The best flavors of China are on the menus of Beijing, China's capital city. Influenced by its neighboring regions as well as the imperial cuisine of the Forbidden City, the food is characterized by its bold flavors and hearty preparations. Here ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 134 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Korey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a wonderful time learning the in and outs of the market, then heading back to create our own dumplings. We made everything from the dough, to the filling, to the sauce - and cooked them! Neat little apartment we were in - great cooking experience! Thank you!!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

i_balfour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The acrobatic show as extraordinary. We were on the edges of our seats and thoroughly entertained. The Peking duck dinner was also very good with a good choice of dishes and more than enough to eat.

Joan and Ian
Ottawa, Canada

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

jennifer m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the best things we did in Beijing! Highly recommend! The chef was a terrific teacher. We loved going to the market with him and seeing all the amazing foods there. The menu we prepared was absolutely delicious! Loved using the Chinese cleaver and the wok. The food he had us prepare was so good. We loved being in a hutong. This was the first morning after flying in and it was the perfect introduction to Beijing and to China!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Ash

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

If you are interested in seeing how local Beijingers catch some grub check this tour out. The Hutong or neighborhood we visited was right next door to our hotel on WANGFUJING St and yet a world away. We tried all kinds of dishes that I would have never even known about had I not taken to tour. WARNING: read the list of dishes you will try in the details section, not at all for those who are not adventurous! You can pass on certain items, but you will miss out on all the fun if you skip too many. The tour guide is wonderful and as local as you can get she even took us to her home under renovations in the hutong for a real close look. Great memories and a wonderful learning experience.

Doing what: Beijing Private Hutong Food Walking Tour

Tracy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a fantastic time and the guide Viviane gave us excellent information really worth doing

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

SOOOOOO Good! The show was amazing! Absolutely amazing. For how much the tour cost, the seats could have been much better though. We were off to the side so the view for everything wasn't the best. As I said, for how much the tour cost, they should have purchased VIP seats. The dinner was good. There wasn't much duck to go around. Luckily, the rest of the group didn't actually like duck. They take you to a very touristy place that obviously caters towards white people so the food wasn't the greatest. They do provide more than just the duck though. So there is plenty of food. There were only five people in our group and they bought out enough to feed an army.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Ann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour. We made chinese dumplings. We prepared 3 different fillings vegetarian, pork and beef and we prepared them 3 ways steamed, boiled and fried.. It started with a visit to the local market to purchase ingredients for the cooking class. Then we returned to the instructors house to prepare the dumplings. The class was fun, informative and the results were delicious.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This class was a lot to f fun! The trip to the market was great because the chef took the time to walk through pointing out all the different items, their taste, origins, etc. the food was amazing and was fun to learn the techniques. Would definitely take more classes here if I had the opportunity!! Thank you for a great experience!!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Llamaschool United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

As a single traveler, I didn't want to go to a Peking Duck restaurant on my ownwho orders a whole or even half duck? And I'd read good things about the Acrobatic Show, so I went for it. The restaurant that we were taken to clearly catered to international tourists but the chef did actually carve our duck at the table, even though our guide had warned us that he might not be able to b/c it was 'high season.' The server demonstrated the appropriate way to fold the duck and condiments into the sleeve, and we were offered wine with dinner and checked on often. We were given fruit, a salad, soup, and four entrées kung pao, orange chicken, an egg and chicken dish and broccoli beef for the four persons in the party. The acrobatic show was incredible. One of the highlights of my trip-- it made me want to bring my kids to Beijingif they like the Cirque de Soleil show that passes through every year, they'll love this! If other reviews stated that the theater and costumes were tired and run-down, things have been overhauled since. Just amazing! Our tour guide was William Kuang, who was also the guide on my tour of the Summer Palace, Panda Garden and Lama Temple. A former accountant who is thrilled to be working as a tour guide and sharing the culture of Beijing with foreigners, William is highly recommended, as is this tour package!

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Jamie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My teenage daughters, husband and I all cooked at this class and had a fantastic time. The market tour was very interesting too. I have to eat gluten free and they were very accommodating, substituting ingredients so I could have all the recipes. Everything was tasty and we had a relaxing time. I bought a handmade knife for my kitchen at home. Our only challenge was getting there during rush hour. Metro was our best bet.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour!! The market was so interesting to see, our guide was personable and knowledgeable, and the dumplings we made were amazing! We were so glad we took this class.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

After a very long flight from Chicago, we arrived in Beijing and got to our hotel pretty late at night. We woke quickly the next morning thanks to jet lag and excitement to take the Market Tour and Dumpling cooking class. It was the perfect first day for our 5 day trip to Beijing. The market tour was my wife, our chef, and myself and we had a great time venturing through the seasonal vegetables, noodle counters, and protein areas fish area, pork, beef, etc.. After we returned we prepared for the cooking portion and were joined by three women from Norway. The chef was personable, patient, funny, and make the entire experience something that I'd do again anytime I am in Beijing. Thanks again!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Gail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This cooking class was truly worth it. From start to finish it was informative and interactive. Our instructors were pleasant and attentive to every detail. The market tour was to a lovely market nearby to buy the ingredients for the meal we were cooking. A worthwhile addition to our Beijing experience. A tour not to be missed.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Anna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Highly Recommend! I had the most delightful and instructive experience with Chef Zhou Chao and was lucky enough to be the only student in class. He is knowledgable, skilled, charming and an excellent teacher. After a detailed description of the differences between the wine, soy sauces and vinegars we would be using, we headed off to a gigantic indoor market to buy vegetables, tofu and meat for our menu.

I loved discovering many new-to-me fruits and veggies at the market and Chef Zhou was most patient in identifying anything I pointed out. What looked like zucchini, turned out to be young loofah, which when older turn into those bath scrubbers!

Back at his spacious kitchen, he demonstrated how a Chinese cleaver could take the place of several different knives, by smashing garlic, julienning vegetables or scoring and slicing meat. Even though I am an accomplished cook, this part of the class was a gem!

After preparing all our ingredients, we stood side by side at his range to cook the dishes in our woks. I learned so much through this arrangement and could match my efforts to his: from swirling the oil to flipping the food in the wok instead of of stirring it around. He explained how his method would do a better job of cooking each piece properly.

Then, before sitting down to a delicious lunch, we compared tastes of his version of Mapo Tofu, Gong bao chicken and dry stir fried green beans to mine. I learned so much and will definitely make these dishes at home now. A wonderful class with a great teacher!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Arianne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Other than the Great Wall trek, This tour was a highlight of my time in Beijing. There were only 2 other people on the tour and we went to a very local market. It was great to have a local that could speak the language and explain everything weird and wonderful to us. We had some sensational street food including Donkey burgers. I can't recommend it enough. If I ever return to Beijing I would to it again.

Doing what: Small-Group Beijing Street Food Night Tour

Louis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very well planned and my Guide Cynthia was very informative and spoke English well. Show was very professional and the theartre was in common district so the local people were the audience. Very much local culture and Chinese tourist, not fancy and dressy casual dress is fine. Would recommend

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Firstly, I would highly recommend booking this tour as there aren't many people who travel independently in Beijing, hence there were only 4 of us in total on this tour. The service was fantastic. The Acrobatic show was incredible, unlike anything I've ever seen before!! Following this, we were taken to a Peking Duck restaurant where we were served this plus a lot of other food, which was more than enough for us to eat - we weren't in danger of going hungry! A really great tour

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Nicole P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! We really enjoyed our 4 hour tour through the Hutong's and getting to sample a large variety of local food. We tried so many things we hadn't gotten to try before and really liked most of them. Qing was an excellent guide and we learned a lot of history about the hutong's and the food we were eating. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Beijing Private Hutong Food Walking Tour

leona.tooley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wish I could rate this tour 5 stars!!! This was one of the highlights of my trip to Beijing. My travel buddy and I arrived to find that we were the only two people in the cooking class that day, so we basically had a private cooking class all to ourselves! Our class started with a trip to the local market in the hutongs. This was surprisingly very enjoyable as our tour leader walked us through all the key fruits, veg and spices that are important to Chinese cooking. Upon returning to the kitchen, we then cooked a Szechuan feast of Gang Bai chicken, Stir-fried green beans, Ma Pao Tofu and Beer duck. Our tour guide was an experienced chef and he was incredibly patient with us as he walked us through every step of the cooking process. The food was AMAZING! I have since cooked the recipes again since returning home to Australia using the take home recipe cards as a guide! and the food was great and I certainly impressed my family with my efforts. All up, the tour guide was incredibly professional and easy to get along with and the experience was a whole lot of fun. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Timothy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was an amazing cooking class, they are not messing around giving you an extremely immersive and intense cooking experience. Delicious and way too much food but in a great way :.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Elaine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What nice people and what a great day
I would do any class with this bother and sister they were fantastic.
Market visit was great and the cooking was a great experience
Come hungry as you prepare a lot but you can get a doggy bag

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Randy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very enjoyable day. I had to travel quite a ways by subway, but found the place with ease. It was nice to see how people lived and shopped in that area of the city. Well worth the money it cost for the class. The instructor was easy to understand and enjoyable to learn from.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Danny J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This cooking class really showed us some techniques for cooking Chinese style dishes that i have never known before. Our market tour allowed us to ask lots of questions about what the fabulous fresh fruits and vegetables we saw. Our instructor picked up the best ingredients here and had replacements back at the school for the ones not up to her standards. The class was small to allow for real individual instruction. My advice, download the map to find the location. We followed the text directions and walked confidently there, but the map you can find on the website or here uploaded by another reviewer will be very helpful.

The courtyard, hutong entrance and kitchen felt like you were learning right at someone's home their favorite family recipies. What an experience!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

eaglediva

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a little trouble finding the location, but once inside I had an amazing experience. The market tour was interesting. I found foods I never saw before but learned how to cook with them. I had a fantastic time learning the recipes and want to return to learn more!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message