Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall of China

No trip to Beijing would be complete without a Great Wall experience. Winding along the mountain ridges north of the capital city, the Great Wall of China stands as one of the world’s most iconic wonders, largest historical sites and greatest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 300 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jligon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This group tour was on a medium sized bus. Going to the Great Wall is an absolute mist do. It was worth the ride over and back. We stopped at a jade place as well. Wonderful experience. The included lunch was very good. The 65 per person cost was a very good value for sure.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

stephanie b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide was awesome! She knew a lot about the history of Beijing as well as the Great Wall itself. She even went out of her way to take us to an authentic tea house after the tour was over. I highly recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Nicolas v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were picked up from out hotel that was not so central in Beijing, for which we are very gratefull. The guide decided to change the order of the visits to stay out off the traffic jams. This definately paid off, giving us more time to climb the Great Wall. On the way, we received extra information about habits and rules in China to help us during our stay. The guide proved also to be an experienced photographer so that everybody could be IN the picture. Thank you Jacky !

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Jessica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

AMAZING tour. Highlight of my Beijing experience by far. I was a solo female traveler and worried about finding a safe way to get to the Great Wall -- Urban Adventures is by far the way to go. You are paired with a small group of other travelers, and feel at ease right from the start. Our local guide, Dennis, was knowledgeable, personable, witty and kind. He made every effort to give us the experience we were looking for -- presenting interesting facts about the wall, taking note of the kinds of foods we mentioned liking to order them during the Chinese lunch, and giving us bartering tips and patiently encouraging us to shop as long as we wanted at the bottom of the wall. He even went above and beyond to walk me back to the part of town I was staying in when taxis weren't readily available during rush hour at the end of the tour. If you have any doubts about traveling solo, do this tour!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Suzette Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A must do tour while in Beijing!! Michael our guide was so nice and provided us with some great side activities plus the Great Wall. That feeling you get to be in one of the wonders of the world is unique. Loved the Great Wall!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the highlight of our trip to Beijing. We were fortunate enough to have great weather for our trip to the Great Wall, but our tour guide Vivian was simply AWESOME !!! The information she provided was superb, and she was just a joy to be around. Always making the whole group laugh and taking photos of us all. She knew all the best places to get that perfect shot, and we arrived earlier than most people, so it looks as though you have the entire wall to yourselves in the photos....The toboggan ride down was so much fun, and just makes you feel like a big kid....
Vivian also took us to a fantastic local restaurant which was the best lunch we had in Beijing. Its hard to pick at favourite thing about this tour as it was all spectacular - Highly recommended, and if you are lucky enough to have Viv as your guide, you will have the best day out in Beijing.... Thanks Viv x

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Hien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome Tour!! We had a really nice and informative tour Guide, William! He called us at our hotel to confirm our pick-up time to start the day! Making our way towards The Great Wall he shared information, history and hot spots! We had our first stop over at the Jade Factory which was pretty awesome to see how they carved and made jade pieces! We had our Lunch at a nice restaurant before making our trek to the wall! We chose to go up by chairlift and then toboggan ride down great fun! There are a lot of steps from small to big to steep etc. so be prepared! we were given a good 2.5 hours on the wall and found it was plenty of time, walking the wall, resting, getting our breaths back, taking lots of selfies and then lining up at the end for the toboggan ride down! The tour ended with a tea ceremony and hotel drop off ! Overall it was a great tour, great tour guide and beautiful views!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Thomas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. The tour starts early at the pickup point, where we took a minibus to the great wall. During the journey to the wall Vivian our tour guide was sharing stories/information about the history of the wall, Beijing etc which was interesting and certainly helped to pass the time. We arrived at the wall pretty early, before many crowds had arrived. Unfortunately or fortunately depending on how you look at it the weather was relatively poor rain/fog . However this didn't ruin the experience the fog made for some interesting photos and did clear up nicely , but on the plus side it probably did help keep large crowds away so the wall was relatively empty. Vivian walked with us to the wall and helped take pictures of members of the group and show us her favourite view points.

After the wall itself, we were taken to a restaurant away from the main tourist area. Vivian ordered us some Chinese dishes and made sure we had plenty of food to feed everyone and I think the group left very full. After that we were returned to the pickup point, Vivian also offered advice on others places in Beijing to visit.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Valerie Yolanda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Vivian was fantastic! She really made our group of 8 have a great, authentic Great Wall trip and lunch was at a local restaurant off the beaten path. We were treated like royalty, with local beer and shots of rice wine! We all shared plates after an early and exhausting day on the Wall. GREAT MEMORIES!!! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

stacey h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Must do best tour of the trip, enjoyed every moment, Vivian was awesome, the Great Wall lives up to the hype

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour of the Great Wall ! On the particular day Sunday I was the only person on the tour. The guide was extremely friendly and very informative, answering all questions. She really had a passion for China and its history, this is what a tourist always looks for in a local guide!

I would highly recommend. This was a once in a lifetime experience and there is no better way to see and experience the Great Wall than with a great tour guide!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

kris1828767

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fabulous experience. Maria our tour guide was wonderful, informative and really took good care of us. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. Great way to see the Great Wall of China.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Jun C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommend this tour and the passionate tour guide Vivian. Our tour was on Sunday. They picked us up at 7:00am from hotel lobby and we arrived Great Wall before 9:00am. The 1.5 hour road time was quite enjoyable. The city in the early Sunday morning was tranquil. Vivian gave us a casual talk about Great Wall, Beijing the people and the city etc. By arriving early to a less crowded Great Wall section MUTIANYU, we could avoid the crowd and enjoy the fantasitc view without hassle. The time we spent at Great Wall was about 3.5 hours. We had family style lunch in a villiage and then headed back to Hotel. No time was wasted. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guide was excellent and modified the trip so we could see more of the sites we wanted to see. Excellent recommendation by him. We had two hours on the Great Wall instead of two hours in traffic.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Joachim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was announced as taking place when at least two passengers registered. It turned out that we were the only ones who had booked that tour that day. I was concerned that this could reduce the quality of the service, but I was mistaken. We had our very private tour with our own tour guide Jacky Lee and driver in an air-conditioned limousine. The guide provided a lot of details while visiting Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. On our wish he focused on the Treasure Gallery there. The Peking-duck lunch was good and provided you with some insights in the peculiarities of the Chinese cuisine. The day was a public holiday with loads of tourists at the Great Wall. Since the motorway was almost blocked, the tour guide redirected the tour to a lesser known part of the Wall that had also much fewer tourists and was more scenic. The Wall was much more steeper there, too. It was also a hot day at the beginning of August, and temperatures reached 38 degrees centigrade. It took us 1 1/2 hours to reach the top of the mountain and to return. However, we were rewarded with a most impressive view of the area with the winding wall on top of the ridge. We also visited a silk and a jade manufacture and a tea ceremony shop. I acquired a silk gown and a jade ball of life'', which symbolizes three spheres of prosperous successive generations. In the tea shop I came across Pu-erh tea for the first time. This tea comes from Yunnan and is from the same tea leaves as green tea. The difference is that Pu-erh undergoes a fermentation and oxidation process over many years I bought a ten year old block. The ferments include peptide-blockers which prohibit the storage of fat in the fat cells of the human body, for which the tea is also called slimming tea''. This effect is confirmed by chemists.

In all this was a very rewarding tour which offers a cross-section of insights in Chinese historical and cultural achievements.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It wasn't necessarily just the sites we visited that made this as enjoyable... it was our tour guide, Nikki! We can't say enough positive things about her. She was SUPER informative and very educated on the history of the Ming Tombs and Juyongguan segment of the Great Wall. She definitely made this tour exceed all of our expectations. This is a must do .... and ask for Nikki! Oh, and the sites themselves? Definitely worth it! Check out the photos and see for yourself.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Wall of China at Juyongguan and Ming Tombs from Beijing

Anne Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day trip to the Great Wall of China. We were lucky to have a wonderful guide for the two of us and travelled by private car to this wonder of the world. We arrived before the tourist crowds which gave us the opportunity to take many photo's and walk many of the various stages of the wall unimpeded. We experienced the varied steps as part of the cobbled walkway, magnificent views and enjoyed an informative commentary and great interaction all day from our guide. Lunch was delicious in a small town- a perfect finish!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Ellen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the most amazing tour with our personal guide (Sue Lyn) and driver. We enjoyed Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, went to a climb the Great Wall. Our guide even arranged a special lunch for my husband who has a very limited diet, while I enjoyed a very tasty Peking duck that was delicious!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The early start was hard...however SO Worth it! A 2 hour bus ride, we got to The Great Wall before all the crowds and the heat kicked in. We definately had enough time to see everything.Sofia our guide was great! She also helped with advise on other sights to visit. Wear comfy shoes and sunscreen!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

SineRivali

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can and #39;t say enough good things about Beijing and all that we saw! The Great Wall was a bucket list item for me to celebrate my 50th birthday, and James was gracious enough to allow us to bring a special bottle of and #39;66 Dom Perignon champagne. He was an excellent guide - very pleasant and knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

TEJASWINI R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Mr Jacki Lee was an excellent guide. Thoroughly fluent in english, we had no trouble understanding. I was accompanied by my 69 yr old mother in law. Trust me, we would never have reached The Great Wall, had he not helped and coaxed her! Hats off to him. Would recommend him every time.
The old negative point was the lunch! Couldn't bear to eat it! My fellow travelers all ENT surgeons, 1 Australian, 1 US and 4 from UK faced the same problem.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

shaye j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great wall of China is amazing. My only criticism of this tour is that more time NEEDS to be spent at the great wall, by skipping the jade factory, etc. Certainly one of great sites everyone should see.. like grand canyon in Arizona.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Ranyta Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great experience! The size of the group is not too big and it allows us to know each other better. The guide, WIliam, is friendly and helpful. He has good command in English and answered all of our questions satisfactorily. I definitely recommend this toour for those who want to visit the great wall and the Ming tombs.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Julie R A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We highly recommend this tour. Seven people were on the tour. We were picked up at our hotels in a very comfortable van with an excellent driver. Mark was our guide, and he was very pleasant, upbeat, and capable. We drove to Mutianyu stopping at a jade factory on the way, which took about 2 1/2 hours interesting scenery. The only extra cost in the day was an optional one that was well worth it - 100 Yuan to take the cable car ski lift up to the Great Wall and then toboggan down or we could have taken the cable car down, but tobogganing was much more fun. On a different tour I took the next week, I heard that the Great Wall cable car was out of service one day, and I'm so glad it wasn't the day we were there. Hiking to the Great Wall in the heat would have left us with little time and energy to be on the Wall. As it was, our tour guide gave us about 90 minutes on our own to take the cable car, hike along the wall, and then meet at the bottom. Hiking along the wall - steep steps and all - was an unforgettable experience. After that, we walked a short distance to a nice restaurant where our food was all ready and was delicious. We had a room for the seven of us. We drove back to Beijing and stopped at a tea business before being dropped back off at our hotel. Be prepared for slow traffic everywhere. This was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Joerg K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour to the Great Wall. We did join this tour as a little bigger group after a regional company meeting. While any visit to the Great wall is already impressive and memorable the team did provide picnic for us on top of the wall and top of one of the watch towers. Certainly an unforgettable experience for all of us. Special thanks to our tour guide Candy for the well organised and informative day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message