These days the temples Beijing builds may be more to the gods of business than harvests as modern skyscrapers pop up, but this ancient city is also rich in temples redolent of a more spiritual past. Visiting the Lama Temple, the Temple of Heaven ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lynn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this day tour. Transport was cool and comfortable and our guide spoke very good English. Loved the Summer Palace on its lakeside setting, felt as though we were miles from the City. The Lama Temple was interesting and the Panda's very cute. The pick up was early so we were able to beat the crowds, particularly to the Pandas. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable and the day was very enjoyable. Thankyou very much.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

William was great! He was very accommodating and knowledgable. His English was extremely good. The van was clean. They had room for me to bring my luggage. At the end of the tour, he wrote down instructions for a taxi driver for me to get me to the right terminal at the right airport. The Summer Palace and Lama Temple were well worth seeing! Loved watching the Pandas! The only part of the tour that doesn't earn 5 stars was the silk and pearl factories.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

SSC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thank you William for providing an informative and fun experience. He was one of the best tour guides we've had in a long time. The Lama Temple is a must see coupled with the Summer Palace. You'll see beautiful artifacts of buddha statues, free incense for praying stations, feel a sense of serenity the minute you walk into the two historical venues. and The day might start a little early but well worth it since we got back to our hotel by three. It gave us plenty of time to do more shopping and enjoy Beijing. The pandas are adorable and who doesn't love pandas?

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Rishi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic tour all around! This was the quickest way to see around these places. The tour guide was awesome at taking us around, avoiding the large crowds, and very knowledge about the sites. The only thing I thought was odd is that we have to pay an extra 20 RMB to go inside the Temple of Heaven. I thought this would be covered. However, the tour guide allowed me to go inside the Temple of Heaven. It was totally worth the 20 RMB to see this temple. Also, I was the only one on the tour, and had a private car and tour guide. I got very lucky, so take for what it is worth.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Temple of Heaven

Jamie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I didn and #39;t end up doing this tour as my hotel pick up was a bit of a muddle, but the tour company were so helpful and they booked me the next day for a different tour which inc, Forbidden City, Tianamen Square, Temple of Heaven and the Summer Palace. Tour guide was amazing, Jackie :) very informative.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

jennifer m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Jackie made this day super fun! He talks super fast and does have quite an accent but is very open to answering questions and is so funny! We loved seeing the giant Pandas at the zoo. It was early in the day and the pandas were very active and fun to watch. We then went to the Summer Palace. Almost overwhelming in size but so glad we got to see it. We finished at the Lama Temple which was very interesting as they were celebrating Buddha's birthday. The temple was filled with chanting monks and lots of burning incense. Many worshippers there. They finished the service and began walking around the temple, still chanting. It was super interesting! Jackie took us to the silk shop and it was really interesting. Learned a lot! Glad we took this tour and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Jennifer A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide and the tour itself was fun. The food they give you is Western style Chinese food. Not exactly what you actually get in China but still quite nice. The Lama Temple was amazing. It was beautiful and our tour guide had a lot of knowledge about everything. Be careful at the pearl factory. I bought an 18 carat gold charm with a pearl in it and the gold is peeling off and turning back so obviously not real pearl. It might be government run but that doesn't mean it's 100 legit.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Llamaschool United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour, don't miss this one! Our guide was William Kuang, highly recommended. He got us to the Panda Garden slightly before 8:30, we practically had them to ourselves. We took a dragon boat up the waterway into the Summer Palace grounds as was the case with other Hanteng tours I took this week, our guide seemed to know the ticketing agents and we were moved to the front of the line for the boats embarrassing, but efficient. A good 2 hours spent @ the Summer Palace, we visited the temple and the living quarter. Lunch was fine, a place that caters to tour buses in the Olympic complex. There were two shopping stops, the pearls and the tea house these are unavoidable unless you hire a private guide--don't buy if you don't want to and you DO have room to bargain @ the pearl factory. Lama Palace was last, our guide is a practicing Buddhist and demonstrated the incense rituals and prayers, explaining everything. As we left, he noticed the monks were giving out fruit from the day's offering tables and shooed us all back in to receive them. Very good luck, evidently!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Our tour guide, Gu, was excellent. The Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven are extremely interesting--unfortunately, when we were there, there was a huge conference going on of Chinese governmental officials from across the country, so Tiananmen Square was completely closed off and we weren't able to tour it. The tour also stops at a silk factory and a tea house--these are both very interesting demonstrations, but they both concluded with a pretty high-pressure sales effort by the staff there. The pressure is polite, but it is obvious that the expectation is that the tourists will make a purchase. Just be prepared.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Temple of Heaven

Bettina J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and bang for your buck! You see all the most important sights of Beijing with a very informative guide. Would have liked a bit more time to see the Summer Palace and explore the parks around the Temple of Heaven.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

John T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I am SO glad I went through Viator to get a tour of Beijing. My time in the city was short, so taking a guided tour was the way to go for me. For everything it included, I thought it was really well-priced and my guide was very knowledgable and optimized the time I had. In addition to the major attractions, I was taken to one of the most well-known and popular Silk factories in Beijing and also sampled 7 types of Chinese tea at a tea house near the Temple of Heaven and was able to do some shopping for family. My guide also took me to an authentic Chinese restaurant as we sampled many delicious dishes. I highly recumbent doing this trip and would say it is well worth the cost!

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

Wai Ping W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

My tour guide Cherry is very knowledgeable. I particularly like Temple of Heaven. Forbidden City is very pretty too.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

John J H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My tour was a private tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing 5533CBJH. The tour was thorough and interesting. To walk through Tiananmen Square was to get an appreciation for the size of the square and the People's Hall. Next was the Forbidden City. My guide, Cris, was thorough in describing the history and life within these walls. We litteraly walked through history as we examined the architecture and through the various halls that were home to the history and maturing of the art of pottery. The grounds and buildings were beautiful. We next took an optional side trip to a silk manufacturer, which was interesting. I had time to review their shop - too many items to choose from! From there we went to a local restaurant. I don't know if it is policy, but since I was on my own, I ate lunch alone. I would recommend giving the client the option - I would have liked to carry on our conversations over lunch.

We finished the tour at the Temple of Heaven: a very expansive garden with historic temples and buildings, including Echo Hall, the Hall of Prayer for Good Harvests and the Round Temple. But the walk through the woods and the serenity of nature was a nice end of a long day. Cris, my tour guide, was genuinely kind, informative and easy to converse with. She answered my questions and helped me gain greater understanding about Chinese life, culture and history. I recommend this tour and I hope you can get Cris.

Doing what: Private Tour: Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven in Beijing

Ling N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a good tour. Enjoyed the Peking duck!! The duck was excellent!! Temple of Heaven was impressive. The Kung Fu show as more of a story of one child and not that much fighting but still interesting. Overall -- a great experience.

Doing what: Beijing Private Tour: Temple of Heaven, Hongqiao Market and Kung Fu Show with Peking Duck Dinner

lou

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing! Our tour guide Jacky was extremely knowledgeable, friendly and his English was very easy to understand. The history of the forbidden city, temple of heaven and the summer place are something you should for sure see in Beijing.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

VW USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great way to see the most important sites in Beijing in one day! We started nice and early so we beat the crowds to Tienanmen Square and the Forbidden City. Our guide was very knowledgeable and was able to answer all our questions about the locations we visited, Beijing and Chinese culture. I was not too fond of the visits to the silk factory and pearl shop as they felt like tourist traps. The Temple of Heaven and Summer Palace were also fantastic and we were lucky enough to have great weather the day of the visit. Since it was before peak tourist season there were only 4 of us on the tour. Overall a lovely day in Beijing- I especially recommend it if you are short on time and want to get the most out of your time in the city.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Voyager

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What can I say...the pandas are too cute for words. Also saw beautiful peacocks and other exotics. The Tibetan Temple was awesome. Monks, nuns, and the faithful practicing their faith in a centuries old religious complex. A great day in Beijing.

Doing what: Beijing Lama Temple, Panda Garden and Ancient Altar Day Tour

Voyager

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We saw the major sights in Beijing. It was a busy day...but worthwhile. We saw 4 weddings at The Temple of Heaven while we were there. Loved the Summer Palace and our trip over the lake in a dragon boat. Great day trip.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour 3 of 4 in Beijing and what a way to start than waking up early and getting to the Panda Garden while the Pandas are still awake and eating, our guide Li got us there just after opening and they were quite active it was a beautiful sight and as the only 2 people on the tour for the second day running we had the guides full attention.

I have reviewed all my tours in Beijing please see my review on Badaling Great wall in relation to the "full day" and side stops on the tours.
Then it was on to the summer palace which is an absolutely stunning place and although on the tour you don't get to go up to the actual palace, just in the grounds you still get to see the amazing scenery, the marble boat and you get to ride across the lake on a dragon boat for a very small extra charge.
Then another lovely lunch after a tour of a pearl factory my wife spent some small change on a bracelet and that was all we wanted and no pressure from anyone to buy more, they respect no in China you just have to say it.
Then the Lama Temple, a highly religious place as expected and very interesting.
Another very lovely day in Beijing

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Tour 2 of 4 in Beijing and a more cultural and historical look at Beijing, We had Jackie Li for the second day running and on this tour my wife and I were the only 2 so a private tour which was lovely. I have already made reference to other peoples reviews relating to "full days" and side trips on tours in my review of the Badaling section of the great wall, I think that they both add to the tours and make them more comfortable. After our tour of Tiananmen Square and the forbidden city (Where our guide showed us where to get the best photos away from the crowds) then it was on to the silk factory where we bought some lovely gifts for our family, again no pressure to buy and if you say no they don't mind as I didn't buy things on every tour. However my wife had wanted to go to the silk market anyway, yes you can buy things cheaper elsewhere and we did that as well but the quality really was better in the silk factory so just decide whether you want cheap from the silk market or well made from the factory, there isn't a huge difference in price.
Then we stopped at the temple of heaven and the walk through the park and gardens was wonderful with local people meeting to dance, play or yoga in the park is really something special and shows a real sense of community in Beijing that is lovely. I realise I don't mention the sites themselves much but the speak for themselves.
Then off for lunch which was pleasant everyday although the first day at the jade factory was probably the best or at the enamel factory but all lunches on every tour were very nice and plenty of food.
Then back to the hotel by 2pm and off out for the afternoon.

Doing what: Beijing Historical Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and Temple of Heaven

jrscotto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Amazing views at the Summer Palace, impressive architecture at the Lama Temple, and cute, cuddly panda bears made for a fantastic tour. Our guide, Cynthia, was very energetic and excited about giving us a glimpse into China's long history. We enjoyed every moment of the tour and the time that we got to spend with Cynthia!

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Pencefn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

In contrast to the tour to the Great Wall and Ming Tombs the day before this was a fantastic tour. As with the previous day my wife and I were the only ones on the tour. The tour was comfortably paced for us. Tiamanmen Square was busy due to being the Mid-Autumn Festival. It was unfortunate that it was raining as we walked through the Forbidden City, however our guide (Cherry - if that is her real name) took us along the right side away from the masses and slightly higher than the main throng of visitors. She regularly pointed out photo opportunities.

Getting back to the coach it was onto the Silk Factory. Although there was an opportunity to buy, there was no sign of any high pressure sales.

Onto the Heavenly Temple and the rain had stopped. Again our guide provided us with excellent information and provided us with time to have a look by ourselves. Before lunch it was on the Pearl Factory. Getting a theme here? Yes - we were shown how fresh water pearls are cultured and farmed, but it was followed by a purchase opportunity, but as with the Silk Factory no high pressure sales techniques used.

Lunch was at a restaurant as was good quality and quantity. And onto the Summer Palace. By now the sun had come out. The Summer Palace was busy, again because of the Mid-Autumn Festival. We walked to the Marble Ship, before coming back on the Dragon Boat (you will have to pay extra, but well worth it).

Would I recommend it - most definitely. We were not subject to high sales pressure at the Silk or Pearl Factories. Cherry was a great guide.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Kerin J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our guide 'Jackie Lee' was the highlight of the day. We are still talking about him! This is a great tour. The Forbidden City and Temple of Heaven are very interesting and the Summer Palace is beautiful. I wish these tours avoided local businesses like the pearl factory though.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Andrew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Excellent full-day tour which covered the main sights in Beijing. Knowledgeable guide who genuinely enjoyed role and culture of the attractions. Although Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City could be reached easily alone, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven more difficult to locate so this tour was invaluable. As with Great Wall tour, visit to 'tourist trap' shopping sites annoying but likely to subsidise the price.

Doing what: Beijing Classic Full-Day Tour including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Summer Palace and Temple of Heaven

Linda O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great day tour. The guide Jason was fantastic with lots of great information and keen to answer any questions. Along with the Zoo, Summer Palace and Lama Temple we also went to a pearl shop which had a lot a beautiful items for sale at a reasonable price, and also to the silk factory. We weren't rushed at any time. Jason also assisted in engaging the locals, eg where artists were practicing dishu at the Summer Palace. Pick up and drop off times were as agreed. Lunch was at a local restaurant and there was plenty to eat.

Doing what: Best Beijing Historical Tour including the Summer Palace, Lama Temple and the Panda Garden

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message