Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Ming Tombs (Ming Shisan Ling)

The Ming Dynasty Tombs, or Ming Shisan Ling, are located outside of central Beijing and are home to the tombs and mausoleums of the Yongle Emperor. Currently, these tombs are a UNESCO World Heritage site, and are listed as part of the World Heritage ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eric G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It wasn't necessarily just the sites we visited that made this as enjoyable... it was our tour guide, Nikki! We can't say enough positive things about her. She was SUPER informative and very educated on the history of the Ming Tombs and Juyongguan segment of the Great Wall. She definitely made this tour exceed all of our expectations. This is a must do .... and ask for Nikki! Oh, and the sites themselves? Definitely worth it! Check out the photos and see for yourself.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Wall of China at Juyongguan and Ming Tombs from Beijing

Joanne P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very informative visit to the Ming Tombs. Mutianyu was a good location to visit the Great Wall. Fun ride in the chair lift and not too crowded on the wall on a Sunday. Nice local lunch. Forced to go shopping, but got away without having to spend much. A very good day out.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Ranyta Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great experience! The size of the group is not too big and it allows us to know each other better. The guide, WIliam, is friendly and helpful. He has good command in English and answered all of our questions satisfactorily. I definitely recommend this toour for those who want to visit the great wall and the Ming tombs.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Peter N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very friendly, professional and informative guide. The crowds at Badaling were unbelievable, however the wait time for the cable car was not too long. The visit to the Ming tomb was very interesting. The day was capped off with a pleasant tea-tasting. Well done Viator

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

zaman5877

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly highly recommended, Cherry was an exceptiontal tour guide. This was a private van tour with only 3 other people. We got to spend around 2 hours at the great wall, the ming tombs were also phenomenal. The jade factory was unexpectedly very interesting to see and the tea ceremony was much better than expected. Day lasted around 10 hours and was worth every penny

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide was very friendly and spoke excellent English. She had lots of interesting information on the Ming Tombs, the great wall, Jade factory and the tea ceremony we attended. She was very interested in each person on the tour and made the whole experience very comfortable. I had an amazing time and learned so much.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

erika

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Both Sarah, the tour guide, and the driver spoke English, they were very organized, and always on time. Sarah was very friendly. She taught me a lot about the significance of the Juyongguan section of the wall and about the history and culture of Beijing. She seemed to know a lot about many different subjects. I have visited Mutianyu and, personally, I found Juyongguan to be more beautiful. The visit to the jade factory was a wonderful surprise. I did not know about it and would have never known to schedule a visit if it had not been added to this tour. I hope to go back, you need to spend more time there to really appreciate everything that they have. Take your credit card! The meal provided at the jade factory was delicious and the restaurant itself was photo worthy. The service throughout the jade factory was impeccable. The Ming Tombs is huge. I loved the museum. It was wonderful to see such extravagance and to listen to Sarah explain the history behind it all.

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Wall of China at Juyongguan and Ming Tombs from Beijing

George A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wall, Ming tomb, and Jade store wer all great. Food was good.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Jason G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a great tour to the Great Wall and Ming Tombs. Our guide Jenny was lovely and very knowledgable about her subject and our driver was friendly too. The views at the Great Wall were wonderful and I would recommend this tour to others who want to see the Great Wall or Ming Tombs.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Eini D Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great day visiting the Ming Tombs and Great Wall. Tombs were a bit disappointing in that you don't get to actually see the tmobs as they have not yet been excavated foe fear of damaging the articles buried underground. The wall was incredible. We chose to walk up the north side of the wall at Badaling because there were less tourists, but sections were quite steep. Our guide Jacky was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of information and history, almost to a fault.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

akiss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour was conducted by Cora Lin Li, an English-speaking guide. She came equipped with a tour van and driver. We were picked up promptly at 7AM from our hotel and whisked away to the Ming Tombs. We spend just enough time at the tombs, then went straight to Mutianyu for the Great Wall. She purchased the lift tickets for us at 100 RMB per person as clearly indicated on the tour details. You did have the option of not purchasing the lift ticket and walk up.

Cora was very knowledgeable, and her English was quite good - far better than my Mandarin. Wall tour was about 90 minutes give or take, and this piece was self directed.

After descending the Wall, we were taken to a ceramic / enamel factory adjacent to our restaurant. Lunch was fine, with both meat and vegetarian options.

Since we had a custom tour, we swapped the jade factory tour for a silk factory tour. Yes, there's upsell, but we went to a nice silk location with high quality product.

Keep in mind, you are really paying for transport, lunch and Q and A. We only had 3 people, so the real per person price was 119, not the stated 78.

Would recommend this tour, and it does take a good 8 hours as Beijing traffic is absolutely dreadful.

Lunch

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

pritisinha45669

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Obviously a must see in China and the tour guide, Jackie, was awesome. He did a great job explaining the history of the Great Wall and Ming Tombs as well as introducing the Chinese culture to us. He was also great about taking pictures whenever possible.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

You need to be fairly fit to climb the section of the Great Wall that we visited. Our guide, Cynthia, was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable with her Chinese history. As well as the Great Wall and the Ming Tombs we also visited a Jade factory a chance to buy some genuine jade and a tea house. This was only a relatively small group 12 people which is a big plus. The tour was interesting and well worth going on.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Julie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fantastic day. Punctual, friendly and informative guide who took us to a quieter section of wall due to local holiday. Spectacular views particularly if you are prepared to climb higher up the steps! Also enjoyed the jade factory. No pressure to buy but very interesting talk and demonstration. Beautiful Ming tombs also well worth a visit.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Eben F USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a highlight of the trip. I still can't believe the personal attention we got and how reasonable the price was. We had one guide for the two of us and a driver and sedan all day. The guide was very informative and with us all the time, except for lunch which was a very good Chinese lunch in a small local restaurant. We paid extra well worth it for a cable car ride to the top of the Mutianyu Great Wall, which is much less crowded than many other touristy portions of the Great Wall near Beijing. Then, we made the climb to the top and spent about and hour hiking on the wall and taking remarkable photos with our guide with us the whole way.
The Ming Tomb was remarkable and the tour was timed to be there for a daily ceremony.
There were two stops at a Jade Factory and another factory, but no pressure to buy.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

VW USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great day! There were only two of us on the tour so we were able to visit a different section of the Great Wall. It was a beautiful sunny day so we got lots of great photos. The Ming Tombs were also great! The only things I was not expecting was the almost tourist trap-type visits to the jade factory and tea shop. These were not educational visits, but rather store visits with a bit of demonstration and we were pressured a bit to buy their overpriced items. We had a great guide who was able to answer all of our questions. I would recommend this trip to anyone who would like to see the Great Wall but is a bit short on time in Beijing.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Norine R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It started early at 7:00 a.m. and it was the last day of spring festival. No traffic, no people at the wall until later in the morning. Cherry, the tour guide was informative, kind and patient with me. My phone battery went dead so Cherry took pictures of me which I would like her to email to me. The Ming Tomb was great, the jade factory and the tea shop. I enjoyed the entire day. Couldn't have been nicer.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Marilyn A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This is something that you only can experience once in a lifetime. It is truly spectacular! It was tough climbing but it was nice that our guide took us to a less busy area of the wall. The ming tombs were also awesome.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Robert W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Highly recommended tour of the Great Wall of China and Ming Tomb. The tour guide was very flexible allowing us to spend as much time as desired at each location. We were not rushed at any spot. Additionally, the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and able to speak English very well. This part of the wall is absolutely stunning with beautiful views of the mountains. Be ready to spend a few minutes at the Jade factory. I did not purchase anything and was not pushed into buying anything.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Steven E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Brilliant tour, our guide Jason was very informative and spoke very good English. The section of wall at Mutianyu is truly amazing as is the chair lift to get up there.
Very interesting visit to the Ming Tomb complex and an excellent Chinese lunch in a good quality restaurant. The air conditioned car was very comfortable and the driver was good. Thank you.

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Went solo on this tour as I had just enough time at the end of my business trip.

Perfect Service and Great Tour! Would recommend this tour for anyone that wants a one day tour to see both the Great Wall in the hills of Mutianya and the Ming Tomb (Zhu Di). Jason was a perfect guide, excellent English, very Knowledgeable on the history of these sites and a great conversationalist. The toboggan ride is was a great way to go back down from the Wall site!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Mitchel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent time, excellent tour, excellent guide! Our guide named Carly arrived at our hotel just when she said she would. She spoke perfect English. Since there were only the two of us on the tour, she gave us the option of going to a different area of the Great Wall which she said wouldn't be as crowded. We took this option and we were amazed. After climbing on the Wall and visiting the Ming Tombs, we went on an unscheduled trip to a tea house in Beijing for a tasting. This was awesome and we came away with lots of gifts for our friends back home. This tour made our fifth anniversary trip to Beijing memorable. Thank you!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Toby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful day - the private tour was worth the extra cost. Our tour guide was excellent, full of information, spoke excellent English, and got us started early so we could avoid the crowds. The toboggan ride down from the wall was an unexpected bonus! We had about 1 hour and 40 minutes on the wall then went on to tour the Ming Tombs. The included lunch was OK, nothing great, and was at the jade factory. Overall a great day!

Doing what: Private Tour: Ming Tombs and Great Wall at Mutianyu from Beijing

Eugenio C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was a family trip and we all feel victorious to conquer the heights of the Great Wall. The morning rain did not spoil the trip in any way. Our tourist guide, Chynthia Cai, made the initiative to find us umbrellas and we started at Ming Tombs before proceeding to the Great Wall. It was a real good experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our first full day in Beijing and we took this tour. Our tour guide was Jackie Li and there were 5 people on the tour. We had a lovely day. The tour company phoned our hotel room the evening before and confirmed the collection time and we were picked up in the morning. To address the reviews on here that moan about the "full day" aspect of the tour the tours all run from early 7/8am to between 1 and 3pm which is 7/8 hrs or a full work day, they run between these times to avoid as much of the Beijing traffic as possible and we were greatful of this because the best of Beijing traffic is worse than most other places and I certainly wouldn't want to spend hours stuck in traffic at the end of the tour, plus it gives you your afternoons and evenings free so it was perfect for us.
After being collected we headed for the Ming tombs which were very interesting and then on to the wall, Jackie Li was fantastic and gave us all the information about the places we were visiting while on route, he also asked us what part of the wall we wanted to go to, Badaling as advertised which has lots of tourists or a steeper and therefore quieter section at Juyongguan. He was very clear that it was the groups decision and we decided on the later. It was very very steep but an amazing section and having seen some of the photos of Badaling on line I think it is a more picturesque and a lot less crowded so we were very pleased. However if you are not fit you may want to stick with Badaling as it was very tiring and I am of pretty good fitness, my muscles were shaking in my legs on the way down.
Then off to a Jade factory which I know people complain about but almost every tour in China includes these side trips and I find them interesting, I never buy anything unless I want to and the feeling pressured is down to the individuals because we didn't feel any pressure at any stage to buy anything we didn't want, yes the staff follow you around but this happens in all shops in Beijing.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message