Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall at Mutianyu

The Great Wall at Mutianyu was fully restored in the 1980s to handle some of the overflow from the increasingly popular Badaling section of the Great Wall of China. While a bit farther away from Beijing (about an hour and a half by car), Mutianyu ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 223 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steve C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a truly amazing day. on time pick up, knowledgeable and pleasant guide and the Great Wall was everything you might imagine it would be and more. A little bit too heavy on the factory shops and outlets x3 but other than that absolutely no complaints. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour and I would highly recommend to others. We were picked up on time from our hotel and we visited a number of places of interest that day. We started with a Jade factory visit, which was interesting to understand the carving and different types of jade available. The next part of the tour was the Great Wall and this was such an enjoyable experience. To start with, you need to take a chair lift to get to the top of the Wall, which was fun, and yes it was a chair lift. Then when you are at the top you can choose which direction on the Wall you would like to walk. This section of the Great Wall is manageable for any level of fitness, as the Wall runs along the top of Mountains and the views are spectacular... absolutely amazing. To go back down the hill from the Wall you could choose the option of the chair lift again, but we decided to do the exhilarating toboggan run all the way from the top of the Wall to the bottom of the mountain where the chair lift started from. So much fun and laughs to be had on that ride! After our time on the Wall we had an enjoyable local lunch at the nearby café with local produce, tasted amazing. In the afternoon, we were taken to a formal tea ceremony, which was well presented. We were provided with the history of Chinese Tea and learnt about the different flavours and health benefits to Chinese Tea which was all very interesting. This tour provided us with a great experience and we continue to talk about it with friends back home, as it was just something to remember!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day at the great wall. The guide was very helpful. Lunch was amazing.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

condolan23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Gets you to the wall early in the morning when no one is there. We were the only people on the wall when we arrived. Our tour guide was very friendly, nice and his English was good. There was also a tea demonstration as part of the tour which I would highly recommend. This is a great tour if you only have a short time in Bejing and you want to see the Great Wall when there are few tourists. it was January, so it wasn't exactly peak tourist season. The driver also dropped me off at the Olympic Park which was also very kind of them.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Monica United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This wonder of the world really delivered !!! Our guide took us early to avoid the crowds and we literally had the GREAT WALL to ourselves. A must see.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

jligon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This group tour was on a medium sized bus. Going to the Great Wall is an absolute mist do. It was worth the ride over and back. We stopped at a jade place as well. Wonderful experience. The included lunch was very good. The 65 per person cost was a very good value for sure.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

stephanie b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide was awesome! She knew a lot about the history of Beijing as well as the Great Wall itself. She even went out of her way to take us to an authentic tea house after the tour was over. I highly recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Jessica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

AMAZING tour. Highlight of my Beijing experience by far. I was a solo female traveler and worried about finding a safe way to get to the Great Wall -- Urban Adventures is by far the way to go. You are paired with a small group of other travelers, and feel at ease right from the start. Our local guide, Dennis, was knowledgeable, personable, witty and kind. He made every effort to give us the experience we were looking for -- presenting interesting facts about the wall, taking note of the kinds of foods we mentioned liking to order them during the Chinese lunch, and giving us bartering tips and patiently encouraging us to shop as long as we wanted at the bottom of the wall. He even went above and beyond to walk me back to the part of town I was staying in when taxis weren't readily available during rush hour at the end of the tour. If you have any doubts about traveling solo, do this tour!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Suzette Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A must do tour while in Beijing!! Michael our guide was so nice and provided us with some great side activities plus the Great Wall. That feeling you get to be in one of the wonders of the world is unique. Loved the Great Wall!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Lori M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We went to the Great Wall on the first day and saw the sights of downtown Beijing the 2nd day. What an awesome way to experience Beijing! Our guide was fantastic and the personalized sight seeing tours were phenomenal!

Doing what: Private Mutianyu Great Wall Day Trip from Beijing

Jan Dimacali Philippines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This part of the great wall was not so crowded. Nice ride. Very good guide. Definitely take the Toboggan ride on the way down the mountain. So much fun!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the highlight of our trip to Beijing. We were fortunate enough to have great weather for our trip to the Great Wall, but our tour guide Vivian was simply AWESOME !!! The information she provided was superb, and she was just a joy to be around. Always making the whole group laugh and taking photos of us all. She knew all the best places to get that perfect shot, and we arrived earlier than most people, so it looks as though you have the entire wall to yourselves in the photos....The toboggan ride down was so much fun, and just makes you feel like a big kid....
Vivian also took us to a fantastic local restaurant which was the best lunch we had in Beijing. Its hard to pick at favourite thing about this tour as it was all spectacular - Highly recommended, and if you are lucky enough to have Viv as your guide, you will have the best day out in Beijing.... Thanks Viv x

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Todd F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I enjoyed this private, day-long tour tremendously. Cherry was very knowledgeable about the history and culture of the sites we visited and could answer all my numerous questions. It helped that her English was very good because I don't know Chinese. The Mutianyu section of the Great Wall was amazing and relatively uncrowded, as promised. I highly recommend the toboggan ride on the way down it's a fun joy ride that's not too fast or daunting. I also enjoyed the Changling Ming Tomb tour I learned a lot from Cherry about Chinese history.

The day was also punctuated with stops at craft factories and stores, which I guess is to be expected on organized tours. The cloissone factory was the most interesting because I could watch the crafts people at work in making the copper, Ming-style vases. I could have skipped the jade store, where I had lunch in the adjoining restaurant. The lunch was just okay, and was clearly geared toward Western tastes. The Mr. Tea store had some good teas and I learned something about Chinese teas.

Overall, I highly recommend this private tour it made seeing some of the more far-flung sites around Beijing easier to do. I also liked the private aspect of the tour so I could take my time with taking photos and asking questions, which I found more enjoyable than being part of a massive group.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Hien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome Tour!! We had a really nice and informative tour Guide, William! He called us at our hotel to confirm our pick-up time to start the day! Making our way towards The Great Wall he shared information, history and hot spots! We had our first stop over at the Jade Factory which was pretty awesome to see how they carved and made jade pieces! We had our Lunch at a nice restaurant before making our trek to the wall! We chose to go up by chairlift and then toboggan ride down great fun! There are a lot of steps from small to big to steep etc. so be prepared! we were given a good 2.5 hours on the wall and found it was plenty of time, walking the wall, resting, getting our breaths back, taking lots of selfies and then lining up at the end for the toboggan ride down! The tour ended with a tea ceremony and hotel drop off ! Overall it was a great tour, great tour guide and beautiful views!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Thomas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. The tour starts early at the pickup point, where we took a minibus to the great wall. During the journey to the wall Vivian our tour guide was sharing stories/information about the history of the wall, Beijing etc which was interesting and certainly helped to pass the time. We arrived at the wall pretty early, before many crowds had arrived. Unfortunately or fortunately depending on how you look at it the weather was relatively poor rain/fog . However this didn't ruin the experience the fog made for some interesting photos and did clear up nicely , but on the plus side it probably did help keep large crowds away so the wall was relatively empty. Vivian walked with us to the wall and helped take pictures of members of the group and show us her favourite view points.

After the wall itself, we were taken to a restaurant away from the main tourist area. Vivian ordered us some Chinese dishes and made sure we had plenty of food to feed everyone and I think the group left very full. After that we were returned to the pickup point, Vivian also offered advice on others places in Beijing to visit.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Valerie Yolanda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Vivian was fantastic! She really made our group of 8 have a great, authentic Great Wall trip and lunch was at a local restaurant off the beaten path. We were treated like royalty, with local beer and shots of rice wine! We all shared plates after an early and exhausting day on the Wall. GREAT MEMORIES!!! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

stacey h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Must do best tour of the trip, enjoyed every moment, Vivian was awesome, the Great Wall lives up to the hype

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

kris1828767

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fabulous experience. Maria our tour guide was wonderful, informative and really took good care of us. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. Great way to see the Great Wall of China.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Jun C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommend this tour and the passionate tour guide Vivian. Our tour was on Sunday. They picked us up at 7:00am from hotel lobby and we arrived Great Wall before 9:00am. The 1.5 hour road time was quite enjoyable. The city in the early Sunday morning was tranquil. Vivian gave us a casual talk about Great Wall, Beijing the people and the city etc. By arriving early to a less crowded Great Wall section MUTIANYU, we could avoid the crowd and enjoy the fantasitc view without hassle. The time we spent at Great Wall was about 3.5 hours. We had family style lunch in a villiage and then headed back to Hotel. No time was wasted. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Anne Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day trip to the Great Wall of China. We were lucky to have a wonderful guide for the two of us and travelled by private car to this wonder of the world. We arrived before the tourist crowds which gave us the opportunity to take many photo's and walk many of the various stages of the wall unimpeded. We experienced the varied steps as part of the cobbled walkway, magnificent views and enjoyed an informative commentary and great interaction all day from our guide. Lunch was delicious in a small town- a perfect finish!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Carolyn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and plenty of time to walk on the wall. Mutianyu is a great section of the wall to go to as it is not crowded. Lunch was great and also enjoyed the tea ceremony.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The early start was hard...however SO Worth it! A 2 hour bus ride, we got to The Great Wall before all the crowds and the heat kicked in. We definately had enough time to see everything.Sofia our guide was great! She also helped with advise on other sights to visit. Wear comfy shoes and sunscreen!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

SineRivali

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can and #39;t say enough good things about Beijing and all that we saw! The Great Wall was a bucket list item for me to celebrate my 50th birthday, and James was gracious enough to allow us to bring a special bottle of and #39;66 Dom Perignon champagne. He was an excellent guide - very pleasant and knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Joanne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative visit to the Ming Tombs. Mutianyu was a good location to visit the Great Wall. Fun ride in the chair lift and not too crowded on the wall on a Sunday. Nice local lunch. Forced to go shopping, but got away without having to spend much. A very good day out.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Louis F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was great despite traffic to and from Mutianyu. But even better was the tour guide. Very flexible. Very funny. Very knowledgeable. And kept up with us the whole way we opted to walk up to the Wall rather than take the cable car. His name was Gau sp? although pronounced in American English as Goo and he really made the trip.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message