Beijing is a wonderful mixture of the ancient and the modern, the past and the present. A true ancient citadel with a history of Emperors and temples, it is now the seat of communist power with a strong vision for the future. Modern skyscrapers ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 422 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ashish B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great experience. Summer palace is beautiful place to visit and William was very friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour to everybody

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Jessica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was AMAZING! It was a perfect day, perfect locations to visit, outstanding tour guide!! Ask to eat at the Jade Factory restaurant.....it was INCREDIBLE! Will always use Viator for future tours :

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

D N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was very good experience , personalized guided tour
It was a like a Private Tour in exclusive Lucury car

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Ellen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the most amazing tour with our personal guide (Sue Lyn) and driver. We enjoyed Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, went to a climb the Great Wall. Our guide even arranged a special lunch for my husband who has a very limited diet, while I enjoyed a very tasty Peking duck that was delicious!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Jamie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I didn and #39;t end up doing this tour as my hotel pick up was a bit of a muddle, but the tour company were so helpful and they booked me the next day for a different tour which inc, Forbidden City, Tianamen Square, Temple of Heaven and the Summer Palace. Tour guide was amazing, Jackie :) very informative.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

i_balfour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The acrobatic show as extraordinary. We were on the edges of our seats and thoroughly entertained. The Peking duck dinner was also very good with a good choice of dishes and more than enough to eat.

Joan and Ian
Ottawa, Canada

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

jennifer m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the best things we did in Beijing! Highly recommend! The chef was a terrific teacher. We loved going to the market with him and seeing all the amazing foods there. The menu we prepared was absolutely delicious! Loved using the Chinese cleaver and the wok. The food he had us prepare was so good. We loved being in a hutong. This was the first morning after flying in and it was the perfect introduction to Beijing and to China!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

jennifer m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Jackie made this day super fun! He talks super fast and does have quite an accent but is very open to answering questions and is so funny! We loved seeing the giant Pandas at the zoo. It was early in the day and the pandas were very active and fun to watch. We then went to the Summer Palace. Almost overwhelming in size but so glad we got to see it. We finished at the Lama Temple which was very interesting as they were celebrating Buddha's birthday. The temple was filled with chanting monks and lots of burning incense. Many worshippers there. They finished the service and began walking around the temple, still chanting. It was super interesting! Jackie took us to the silk shop and it was really interesting. Learned a lot! Glad we took this tour and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

jennifer m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We very much enjoyed this tour. It was just my husband and me with a private guide named Goo. He was very knowledgeable and patient answering all our questions and explaining the Forbidden City. He took us to the Badaling section of the wall but beyond where the crowds are. We were virtually alone in a mountainous part of the wall. It was breathtakingly beautiful and the weather in May was perfection! This was a true highlight of our time in Beijing. Highly recommend and couldn't say enough nice things about our guide Goo.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Annette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with a very informative english speaking guide, a must do tour for Beijing

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Stephen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had a Great Time. Very Educational. The Guide and Driver are some of the Best people I have ever meet. They make China Special in my Heart Steve Johnson

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Jesus S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Great Wall is a must do, it's amazing when you get on top and see the wall around you. Our tour guide Mr. Jacquie Lee was very knowledgable, friendly and happy to show us around. Arquitecture in the Forbidden City is impressive.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide and the tour itself was fun. The food they give you is Western style Chinese food. Not exactly what you actually get in China but still quite nice. The Lama Temple was amazing. It was beautiful and our tour guide had a lot of knowledge about everything. Be careful at the pearl factory. I bought an 18 carat gold charm with a pearl in it and the gold is peeling off and turning back so obviously not real pearl. It might be government run but that doesn't mean it's 100 legit.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

SOOOOOO Good! The show was amazing! Absolutely amazing. For how much the tour cost, the seats could have been much better though. We were off to the side so the view for everything wasn't the best. As I said, for how much the tour cost, they should have purchased VIP seats. The dinner was good. There wasn't much duck to go around. Luckily, the rest of the group didn't actually like duck. They take you to a very touristy place that obviously caters towards white people so the food wasn't the greatest. They do provide more than just the duck though. So there is plenty of food. There were only five people in our group and they bought out enough to feed an army.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Ann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour. We made chinese dumplings. We prepared 3 different fillings vegetarian, pork and beef and we prepared them 3 ways steamed, boiled and fried.. It started with a visit to the local market to purchase ingredients for the cooking class. Then we returned to the instructors house to prepare the dumplings. The class was fun, informative and the results were delicious.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This class was a lot to f fun! The trip to the market was great because the chef took the time to walk through pointing out all the different items, their taste, origins, etc. the food was amazing and was fun to learn the techniques. Would definitely take more classes here if I had the opportunity!! Thank you for a great experience!!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Dean C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was in China on business, and only had one day to spend in Beijing, so I wanted to see as much as possilbe. The Beijing Essential Full-Day perfectly meet my needs. Our guide Jackie was very knowledgable of the history and stories about each site we visited. He kept the group moving to ensure we didn't linger too long at any particular site. Jackie's English was very good and made the trip very interesting. One thing to remember on this tour is that it will make for a very long day, so if you tend to move at a slower pace, a shorter tour may be more well suited for you. However, if you have just one day to see the Great Wall, the Forbidden City, and Tiananment Square, this tour is perfect.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Heather L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We ended up with a private tour because no one else had booked this particular itinerary on this day. William was our guide, and he was amazing. I was traveling with my 83 year old grandmother, and he saw our unique needs and met our pace. This was my grandma's favorite day of our trip!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Llamaschool United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, don't miss this one! Our guide was William Kuang, highly recommended. He got us to the Panda Garden slightly before 8:30, we practically had them to ourselves. We took a dragon boat up the waterway into the Summer Palace grounds as was the case with other Hanteng tours I took this week, our guide seemed to know the ticketing agents and we were moved to the front of the line for the boats embarrassing, but efficient. A good 2 hours spent @ the Summer Palace, we visited the temple and the living quarter. Lunch was fine, a place that caters to tour buses in the Olympic complex. There were two shopping stops, the pearls and the tea house these are unavoidable unless you hire a private guide--don't buy if you don't want to and you DO have room to bargain @ the pearl factory. Lama Palace was last, our guide is a practicing Buddhist and demonstrated the incense rituals and prayers, explaining everything. As we left, he noticed the monks were giving out fruit from the day's offering tables and shooed us all back in to receive them. Very good luck, evidently!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Llamaschool United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

As a single traveler, I didn't want to go to a Peking Duck restaurant on my ownwho orders a whole or even half duck? And I'd read good things about the Acrobatic Show, so I went for it. The restaurant that we were taken to clearly catered to international tourists but the chef did actually carve our duck at the table, even though our guide had warned us that he might not be able to b/c it was 'high season.' The server demonstrated the appropriate way to fold the duck and condiments into the sleeve, and we were offered wine with dinner and checked on often. We were given fruit, a salad, soup, and four entrées kung pao, orange chicken, an egg and chicken dish and broccoli beef for the four persons in the party. The acrobatic show was incredible. One of the highlights of my trip-- it made me want to bring my kids to Beijingif they like the Cirque de Soleil show that passes through every year, they'll love this! If other reviews stated that the theater and costumes were tired and run-down, things have been overhauled since. Just amazing! Our tour guide was William Kuang, who was also the guide on my tour of the Summer Palace, Panda Garden and Lama Temple. A former accountant who is thrilled to be working as a tour guide and sharing the culture of Beijing with foreigners, William is highly recommended, as is this tour package!

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Jamie K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My teenage daughters, husband and I all cooked at this class and had a fantastic time. The market tour was very interesting too. I have to eat gluten free and they were very accommodating, substituting ingredients so I could have all the recipes. Everything was tasty and we had a relaxing time. I bought a handmade knife for my kitchen at home. Our only challenge was getting there during rush hour. Metro was our best bet.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We loved this tour!! The market was so interesting to see, our guide was personable and knowledgeable, and the dumplings we made were amazing! We were so glad we took this class.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We packed so much into this day! We signed up for a group tour but it ended up only being our group which was a nice surprise. Our guide was great and took us all around the city. There were two factory stops but since it was just the two of us we made it quick. Lunch was not great and very touristy

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Nikki H United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was phenomenal! Very personalized. I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message