Many will be disappointed to know that the Great Wall of China isn’t, in fact, visible from space, but it’s nonetheless one of the most deservedly iconic landmarks in the world. Easily visited from Beijing, no trip to the capital city would be ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 283 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anne Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent day trip to the Great Wall of China. We were lucky to have a wonderful guide for the two of us and travelled by private car to this wonder of the world. We arrived before the tourist crowds which gave us the opportunity to take many photo's and walk many of the various stages of the wall unimpeded. We experienced the varied steps as part of the cobbled walkway, magnificent views and enjoyed an informative commentary and great interaction all day from our guide. Lunch was delicious in a small town- a perfect finish!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Shawn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Definitely the highlight of our 15 day vacation. The trek up to the start is not for the weak, but well worth the effort, even for 50+ out of shape me. The hike along the Great Wall was an unbelievable experience with very little crowding and spectacular views. It and #39;s a must for any visitor to China.

Doing what: One-Day Small Group Great Wall Hiking Highlight: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Ellen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had the most amazing tour with our personal guide (Sue Lyn) and driver. We enjoyed Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, went to a climb the Great Wall. Our guide even arranged a special lunch for my husband who has a very limited diet, while I enjoyed a very tasty Peking duck that was delicious!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Beijing's Forbidden City with Special Viewing of Treasure Gallery and the Great Wall Ruins at Badaling

Victoria H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The early start was hard...however SO Worth it! A 2 hour bus ride, we got to The Great Wall before all the crowds and the heat kicked in. We definately had enough time to see everything.Sofia our guide was great! She also helped with advise on other sights to visit. Wear comfy shoes and sunscreen!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

SineRivali

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I can and #39;t say enough good things about Beijing and all that we saw! The Great Wall was a bucket list item for me to celebrate my 50th birthday, and James was gracious enough to allow us to bring a special bottle of and #39;66 Dom Perignon champagne. He was an excellent guide - very pleasant and knowledgable

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Gabriela R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour! The guide, Robert, was excellent. The views were beautiful. The lunch was also excellent. I will recommend this tour to anyone going to visit the Great Wall!

Doing what: One-Day Small Group Great Wall Hiking Highlight: Simatai West to Jinshanling

TEJASWINI R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide Mr Jacki Lee was an excellent guide. Thoroughly fluent in english, we had no trouble understanding. I was accompanied by my 69 yr old mother in law. Trust me, we would never have reached The Great Wall, had he not helped and coaxed her! Hats off to him. Would recommend him every time.
The old negative point was the lunch! Couldn't bear to eat it! My fellow travelers all ENT surgeons, 1 Australian, 1 US and 4 from UK faced the same problem.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

shaye j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great wall of China is amazing. My only criticism of this tour is that more time NEEDS to be spent at the great wall, by skipping the jade factory, etc. Certainly one of great sites everyone should see.. like grand canyon in Arizona.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Ranyta Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great experience! The size of the group is not too big and it allows us to know each other better. The guide, WIliam, is friendly and helpful. He has good command in English and answered all of our questions satisfactorily. I definitely recommend this toour for those who want to visit the great wall and the Ming tombs.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Pascal H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The guide did a great job and the group had the right size (8 people excl. the guide). The hike is rather easy, but a really nice experience with a lot of opportunities to take scenic pictures of the great wall.

Doing what: One-Day Small Group Great Wall Hiking Highlight: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Julie R A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We highly recommend this tour. Seven people were on the tour. We were picked up at our hotels in a very comfortable van with an excellent driver. Mark was our guide, and he was very pleasant, upbeat, and capable. We drove to Mutianyu stopping at a jade factory on the way, which took about 2 1/2 hours interesting scenery. The only extra cost in the day was an optional one that was well worth it - 100 Yuan to take the cable car ski lift up to the Great Wall and then toboggan down or we could have taken the cable car down, but tobogganing was much more fun. On a different tour I took the next week, I heard that the Great Wall cable car was out of service one day, and I'm so glad it wasn't the day we were there. Hiking to the Great Wall in the heat would have left us with little time and energy to be on the Wall. As it was, our tour guide gave us about 90 minutes on our own to take the cable car, hike along the wall, and then meet at the bottom. Hiking along the wall - steep steps and all - was an unforgettable experience. After that, we walked a short distance to a nice restaurant where our food was all ready and was delicious. We had a room for the seven of us. We drove back to Beijing and stopped at a tea business before being dropped back off at our hotel. Be prepared for slow traffic everywhere. This was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Joerg K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour to the Great Wall. We did join this tour as a little bigger group after a regional company meeting. While any visit to the Great wall is already impressive and memorable the team did provide picnic for us on top of the wall and top of one of the watch towers. Certainly an unforgettable experience for all of us. Special thanks to our tour guide Candy for the well organised and informative day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

CLARE H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent site. We were grateful that we did not visit during the national holiday which was the first week in May. Our tour guide shared a vide of the millions of people who visited during that week. When we visited the site, the weather was cool and the number of visitors was high but not crowded. During our travel to the Great Wall, we stopped at a jade factory and learned about how to distinguish between real and fake jade. The stone walkways are uneven so if elderly folks visited this site ...it's good to be prepared with good and comfortable walking shoes. For those afraid of heights, it's good to also know that cable car ride up to the watch tower is required. Overall experience is excellent and I recommend sunscreen, good camera, and comfortable shoes.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Janet Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A magical day!! William, our tour guide was an excellent ambassador for Beijing and The Great Wall. His friendliness along with his vast knowledge made our day one to remember. We can definitely recommend the Mutianyu section of the wall as it was not over crowded. The cable car up and taboggan down was an excellent way to start and finish the adventure. We cannot speak highly enough of this experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

zaman5877

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly highly recommended, Cherry was an exceptiontal tour guide. This was a private van tour with only 3 other people. We got to spend around 2 hours at the great wall, the ming tombs were also phenomenal. The jade factory was unexpectedly very interesting to see and the tea ceremony was much better than expected. Day lasted around 10 hours and was worth every penny

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide was very friendly and spoke excellent English. She had lots of interesting information on the Ming Tombs, the great wall, Jade factory and the tea ceremony we attended. She was very interested in each person on the tour and made the whole experience very comfortable. I had an amazing time and learned so much.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

Derek G United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing, my second trip to the great wall. This section was much better. Not crowded and stunning, great to see some non restored sections too.

Doing what: Great Wall Hiking Tour from Beijing: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Lily H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very good tour. Tour guide William Kuang was very friendly, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic about the history of the Great Wall and Beijing/China in general. Was lucky to have a small tour group, so able to interact with William extensively. It felt like a group of friends rather than a group tour. Trips to jade factory and tea tasting were good, though I spent too much unplanned money but made for good gifts. Thank you for making this a great experience!

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

Lexi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We wanted to escape the large crowds of tourists and have a more personal experience with the Great Wall and we're so happy we chose this tour!! Our small group of 8 had the most spectacular time. Our guide Tao couldn't have been better. He was knowledgeable and patient with us, helping us along some of the very difficult and slippery portions of the wall. He also took some of our most memorable photos from the day. I HIGHLY recommend this tour when you take a trip to Beijing! :-

Doing what: One-Day Small Group Great Wall Hiking Highlight: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Vibeke L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great day! The Great Wall is compulsory when in Beijing. The lunch was good. We loved our local guide Kevin who spoke perfect English. He even took us to a silk-market after the tour, which meant that he had to work 2 hours more than required. He booked a restaurant for us in the evening and called in to ensure that we were doing fine. Fantastic service!

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Stephen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great experience with our guide, Rockie, on a picture perfect spring day. Rockie was knowledgeable and friendly and took us on a fun adventure to a watch tower ruins where we enjoyed champagne and snacks. We rode the cable car up and recommend doing that, as the steps and walk along the Great Wall are challenging and it gives you more time on the wall. We did the tobaggan slide down and that was fun too. Only hiccup was the horrible traffic we encountered, but it was a Saturday, so lots a people were on the road.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Great Wall at Mutianyu Tour with Picnic and Wine

Jason G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I had a great tour to the Great Wall and Ming Tombs. Our guide Jenny was lovely and very knowledgable about her subject and our driver was friendly too. The views at the Great Wall were wonderful and I would recommend this tour to others who want to see the Great Wall or Ming Tombs.

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Badaling and Ming Tombs Day Tour from Beijing

rob

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I've done the popular crowded great wall visit and this one, and there's no contest. This was full of history and context, not at all crowded, we experience much greater variety in the wall itself, and overall it felt like a much more intimate experience with the wall. There was a lot of walking, but our guide did a great job taking breaks and making it doable for this 54 year old. One important note, we were told to meet at the McDonalds at Dongzhimen Station. There are 2 McDonalds! We waited at the one in the station - the wrong one! Be sure to go to the one across the street from the station. It may be that they included the correct address, but navigating in Beijing is not easy. Even our Chinese friends thought this would be hard for them to figure out.

Doing what: One-Day Small Group Great Wall Hiking Highlight: Simatai West to Jinshanling

Vicki M Hong Kong

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A very fund day. We climbed a section of the Great Wall after catching the chair lift up. Some areas were very steep but well worth the effort. Our guide Victoria was very friendly and helpful

Doing what: Great Wall of China at Mutianyu Full-Day Tour Including Lunch from Beijing

dft

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Walking on the Great Wall is an amazing experience, one that my son and I will never forget. We enjoyed our guide, Kevin, but he and his driver's role were primarily to get us from Beijing to the Great Wall. He provided some interesting commentary on the way, but when we got to the wall, we were really on our own. Walking on the wall is quite challenging physically--not only does it do up and down with the topography, the so-called restored section we were on was extremely tricky to navigate--rough, uneven steps, etc. Take the chair lift up to the wall and the toboggan down--both fun and a little scary, but that added to the experience.

Doing what: Great Wall of China Small Group Day Trip from Beijing

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message