Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall from Jinshanling to Simatai

To experience both wild and restored portions of the Great Wall of China without straying far from Beijing, many visitors choose a guided hike between Jinshanling and Simatai, a trek seemingly made for hikers and adventurers. From Jinshanling, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jay R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This hike is amazing. Robert was a wonderful guide, I was lucky enough to have him as a guide on a previous hike on the Great Wall as well. I would highly recommend this to anybody who is reasonably fit and ready for a fairly challenging walk.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

vhperry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The package was exactly as advertised. The tour guide was very good in general. He knew his history and his English was good. He was very personable and did an excellent job in asking the needs of the small group. He went out of his way to make the tour a great success! I highly recommend the tour.
Vic

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Dianne A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The tour was amazing
guide was fantastic
a great section of the wall
lunch fabulous
recommend this tour as a great way to experience the wall

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Zachary S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was the highlight of our trip to China.

Our guide, Yaxin, was incredibly knowledgable, knew where to take the best photos, and even took some great photos of the individual groups apart of the tour.

We did 16 towers of the wall at Jinshanling and enjoyed every second of it.

There's an ample amount of breaks where our guide would usually tell us a bit of history or facts about the wall.

There were a total of 6 people that were apart of the tour, 3 groups of 2. It was the perfect amount and everyone got along great. Apart from our own group the portion of the wall we did wasn't super crowed. It would come in waves as tour groups going the opposite way would pass by every now and then.

Bring water. Even though the guide has water for you, I'd highly recommend bringing some for yourself and everyone in your group. It wasn't inherently hot while we were there but the sun was out and we glad we were able to stay hydrated.

Word of warning, do know that the wall sits on top of the mountain ridge. It's a 40 min walk up stairs which is then followed by walking on the wall for a good 3-4 hours. It can be super steep and sometimes there aren't stairs when on the wall. If you don't hike often, especially in a place with lots of ups and downs, then this may be a little difficult for you. One group on the tour found this out the hard way.

After 3-4 hours of hiking along the wall we made our way down to a restaurant. Greeted with a nice cold beer and more than enough food for the whole group. It was a perfect way to end an amazing day.

Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip. The guide was friendly and knowledgeable. His English skills were good.
The area where we hiked,Jinshanling, was not crowded and had many opportunities for great photos.
A few sections of the wall are quite steep, and could get slick when icy or snow covered.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Paul E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a fantastic tour, you need to be reasonably fit, have comfortable shoes for walking, brilliant views, enjoy the ladies who will walk along with you and try after a few kilometres to sell you a book or chop sticks, they are great fun and add to the whole experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Jinshanling Great Wall Hiking Bus Tour

George W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The tour and guide were excellent. We had 6 people in our group and encountered very few other tourists. The beginning hike to the wall on top of the mountain can be a bit difficult if you are not in decent shape. We stopped a few times but it took 45 min to reach the wall. The wall is also quite steep in some places. So be careful if it is raining. Be aware that there are two McDonald's at the Dongzhimen subway station. Do not go to the one at the bus station on the NE corner. The correct one is on the ground floor of an office building on the SE corner of the intersection. There will likely be a lot of tour buses parked out front as this appears to be a popular departure point for the wall.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent, the trip was well run and the guide really good with stunning views

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Joel W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

You won't find a better tour with a better guide Thank you Peter anywhere else, it's worth every penny. One of the top experiences of my life!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Miss S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I am very happy with the tour I did in fact it was the highlight of my holiday I want to thank Robert so much as I fell twice on the Great Wall as I'm just a clumsy person he looked after me so well he held my bag and everything for me when I had to walk on trickier parts of the wall and then held my hand going down the steep parts and he always made sure I was okay he was so kind and cleaned my leg multiple times he took loads of photos of me and the rest of the people in the tour which me got on a usb stick which was great as he had a canon camera so I loved the photos also loads of refreshments which is needed I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Donna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great trip, great tour guide. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our group of 8 agreed: this tour is the ideal balance between price and private access to the wall. The guide Cheney was a professional, offering great history when asked and letting people enjoy the hike otherwise. Much of our 3 hours on the wall felt private with few other hikers. Highly recommended

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

janetwoollard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Absolutely fantastic trip! Our guide was very knowledgeable and ensured the pace of the trek suited all of us - 7 people in total, including our 11 year old son.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Barbara m G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was FANTASTIC! Robert was a well versed and caring guide. We had a very small group of 4 people, which actually worked out to be the perfect size. Heat was extreme and climbing challenging at times, but well worth it! Lunch was delicious! Consider more explicit directions for meeting location in the future. Thank you!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Shawn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Definitely the highlight of our 15 day vacation. The trek up to the start is not for the weak, but well worth the effort, even for 50+ out of shape me. The hike along the Great Wall was an unbelievable experience with very little crowding and spectacular views. It and #39;s a must for any visitor to China.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Joan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was all we hoped for and MORE! Robert was an excellent tour guide. Some of the climbs on the hike would not be possible for folks with knee or endurance challenges, but for all others, i would HIGHLY recommend this tour!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Patrick M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I cannot state how amazing this hike was. It's a tough hike, so those not willing to walk for hours up and downhill should not do it. But for those that do, this is by far the best thing you can do on the wall. First, the wall has a lot less tourists than the areas closer to Beijing, so the 2 hour drive is well worth it. In fact, there were parts of the wall where it was only our group for hundreds of meters. If you want a good intense hike, and want to see the wall, do this hike! Wear comfy shoes and hiking clothes for sure.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Gabriela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour! The guide, Robert, was excellent. The views were beautiful. The lunch was also excellent. I will recommend this tour to anyone going to visit the Great Wall!

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Pascal H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide did a great job and the group had the right size (8 people excl. the guide). The hike is rather easy, but a really nice experience with a lot of opportunities to take scenic pictures of the great wall.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Pierre L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Parcours plaisant sur la grande muraille en petit groupe nous étions 7. Quelques montées et descentes un peu raides mais rien de trop difficile.
Déjeuner à l'arrivée dans un petit restau simple mais très bon
Guide très agréable parlant bien anglais et très disponible.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Derek G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing, my second trip to the great wall. This section was much better. Not crowded and stunning, great to see some non restored sections too.

Doing what: Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Lexi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We wanted to escape the large crowds of tourists and have a more personal experience with the Great Wall and we're so happy we chose this tour!! Our small group of 8 had the most spectacular time. Our guide Tao couldn't have been better. He was knowledgeable and patient with us, helping us along some of the very difficult and slippery portions of the wall. He also took some of our most memorable photos from the day. I HIGHLY recommend this tour when you take a trip to Beijing! :-

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

rob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I've done the popular crowded great wall visit and this one, and there's no contest. This was full of history and context, not at all crowded, we experience much greater variety in the wall itself, and overall it felt like a much more intimate experience with the wall. There was a lot of walking, but our guide did a great job taking breaks and making it doable for this 54 year old. One important note, we were told to meet at the McDonalds at Dongzhimen Station. There are 2 McDonalds! We waited at the one in the station - the wrong one! Be sure to go to the one across the street from the station. It may be that they included the correct address, but navigating in Beijing is not easy. Even our Chinese friends thought this would be hard for them to figure out.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I had done this hike four years ago with another tour company that offered a private tour. I elected to take this small group tour this time because the other company did not have availability. I was not disappointed in the differences between the private tour and the small group tour the primary difference is that a private tour will pick you up at your hotel and the small group tour requires you travel to a central meeting place. Beyond that, the services were comparable.

This tour is about 4 hours of hiking over parts of the wall that are unrestored and offers a much better experience than the more touristy areas. I was extremely satisfied with the tour and in particular I found that our guide Cheney added a tremendous amount of value to the tour. He has done this hike over 500 times over 7 years and he takes a great deal of pride in introducing this national treasure of China to visitors. He has an in depth knowledge of the history of the wall. He also has a very deep concern that the people in his group get everything they want out of the hike. I highly recommend Cheney as a guide if you can get him.

The ride from Beijing to the wall is about 2.5 hours but it is worth it as this section of the wall is much less crowded. This is a 'hike' and there are some steep sections, but that is what you are paying for. The time on the wall was about 2.5 hours with a half hour to hike up to the wall and another half hour to hike down to the entrance.

This tour is a great value for the money, a great time walking back in time, and a very educational experience via a knowledgable and concerned guide. I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message