Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Great Wall of China

No trip to Beijing would be complete without a Great Wall experience. Winding along the mountain ridges north of the capital city, the Great Wall of China stands as one of the world’s most iconic wonders, largest historical sites and greatest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 275 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Guide was excellent and modified the trip so we could see more of the sites we wanted to see. Excellent recommendation by him. We had two hours on the Great Wall instead of two hours in traffic.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Joachim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was announced as taking place when at least two passengers registered. It turned out that we were the only ones who had booked that tour that day. I was concerned that this could reduce the quality of the service, but I was mistaken. We had our very private tour with our own tour guide Jacky Lee and driver in an air-conditioned limousine. The guide provided a lot of details while visiting Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. On our wish he focused on the Treasure Gallery there. The Peking-duck lunch was good and provided you with some insights in the peculiarities of the Chinese cuisine. The day was a public holiday with loads of tourists at the Great Wall. Since the motorway was almost blocked, the tour guide redirected the tour to a lesser known part of the Wall that had also much fewer tourists and was more scenic. The Wall was much more steeper there, too. It was also a hot day at the beginning of August, and temperatures reached 38 degrees centigrade. It took us 1 1/2 hours to reach the top of the mountain and to return. However, we were rewarded with a most impressive view of the area with the winding wall on top of the ridge. We also visited a silk and a jade manufacture and a tea ceremony shop. I acquired a silk gown and a jade ball of life'', which symbolizes three spheres of prosperous successive generations. In the tea shop I came across Pu-erh tea for the first time. This tea comes from Yunnan and is from the same tea leaves as green tea. The difference is that Pu-erh undergoes a fermentation and oxidation process over many years I bought a ten year old block. The ferments include peptide-blockers which prohibit the storage of fat in the fat cells of the human body, for which the tea is also called slimming tea''. This effect is confirmed by chemists.

In all this was a very rewarding tour which offers a cross-section of insights in Chinese historical and cultural achievements.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It wasn't necessarily just the sites we visited that made this as enjoyable... it was our tour guide, Nikki! We can't say enough positive things about her. She was SUPER informative and very educated on the history of the Ming Tombs and Juyongguan segment of the Great Wall. She definitely made this tour exceed all of our expectations. This is a must do .... and ask for Nikki! Oh, and the sites themselves? Definitely worth it! Check out the photos and see for yourself.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Wall of China at Juyongguan and Ming Tombs from Beijing

Anne Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day trip to the Great Wall of China. We were lucky to have a wonderful guide for the two of us and travelled by private car to this wonder of the world. We arrived before the tourist crowds which gave us the opportunity to take many photo's and walk many of the various stages of the wall unimpeded. We experienced the varied steps as part of the cobbled walkway, magnificent views and enjoyed an informative commentary and great interaction all day from our guide. Lunch was delicious in a small town- a perfect finish!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Ellen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the most amazing tour with our personal guide (Sue Lyn) and driver. We enjoyed Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, went to a climb the Great Wall. Our guide even arranged a special lunch for my husband who has a very limited diet, while I enjoyed a very tasty Peking duck that was delicious!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The early start was hard...however SO Worth it! A 2 hour bus ride, we got to The Great Wall before all the crowds and the heat kicked in. We definately had enough time to see everything.Sofia our guide was great! She also helped with advise on other sights to visit. Wear comfy shoes and sunscreen!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

SineRivali

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can and #39;t say enough good things about Beijing and all that we saw! The Great Wall was a bucket list item for me to celebrate my 50th birthday, and James was gracious enough to allow us to bring a special bottle of and #39;66 Dom Perignon champagne. He was an excellent guide - very pleasant and knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

TEJASWINI R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Mr Jacki Lee was an excellent guide. Thoroughly fluent in english, we had no trouble understanding. I was accompanied by my 69 yr old mother in law. Trust me, we would never have reached The Great Wall, had he not helped and coaxed her! Hats off to him. Would recommend him every time.
The old negative point was the lunch! Couldn't bear to eat it! My fellow travelers all ENT surgeons, 1 Australian, 1 US and 4 from UK faced the same problem.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

shaye j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great wall of China is amazing. My only criticism of this tour is that more time NEEDS to be spent at the great wall, by skipping the jade factory, etc. Certainly one of great sites everyone should see.. like grand canyon in Arizona.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Ranyta Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great experience! The size of the group is not too big and it allows us to know each other better. The guide, WIliam, is friendly and helpful. He has good command in English and answered all of our questions satisfactorily. I definitely recommend this toour for those who want to visit the great wall and the Ming tombs.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Julie R A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We highly recommend this tour. Seven people were on the tour. We were picked up at our hotels in a very comfortable van with an excellent driver. Mark was our guide, and he was very pleasant, upbeat, and capable. We drove to Mutianyu stopping at a jade factory on the way, which took about 2 1/2 hours interesting scenery. The only extra cost in the day was an optional one that was well worth it - 100 Yuan to take the cable car ski lift up to the Great Wall and then toboggan down or we could have taken the cable car down, but tobogganing was much more fun. On a different tour I took the next week, I heard that the Great Wall cable car was out of service one day, and I'm so glad it wasn't the day we were there. Hiking to the Great Wall in the heat would have left us with little time and energy to be on the Wall. As it was, our tour guide gave us about 90 minutes on our own to take the cable car, hike along the wall, and then meet at the bottom. Hiking along the wall - steep steps and all - was an unforgettable experience. After that, we walked a short distance to a nice restaurant where our food was all ready and was delicious. We had a room for the seven of us. We drove back to Beijing and stopped at a tea business before being dropped back off at our hotel. Be prepared for slow traffic everywhere. This was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Joerg K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour to the Great Wall. We did join this tour as a little bigger group after a regional company meeting. While any visit to the Great wall is already impressive and memorable the team did provide picnic for us on top of the wall and top of one of the watch towers. Certainly an unforgettable experience for all of us. Special thanks to our tour guide Candy for the well organised and informative day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

CLARE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent site. We were grateful that we did not visit during the national holiday which was the first week in May. Our tour guide shared a vide of the millions of people who visited during that week. When we visited the site, the weather was cool and the number of visitors was high but not crowded. During our travel to the Great Wall, we stopped at a jade factory and learned about how to distinguish between real and fake jade. The stone walkways are uneven so if elderly folks visited this site ...it's good to be prepared with good and comfortable walking shoes. For those afraid of heights, it's good to also know that cable car ride up to the watch tower is required. Overall experience is excellent and I recommend sunscreen, good camera, and comfortable shoes.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Janet Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A magical day!! William, our tour guide was an excellent ambassador for Beijing and The Great Wall. His friendliness along with his vast knowledge made our day one to remember. We can definitely recommend the Mutianyu section of the wall as it was not over crowded. The cable car up and taboggan down was an excellent way to start and finish the adventure. We cannot speak highly enough of this experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

zaman5877

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly highly recommended, Cherry was an exceptiontal tour guide. This was a private van tour with only 3 other people. We got to spend around 2 hours at the great wall, the ming tombs were also phenomenal. The jade factory was unexpectedly very interesting to see and the tea ceremony was much better than expected. Day lasted around 10 hours and was worth every penny

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide was very friendly and spoke excellent English. She had lots of interesting information on the Ming Tombs, the great wall, Jade factory and the tea ceremony we attended. She was very interested in each person on the tour and made the whole experience very comfortable. I had an amazing time and learned so much.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Derek G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing, my second trip to the great wall. This section was much better. Not crowded and stunning, great to see some non restored sections too.

Doing what: Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Lily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour. Tour guide William Kuang was very friendly, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic about the history of the Great Wall and Beijing/China in general. Was lucky to have a small tour group, so able to interact with William extensively. It felt like a group of friends rather than a group tour. Trips to jade factory and tea tasting were good, though I spent too much unplanned money but made for good gifts. Thank you for making this a great experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Vibeke L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great day! The Great Wall is compulsory when in Beijing. The lunch was good. We loved our local guide Kevin who spoke perfect English. He even took us to a silk-market after the tour, which meant that he had to work 2 hours more than required. He booked a restaurant for us in the evening and called in to ensure that we were doing fine. Fantastic service!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great experience with our guide, Rockie, on a picture perfect spring day. Rockie was knowledgeable and friendly and took us on a fun adventure to a watch tower ruins where we enjoyed champagne and snacks. We rode the cable car up and recommend doing that, as the steps and walk along the Great Wall are challenging and it gives you more time on the wall. We did the tobaggan slide down and that was fun too. Only hiccup was the horrible traffic we encountered, but it was a Saturday, so lots a people were on the road.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Jason G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a great tour to the Great Wall and Ming Tombs. Our guide Jenny was lovely and very knowledgable about her subject and our driver was friendly too. The views at the Great Wall were wonderful and I would recommend this tour to others who want to see the Great Wall or Ming Tombs.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Vicki M Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very fund day. We climbed a section of the Great Wall after catching the chair lift up. Some areas were very steep but well worth the effort. Our guide Victoria was very friendly and helpful

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Walking on the Great Wall is an amazing experience, one that my son and I will never forget. We enjoyed our guide, Kevin, but he and his driver's role were primarily to get us from Beijing to the Great Wall. He provided some interesting commentary on the way, but when we got to the wall, we were really on our own. Walking on the wall is quite challenging physically--not only does it do up and down with the topography, the so-called restored section we were on was extremely tricky to navigate--rough, uneven steps, etc. Take the chair lift up to the wall and the toboggan down--both fun and a little scary, but that added to the experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Eini D Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great day visiting the Ming Tombs and Great Wall. Tombs were a bit disappointing in that you don't get to actually see the tmobs as they have not yet been excavated foe fear of damaging the articles buried underground. The wall was incredible. We chose to walk up the north side of the wall at Badaling because there were less tourists, but sections were quite steep. Our guide Jacky was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of information and history, almost to a fault.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Carolyn O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The Great Wall Tour was great. Our tour guide was terrific and gave us lots of facts along the way. Would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message