Many will be disappointed to know that the Great Wall of China isn’t, in fact, visible from space, but it’s nonetheless one of the most deservedly iconic landmarks in the world. Easily visited from Beijing, no trip to the capital city would be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 333 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Steve C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a truly amazing day. on time pick up, knowledgeable and pleasant guide and the Great Wall was everything you might imagine it would be and more. A little bit too heavy on the factory shops and outlets x3 but other than that absolutely no complaints. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Kim L Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour and I would highly recommend to others. We were picked up on time from our hotel and we visited a number of places of interest that day. We started with a Jade factory visit, which was interesting to understand the carving and different types of jade available. The next part of the tour was the Great Wall and this was such an enjoyable experience. To start with, you need to take a chair lift to get to the top of the Wall, which was fun, and yes it was a chair lift. Then when you are at the top you can choose which direction on the Wall you would like to walk. This section of the Great Wall is manageable for any level of fitness, as the Wall runs along the top of Mountains and the views are spectacular... absolutely amazing. To go back down the hill from the Wall you could choose the option of the chair lift again, but we decided to do the exhilarating toboggan run all the way from the top of the Wall to the bottom of the mountain where the chair lift started from. So much fun and laughs to be had on that ride! After our time on the Wall we had an enjoyable local lunch at the nearby café with local produce, tasted amazing. In the afternoon, we were taken to a formal tea ceremony, which was well presented. We were provided with the history of Chinese Tea and learnt about the different flavours and health benefits to Chinese Tea which was all very interesting. This tour provided us with a great experience and we continue to talk about it with friends back home, as it was just something to remember!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Susan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great day at the great wall. The guide was very helpful. Lunch was amazing.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Lulu Belle United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We really enjoyed this tour for a number of reasons. Our tour guide, Tina, was extremely punctual, pleasant and very knowledgable about the culture and history in this part of China. We totally feel the tour to the Ming Tombs was worth it. After visiting the Forbidden City and Summer Palace, it's very interesting to travel outside Beijing to further see and understand the ways of the Emperor. We particularly enjoyed the walk down the Sacred Way. Visiting the tomb is very unique. After crossing a large gate, you enter a very peaceful courtyard. There is a lovely museum with interesting royal items. You are then able to climb the back structure and view the entire area. The tombs are actually in the hillside behind the structure, but it's still a remarkable place and a UNESCO site. From there, we had a decent chinese lunch at a Jade Factory. Because we've done tours like this in other countries, we had told Tina right off that we are interested most in culture and history - we are not shoppers and that is a big misconception of many American tourists. She understand exactly what we meant and respected our wishes - so while we ate in the Jade building, we didn't actually enter the factory or have to visit the gift shop. There are western restrooms here that are very clean. From lunch, we drove out to the Juyong Gap. Words will not even adequately describe how awe inspiring this adventure was. Smog was bad this day as it was a milder winter day and the view was beyond spectacular. As opposed to Badaling where you take a cable car from what we understand, Juyong is all foot power. You approach a level lot with shops, restrooms, etc. and immediately start climbing steps. You can literally climb and climb to your hearts content. NOTE - lunch can be a bit heavy and we are SO glad we didn't overeat given the strenuous nature of the climb. I would suggest at least 2 hours here. There are guard towers that break up the climb - and I'm still amazed how high you can really go. Tina leads you to the wall and you arrange a return meeting time at the lower level - but you are on your own to climb at your own rate. On the car ride back to Beijing, Tina continued to answer our questions and we really had a great discussion comparing and contrasting various cultures. A wonderful day that created lifelong memories!

NOTE - If you have ANY health issues or physical limitations, this might not be the best spot to climb the Great Wall. Badaling provides a tram but it's also typically a lot more crowded because of the accessibility. If you want a more natural experience, Juyong Gap is a great option!

Doing what: Private Tour: Great Wall of China at Juyongguan and Ming Tombs from Beijing

condolan23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great tour. Gets you to the wall early in the morning when no one is there. We were the only people on the wall when we arrived. Our tour guide was very friendly, nice and his English was good. There was also a tea demonstration as part of the tour which I would highly recommend. This is a great tour if you only have a short time in Bejing and you want to see the Great Wall when there are few tourists. it was January, so it wasn't exactly peak tourist season. The driver also dropped me off at the Olympic Park which was also very kind of them.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Monica United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This wonder of the world really delivered !!! Our guide took us early to avoid the crowds and we literally had the GREAT WALL to ourselves. A must see.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

sandusky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Amazing day. We had a fabulous weather in contrast to the previous day on my arrival in Beijing when it was smoggy and you could only manage to see 50 metres ahead. The Great Wall and its surrounds spread in front of you in its majesty and I wished we could have stayed a bit longer, and luckily the tour guide had a great eye for taking photos. Lunch was standard pre-cooked Chinese meal.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Jay R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This hike is amazing. Robert was a wonderful guide, I was lucky enough to have him as a guide on a previous hike on the Great Wall as well. I would highly recommend this to anybody who is reasonably fit and ready for a fairly challenging walk.

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Cyril Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

One of the reasons we came to China was to see the great wall. It was stunning. Our guide was knowledgeable and helpful.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

gemini9658

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Picked up at our hotel on time by our tour guide Jackie Li, a very informative and knowledgeable person indeed. Our visit to the Great Wall at Badaling was incredible, not to be missed if you visit China. Found the Ming Tombs a bit disappointing compared to the wall though. The typical Chinese meal was excellent, sampled a lot of different dishes. A visit to the Jade factory / shop was also included in the tour as well as having traditional Chinese tea. All in all, a great tour and highly recommend it. A big thank you to our tour guide Jackie, by the way, nice photos Jackie.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

jligon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This group tour was on a medium sized bus. Going to the Great Wall is an absolute mist do. It was worth the ride over and back. We stopped at a jade place as well. Wonderful experience. The included lunch was very good. The 65 per person cost was a very good value for sure.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

stephanie b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide was awesome! She knew a lot about the history of Beijing as well as the Great Wall itself. She even went out of her way to take us to an authentic tea house after the tour was over. I highly recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Nicolas v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We were picked up from out hotel that was not so central in Beijing, for which we are very gratefull. The guide decided to change the order of the visits to stay out off the traffic jams. This definately paid off, giving us more time to climb the Great Wall. On the way, we received extra information about habits and rules in China to help us during our stay. The guide proved also to be an experienced photographer so that everybody could be IN the picture. Thank you Jacky !

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Jessica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

AMAZING tour. Highlight of my Beijing experience by far. I was a solo female traveler and worried about finding a safe way to get to the Great Wall -- Urban Adventures is by far the way to go. You are paired with a small group of other travelers, and feel at ease right from the start. Our local guide, Dennis, was knowledgeable, personable, witty and kind. He made every effort to give us the experience we were looking for -- presenting interesting facts about the wall, taking note of the kinds of foods we mentioned liking to order them during the Chinese lunch, and giving us bartering tips and patiently encouraging us to shop as long as we wanted at the bottom of the wall. He even went above and beyond to walk me back to the part of town I was staying in when taxis weren't readily available during rush hour at the end of the tour. If you have any doubts about traveling solo, do this tour!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Suzette Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

A must do tour while in Beijing!! Michael our guide was so nice and provided us with some great side activities plus the Great Wall. That feeling you get to be in one of the wonders of the world is unique. Loved the Great Wall!!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was the highlight of our trip to Beijing. We were fortunate enough to have great weather for our trip to the Great Wall, but our tour guide Vivian was simply AWESOME !!! The information she provided was superb, and she was just a joy to be around. Always making the whole group laugh and taking photos of us all. She knew all the best places to get that perfect shot, and we arrived earlier than most people, so it looks as though you have the entire wall to yourselves in the photos....The toboggan ride down was so much fun, and just makes you feel like a big kid....
Vivian also took us to a fantastic local restaurant which was the best lunch we had in Beijing. Its hard to pick at favourite thing about this tour as it was all spectacular - Highly recommended, and if you are lucky enough to have Viv as your guide, you will have the best day out in Beijing.... Thanks Viv x

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

deborah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Where to start!

Firstly the Great Wall at Huanghuacheng, wow what an amazing natures beauty spot. This scenic area combines the beautiful lake wrapped around the base of the mountains with the great wall on its skyline. We had time to walk up the steps of the wall to the soldiers stations and enjoy the view of the area higher up. The wall is steep to climb, I am not particularly fit but managed to climb up at my own pace with our guide Maria. It was worth it for the view. Maria was a fantastic guide who ensured we had plenty of photos, water and was great company. We had a walk around the chestnut orchard planted by the soldiers. This whole area is mainly visited by the locals which added to the ambience rather than other sections that were more tourist driven.

After our Great Wall experience it was time to stop off for lunch. We went to an old traditional hotel and Maria asked us if we would like to order ourselves, we requested Maria to choose for us, and she checked that it was food we liked before ordering and we were very pleased with her delicious choices and there was more than enough food for us all plus a takeaway box for our driver from what was left. Please note this is a full day tour!

Then the visit to the Ming Tombs, in honesty this wasn't our thing and we would of happily missed it. However, it was interesting and the tombs are an important and unique part of Chinese culture and gave time for our lunch to settle before the part of the tour we were really looking forward to, the hot spring spa and massage.

On arrival at the spa we were served tea and snacks before being taken to our private area. The hot spring lives up to hot. There were three pools you have the option of testing each a little hotter than the previous one. Our aching muscles from our hike melted away with all our worries and stress, after the hot spring we showered before getting into a Chinese Medicine bath. Please note we used swim costumes for the private hot spring and then we were naked in our personal bath and for the massage covered with towels. There was an option to be in our own room each or we could share a room - it was our choice. After the special bath we proceeded to receive the massage, my oh my, wow! The whole time there was a unique special Chinese routine and massage which was different from home and yes I would go back tomorrow for a repeat.

That night we both slept very well and when we flew home the following day we had no aches and pains from all our adventures.

Be open minded and relax through this almost 2-3 hour spa experience that is truly special and a pure pleasure.

Doing what: Luxury Tour: Tibetan Hot Spring Spa Experience and Huanghuacheng Great Wall Visit

Hien

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Awesome Tour!! We had a really nice and informative tour Guide, William! He called us at our hotel to confirm our pick-up time to start the day! Making our way towards The Great Wall he shared information, history and hot spots! We had our first stop over at the Jade Factory which was pretty awesome to see how they carved and made jade pieces! We had our Lunch at a nice restaurant before making our trek to the wall! We chose to go up by chairlift and then toboggan ride down great fun! There are a lot of steps from small to big to steep etc. so be prepared! we were given a good 2.5 hours on the wall and found it was plenty of time, walking the wall, resting, getting our breaths back, taking lots of selfies and then lining up at the end for the toboggan ride down! The tour ended with a tea ceremony and hotel drop off ! Overall it was a great tour, great tour guide and beautiful views!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Thomas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. The tour starts early at the pickup point, where we took a minibus to the great wall. During the journey to the wall Vivian our tour guide was sharing stories/information about the history of the wall, Beijing etc which was interesting and certainly helped to pass the time. We arrived at the wall pretty early, before many crowds had arrived. Unfortunately or fortunately depending on how you look at it the weather was relatively poor rain/fog . However this didn't ruin the experience the fog made for some interesting photos and did clear up nicely , but on the plus side it probably did help keep large crowds away so the wall was relatively empty. Vivian walked with us to the wall and helped take pictures of members of the group and show us her favourite view points.

After the wall itself, we were taken to a restaurant away from the main tourist area. Vivian ordered us some Chinese dishes and made sure we had plenty of food to feed everyone and I think the group left very full. After that we were returned to the pickup point, Vivian also offered advice on others places in Beijing to visit.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Valerie Yolanda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Vivian was fantastic! She really made our group of 8 have a great, authentic Great Wall trip and lunch was at a local restaurant off the beaten path. We were treated like royalty, with local beer and shots of rice wine! We all shared plates after an early and exhausting day on the Wall. GREAT MEMORIES!!! Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

stacey h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Must do best tour of the trip, enjoyed every moment, Vivian was awesome, the Great Wall lives up to the hype

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a great tour of the Great Wall ! On the particular day Sunday I was the only person on the tour. The guide was extremely friendly and very informative, answering all questions. She really had a passion for China and its history, this is what a tourist always looks for in a local guide!

I would highly recommend. This was a once in a lifetime experience and there is no better way to see and experience the Great Wall than with a great tour guide!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

kris1828767

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a fabulous experience. Maria our tour guide was wonderful, informative and really took good care of us. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. Great way to see the Great Wall of China.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Miss S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

I am very happy with the tour I did in fact it was the highlight of my holiday I want to thank Robert so much as I fell twice on the Great Wall as I'm just a clumsy person he looked after me so well he held my bag and everything for me when I had to walk on trickier parts of the wall and then held my hand going down the steep parts and he always made sure I was okay he was so kind and cleaned my leg multiple times he took loads of photos of me and the rest of the people in the tour which me got on a usb stick which was great as he had a canon camera so I loved the photos also loads of refreshments which is needed I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Full-Day Small-Group Great Wall Hike: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Jun C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Highly recommend this tour and the passionate tour guide Vivian. Our tour was on Sunday. They picked us up at 7:00am from hotel lobby and we arrived Great Wall before 9:00am. The 1.5 hour road time was quite enjoyable. The city in the early Sunday morning was tranquil. Vivian gave us a casual talk about Great Wall, Beijing the people and the city etc. By arriving early to a less crowded Great Wall section MUTIANYU, we could avoid the crowd and enjoy the fantasitc view without hassle. The time we spent at Great Wall was about 3.5 hours. We had family style lunch in a villiage and then headed back to Hotel. No time was wasted. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message