiful coach bus on a dark, rainy morning in November and arrived at Utah Beach before 11:00AM. We were greeted by a beautiful sunny day - we left the rain behind us in Paris! The museum at Utah beach was great - full of stories and artifacts from D Day. We then went on to the Cider tasting which was very interesting and relaxing - a nice change from the beaches. We then had lunch at a wonderful French restaurant in a marina a short distance away. We then went on to see more of the beaches and were able to enter the actual bunkers used by the Germans. Next was the American Cemetery which was simply beautiful and very inspiring! Our final stop was a short visit to Omaha Beach. All in all this was a great day - we were back in Paris just before 9:00PM - it was still raining!
Just one more thing to mention - our guide Felix was just great! Beside being very friendly and charming, he was very knowledgeable about World War II and was able to answer the many questions we had abut D Day and the war.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Kenneth C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Overall moving and excellent however could have spent more time at the beaches with a little more information from the guide.

Doing what: Mémorial de Caen Museum Admission and Guided Tour of D-Day Sites from Caen

Danielle L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great tour of the American D-Day sites. It's a fast, easy way to see everything. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and we are so glad we did this tour. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Full-Day Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Nancy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour guide, Emily picked us up and we drove in a van with 5 other people. Emily had a mic that used the speakers of the radio, so we could all hear her clearly. She commented on the countryside, the local customs, the war, the troops, the beaches, ...everything of interest. It was fascinating and very moving. It was well worth the price.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

smhand22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our tour was amazing. Marilynne was such a great tour guide. She was very informative and with it being such a long day with many stops, she kept our interest the entire time. A must do if travelling to France.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour! Our guide, Jon, was wonderful! He was full of stories and information. We had a small group and the sites were amazing. I would recommend this tour to my friends and family, especially if they could get Jon.

Doing what: Full-Day Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

Ray E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was my second trip to Normandy. The first one was one my travel agent lined up. This one was much better. The tour guides were extremely knowledgeable and one was an American and the other was a Croatian who's English was as good as mine. Also the itinerary provided just the right amount of time at each stop given we only had one day. Great job!

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

RAYMOND S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Lloyd was a fantastic guide. He was extremely knowlegable in all aspects of the Normandy invasion. His passion for his work made this a memorable experience for us.

Doing what: Full-Day Group Tour of American D-Day Beaches from Bayeux

don

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Matthew sp? made the trip. He filled our time with historical information and stories including about his grandfather, who was in the French resistance!. We could tell he has really done his homework, including a trip to Washington DC to find additional information and photos. Very passionate about WWII for a 35-year-old young man. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Nic.cantor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Francois was an excellent guide. He gave us a really good and factual accounting of the D Day and Normandy invasion events. He put it all into a very comprehensivei tour, and explained the differences between the Omaha terrain and the other beaches, and why it was so much harder for the US troops to land and to take this beachhead. Really a very good and comprehensive and factual account, and much appreciated.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

Adam K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Tour was fantastic! Very informative and thorough. The museum itself is very interesting and our guide Rafael was great! Highly recommend for anyone interested in that part of history.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Judith Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide, Kate, was knowledgeable and experienced. She even adapted the tour times to meet an unexpected schedule issue for the other family that was with us, and yet made sure that our own group was still accommodated.

Doing what: Normandy Beaches Half-Day Trip from Bayeux

George G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide was excellent. Extremely knowledgeable and very personable. A great day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries from Bayeux

Gregory T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

An amazing day with passionate and knowledgeable guides, Kate and Felix. We made it to the cemetery in time for the flag ceremony, which was very moving. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Kelli P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a wonderful experience and our guide, Charlie, has ruined us as far as tour guides go. He was so knowledgeable and personable that the day just flew by and was a complete joy. He not only had all the facts and statistics but also had anecdotal stories that just made everything all the more interesting, even if war/military history isn't your thing. Charlie, we should have gotten your number so that next time we're in Paris, you could show us around. You were so personable and knowledgeable, we appreciated it so much...and easy on the eyes to boot! We thoroughly enjoyed our day in Normandy and would recommend this day trip for anyone - the military and history buffs or even those just looking to see a bit of French countryside, the beaches were beautiful.

Doing what: Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Tour from Paris: Omaha Beach, Cider Tasting and Lunch

Melissa D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We did this tour as a day trip from Paris. It was a long and emotional day, but well worth it. I would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: D-Day Tour Including Guided Visit of the Mémorial de Caen Museum, Lunch and D-Day Landing Beaches

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message