Beijing is a wonderful mixture of the ancient and the modern, the past and the present. A true ancient citadel with a history of Emperors and temples, it is now the seat of communist power with a strong vision for the future. Modern skyscrapers ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 431 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

SSC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thank you William for providing an informative and fun experience. He was one of the best tour guides we've had in a long time. The Lama Temple is a must see coupled with the Summer Palace. You'll see beautiful artifacts of buddha statues, free incense for praying stations, feel a sense of serenity the minute you walk into the two historical venues. and The day might start a little early but well worth it since we got back to our hotel by three. It gave us plenty of time to do more shopping and enjoy Beijing. The pandas are adorable and who doesn't love pandas?

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Korey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a wonderful time learning the in and outs of the market, then heading back to create our own dumplings. We made everything from the dough, to the filling, to the sauce - and cooked them! Neat little apartment we were in - great cooking experience! Thank you!!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Joachim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was announced as taking place when at least two passengers registered. It turned out that we were the only ones who had booked that tour that day. I was concerned that this could reduce the quality of the service, but I was mistaken. We had our very private tour with our own tour guide Jacky Lee and driver in an air-conditioned limousine. The guide provided a lot of details while visiting Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. On our wish he focused on the Treasure Gallery there. The Peking-duck lunch was good and provided you with some insights in the peculiarities of the Chinese cuisine. The day was a public holiday with loads of tourists at the Great Wall. Since the motorway was almost blocked, the tour guide redirected the tour to a lesser known part of the Wall that had also much fewer tourists and was more scenic. The Wall was much more steeper there, too. It was also a hot day at the beginning of August, and temperatures reached 38 degrees centigrade. It took us 1 1/2 hours to reach the top of the mountain and to return. However, we were rewarded with a most impressive view of the area with the winding wall on top of the ridge. We also visited a silk and a jade manufacture and a tea ceremony shop. I acquired a silk gown and a jade ball of life'', which symbolizes three spheres of prosperous successive generations. In the tea shop I came across Pu-erh tea for the first time. This tea comes from Yunnan and is from the same tea leaves as green tea. The difference is that Pu-erh undergoes a fermentation and oxidation process over many years I bought a ten year old block. The ferments include peptide-blockers which prohibit the storage of fat in the fat cells of the human body, for which the tea is also called slimming tea''. This effect is confirmed by chemists.

In all this was a very rewarding tour which offers a cross-section of insights in Chinese historical and cultural achievements.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Farnaz A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was great. I really enjoyed it and highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Tyler V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Really good tour, Jackie was very knowledgeable and hilarious

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Emma R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was brilliant, a great way to see lots of Beijing. Our guide, Cherry, was incredibly informative. Very small group, lots if info learnt. Summer Palace in particular was great. Boat option upgrade definitely worth it at Summer Palace but it is an extra 100 Yuan.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Ashish B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was a great experience. Summer palace is beautiful place to visit and William was very friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend this tour to everybody

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Jessica R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was AMAZING! It was a perfect day, perfect locations to visit, outstanding tour guide!! Ask to eat at the Jade Factory restaurant.....it was INCREDIBLE! Will always use Viator for future tours :

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

D N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

It was very good experience , personalized guided tour
It was a like a Private Tour in exclusive Lucury car

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Ellen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the most amazing tour with our personal guide (Sue Lyn) and driver. We enjoyed Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, went to a climb the Great Wall. Our guide even arranged a special lunch for my husband who has a very limited diet, while I enjoyed a very tasty Peking duck that was delicious!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Jamie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I didn and #39;t end up doing this tour as my hotel pick up was a bit of a muddle, but the tour company were so helpful and they booked me the next day for a different tour which inc, Forbidden City, Tianamen Square, Temple of Heaven and the Summer Palace. Tour guide was amazing, Jackie :) very informative.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

i_balfour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The acrobatic show as extraordinary. We were on the edges of our seats and thoroughly entertained. The Peking duck dinner was also very good with a good choice of dishes and more than enough to eat.

Joan and Ian
Ottawa, Canada

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

jennifer m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was one of the best things we did in Beijing! Highly recommend! The chef was a terrific teacher. We loved going to the market with him and seeing all the amazing foods there. The menu we prepared was absolutely delicious! Loved using the Chinese cleaver and the wok. The food he had us prepare was so good. We loved being in a hutong. This was the first morning after flying in and it was the perfect introduction to Beijing and to China!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

jennifer m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Jackie made this day super fun! He talks super fast and does have quite an accent but is very open to answering questions and is so funny! We loved seeing the giant Pandas at the zoo. It was early in the day and the pandas were very active and fun to watch. We then went to the Summer Palace. Almost overwhelming in size but so glad we got to see it. We finished at the Lama Temple which was very interesting as they were celebrating Buddha's birthday. The temple was filled with chanting monks and lots of burning incense. Many worshippers there. They finished the service and began walking around the temple, still chanting. It was super interesting! Jackie took us to the silk shop and it was really interesting. Learned a lot! Glad we took this tour and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

jennifer m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We very much enjoyed this tour. It was just my husband and me with a private guide named Goo. He was very knowledgeable and patient answering all our questions and explaining the Forbidden City. He took us to the Badaling section of the wall but beyond where the crowds are. We were virtually alone in a mountainous part of the wall. It was breathtakingly beautiful and the weather in May was perfection! This was a true highlight of our time in Beijing. Highly recommend and couldn't say enough nice things about our guide Goo.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Annette M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with a very informative english speaking guide, a must do tour for Beijing

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Stephen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I had a Great Time. Very Educational. The Guide and Driver are some of the Best people I have ever meet. They make China Special in my Heart Steve Johnson

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Jesus S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Great Wall is a must do, it's amazing when you get on top and see the wall around you. Our tour guide Mr. Jacquie Lee was very knowledgable, friendly and happy to show us around. Arquitecture in the Forbidden City is impressive.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide and the tour itself was fun. The food they give you is Western style Chinese food. Not exactly what you actually get in China but still quite nice. The Lama Temple was amazing. It was beautiful and our tour guide had a lot of knowledge about everything. Be careful at the pearl factory. I bought an 18 carat gold charm with a pearl in it and the gold is peeling off and turning back so obviously not real pearl. It might be government run but that doesn't mean it's 100 legit.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

SOOOOOO Good! The show was amazing! Absolutely amazing. For how much the tour cost, the seats could have been much better though. We were off to the side so the view for everything wasn't the best. As I said, for how much the tour cost, they should have purchased VIP seats. The dinner was good. There wasn't much duck to go around. Luckily, the rest of the group didn't actually like duck. They take you to a very touristy place that obviously caters towards white people so the food wasn't the greatest. They do provide more than just the duck though. So there is plenty of food. There were only five people in our group and they bought out enough to feed an army.

Doing what: Beijing Acrobatic Show and Peking Duck Banquet Night Tour

Ann H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour. We made chinese dumplings. We prepared 3 different fillings vegetarian, pork and beef and we prepared them 3 ways steamed, boiled and fried.. It started with a visit to the local market to purchase ingredients for the cooking class. Then we returned to the instructors house to prepare the dumplings. The class was fun, informative and the results were delicious.

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Susan A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This class was a lot to f fun! The trip to the market was great because the chef took the time to walk through pointing out all the different items, their taste, origins, etc. the food was amazing and was fun to learn the techniques. Would definitely take more classes here if I had the opportunity!! Thank you for a great experience!!

Doing what: Experience Beijing: Chinese Cooking Class and Market Tour

Dean C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I was in China on business, and only had one day to spend in Beijing, so I wanted to see as much as possilbe. The Beijing Essential Full-Day perfectly meet my needs. Our guide Jackie was very knowledgable of the history and stories about each site we visited. He kept the group moving to ensure we didn't linger too long at any particular site. Jackie's English was very good and made the trip very interesting. One thing to remember on this tour is that it will make for a very long day, so if you tend to move at a slower pace, a shorter tour may be more well suited for you. However, if you have just one day to see the Great Wall, the Forbidden City, and Tiananment Square, this tour is perfect.

Doing what: Beijing Essential Full-Day Tour including Great Wall at Badaling, Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square

Heather L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We ended up with a private tour because no one else had booked this particular itinerary on this day. William was our guide, and he was amazing. I was traveling with my 83 year old grandmother, and he saw our unique needs and met our pace. This was my grandma's favorite day of our trip!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message