Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Lama Temple (Yonghegong)

The Lama Temple (Yonghegong), one of the most important Tibetan Buddhist temples in the world, started life in the late 17th century as a residence for eunuchs. It went on to become residence for a Qing dynasty prince. When he ascended to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this day tour. Transport was cool and comfortable and our guide spoke very good English. Loved the Summer Palace on its lakeside setting, felt as though we were miles from the City. The Lama Temple was interesting and the Panda's very cute. The pick up was early so we were able to beat the crowds, particularly to the Pandas. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable and the day was very enjoyable. Thankyou very much.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

William was great! He was very accommodating and knowledgable. His English was extremely good. The van was clean. They had room for me to bring my luggage. At the end of the tour, he wrote down instructions for a taxi driver for me to get me to the right terminal at the right airport. The Summer Palace and Lama Temple were well worth seeing! Loved watching the Pandas! The only part of the tour that doesn't earn 5 stars was the silk and pearl factories.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

SSC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thank you William for providing an informative and fun experience. He was one of the best tour guides we've had in a long time. The Lama Temple is a must see coupled with the Summer Palace. You'll see beautiful artifacts of buddha statues, free incense for praying stations, feel a sense of serenity the minute you walk into the two historical venues. and The day might start a little early but well worth it since we got back to our hotel by three. It gave us plenty of time to do more shopping and enjoy Beijing. The pandas are adorable and who doesn't love pandas?

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

jennifer m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Jackie made this day super fun! He talks super fast and does have quite an accent but is very open to answering questions and is so funny! We loved seeing the giant Pandas at the zoo. It was early in the day and the pandas were very active and fun to watch. We then went to the Summer Palace. Almost overwhelming in size but so glad we got to see it. We finished at the Lama Temple which was very interesting as they were celebrating Buddha's birthday. The temple was filled with chanting monks and lots of burning incense. Many worshippers there. They finished the service and began walking around the temple, still chanting. It was super interesting! Jackie took us to the silk shop and it was really interesting. Learned a lot! Glad we took this tour and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide and the tour itself was fun. The food they give you is Western style Chinese food. Not exactly what you actually get in China but still quite nice. The Lama Temple was amazing. It was beautiful and our tour guide had a lot of knowledge about everything. Be careful at the pearl factory. I bought an 18 carat gold charm with a pearl in it and the gold is peeling off and turning back so obviously not real pearl. It might be government run but that doesn't mean it's 100 legit.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour 3 of 4 in Beijing and what a way to start than waking up early and getting to the Panda Garden while the Pandas are still awake and eating, our guide Li got us there just after opening and they were quite active it was a beautiful sight and as the only 2 people on the tour for the second day running we had the guides full attention.

I have reviewed all my tours in Beijing please see my review on Badaling Great wall in relation to the "full day" and side stops on the tours.
Then it was on to the summer palace which is an absolutely stunning place and although on the tour you don't get to go up to the actual palace, just in the grounds you still get to see the amazing scenery, the marble boat and you get to ride across the lake on a dragon boat for a very small extra charge.
Then another lovely lunch after a tour of a pearl factory my wife spent some small change on a bracelet and that was all we wanted and no pressure from anyone to buy more, they respect no in China you just have to say it.
Then the Lama Temple, a highly religious place as expected and very interesting.
Another very lovely day in Beijing

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

jrscotto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Amazing views at the Summer Palace, impressive architecture at the Lama Temple, and cute, cuddly panda bears made for a fantastic tour. Our guide, Cynthia, was very energetic and excited about giving us a glimpse into China's long history. We enjoyed every moment of the tour and the time that we got to spend with Cynthia!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day tour. The guide Jason was fantastic with lots of great information and keen to answer any questions. Along with the Zoo, Summer Palace and Lama Temple we also went to a pearl shop which had a lot a beautiful items for sale at a reasonable price, and also to the silk factory. We weren't rushed at any time. Jason also assisted in engaging the locals, eg where artists were practicing dishu at the Summer Palace. Pick up and drop off times were as agreed. Lunch was at a local restaurant and there was plenty to eat.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Marian P United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Jason was a wonderful guide. His English was fantastic and his attention to detail terrific. The weather in the morning was very wet but this did not spoil the tour at all. The visit to the Panda Garden was great; we saw a variety of ages of panda enjoying their bamboo breakfast! Off then to the Summer Palace where Jason was encyclopedic about the place, the history and the people - first class! Lunch was OK The Lama Temple was spectacular and an experience I will always remember. The booked itinerary did not mention the tea tasting but this was fun and its addition did not make me feel I had missed time elsewhere. I would thoroughly and warmly recommend Jason as a guide and this tour, too. I have booked tours through the company before in other cities and Viator have lived up to their usual high standards. Many thanks

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Steven E United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

went went to Beijing zoo first saw few pandas and 2 baby pandas so cute. summer palace was beautiful and Lama temple brilliant with largest buddha was amazing.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Diane L J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

We had a great time in spite of the rain!! Never felt rushed. The Lama Temple was cool but if you have allergies bring a scarf to put over your nose.... the incense can get to you after a while.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

I really enjoyed this tour. The sights Panda Exhibit at the Beijing Zoo, the Summer Palace, Lama Temple were extremely interesting and my guide, Tom, was very experienced, knowledgable, informative and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend Great Sights Beijing or Viator or to take another tour with them in the future, as I was very pleased with this tour.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Michael H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

From other tours with this operator, we expected a well-done tour, and the tour operator did not disappoint. The guide was very knowledgeable and energetic. And he let us explore a bit and take photos, so we did not feel we were on a forced death march even though we covered a lot of ground. The gem of everything we saw in Beijing was the Lama Temple. Beautiful and very educational with our guide. The Summer Palace, which is a collection of buildings around a very beautiful lake, is a place to be treasured more than once. It covers many, many acres and is stunning. On our next trip to Beijing, we will be returning here. This tour was very well done. Educational, good lunch at a very nice place, and the shopping stop was fun. Highly recommended. Consistently good tour company.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

The Lama Temple and the Summer Palace were magnificent. We had an excellent guide.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

James M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

This was a good tour. I would recommend to a person who has seen all of the main attractions and is looking to see something different towards the end of their stay in Beijing. The Lama Temple is magnificent with a calm atmosphere, my favorite temple in Beijing! The Hutong tour is good and very unique allowing for dinner in a locals house which is nice. Jingshan park is also very nice.

Overall I would recommend but would prioritize the major attractions first if your trip is not very long!

Doing what: Ancient Beijing Beijing Hutong Lama Temple Jingshan Park and Olympic Stadium by bus

kwame r

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Summer Palace was absolutely beautiful in September and giant Buddha in Lama temple amazing

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

KiwiBooCee

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Loved both the Panda's and the summer palace. Lama Temple not so much. There are better temples. The sandelwood Buddha was great. Our guide did a good job.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Lara D

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Really good trip with a friendly tour guide. We were also taken to a little Tea House where we were able to try lots of different types of tea, and learn a bit of Chinese traditions. Loved the Summer Palace, and the Lama Temple. The only thing about the Panda Garden was that it was a section of a zoo. Was expecting a little more than that, but overall a lovely day trip in Beijing.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

IVAN M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

I was a bit disappointed with the Panda Garden but overall it was quite an enjoyable tour. The Summer Palace and Lama Temple were both really nice and the lunch was also good. Our guide was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

PALLAVITA SAHA India

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

This was a good tour - Jackie was taken the guide and he gave lots of information and tidbits and good helpful hints on how not to get conned etc around the city. I had a lovely group of people with me and we all had fun. The summer palace is lovely as is the Lama temple. Really good experience!!!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Tracey C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2011

A fantastic experience from start to finish. Our local guide was very accommodating and friendly. The Pandas were a highlight for my 9 year old daughter, and for me the Lama Temple was an eye opener to some of the Eastern beliefs.

Doing what: Beijing Lama Temple, Panda Garden and Ancient Altar Day Tour

Linda M Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

Summer Palace close to heavenly experience, Lama Temple great insight into Buddhism. Panda Garden amazing, but duration far too short when bundled into other 2 tours--suggest separate visit.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Mark W

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2016

Tour guide and driver picked us up at our hotel on schedule, got us to all the tour sites, oversold a river cruise to the Summer Palace. Time spent at Summer Palace was just a walk along the lake with no exploration of the buildings that comprise the Summer Palace. Tour guide spoke English but wasn't very forthcoming with information along the way. Had to drag info out of him as best we could. Loved the Lama Temple.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

James M

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Tour was ok. Pandas were ok but hardly a garden - at zoo. Lama temple interesting enough and Summer palace is definitely worth seeing. Tour guide acted as if she was doing us a big favour - scolding for not going at her pace. Told us we had to buy ticket for boat ride - not mentioned in itinerary

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Irene M

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Could have spend more time by the pandas and the summer palace. The lama temple was amazing and there we had enough time. The group was big (13 people). The guide was very good in English but spoke so fast that it was difficult for people with another mother language than English to understand.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message