Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall from Jinshanling to Simatai

To experience both wild and restored portions of the Great Wall of China without straying far from Beijing, many visitors choose a guided hike between Jinshanling and Simatai, a trek seemingly made for hikers and adventurers. From Jinshanling, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 40 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Donna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip, great tour guide. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our group of 8 agreed: this tour is the ideal balance between price and private access to the wall. The guide Cheney was a professional, offering great history when asked and letting people enjoy the hike otherwise. Much of our 3 hours on the wall felt private with few other hikers. Highly recommended

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

janetwoollard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely fantastic trip! Our guide was very knowledgeable and ensured the pace of the trek suited all of us - 7 people in total, including our 11 year old son.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Barbara m G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was FANTASTIC! Robert was a well versed and caring guide. We had a very small group of 4 people, which actually worked out to be the perfect size. Heat was extreme and climbing challenging at times, but well worth it! Lunch was delicious! Consider more explicit directions for meeting location in the future. Thank you!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Shawn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Definitely the highlight of our 15 day vacation. The trek up to the start is not for the weak, but well worth the effort, even for 50+ out of shape me. The hike along the Great Wall was an unbelievable experience with very little crowding and spectacular views. It and #39;s a must for any visitor to China.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Michelle W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The Two-Day Great Wall Hike was fabulous and one of the best things I have ever done! Yaxin, my guide, was outstanding, always so informative about the area and structure.The hardest part of Day 1 was hiking through the woods to get to the Wall, partly because of the heat and the extra weight of the water in my backpack, but Yaxin allowed me to go at my pace and took breaks when he thought it was needed. He knew just where to stop for the best photos.The remote unrestored sections of the Wall were rough and wild, and the first couple hours we were solo hikers. The awesome beauty of the Wall and it's surroundings are indescribable and should be experienced. During the hike Yaxin gave me several options for an extra challenge and at the end of the hike the options of taking the cable car, sliding down the chute or walking. The chute was great fun and a good way to end the journey. We took a short bus ride into the village, had a delicious lunch, then off to the little village where our accommodations were waiting. The inn keepers were very pleasant and the food delightful. Day 2 started at sunrise, yet another option Yaxin suggested the evening before. It was the right choice, absolutely beautiful! The cooler temperatures were welcomed and we were the only hikers among a handful of photographers. Yaxin took lots of photographs and even air dropped them to my phone at days end.I can't say enough about this trip and highly recommend it and with Yaxin as your guide!

Doing what: Two-day Small Group Magic Great Wall Hiking Jiankou to Simatai West

Joan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was all we hoped for and MORE! Robert was an excellent tour guide. Some of the climbs on the hike would not be possible for folks with knee or endurance challenges, but for all others, i would HIGHLY recommend this tour!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Patrick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I cannot state how amazing this hike was. It's a tough hike, so those not willing to walk for hours up and downhill should not do it. But for those that do, this is by far the best thing you can do on the wall. First, the wall has a lot less tourists than the areas closer to Beijing, so the 2 hour drive is well worth it. In fact, there were parts of the wall where it was only our group for hundreds of meters. If you want a good intense hike, and want to see the wall, do this hike! Wear comfy shoes and hiking clothes for sure.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Gabriela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour! The guide, Robert, was excellent. The views were beautiful. The lunch was also excellent. I will recommend this tour to anyone going to visit the Great Wall!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Pascal H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide did a great job and the group had the right size (8 people excl. the guide). The hike is rather easy, but a really nice experience with a lot of opportunities to take scenic pictures of the great wall.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Pierre L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Parcours plaisant sur la grande muraille en petit groupe nous étions 7. Quelques montées et descentes un peu raides mais rien de trop difficile.
Déjeuner à l'arrivée dans un petit restau simple mais très bon
Guide très agréable parlant bien anglais et très disponible.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Derek G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing, my second trip to the great wall. This section was much better. Not crowded and stunning, great to see some non restored sections too.

Doing what: Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Lexi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We wanted to escape the large crowds of tourists and have a more personal experience with the Great Wall and we're so happy we chose this tour!! Our small group of 8 had the most spectacular time. Our guide Tao couldn't have been better. He was knowledgeable and patient with us, helping us along some of the very difficult and slippery portions of the wall. He also took some of our most memorable photos from the day. I HIGHLY recommend this tour when you take a trip to Beijing! :-

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

rob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I've done the popular crowded great wall visit and this one, and there's no contest. This was full of history and context, not at all crowded, we experience much greater variety in the wall itself, and overall it felt like a much more intimate experience with the wall. There was a lot of walking, but our guide did a great job taking breaks and making it doable for this 54 year old. One important note, we were told to meet at the McDonalds at Dongzhimen Station. There are 2 McDonalds! We waited at the one in the station - the wrong one! Be sure to go to the one across the street from the station. It may be that they included the correct address, but navigating in Beijing is not easy. Even our Chinese friends thought this would be hard for them to figure out.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I had done this hike four years ago with another tour company that offered a private tour. I elected to take this small group tour this time because the other company did not have availability. I was not disappointed in the differences between the private tour and the small group tour the primary difference is that a private tour will pick you up at your hotel and the small group tour requires you travel to a central meeting place. Beyond that, the services were comparable.

This tour is about 4 hours of hiking over parts of the wall that are unrestored and offers a much better experience than the more touristy areas. I was extremely satisfied with the tour and in particular I found that our guide Cheney added a tremendous amount of value to the tour. He has done this hike over 500 times over 7 years and he takes a great deal of pride in introducing this national treasure of China to visitors. He has an in depth knowledge of the history of the wall. He also has a very deep concern that the people in his group get everything they want out of the hike. I highly recommend Cheney as a guide if you can get him.

The ride from Beijing to the wall is about 2.5 hours but it is worth it as this section of the wall is much less crowded. This is a 'hike' and there are some steep sections, but that is what you are paying for. The time on the wall was about 2.5 hours with a half hour to hike up to the wall and another half hour to hike down to the entrance.

This tour is a great value for the money, a great time walking back in time, and a very educational experience via a knowledgable and concerned guide. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Valerie S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a very excellent tour. Our guide Cheney was very professional, friendly and knowledgeable. A large part of this section was only minimally restored, offering some really remarkable sights.
Some of the steps were challenging and the incline was steep but the effort was worth it.
We had a tea break at one of the watch towers: the cup of hot tea on a chilly spring morning was the perfect match for the magnificent views at the great wall!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Max T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We really enjoyed this hiking trip. Our hiking guide, Tao, was friendly and helpful. He was knowledgeable and eager to share his knowledge about the history of the wall and china in general. He was considerate and our safety during the hike was important to him. The hiking itself was really nice, the part of the wall we walked was not crowded at all, and had a nice view of the surroundings and other parts of the wall. The hike was finished the right way, with a delicious lunch and a large beer. We really recommend this tour!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Sonia A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

I was picked up exactly on time for my small group tour, only to find that I was the ONLY person on my tour. Yay! The driver and my amazing guide Yaxin drove us to the East entrance of the wall about 2 hours. The entrance was open so we walked up the stairs about 30 minutes. Please note that it is very steep and takes quite a bit of effort if you're not accustomed to the exercise. Our walk along the wall was around 3 hours. It was a cooler day so there were very few people on the wall, which made it a great photo opportunity. Yaxin gave a light overview of the history of the wall and suggested some photo poses that would work well. We finished up with a very large lunch including beer! and a 2 hour drive back to my hotel. As I was the only person on the tour, they were happy to drop me off directly my hotel was only another 5 minute drive. The tour finished earlier than expected because it was just 1 person. They said it takes longer with more people because everyone walks at different speeds or wants to stop and take photos at different points. Yaxin and the driver also helped me coordinate a taxi to the airport the next day as it was difficult to find people in Beijing that spoke English. They were really great in going out of their way to help me out. Yaxin even translated a few things for me into Chinese text so that I could communicate better with others.

Overall, I would recommend this trip if you are interested in seeing the wall only and if you're keen to go on a bit of a difficult hike. That being said, the walk down to the restaurant for lunch was quite easy.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Jeni H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Absolutely amazing tour. The guide was very good, there were no stops at shops to buy anything, and the food and snacks were very good. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Stephen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great hike. I have been to different parts of the wall 3 times now. I learned more from Cheney our tour guide on this trip than the other two combined. I liked how this section of the wall is way less touristy than other parts and just felt more authentic. It's a pretty good hike with some nice steep and uphill sections. Nice little work out. Cheney was accommodating....and a gentleman!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Paul s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great tour. It is definitely a physical hike, but the views were awesome. We only saw 50 people the whole day on the wall.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I really enjoyed my 1-day small group hike along the Great Wall from Simatai West to Jinshanling. It was a beautiful, sunny day and the sights were amazing. I made great friends with my two hiking partners and my tour guide, Tao, was wonderful. He gave a nice presentation on the history of the Wall and surrounding area and was always willing to stop and take pictures. I highly recommend this day trip from Beijing!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Vivek S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic experience! Highly recommend this tour. Tao, our guide, was great Our group of 8 left earlier than originally planned because of the mid-autumn holiday. Yum, Moon Cakes!

Anyway, our hike up to the wall was great -- seemed like we only saw another couple walking up and we barely saw any other crowds until about half-way through our hike, which was about 5k total.

To reiterate -- the tour was amazing the weather was perfect in late Sept..

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Catherine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great hike along the Great Wall! Wonderful views of the countryside and the wall as it snakes along the ridge lines without the crowds. Our guide, Cheney, was knowledgeable, helpful, and affable. The hike involved some steep assents to to the wall and along the wall. Cheney kept us supplied with snacks and water. A terrific experience!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Stephanie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I would 100 recommend this trip to anyone who wants to see the wonderful Great Wall. From the minute we met up with Peter our tour guide we were 30 minutes early and he was already there and waiting! to the minute we got dropped back it was fantastic. He was the best tour guide, so knowledgeable with the most amazing English. He gave us maps and explained the whole wall before we got there. He was incredibly patient with everyone, full of facts, took incredible photos of us which he gave to us on a USB before the trip was over which was a great touch and gave us the right amount of information/quiet to make the day an unforgettable experience. I have been on a lot of tours and trips throughout Asia and would say without a doubt Peter was the best guide Ive ever had.

The only thing I would flag is if you arent fit then it maybe too much for you. I booked this for myself and my Mum who is 65. She is incredibly active yet found the initial climb to the wall 1200 steps in 34 degree heat a big test even though she has high fitness levels. I imagine for some it would probably be a bit much.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message