Set 36 miles (58 km) outside the capital city of Beirut, the ancient city of Anjar is literally a Lebanon attraction unlike any other. While many of the ruins in Lebanon existed under a multitude of rulers, the fortified city of Anjar was occupied ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 61 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tom S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

very good tour. I love it. The guide was good and very knowledgeable. the place was awesome, especially Baalbek.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Gregory A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

You must do this tour. Baalbek was incredible, 8th wonder of the world. Went to Zahle to have lunch, best meal for me, so fresh and amazing. Fancy too! Ksara winery was faboulius. Beautiful. Loved Lebanon so much when coming here.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

N Kay C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was well organised and efficiently conducted. The guide was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Anjar is an interesting monument to faulty leadership but Baalbek is a stunning monument to Roman power and influence, even if misguided. To my mind, Baalbek is much more worth seeing than the Acropolis, although nowhere near as publicised. Ksara wines are excelllent and the story of the caves is of interest. Excellent Lebanese mezze for lunch.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Shaun C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This is a must-see and must-do trip. Anjar and Ksara fun to see but the highlight by far is Baalbek. Stunning that so much of the original site remains. Go book it now!!!

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

If your going to do any tours in Beirut, do this one! Anjar in itself was an amazing place.. So big was the ruins and spectacular.. Baalbeck was even more breath taking with the Temple of Jupiter and Venus... the grand scale of the temples were mind blowing.... and Lunch was superb as was ksara! The caves were jaw dropping....

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Timothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I went with a structured tour out of safety concerns for the region, however, during the tour I received no inclination of anything out of the ordinary. It was fine throughout.

As for the tour itself, I found it to be exactly as described. The site visits were nice, although perhaps a bit rushed, restaurant lunch was phenomenal seriously! and everything went smoothly. I think a very good value for the money.

MAKE SURE you book a few days early. I did mine the day before on a Sunday and didn't receive a confirmation and therefore didn't know where to go. After a call to Viator and some legwork on their end, I did get the info last minute and a rush to the meeting point ensued. Made it, but just keep that in mind.

I would recommend this trip. I do not think you will find a better deal elsewhere.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Cindy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Comfortable car, punctual pick-up, knowledgleable tour guide and amazing lunch. No complaints!

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Ida S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

THIS IS THE TRIP YOU CANNOT MISS! IF YOU DON'T SEE BAALBEK, YOU CAN SAY YOU HAVEN'T SEEN LEBANON!!!
First, i have to tell you something very important. Most embassies will not recommend or will even forbid you the Bekaa Valley and Baalbek. IGNORE THEM! Lebanon is SAFE! on your way to baalbek, you will cross the refugees camps and a lot of check points of the army. Don't worry, you will not feel as a prisoner. They are nice. Just insuring that everything is ok.
Baalbek is the most well preserved site. The most impressive is Bachus temple, which is under restauration in this moment. Well, they are always restoring their heritage...
Anjar is a combination between roman, bizantine and islamic style. You will like it.
Ksara winery is a natural cave used during the war as a refuge for the people. you can taste sm very good wines there.
By the way, all your tours will be with Nakhal and you will love them! They are profesionals! Really profesionals!

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Marwan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide made the visit remarkable. Madelaine was the perfect host, fluent in English, French and Spanish, as well as Arabic, of course, she was steeped in the culture and therefore able to help us get an insight into the world of Lebanon.
The tour was remarkably easy, starting with collection at my hotel and transfer to the Nakhal offices, before transfer to a comfortable bus for our onward journey. Thankfully there was not this endless transfer round the local hotels picking people up, as this had already been done by a fleet of buses.
On the way to Baalbek, Madelaine made us aware of the history and culture of Lebanon and the Lebanese people. The place is full of history, and with layer upon layer of civilisation it is difficult not to get overawed by the sites. Our first visit was to Anjar, which was established by the Umyadd in the 8th century. The ruins are very well preserved and give you a unique insight into the culture of the day. One can see Islamic culture, sitting alongside Roman design and Byzantine architecture.
Arriving in Baalbek one is taken aback by the sheer scale of the site. The famous pillars cannot be described with mere words and pictures and need to be seen up close to get the full sense of the place. The Temple of Jupiter, is said to be one of the largest Roman temples in the world. The expanse of the temple and that to Bacchus give a wonderful insight into the Roman and Greek worlds. Remarkably well preserved, despite war and many conquests, it was a remarkable opportunity to see up close the historic ruins.
Although a conservative area around the ruins did not seem to worry about wearing shorts and t-shirts, in spite of what is often said in the guide books.
Having just about recovered from the tumultuous sites, we repaired to Zahle for a typical Lebanese lunch by the river. The tour company had arranged for superb range of meze and mixed grills all included in the price of the trip.
Finally a quick stop at the Ksara vineyards

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

stephane b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Had a private tour with Suzanne and a driver, went extremely well showed and explained many great sites around the Bekka Valley had a really excellent time

Doing what: Private Tour: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Brian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Well organized and tour guide very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Nicole G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was my favorite tour of all! Baalbek was breathtaking! I would highly recommend this tour to everybody. The guide was great and very knowledgeable! The sites were all beautiful! Not much of a wine fan but it was still beat to see the Ksara caves.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Adelaide S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great trip with friendly and informative guide. Amazing sites to see!

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Xin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Really Beautiful places! Nice and knowledgeable guide talks a lot about history and culture.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Oliver E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An amazing day trip that was lead by a thoughtful, passionate and knowledgeable guide - taking you to places that would have been hard to access as a solo traveller. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Elias C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

One of the most beautiful places on earth I have ever seen!!! Baalbek is spectacular and a must see in your lifetime.Good tour and the lunch was good as well.Downside was the transportation which was kind of uncomfortable and van was small.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Patrycja W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Baalbek is spectacular, if you can only do one tour in Lebanon, this is the one you should do. We have done a number of other tours with this company, they were all great, but nothing beats Baalbek.

The lunch is surprisingly nice, no lousy sandwiches, proper sit down meal.

Travelled in September 2015.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Anastasia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tour guide was fantastic, sites were beautiful. The tour company was great at doing pickups / drop offs. The scenery on the drive was great. I would have liked more time / detail at the winery, but other than that all good.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Sonya G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Really enjoyed the tour. It was really great to stand where people stood thousands of years ago!
Our guide was Madeline. She was very knowledgeable about everything.
I had a couple of complaints about the trip, not really anything to do with Nakhal, but with the tour guide and the driver. The driver was an excellent driver however...it was a very warm day, in the nineties. Everyone was pretty hot. The driver was too cool so he kept turning the air down. When you have a van with every seat taken except one, on a ninety poise degree day, the air needs to be kept on HIGH! Our tour guide Madeline would aim the vent UP to the ceiling instead of back towards everyone.
As we were walking into the entrance of Baalbek, Madeline pulled out her whistle and used it much throughout Baalbek. We are all adults and don't need to be treated as grade school students. I realize that we were on a timetable however, if you explain to people at the beginning that due to being on a time table that when you need to tell us some facts we need to be by to listen, it would probably work better.
All in all, it STILL was an excellent day trip and we would take it again. Would prefer to have georgette as our guide.llwe enjoyed her on our other day trip!

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

lk0085a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My tour was great! We spent just enough time in each place and the lunch we had was amazing! My only comment would be that the drivers who picked me up and then dropped me off had no clue where I was and I had to give them directions and finally walk the last bit because they were so lost.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Shahriar S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is most amazing tour I ever had in my life with very good food. I never though I fall in love with just bunch of rocks! If you are Lebanon, this tour is a MUST!

A message to the manager of Nakhal tour, I have experienced two tours, this one and Geitta. I think the reason I really love this tour was because of very professional guide by Natasia. Very professional and friendly. I hope you do whatever it takes to keep her happy, because she is the reason of your success for these tours.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Jenufa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This day trip is worth it! The sites are unbelievable. It was excellent having transport to the sites and a tour guide explain the history. I was a solo traveller and was able to meet other travelers.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Tanya J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Fantastic tour to see the impressive sights of Baalbek and Anjar. Don't let the government warnings put you off, go and see this remarkable history!! Excellent tour guide and driver made the day feel informative, safe and very enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Laura G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We had an excellent guide and driver. Very knowledgable .

Doing what: Private Tour: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message