Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Summer Palace (Yiheyuan)

The Summer Palace - also known as Yiheyuan - was built in 1750. In those days, it was called the Garden of Clear Ripples, and was a lakeside oasis where the royal court could escape the dust and heat of the Forbidden City in summer.  It was razed ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Baron Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Eva was great!! Very friendly, knowledgeable and organised. If I was recommending this to anyone I would suggest maybe just doing the Great Wall alone in a day. It's a pretty big day especially if you're not fit. Not impossible by any means, but after the Wall we were all exhausted and requested the short version of the Summer Palace, which is obviously not ideal. Overall all a BRILLIANT day and highly recommend this tour AND Eva!!

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Jamie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I didn and #39;t end up doing this tour as my hotel pick up was a bit of a muddle, but the tour company were so helpful and they booked me the next day for a different tour which inc, Forbidden City, Tianamen Square, Temple of Heaven and the Summer Palace. Tour guide was amazing, Jackie :) very informative.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

jennifer m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Jackie made this day super fun! He talks super fast and does have quite an accent but is very open to answering questions and is so funny! We loved seeing the giant Pandas at the zoo. It was early in the day and the pandas were very active and fun to watch. We then went to the Summer Palace. Almost overwhelming in size but so glad we got to see it. We finished at the Lama Temple which was very interesting as they were celebrating Buddha's birthday. The temple was filled with chanting monks and lots of burning incense. Many worshippers there. They finished the service and began walking around the temple, still chanting. It was super interesting! Jackie took us to the silk shop and it was really interesting. Learned a lot! Glad we took this tour and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Karsten H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did the Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace tour with our very friendly and competent guide Chris. The combination of the Great Wall with the Summer Palace turned out to be a good mix for us as first time visitors to China. On our way to the Summer Palace we had an excellent lunch in a local restaurant. Everything was very convenient and professionally organized. I call this value for money!

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Julie R A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour had a total of eight people, and we had a comfortable small bus with an excellent driver who transported us to our sites. The tour guide Selena was outstanding. She spoke clear English and prepped us before each sight and along the way. She kept good track of us and kept us at a good pace. We started across the street from Tiananmen Square and then went to the Forbidden City - an amazing place. We stopped at a Chinese medicine business where we had a short lecture on Reflexology and were encouraged to get a foot massage and speak with a Chinese doctor to have him give us medical advice. Our guide suggested we give 30 Yuan for the foot massage, but we did not pay the doctor. Each doctor had an interpreter who told us our ailments individually and suggested remedies we could buy from them. The rest of the day we had a tasty lunch at a small restaurant, visited the Temple of Heaven, had a tour of a silk factory, a pearl business, and finally the Summer Palace. It was a lot in one day, but Selena moved us along and did an excellent job on the whole tour. Some of the sales pitches at the businesses were a little strong especially when you're not accustomed to being assigned a salesperson who shadows you and encourages you to buy things, but that's part of the culture. I appreciated all the sights we saw and how much we were able to do in one day. Thank you.

Doing what: Beijing by Bus: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven and Summer Palace

cox.kylie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Sharon and Wang were awesome! Sharon ordered us a great lunch and everything was very easy: from pickup to drop-off. The only problem we ran into is that Sharon got a little distracted toward the end when she took us through the Summer Palace. Definitely 5/5 experience!

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Tse Wei C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our guide, Sharon, actually came earlier to start the tour as it was a holiday and traffic might be bad. took a ski lift up the Great Wall and toboggan down which was interesting as we never expected to see rides there. Sharon was very knowledgeable and made the trip easy. The day was extremely smoggy so views were not optimal especially at the Summer Palace, which was also very crowded. Would recommend skipping the Summer Palace unless you know its going to have perfectly clear weather.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Llamaschool United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, don't miss this one! Our guide was William Kuang, highly recommended. He got us to the Panda Garden slightly before 8:30, we practically had them to ourselves. We took a dragon boat up the waterway into the Summer Palace grounds as was the case with other Hanteng tours I took this week, our guide seemed to know the ticketing agents and we were moved to the front of the line for the boats embarrassing, but efficient. A good 2 hours spent @ the Summer Palace, we visited the temple and the living quarter. Lunch was fine, a place that caters to tour buses in the Olympic complex. There were two shopping stops, the pearls and the tea house these are unavoidable unless you hire a private guide--don't buy if you don't want to and you DO have room to bargain @ the pearl factory. Lama Palace was last, our guide is a practicing Buddhist and demonstrated the incense rituals and prayers, explaining everything. As we left, he noticed the monks were giving out fruit from the day's offering tables and shooed us all back in to receive them. Very good luck, evidently!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Jamie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The private tour for my family of four was the way to go. Sally did a great job. My favorite part of our trip to China was our time at the Great Wall. I would have liked to have been there for the whole day. We walked as much as we could and it was not very crowded, so that was nice for photos. The toboggan ride down was fun too. We had a good lunch at a local restaurant. I have to eat gluten free and Sally did a good job of ordering so I could try everything. The Summer Palace was beautiful. It was nice to have a guide to share the meaning of everything. Pickup and drop off at our hotel made life easier.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Bettina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and bang for your buck! You see all the most important sights of Beijing with a very informative guide. Would have liked a bit more time to see the Summer Palace and explore the parks around the Temple of Heaven.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Brian C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Eva was only great. Wall and Summer Palace visits were highlights of our 2 weeks in China. Restaurant Eva selected for lunch was one of the best meals we had on our trip. Five stars all the way

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Christina gave us a wonderful experience on the Great Wall and Summer Palace. Her English was excellent and her lively, outgoing personality was greatly appreciated. We thoroughly enjoyed our time with her and would highly recommend her to anyone! The sites we visited were fantastic!

Thanks for a memorable experience.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

Pauline M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour and guide and driver. We were able to arrange a train station pickup for one of our party and wait for a shower, for an extra cost which we were gladly willing to pay.
This part of the Wall is quite rugged and I would not recommend it for the weak. Lots of stairs even after the ski lift up to the wall. The toboggan ride down was a blast!!
There is an option of taking the ski lift down again or the gondola both ways.
Our guide gave us historical insight into the wall and the Summer palace. I could not imagine going to the Summer palace without a guide to explain the history and significance of the buildings we saw. It would not be the same.
I would highly recommend this tour for adventuresome people and this tour operator.
Our guide, Yelu, spoke fluent English, being an English major in university. She was happy to allow us to spend as much time as we liked at various places. Lots of pictures were taken.
It was nice to be able to phone the tour operator prior to the day to arrange for the train pickup and ask questions. Viator sent the contact information in order to do that.

Doing what: Private Day Tour to Mutianyu Great Wall and Summer Palace from Beijing

VW USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great way to see the most important sites in Beijing in one day! We started nice and early so we beat the crowds to Tienanmen Square and the Forbidden City. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer all our questions about the locations we visited, Beijing and Chinese culture. I was not too fond of the visits to the silk factory and pearl shop as they felt like tourist traps. The Temple of Heaven and Summer Palace were also fantastic and we were lucky enough to have great weather the day of the visit. Since it was before peak tourist season there were only 4 of us on the tour. Overall a lovely day in Beijing- I especially recommend it if you are short on time and want to get the most out of your time in the city.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Paul

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very well organised trip with knowledgeable and polite guide. Pick up and drop off at the hotel. We have been on several tours in Beijing and this is one worth going on. There is an optional boat ride in the Summer Palace that we took as well at nominal extra charge.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Voyager

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We saw the major sights in Beijing. It was a busy day...but worthwhile. We saw 4 weddings at The Temple of Heaven while we were there. Loved the Summer Palace and our trip over the lake in a dragon boat. Great day trip.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Paul S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour. Cynthia our guide was excellent. Only 4 of us in the group. Had a great day. Summer palace is a must see in Beijing

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour 3 of 4 in Beijing and what a way to start than waking up early and getting to the Panda Garden while the Pandas are still awake and eating, our guide Li got us there just after opening and they were quite active it was a beautiful sight and as the only 2 people on the tour for the second day running we had the guides full attention.

I have reviewed all my tours in Beijing please see my review on Badaling Great wall in relation to the "full day" and side stops on the tours.
Then it was on to the summer palace which is an absolutely stunning place and although on the tour you don't get to go up to the actual palace, just in the grounds you still get to see the amazing scenery, the marble boat and you get to ride across the lake on a dragon boat for a very small extra charge.
Then another lovely lunch after a tour of a pearl factory my wife spent some small change on a bracelet and that was all we wanted and no pressure from anyone to buy more, they respect no in China you just have to say it.
Then the Lama Temple, a highly religious place as expected and very interesting.
Another very lovely day in Beijing

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

inesborreicho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

I great way to visit the main must see attractions. The tour guide (Jackie) was friendly, helpful and funny. He shared curious stories in all sites making an effort to give more information than just the basic historic facts. I only wish we had more time to see the Summer Palace which is spectacular.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

jrscotto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Amazing views at the Summer Palace, impressive architecture at the Lama Temple, and cute, cuddly panda bears made for a fantastic tour. Our guide, Cynthia, was very energetic and excited about giving us a glimpse into China's long history. We enjoyed every moment of the tour and the time that we got to spend with Cynthia!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Pencefn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

In contrast to the tour to the Great Wall and Ming Tombs the day before this was a fantastic tour. As with the previous day my wife and I were the only ones on the tour. The tour was comfortably paced for us. Tiamanmen Square was busy due to being the Mid-Autumn Festival. It was unfortunate that it was raining as we walked through the Forbidden City, however our guide (Cherry - if that is her real name) took us along the right side away from the masses and slightly higher than the main throng of visitors. She regularly pointed out photo opportunities.

Getting back to the coach it was onto the Silk Factory. Although there was an opportunity to buy, there was no sign of any high pressure sales.

Onto the Heavenly Temple and the rain had stopped. Again our guide provided us with excellent information and provided us with time to have a look by ourselves. Before lunch it was on the Pearl Factory. Getting a theme here? Yes - we were shown how fresh water pearls are cultured and farmed, but it was followed by a purchase opportunity, but as with the Silk Factory no high pressure sales techniques used.

Lunch was at a restaurant as was good quality and quantity. And onto the Summer Palace. By now the sun had come out. The Summer Palace was busy, again because of the Mid-Autumn Festival. We walked to the Marble Ship, before coming back on the Dragon Boat (you will have to pay extra, but well worth it).

Would I recommend it - most definitely. We were not subject to high sales pressure at the Silk or Pearl Factories. Cherry was a great guide.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Kerin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our guide 'Jackie Lee' was the highlight of the day. We are still talking about him! This is a great tour. The Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven are very interesting and the Summer Palace is beautiful. I wish these tours avoided local businesses like the pearl factory though.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Jason was excellent and knowledgeable guide. Summer Palace was beautifully cool. One small observation - would have enjoyed slightly more time here and less time in government pearl, tea and chinese medicine estblishments.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent full-day tour which covered the main sights in Beijing. Knowledgeable guide who genuinely enjoyed role and culture of the attractions. Although Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City could be reached easily alone, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven more difficult to locate so this tour was invaluable. As with Great Wall tour, visit to 'tourist trap' shopping sites annoying but likely to subsidise the price.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day tour. The guide Jason was fantastic with lots of great information and keen to answer any questions. Along with the Zoo, Summer Palace and Lama Temple we also went to a pearl shop which had a lot a beautiful items for sale at a reasonable price, and also to the silk factory. We weren't rushed at any time. Jason also assisted in engaging the locals, eg where artists were practicing dishu at the Summer Palace. Pick up and drop off times were as agreed. Lunch was at a local restaurant and there was plenty to eat.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message