Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Summer Palace (Yiheyuan)

In 1750, the grand Summer Palace was commissioned by Emperor Qianlong as a lavish lakeside retreat away from the heat of Beijing. Decades later, Empress Dowager Cixi went on to reside among the pavilions, walkways, gardens and bridges on the shores ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gemini9658

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Picked up at our hotel on time by our tour guide Jackie Li, a very informative and knowledgeable person indeed. Our visit to the Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven and Summer Palace was great, not to be missed if you visit China. The typical Chinese lunch was excellent, sampled a lot of different dishes. A visit to a Silk and Pearl factory / shop was also included in the tour as well as having traditional Chinese tea. I recommend the tour. A big thank you to our tour guide Jackie, by the way, nice photos Jackie.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Irem I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Amazing tour! The private car was comfortable and pick-up dropp-of were smooth. Mutianyu was not crowded and the ski-lift to climb up and the sliding carts to go down were a lot of fun! Our guide was knowledgeable and a very sweet person! The lunch was at a local little restaurant and it was pretty good. She took us through the crowds of the Summer Palace and was patient with our desire to climb every possible tower to take photos! She took many photos for us as well. This was a wonderful decision and a wonderful tour!

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Dennis O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What do you say about this tour.... Awesome!!!! Our tour guide Bella and our driver were awesome... Proud of their country and the history of the Chinese people. The wall was incredible and the toboggan ride down was a blast. The history behind the wall and then lunch at a local restaurant was excellent the food was locally grown and you could taste the freshness. The Summer Palace was amazing and we ended at a Tea House for a tea ceremony. Truthfully, our daughter wanted to go more than us but it was great and a lot of fun.... Great people, great time and 5 stars!!!!

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Pershank B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We could not have been luckier to have such a great, unique, private tour to The Great Wall and Summer Palace. Evelyn our tour guide and driver was amazing! They made the trip-sweet, full of information and hospitable. We would definitely choose Viator tours for our next trips. Thank you so much for a wonderful crew!!

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this day tour. Transport was cool and comfortable and our guide spoke very good English. Loved the Summer Palace on its lakeside setting, felt as though we were miles from the City. The Lama Temple was interesting and the Panda's very cute. The pick up was early so we were able to beat the crowds, particularly to the Pandas. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable and the day was very enjoyable. Thankyou very much.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

William was great! He was very accommodating and knowledgable. His English was extremely good. The van was clean. They had room for me to bring my luggage. At the end of the tour, he wrote down instructions for a taxi driver for me to get me to the right terminal at the right airport. The Summer Palace and Lama Temple were well worth seeing! Loved watching the Pandas! The only part of the tour that doesn't earn 5 stars was the silk and pearl factories.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

SSC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thank you William for providing an informative and fun experience. He was one of the best tour guides we've had in a long time. The Lama Temple is a must see coupled with the Summer Palace. You'll see beautiful artifacts of buddha statues, free incense for praying stations, feel a sense of serenity the minute you walk into the two historical venues. and The day might start a little early but well worth it since we got back to our hotel by three. It gave us plenty of time to do more shopping and enjoy Beijing. The pandas are adorable and who doesn't love pandas?

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Emma R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was brilliant, a great way to see lots of Beijing. Our guide, Cherry, was incredibly informative. Very small group, lots if info learnt. Summer Palace in particular was great. Boat option upgrade definitely worth it at Summer Palace but it is an extra 100 Yuan.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Ashish B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great experience. Summer palace is beautiful place to visit and William was very friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour to everybody

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Baron Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Eva was great!! Very friendly, knowledgeable and organised. If I was recommending this to anyone I would suggest maybe just doing the Great Wall alone in a day. It's a pretty big day especially if you're not fit. Not impossible by any means, but after the Wall we were all exhausted and requested the short version of the Summer Palace, which is obviously not ideal. Overall all a BRILLIANT day and highly recommend this tour AND Eva!!

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Jamie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I didn and #39;t end up doing this tour as my hotel pick up was a bit of a muddle, but the tour company were so helpful and they booked me the next day for a different tour which inc, Forbidden City, Tianamen Square, Temple of Heaven and the Summer Palace. Tour guide was amazing, Jackie :) very informative.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

jennifer m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Jackie made this day super fun! He talks super fast and does have quite an accent but is very open to answering questions and is so funny! We loved seeing the giant Pandas at the zoo. It was early in the day and the pandas were very active and fun to watch. We then went to the Summer Palace. Almost overwhelming in size but so glad we got to see it. We finished at the Lama Temple which was very interesting as they were celebrating Buddha's birthday. The temple was filled with chanting monks and lots of burning incense. Many worshippers there. They finished the service and began walking around the temple, still chanting. It was super interesting! Jackie took us to the silk shop and it was really interesting. Learned a lot! Glad we took this tour and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Karsten H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did the Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace tour with our very friendly and competent guide Chris. The combination of the Great Wall with the Summer Palace turned out to be a good mix for us as first time visitors to China. On our way to the Summer Palace we had an excellent lunch in a local restaurant. Everything was very convenient and professionally organized. I call this value for money!

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Julie R A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour had a total of eight people, and we had a comfortable small bus with an excellent driver who transported us to our sites. The tour guide Selena was outstanding. She spoke clear English and prepped us before each sight and along the way. She kept good track of us and kept us at a good pace. We started across the street from Tiananmen Square and then went to the Forbidden City - an amazing place. We stopped at a Chinese medicine business where we had a short lecture on Reflexology and were encouraged to get a foot massage and speak with a Chinese doctor to have him give us medical advice. Our guide suggested we give 30 Yuan for the foot massage, but we did not pay the doctor. Each doctor had an interpreter who told us our ailments individually and suggested remedies we could buy from them. The rest of the day we had a tasty lunch at a small restaurant, visited the Temple of Heaven, had a tour of a silk factory, a pearl business, and finally the Summer Palace. It was a lot in one day, but Selena moved us along and did an excellent job on the whole tour. Some of the sales pitches at the businesses were a little strong especially when you're not accustomed to being assigned a salesperson who shadows you and encourages you to buy things, but that's part of the culture. I appreciated all the sights we saw and how much we were able to do in one day. Thank you.

Doing what: Beijing by Bus: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven and Summer Palace

cox.kylie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sharon and Wang were awesome! Sharon ordered us a great lunch and everything was very easy: from pickup to drop-off. The only problem we ran into is that Sharon got a little distracted toward the end when she took us through the Summer Palace. Definitely 5/5 experience!

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Tse Wei C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Sharon, actually came earlier to start the tour as it was a holiday and traffic might be bad. took a ski lift up the Great Wall and toboggan down which was interesting as we never expected to see rides there. Sharon was very knowledgeable and made the trip easy. The day was extremely smoggy so views were not optimal especially at the Summer Palace, which was also very crowded. Would recommend skipping the Summer Palace unless you know its going to have perfectly clear weather.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Llamaschool United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, don't miss this one! Our guide was William Kuang, highly recommended. He got us to the Panda Garden slightly before 8:30, we practically had them to ourselves. We took a dragon boat up the waterway into the Summer Palace grounds as was the case with other Hanteng tours I took this week, our guide seemed to know the ticketing agents and we were moved to the front of the line for the boats embarrassing, but efficient. A good 2 hours spent @ the Summer Palace, we visited the temple and the living quarter. Lunch was fine, a place that caters to tour buses in the Olympic complex. There were two shopping stops, the pearls and the tea house these are unavoidable unless you hire a private guide--don't buy if you don't want to and you DO have room to bargain @ the pearl factory. Lama Palace was last, our guide is a practicing Buddhist and demonstrated the incense rituals and prayers, explaining everything. As we left, he noticed the monks were giving out fruit from the day's offering tables and shooed us all back in to receive them. Very good luck, evidently!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Jamie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The private tour for my family of four was the way to go. Sally did a great job. My favorite part of our trip to China was our time at the Great Wall. I would have liked to have been there for the whole day. We walked as much as we could and it was not very crowded, so that was nice for photos. The toboggan ride down was fun too. We had a good lunch at a local restaurant. I have to eat gluten free and Sally did a good job of ordering so I could try everything. The Summer Palace was beautiful. It was nice to have a guide to share the meaning of everything. Pickup and drop off at our hotel made life easier.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Vicki M Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very full day. Our guide Jacky was ver knowledgable and enthusiastic. It was very crowded as it was the weekend but Jacky worked his magic and got us through quickly. The Forbidden Palace is a must see!

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Bettina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and bang for your buck! You see all the most important sights of Beijing with a very informative guide. Would have liked a bit more time to see the Summer Palace and explore the parks around the Temple of Heaven.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Eva was only great. Wall and Summer Palace visits were highlights of our 2 weeks in China. Restaurant Eva selected for lunch was one of the best meals we had on our trip. Five stars all the way

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Christina gave us a wonderful experience on the Great Wall and Summer Palace. Her English was excellent and her lively, outgoing personality was greatly appreciated. We thoroughly enjoyed our time with her and would highly recommend her to anyone! The sites we visited were fantastic!

Thanks for a memorable experience.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Pauline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour and guide and driver. We were able to arrange a train station pickup for one of our party and wait for a shower, for an extra cost which we were gladly willing to pay.
This part of the Wall is quite rugged and I would not recommend it for the weak. Lots of stairs even after the ski lift up to the wall. The toboggan ride down was a blast!!
There is an option of taking the ski lift down again or the gondola both ways.
Our guide gave us historical insight into the wall and the Summer palace. I could not imagine going to the Summer palace without a guide to explain the history and significance of the buildings we saw. It would not be the same.
I would highly recommend this tour for adventuresome people and this tour operator.
Our guide, Yelu, spoke fluent English, being an English major in university. She was happy to allow us to spend as much time as we liked at various places. Lots of pictures were taken.
It was nice to be able to phone the tour operator prior to the day to arrange for the train pickup and ask questions. Viator sent the contact information in order to do that.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

VW USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great way to see the most important sites in Beijing in one day! We started nice and early so we beat the crowds to Tienanmen Square and the Forbidden City. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer all our questions about the locations we visited, Beijing and Chinese culture. I was not too fond of the visits to the silk factory and pearl shop as they felt like tourist traps. The Temple of Heaven and Summer Palace were also fantastic and we were lucky enough to have great weather the day of the visit. Since it was before peak tourist season there were only 4 of us on the tour. Overall a lovely day in Beijing- I especially recommend it if you are short on time and want to get the most out of your time in the city.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Paul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organised trip with knowledgeable and polite guide. Pick up and drop off at the hotel. We have been on several tours in Beijing and this is one worth going on. There is an optional boat ride in the Summer Palace that we took as well at nominal extra charge.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message