Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall of China

No trip to Beijing would be complete without a Great Wall experience. Winding along the mountain ridges north of the capital city, the Great Wall of China stands as one of the world’s most iconic wonders, largest historical sites and greatest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 318 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steve C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a truly amazing day. on time pick up, knowledgeable and pleasant guide and the Great Wall was everything you might imagine it would be and more. A little bit too heavy on the factory shops and outlets x3 but other than that absolutely no complaints. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour and I would highly recommend to others. We were picked up on time from our hotel and we visited a number of places of interest that day. We started with a Jade factory visit, which was interesting to understand the carving and different types of jade available. The next part of the tour was the Great Wall and this was such an enjoyable experience. To start with, you need to take a chair lift to get to the top of the Wall, which was fun, and yes it was a chair lift. Then when you are at the top you can choose which direction on the Wall you would like to walk. This section of the Great Wall is manageable for any level of fitness, as the Wall runs along the top of Mountains and the views are spectacular... absolutely amazing. To go back down the hill from the Wall you could choose the option of the chair lift again, but we decided to do the exhilarating toboggan run all the way from the top of the Wall to the bottom of the mountain where the chair lift started from. So much fun and laughs to be had on that ride! After our time on the Wall we had an enjoyable local lunch at the nearby café with local produce, tasted amazing. In the afternoon, we were taken to a formal tea ceremony, which was well presented. We were provided with the history of Chinese Tea and learnt about the different flavours and health benefits to Chinese Tea which was all very interesting. This tour provided us with a great experience and we continue to talk about it with friends back home, as it was just something to remember!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day at the great wall. The guide was very helpful. Lunch was amazing.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Lulu Belle United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this tour for a number of reasons. Our tour guide, Tina, was extremely punctual, pleasant and very knowledgable about the culture and history in this part of China. We totally feel the tour to the Ming Tombs was worth it. After visiting the Forbidden City and Summer Palace, it's very interesting to travel outside Beijing to further see and understand the ways of the Emperor. We particularly enjoyed the walk down the Sacred Way. Visiting the tomb is very unique. After crossing a large gate, you enter a very peaceful courtyard. There is a lovely museum with interesting royal items. You are then able to climb the back structure and view the entire area. The tombs are actually in the hillside behind the structure, but it's still a remarkable place and a UNESCO site. From there, we had a decent chinese lunch at a Jade Factory. Because we've done tours like this in other countries, we had told Tina right off that we are interested most in culture and history - we are not shoppers and that is a big misconception of many American tourists. She understand exactly what we meant and respected our wishes - so while we ate in the Jade building, we didn't actually enter the factory or have to visit the gift shop. There are western restrooms here that are very clean. From lunch, we drove out to the Juyong Gap. Words will not even adequately describe how awe inspiring this adventure was. Smog was bad this day as it was a milder winter day and the view was beyond spectacular. As opposed to Badaling where you take a cable car from what we understand, Juyong is all foot power. You approach a level lot with shops, restrooms, etc. and immediately start climbing steps. You can literally climb and climb to your hearts content. NOTE - lunch can be a bit heavy and we are SO glad we didn't overeat given the strenuous nature of the climb. I would suggest at least 2 hours here. There are guard towers that break up the climb - and I'm still amazed how high you can really go. Tina leads you to the wall and you arrange a return meeting time at the lower level - but you are on your own to climb at your own rate. On the car ride back to Beijing, Tina continued to answer our questions and we really had a great discussion comparing and contrasting various cultures. A wonderful day that created lifelong memories!

NOTE - If you have ANY health issues or physical limitations, this might not be the best spot to climb the Great Wall. Badaling provides a tram but it's also typically a lot more crowded because of the accessibility. If you want a more natural experience, Juyong Gap is a great option!

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Wall of China at Juyongguan and Ming Tombs from Beijing

condolan23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Gets you to the wall early in the morning when no one is there. We were the only people on the wall when we arrived. Our tour guide was very friendly, nice and his English was good. There was also a tea demonstration as part of the tour which I would highly recommend. This is a great tour if you only have a short time in Bejing and you want to see the Great Wall when there are few tourists. it was January, so it wasn't exactly peak tourist season. The driver also dropped me off at the Olympic Park which was also very kind of them.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Monica United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This wonder of the world really delivered !!! Our guide took us early to avoid the crowds and we literally had the GREAT WALL to ourselves. A must see.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

sandusky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing day. We had a fabulous weather in contrast to the previous day on my arrival in Beijing when it was smoggy and you could only manage to see 50 metres ahead. The Great Wall and its surrounds spread in front of you in its majesty and I wished we could have stayed a bit longer, and luckily the tour guide had a great eye for taking photos. Lunch was standard pre-cooked Chinese meal.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Cyril Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of the reasons we came to China was to see the great wall. It was stunning. Our guide was knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

gemini9658

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Picked up at our hotel on time by our tour guide Jackie Li, a very informative and knowledgeable person indeed. Our visit to the Great Wall at Badaling was incredible, not to be missed if you visit China. Found the Ming Tombs a bit disappointing compared to the wall though. The typical Chinese meal was excellent, sampled a lot of different dishes. A visit to the Jade factory / shop was also included in the tour as well as having traditional Chinese tea. All in all, a great tour and highly recommend it. A big thank you to our tour guide Jackie, by the way, nice photos Jackie.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

jligon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This group tour was on a medium sized bus. Going to the Great Wall is an absolute mist do. It was worth the ride over and back. We stopped at a jade place as well. Wonderful experience. The included lunch was very good. The 65 per person cost was a very good value for sure.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

stephanie b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide was awesome! She knew a lot about the history of Beijing as well as the Great Wall itself. She even went out of her way to take us to an authentic tea house after the tour was over. I highly recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Nicolas v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were picked up from out hotel that was not so central in Beijing, for which we are very gratefull. The guide decided to change the order of the visits to stay out off the traffic jams. This definately paid off, giving us more time to climb the Great Wall. On the way, we received extra information about habits and rules in China to help us during our stay. The guide proved also to be an experienced photographer so that everybody could be IN the picture. Thank you Jacky !

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Jessica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

AMAZING tour. Highlight of my Beijing experience by far. I was a solo female traveler and worried about finding a safe way to get to the Great Wall -- Urban Adventures is by far the way to go. You are paired with a small group of other travelers, and feel at ease right from the start. Our local guide, Dennis, was knowledgeable, personable, witty and kind. He made every effort to give us the experience we were looking for -- presenting interesting facts about the wall, taking note of the kinds of foods we mentioned liking to order them during the Chinese lunch, and giving us bartering tips and patiently encouraging us to shop as long as we wanted at the bottom of the wall. He even went above and beyond to walk me back to the part of town I was staying in when taxis weren't readily available during rush hour at the end of the tour. If you have any doubts about traveling solo, do this tour!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Suzette Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A must do tour while in Beijing!! Michael our guide was so nice and provided us with some great side activities plus the Great Wall. That feeling you get to be in one of the wonders of the world is unique. Loved the Great Wall!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the highlight of our trip to Beijing. We were fortunate enough to have great weather for our trip to the Great Wall, but our tour guide Vivian was simply AWESOME !!! The information she provided was superb, and she was just a joy to be around. Always making the whole group laugh and taking photos of us all. She knew all the best places to get that perfect shot, and we arrived earlier than most people, so it looks as though you have the entire wall to yourselves in the photos....The toboggan ride down was so much fun, and just makes you feel like a big kid....
Vivian also took us to a fantastic local restaurant which was the best lunch we had in Beijing. Its hard to pick at favourite thing about this tour as it was all spectacular - Highly recommended, and if you are lucky enough to have Viv as your guide, you will have the best day out in Beijing.... Thanks Viv x

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Hien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome Tour!! We had a really nice and informative tour Guide, William! He called us at our hotel to confirm our pick-up time to start the day! Making our way towards The Great Wall he shared information, history and hot spots! We had our first stop over at the Jade Factory which was pretty awesome to see how they carved and made jade pieces! We had our Lunch at a nice restaurant before making our trek to the wall! We chose to go up by chairlift and then toboggan ride down great fun! There are a lot of steps from small to big to steep etc. so be prepared! we were given a good 2.5 hours on the wall and found it was plenty of time, walking the wall, resting, getting our breaths back, taking lots of selfies and then lining up at the end for the toboggan ride down! The tour ended with a tea ceremony and hotel drop off ! Overall it was a great tour, great tour guide and beautiful views!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Thomas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. The tour starts early at the pickup point, where we took a minibus to the great wall. During the journey to the wall Vivian our tour guide was sharing stories/information about the history of the wall, Beijing etc which was interesting and certainly helped to pass the time. We arrived at the wall pretty early, before many crowds had arrived. Unfortunately or fortunately depending on how you look at it the weather was relatively poor rain/fog . However this didn't ruin the experience the fog made for some interesting photos and did clear up nicely , but on the plus side it probably did help keep large crowds away so the wall was relatively empty. Vivian walked with us to the wall and helped take pictures of members of the group and show us her favourite view points.

After the wall itself, we were taken to a restaurant away from the main tourist area. Vivian ordered us some Chinese dishes and made sure we had plenty of food to feed everyone and I think the group left very full. After that we were returned to the pickup point, Vivian also offered advice on others places in Beijing to visit.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Valerie Yolanda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Vivian was fantastic! She really made our group of 8 have a great, authentic Great Wall trip and lunch was at a local restaurant off the beaten path. We were treated like royalty, with local beer and shots of rice wine! We all shared plates after an early and exhausting day on the Wall. GREAT MEMORIES!!! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

stacey h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Must do best tour of the trip, enjoyed every moment, Vivian was awesome, the Great Wall lives up to the hype

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour of the Great Wall ! On the particular day Sunday I was the only person on the tour. The guide was extremely friendly and very informative, answering all questions. She really had a passion for China and its history, this is what a tourist always looks for in a local guide!

I would highly recommend. This was a once in a lifetime experience and there is no better way to see and experience the Great Wall than with a great tour guide!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

kris1828767

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fabulous experience. Maria our tour guide was wonderful, informative and really took good care of us. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. Great way to see the Great Wall of China.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Jun C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommend this tour and the passionate tour guide Vivian. Our tour was on Sunday. They picked us up at 7:00am from hotel lobby and we arrived Great Wall before 9:00am. The 1.5 hour road time was quite enjoyable. The city in the early Sunday morning was tranquil. Vivian gave us a casual talk about Great Wall, Beijing the people and the city etc. By arriving early to a less crowded Great Wall section MUTIANYU, we could avoid the crowd and enjoy the fantasitc view without hassle. The time we spent at Great Wall was about 3.5 hours. We had family style lunch in a villiage and then headed back to Hotel. No time was wasted. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guide was excellent and modified the trip so we could see more of the sites we wanted to see. Excellent recommendation by him. We had two hours on the Great Wall instead of two hours in traffic.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Joachim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was announced as taking place when at least two passengers registered. It turned out that we were the only ones who had booked that tour that day. I was concerned that this could reduce the quality of the service, but I was mistaken. We had our very private tour with our own tour guide Jacky Lee and driver in an air-conditioned limousine. The guide provided a lot of details while visiting Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. On our wish he focused on the Treasure Gallery there. The Peking-duck lunch was good and provided you with some insights in the peculiarities of the Chinese cuisine. The day was a public holiday with loads of tourists at the Great Wall. Since the motorway was almost blocked, the tour guide redirected the tour to a lesser known part of the Wall that had also much fewer tourists and was more scenic. The Wall was much more steeper there, too. It was also a hot day at the beginning of August, and temperatures reached 38 degrees centigrade. It took us 1 1/2 hours to reach the top of the mountain and to return. However, we were rewarded with a most impressive view of the area with the winding wall on top of the ridge. We also visited a silk and a jade manufacture and a tea ceremony shop. I acquired a silk gown and a jade ball of life'', which symbolizes three spheres of prosperous successive generations. In the tea shop I came across Pu-erh tea for the first time. This tea comes from Yunnan and is from the same tea leaves as green tea. The difference is that Pu-erh undergoes a fermentation and oxidation process over many years I bought a ten year old block. The ferments include peptide-blockers which prohibit the storage of fat in the fat cells of the human body, for which the tea is also called slimming tea''. This effect is confirmed by chemists.

In all this was a very rewarding tour which offers a cross-section of insights in Chinese historical and cultural achievements.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It wasn't necessarily just the sites we visited that made this as enjoyable... it was our tour guide, Nikki! We can't say enough positive things about her. She was SUPER informative and very educated on the history of the Ming Tombs and Juyongguan segment of the Great Wall. She definitely made this tour exceed all of our expectations. This is a must do .... and ask for Nikki! Oh, and the sites themselves? Definitely worth it! Check out the photos and see for yourself.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Wall of China at Juyongguan and Ming Tombs from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message