Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall at Mutianyu

The Great Wall at Mutianyu was fully restored in the 1980s to handle some of the overflow from the increasingly popular Badaling section of the Great Wall of China. While a bit farther away from Beijing (about an hour and a half by car), Mutianyu ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anne Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day trip to the Great Wall of China. We were lucky to have a wonderful guide for the two of us and travelled by private car to this wonder of the world. We arrived before the tourist crowds which gave us the opportunity to take many photo's and walk many of the various stages of the wall unimpeded. We experienced the varied steps as part of the cobbled walkway, magnificent views and enjoyed an informative commentary and great interaction all day from our guide. Lunch was delicious in a small town- a perfect finish!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Carolyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and plenty of time to walk on the wall. Mutianyu is a great section of the wall to go to as it is not crowded. Lunch was great and also enjoyed the tea ceremony.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The early start was hard...however SO Worth it! A 2 hour bus ride, we got to The Great Wall before all the crowds and the heat kicked in. We definately had enough time to see everything.Sofia our guide was great! She also helped with advise on other sights to visit. Wear comfy shoes and sunscreen!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

SineRivali

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can and #39;t say enough good things about Beijing and all that we saw! The Great Wall was a bucket list item for me to celebrate my 50th birthday, and James was gracious enough to allow us to bring a special bottle of and #39;66 Dom Perignon champagne. He was an excellent guide - very pleasant and knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Joanne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative visit to the Ming Tombs. Mutianyu was a good location to visit the Great Wall. Fun ride in the chair lift and not too crowded on the wall on a Sunday. Nice local lunch. Forced to go shopping, but got away without having to spend much. A very good day out.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Louis F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great despite traffic to and from Mutianyu. But even better was the tour guide. Very flexible. Very funny. Very knowledgeable. And kept up with us the whole way we opted to walk up to the Wall rather than take the cable car. His name was Gau sp? although pronounced in American English as Goo and he really made the trip.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Julie R A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We highly recommend this tour. Seven people were on the tour. We were picked up at our hotels in a very comfortable van with an excellent driver. Mark was our guide, and he was very pleasant, upbeat, and capable. We drove to Mutianyu stopping at a jade factory on the way, which took about 2 1/2 hours interesting scenery. The only extra cost in the day was an optional one that was well worth it - 100 Yuan to take the cable car ski lift up to the Great Wall and then toboggan down or we could have taken the cable car down, but tobogganing was much more fun. On a different tour I took the next week, I heard that the Great Wall cable car was out of service one day, and I'm so glad it wasn't the day we were there. Hiking to the Great Wall in the heat would have left us with little time and energy to be on the Wall. As it was, our tour guide gave us about 90 minutes on our own to take the cable car, hike along the wall, and then meet at the bottom. Hiking along the wall - steep steps and all - was an unforgettable experience. After that, we walked a short distance to a nice restaurant where our food was all ready and was delicious. We had a room for the seven of us. We drove back to Beijing and stopped at a tea business before being dropped back off at our hotel. Be prepared for slow traffic everywhere. This was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Joerg K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour to the Great Wall. We did join this tour as a little bigger group after a regional company meeting. While any visit to the Great wall is already impressive and memorable the team did provide picnic for us on top of the wall and top of one of the watch towers. Certainly an unforgettable experience for all of us. Special thanks to our tour guide Candy for the well organised and informative day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Janet Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A magical day!! William, our tour guide was an excellent ambassador for Beijing and The Great Wall. His friendliness along with his vast knowledge made our day one to remember. We can definitely recommend the Mutianyu section of the wall as it was not over crowded. The cable car up and taboggan down was an excellent way to start and finish the adventure. We cannot speak highly enough of this experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Lily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour. Tour guide William Kuang was very friendly, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic about the history of the Great Wall and Beijing/China in general. Was lucky to have a small tour group, so able to interact with William extensively. It felt like a group of friends rather than a group tour. Trips to jade factory and tea tasting were good, though I spent too much unplanned money but made for good gifts. Thank you for making this a great experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Vibeke L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great day! The Great Wall is compulsory when in Beijing. The lunch was good. We loved our local guide Kevin who spoke perfect English. He even took us to a silk-market after the tour, which meant that he had to work 2 hours more than required. He booked a restaurant for us in the evening and called in to ensure that we were doing fine. Fantastic service!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great experience with our guide, Rockie, on a picture perfect spring day. Rockie was knowledgeable and friendly and took us on a fun adventure to a watch tower ruins where we enjoyed champagne and snacks. We rode the cable car up and recommend doing that, as the steps and walk along the Great Wall are challenging and it gives you more time on the wall. We did the tobaggan slide down and that was fun too. Only hiccup was the horrible traffic we encountered, but it was a Saturday, so lots a people were on the road.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Vicki M Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very fund day. We climbed a section of the Great Wall after catching the chair lift up. Some areas were very steep but well worth the effort. Our guide Victoria was very friendly and helpful

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Walking on the Great Wall is an amazing experience, one that my son and I will never forget. We enjoyed our guide, Kevin, but he and his driver's role were primarily to get us from Beijing to the Great Wall. He provided some interesting commentary on the way, but when we got to the wall, we were really on our own. Walking on the wall is quite challenging physically--not only does it do up and down with the topography, the so-called restored section we were on was extremely tricky to navigate--rough, uneven steps, etc. Take the chair lift up to the wall and the toboggan down--both fun and a little scary, but that added to the experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Ephrem B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour guide Wiliam. Very knowledgable and easy to understand. Locals were very friendly and welcoming. Opted for personal tour and it was a fantastic decision. Toboggan ride from the Great Wall was fun! Highly Recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

akiss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour was conducted by Cora Lin Li, an English-speaking guide. She came equipped with a tour van and driver. We were picked up promptly at 7AM from our hotel and whisked away to the Ming Tombs. We spend just enough time at the tombs, then went straight to Mutianyu for the Great Wall. She purchased the lift tickets for us at 100 RMB per person as clearly indicated on the tour details. You did have the option of not purchasing the lift ticket and walk up.

Cora was very knowledgeable, and her English was quite good - far better than my Mandarin. Wall tour was about 90 minutes give or take, and this piece was self directed.

After descending the Wall, we were taken to a ceramic / enamel factory adjacent to our restaurant. Lunch was fine, with both meat and vegetarian options.

Since we had a custom tour, we swapped the jade factory tour for a silk factory tour. Yes, there's upsell, but we went to a nice silk location with high quality product.

Keep in mind, you are really paying for transport, lunch and Q and A. We only had 3 people, so the real per person price was 119, not the stated 78.

Would recommend this tour, and it does take a good 8 hours as Beijing traffic is absolutely dreadful.

Lunch

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Melissa A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing day visiting the Great Wall! Winter is spectacular there (but very cold!) and not crowded in the least. Kevin was an outstanding tour guide and very knowledgable. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Marvin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were completely satisfied with our hiking tour at the Mutianyu Great Wall. Our tour guide - Rockie - was knowledgeable, friendly, and knew how to keep us informed, but also allow us to feel completely unstructured. The day just moved along. Our driver was extremely efficient, and knew how to best get us through Beijing traffic.
I'm glad we selected the hiking with picnic. There was not pressure, no shopping, and the picnic snack was a great break while on the Wall. We had lunch at a local restaurant after leaving the Wall.
This was my second trip to China, and first to Beijing. The Mutianyu Great Wall is incredible! I never dreamed I would be walking the Great Wall, there it was. The facilities at the base - the greeting center - were new, clean, and pleasant. They fit the surroundings. The wall offered incredible views.
I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Samantha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Amazing day with Cintia, the guide from Viator at Beijing.
Very organized, punctual, helpful. Lunch was great!
And the Great Wall, a dream! Awesome place to visit to deepen our knowledge about mankind and Chinas history.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

sarah_

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I had the best time at the Great Wall of China with Dennis as my guide. I was lucky as I was the only traveller. Dennis gave me plenty of information about the Wall and China and answered all of my questions. We arrived at 9am and were greeted by a winter wonderland. The Great Wall covered in snow was breathtaking. I am glad we left Beijing that early because we were almost the only people on the Wall for about three hours. I had plenty of time to take pictures and to discover everything. The lunch at a local restaurant was also very good. As the description says there are no shopping stops. Thank you for such an amazing once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

There was snow at the Great Wall and the road was closed to Mutianyu so we had to go to an alternate location. It was an excellent event still and great lunch as well! All positive!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Patti S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

On the way to The Wall, we stopped at a very nice jade factory - good education if you've never been.
The drive to The Wall was very scenic and the tour guide, Maria, was a fountain of knowledge about Chinese history, The Great Wall, the Chinese people and culture. Once at The Wall we all took the chair lift up to save time and our legs to spend more actual time on The Wall. The Mutianya section is a much less busy section of The Wall and the scenery is stunning. The guide gave a lot of information and stories about The Wall so we were able to spend a couple of hours just exploring on our own. I loved the toboggan ride down - super fun. Worth the extra cost.
After seeing The Wall, we went for a typical tourist lunch and we visited a Cloisonné factory. It was absolutely fascinating to see the process that is involved to make a piece of Cloisonné.
There was only 7 of us on the tour so we had lots of opportunity to talk with the other guests and our tour guide.
I would highly recommend this tour and ask for Maria.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Rosalyn W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The Great Wall walk was breathtaking with magnificent views and Tracey was a great tour guide. Certainly one tour not to miss!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Flor H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My tour to the Great Wall at Mutianyu and Ming tumbs gave me more than what I was expecting. My guide William was well documented, spoke very good English and planned the tour very well. I really enjoyed it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

leona.tooley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was the most exciting day of my trip to Beijing : The day started with our tour guide, Jackie, meeting us in our hotel foyer. From here, we made our way to the emerald factory. I wasn't too keen on making this stop when I initially booked the tour, but I must admit that it was quite enjoyable! It was fascinating to see the artists in action as they carve up the emerald into an array of statues and souvenirs. There was quite a bit of time spent on the tour bus, but thankfully, Jackie kept us entertained with stories about the Pandas, Chinese traditions, family life etc. Next stop was the great wall. WOW! What a remarkable part of the world! We caught the cable car up and looking back over my shoulder as we creeped up to the wall took my breathe away. It is truly spectacular !! We spent about an hour and a half on the wall itself. Although, I could have spent the whole day there! This was my only criticism of the trip - perhaps a little more time on the wall would have been nice. When you get to Mutianyu, you will be given the option top choose between two cable cars companies. Be sure to go with the company that has the option to toboggan down the hill. The toboggan is a whole lot of fun and highly recommended. Although, you also have the option of returning by cable car if you wish. The lunch provided for us was great and the visit to the Cloisonné factory was an interesting. On the way back to Beijing, Jackie stopped off at a tea house. I wasn't aware this was part of our tour, but it was a welcome addition. I would have had no interest to visit the tea house prior to the tour, but I am so glad we had the chance to stopover here. Here, we were ushered into a private room and learnt about the different types of Chinese tea and how to prepare them. The tea was great and our English speaking host was very knowledgable and entertaining. All up, this was a fantastic tour and I highly recommended it !!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message