Beijing ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of Heaven (Tian tan)

A Ming temple, Temple of Heaven or Tian tan was built by the Yongle Emperor, who also built the Forbidden City, as a stage for the important rituals performed by the emperor, or Son of Heaven. Chief among these were the supplication to the heavens ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 39 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cdmannion

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing Day. The Temple of Heaven was where the Emperor went to perform a special ceremony and pray for good Harvests for the people. Interesting architecture and colors. Acrobatic show was superb. The Chinese acrobats are the best in the world. The Peking duck Dinner was delicious. Our tour guide,Lily was exceptional in her knowledge and was fun and interesting,. Our driver did a superb job getting us everywhere, as well. This tour gets 5 Stars and Is a must if you are in Beijing. Thanks again, Lily!!
Chris and Diana Canada

Doing what: Half-Day Tour in Beijing: the Temple of Heaven, the Hongqiao Market, Acrobatic show and Beijing Duck Dinner

Rishi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour all around! This was the quickest way to see around these places. The tour guide was awesome at taking us around, avoiding the large crowds, and very knowledge about the sites. The only thing I thought was odd is that we have to pay an extra 20 RMB to go inside the Temple of Heaven. I thought this would be covered. However, the tour guide allowed me to go inside the Temple of Heaven. It was totally worth the 20 RMB to see this temple. Also, I was the only one on the tour, and had a private car and tour guide. I got very lucky, so take for what it is worth.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Temple of Heaven

Valerie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great way to see the cool sites in Beijing!
Our guide, Kevin, was very knowledgeable and fun. One cool thing about this tour, in addition to visiting the Temple of heaven, Forbidden City, and Tiananmen Square, Kevin gave us the background or history of certain parts of each venue then allowed us to explore on our own.
We also ate lunch at China's first KFC! A must do.

Doing what: Small Group Beijing City Tour

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide, Gu, was excellent. The Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven are extremely interesting--unfortunately, when we were there, there was a huge conference going on of Chinese governmental officials from across the country, so Tiananmen Square was completely closed off and we weren't able to tour it. The tour also stops at a silk factory and a tea house--these are both very interesting demonstrations, but they both concluded with a pretty high-pressure sales effort by the staff there. The pressure is polite, but it is obvious that the expectation is that the tourists will make a purchase. Just be prepared.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Temple of Heaven

Bettina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and bang for your buck! You see all the most important sights of Beijing with a very informative guide. Would have liked a bit more time to see the Summer Palace and explore the parks around the Temple of Heaven.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I am SO glad I went through Viator to get a tour of Beijing. My time in the city was short, so taking a guided tour was the way to go for me. For everything it included, I thought it was really well-priced and my guide was very knowledgable and optimized the time I had. In addition to the major attractions, I was taken to one of the most well-known and popular Silk factories in Beijing and also sampled 7 types of Chinese tea at a tea house near the Temple of Heaven and was able to do some shopping for family. My guide also took me to an authentic Chinese restaurant as we sampled many delicious dishes. I highly recumbent doing this trip and would say it is well worth the cost!

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

Wai Ping W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My tour guide Cherry is very knowledgeable. I particularly like Temple of Heaven. Forbidden City is very pretty too.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

John J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My tour was a private tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing 5533CBJH. The tour was thorough and interesting. To walk through Tiananmen Square was to get an appreciation for the size of the square and the People's Hall. Next was the Forbidden City. My guide, Cris, was thorough in describing the history and life within these walls. We litteraly walked through history as we examined the architecture and through the various halls that were home to the history and maturing of the art of pottery. The grounds and buildings were beautiful. We next took an optional side trip to a silk manufacturer, which was interesting. I had time to review their shop - too many items to choose from! From there we went to a local restaurant. I don't know if it is policy, but since I was on my own, I ate lunch alone. I would recommend giving the client the option - I would have liked to carry on our conversations over lunch.

We finished the tour at the Temple of Heaven: a very expansive garden with historic temples and buildings, including Echo Hall, the Hall of Prayer for Good Harvests and the Round Temple. But the walk through the woods and the serenity of nature was a nice end of a long day. Cris, my tour guide, was genuinely kind, informative and easy to converse with. She answered my questions and helped me gain greater understanding about Chinese life, culture and history. I recommend this tour and I hope you can get Cris.

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

Ling N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a good tour. Enjoyed the Peking duck!! The duck was excellent!! Temple of Heaven was impressive. The Kung Fu show as more of a story of one child and not that much fighting but still interesting. Overall -- a great experience.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

lou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing! Our tour guide Jacky was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and his English was very easy to understand. The history of the forbidden city, temple of heaven and the summer place are something you should for sure see in Beijing.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

VW USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great way to see the most important sites in Beijing in one day! We started nice and early so we beat the crowds to Tienanmen Square and the Forbidden City. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer all our questions about the locations we visited, Beijing and Chinese culture. I was not too fond of the visits to the silk factory and pearl shop as they felt like tourist traps. The Temple of Heaven and Summer Palace were also fantastic and we were lucky enough to have great weather the day of the visit. Since it was before peak tourist season there were only 4 of us on the tour. Overall a lovely day in Beijing- I especially recommend it if you are short on time and want to get the most out of your time in the city.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Voyager

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We saw the major sights in Beijing. It was a busy day...but worthwhile. We saw 4 weddings at The Temple of Heaven while we were there. Loved the Summer Palace and our trip over the lake in a dragon boat. Great day trip.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour 2 of 4 in Beijing and a more cultural and historical look at Beijing, We had Jackie Li for the second day running and on this tour my wife and I were the only 2 so a private tour which was lovely. I have already made reference to other peoples reviews relating to "full days" and side trips on tours in my review of the Badaling section of the great wall, I think that they both add to the tours and make them more comfortable. After our tour of Tiananmen Square and the forbidden city (Where our guide showed us where to get the best photos away from the crowds) then it was on to the silk factory where we bought some lovely gifts for our family, again no pressure to buy and if you say no they don't mind as I didn't buy things on every tour. However my wife had wanted to go to the silk market anyway, yes you can buy things cheaper elsewhere and we did that as well but the quality really was better in the silk factory so just decide whether you want cheap from the silk market or well made from the factory, there isn't a huge difference in price.
Then we stopped at the temple of heaven and the walk through the park and gardens was wonderful with local people meeting to dance, play or yoga in the park is really something special and shows a real sense of community in Beijing that is lovely. I realise I don't mention the sites themselves much but the speak for themselves.
Then off for lunch which was pleasant everyday although the first day at the jade factory was probably the best or at the enamel factory but all lunches on every tour were very nice and plenty of food.
Then back to the hotel by 2pm and off out for the afternoon.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Temple of Heaven

Pencefn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

In contrast to the tour to the Great Wall and Ming Tombs the day before this was a fantastic tour. As with the previous day my wife and I were the only ones on the tour. The tour was comfortably paced for us. Tiamanmen Square was busy due to being the Mid-Autumn Festival. It was unfortunate that it was raining as we walked through the Forbidden City, however our guide (Cherry - if that is her real name) took us along the right side away from the masses and slightly higher than the main throng of visitors. She regularly pointed out photo opportunities.

Getting back to the coach it was onto the Silk Factory. Although there was an opportunity to buy, there was no sign of any high pressure sales.

Onto the Heavenly Temple and the rain had stopped. Again our guide provided us with excellent information and provided us with time to have a look by ourselves. Before lunch it was on the Pearl Factory. Getting a theme here? Yes - we were shown how fresh water pearls are cultured and farmed, but it was followed by a purchase opportunity, but as with the Silk Factory no high pressure sales techniques used.

Lunch was at a restaurant as was good quality and quantity. And onto the Summer Palace. By now the sun had come out. The Summer Palace was busy, again because of the Mid-Autumn Festival. We walked to the Marble Ship, before coming back on the Dragon Boat (you will have to pay extra, but well worth it).

Would I recommend it - most definitely. We were not subject to high sales pressure at the Silk or Pearl Factories. Cherry was a great guide.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Kerin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our guide 'Jackie Lee' was the highlight of the day. We are still talking about him! This is a great tour. The Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven are very interesting and the Summer Palace is beautiful. I wish these tours avoided local businesses like the pearl factory though.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent full-day tour which covered the main sights in Beijing. Knowledgeable guide who genuinely enjoyed role and culture of the attractions. Although Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City could be reached easily alone, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven more difficult to locate so this tour was invaluable. As with Great Wall tour, visit to 'tourist trap' shopping sites annoying but likely to subsidise the price.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

jenscane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Our tour picked us up at the hotel on time. It was just the two of us and one other woman on the tour. Our guide was full of information and talked almost non-stop. This was an extremely fast-paced tour. I would recommend this tour to people who only have a short time in Beijing because it crams a lot into on day. We first went to the Summer Palace and although we spent about 1.5 hours there, we only saw a fraction of it. You could easily spend an entire day there. The next stop was the Pearl Market where the showed us how pearls are made and opened an oyster. We were brought up to the next level where they wanted us to buy pearls. Afterwards, we were taken to the Temple of Heaven and spent about 45 minutes there. From there we went to lunch at a buffet. The food was not great. All of the dishes were vaguely labelled 'pork', 'chicken' and 'vegetable'. After lunch we were taken to the Silk Market. Another shopping experience where they showed you how silk is made. They let my boyfriend open up one of the cocoons, stretch the silk and help make a layer of a quilt. It was a fun experience and we did end up splurging on two silk quilts. After was Tiananmen Square. We only really saw it from across the street, but we were there long enough for photos. We went directly into the Forbidden City and again, we were there for over an hour, but only saw a small section of it. The guide walked very fast and we were exhausted by the end of the day. He was full of information and offered to take photos for us (which was the best part of being on such a small tour). There were a lot of people and panhandlers around the tourist attractions and having a mandarin speaking guide helped shoo them away faster. At the end of the tour, the guide offered to bring us to a cheap place for a foot massage. We were taken to a holistic medical school where we were given foot massages by students and the cost was whatever you tipped. Great tour even with the forced shopping stops.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

JENNIFER K Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Wonderful tour. We saw so much on this tour and our guide Jason was great. Once again we were the only two on this tour which really made it special. We had lunch in the most beautiful gardens and Jason made a point of taking us down to the Echo Wall at the Temple of Heaven. It was further to walk and wasn't normally on the tour but he did it for us and yes, the Echo Wall really does work. This tour with Jason as your guide is a definite for Beijing.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I recently had some tours from some of your lovely guides around Beijing of the forbidden city, temple of heaven, Beijing opera and the night walking tour. The tour guides were wonderful; very knowledgeable of the areas, and fun people to spend time with. I was very impressed with their prompt and timely starts to the tours, which was especially important being in a new city as it was reassuring that I was meeting them in the correct place and there was no confusion. I have experienced poor timeliness in the past so I was really appreciative of the tour guides for this attribute. The tours were well structured, and very good value for money, and I was happy that I was neither rushed nor delayed with the time I spent at each location and with the guides. The mixture of private cars, local transportation, and planned meals was excellent and I feel that I had a well rounded and informative experience in Beijing learning about the history and culture of the intriguing city. I particularly appreciated the professional experience and coordination between the main office, the guides, the locations visited and the drivers. I have been very happy with the experience and I fully recommend that others use Viator for planning their own tours. In light of this I have copied into this email my friend Ester who would like to organise some tours for Beijing, and I hope you are able to organise some fun activities for her! She is particularly interested in going to the Great Wall of China. Thank you very much for the wonderful experiences which I will carry with me for a life time!

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

Mark D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I went on the Beijing Private Tour on Thursday, 25 April 2013. The tour guide was excellent - friendly and knowledgeable. I would like to thank you for the gift and also allowing me to customize the tour to include the Temple of Heaven and Olympic Park. If I return to Beijing in the future I will be in touch to find out what other tours you have.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

Gary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

I wanted to tell you that our tour today was fantastic and incredible. My wife and I did the private tour. Our english speaking tour guide did an outstanding job. She provided us with great history and allowed us to move at a pace that made it possible for us to see many areas of the Forbidden City. We saw the beautiful porcelain. The silk factory was so much fun and our guide hosted a great lunch. Also, the Temple of Heaven was wonderful. I am completely satisfied and could not ask for anything more. I highly recommend this tour and our guide to anyone interested in this tour. Easily 5 stars out of 5

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

Phillip B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

I did two day tours in Beijing. Both were outstanding. On the first day to the Great Wall of China I was the only traveller and I had a driver and fantastic guide to myself. This gave my maximum flexibility at each attraction. Second day trip was to Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven, Summer Place - this day with just one other traveller - another great guide.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Else L Norway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

It was a great Beijing tour, with the Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Gerald L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Jackie Li JL was my tour guide. Reliable and punctual, relatively good English speaker, energetic, joyous, empathetic, funny, sensitive and gives a sense of security to me. Note, this is my 1st tour and I normally plan my own itineraries.

Start: 7am for me.

1st and 2nd Stop - Tiananmen Sq and Forbidden City : Historical, huge and spacious. Loads of history, JL can provide you both short and long versions. Tian Sq is the gateway into the city. Bring your passport, good walking shoes, and sense of humor. It's a 2.5hr walk. We took the EAST RHS pathway through the city which was less crowded by 95, benches on the corridors to rest, better angle for photography trust me and relaxing for an autumn day walk. Covered too, if it rained. JL was sensitive enough to see one of our members had difficulty walking. - You need to walk to the center to see the insides of the 3 buildings on the outer court.

3rd - Silk Factory : Shoppers kindly bring your Credit C. Loads of nice silks, Duvet Cover set was worth it, RMB3.5k. I bought loads of scarves. Simply awesome!

4th - Lunch : Reasonable unelaborated simple 4 course Chinese meal. There were 4 of us, so good for a nice table by the window.

5th - Temple of Heaven : Relaxing, traditional music played from afar, retirees hung out to gamble, long corridors leading to the top of the temple. Simply breath taking, spiritual honestly.

6th - Pearl Factory : I didn't buy anything here. A US tourist said the sea water pearls were overpriced. We picked an oyster, and was given a tiny pearl from that oyster. Yaay!

7th - Summer Palace: JL did a good job telling stories of the Empress Dowager. The lake was peaceful, the architecture was inspiring.

8th - Hotel : End at 5pm and brace through the Beijing Traffic Jam! We walked more than 10km, so we didn't mind sitting. Recommended? YES! JL, thanks for the guide, you are really good at it!

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Lauren E

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We had a very enjoyable day out - visiting the majority of the main things to do in Beijing! Guide was lovely and spoke English well. we were in a relatively small group which was nice as it wasn't too crowded. The driver was however half an hour late as they couldn't find our apartment and nobody was given our phone number to phone us. The guide was lovely and even offered us the opportunity to go on a boat in the man made lake between the summer palace and temple of heaven.
Another flaw to the trip was visiting a silk making factory which was a massive gimmick to make us buy a quilt/pillow/clothes. Nobody bought anything so it was a waste of time.
Also the guide said there was a lot of traffic so on return to our apartment they just dropped us 10 minutes from where we were staying and said for us to walk from there. We booked this tour as it was a pick up and drop off to our APARTMENT/HOTEL not for us to have to walk 20 minutes to get home after paying for this service. Other than that we enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message