Belfast ATTRACTIONS See all

Old Bushmills Distillery

Bushmills Distillery is the oldest working distillery in Ireland. Founded in 1608, it has been known as the Old Bushmills Distillery since 1784. A fire destroyed the distillery in 1880, but it was rebuilt, and the 1890s proved to be a heyday for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Fiona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Full and enjoyable trip. Stephen our coach driver was very knowledgeable on various aspects of living in Ireland and the countryside, which was interesting as it's our first visit to Ireland. Carrick-A-Rede was a good, bracing walk! Giants Causeway was good to see, shame the weather was very wet and windy, we looked like drowned rats!. We would love to see it in good weather. Bushmills distillery was very welcoming. Well organised trip would certainly recommend. Gives an insight to the countryside.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Lindsey H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Brilliant day trip with excellent driver/guides Ian and Stevie from McCombs. Picked us up on time, clean bus, plenty of breaks, loads of info and stories as we drove to each place. Lovely lunch at the Bushmills distillery and loads of time at the Giants Causeway which was spectacular. Belfast and surrounding areas are amazing, really worth a visit.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Andy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent, friend service. The pickup from my hotel was on time and very efficient. Mark, our driver, was excellent and provide our tour group with many time and cost saving tips and excellent narration. There was very good time management so we had more than sufficient time at Carrick-a-rede rope bridge and Giant's Causeway. The coach buses were spacious and seats were comfortable.

Tips:
1 It can get very rainy intermittent heavy rain and wind in the northern coast, so bring a raincoat, NOT an umbrella. Bring a Barbour rain resistant jacket or similar. Some people who brought umbrellas quickly found their umbrellas destroyed by the wind. Also, if you attempt to cross the rope bridge with wind blowing your umbrella, you may lose balance.
2 The quality of the lunch at Bushmill distillery is ok, but not great. Get something fast like a sandwich so that you can spend a little more time at the Bushmill distillery.
3 Wear comfortable shoes with grippe soles, especially at Giant's Causeway where the ground is sometimes wet and uneven. There were two women in high heels and I think they regretted their footwear choices. From the bus drop off point, there is another bus to go to the Giant's Causeway formation for 1 EUR/way.
4 The drivers do not solicit any tips, but I highly recommend that you tip them in the basket because it is an important source of income for their handwork. You are on holiday after all and they are working.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Paulina S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was great. The coach was warm and comfortable. The driver Darren? was fantastic, funny and knowledgeable, and he definitely deserves a pay rise.
I think that the tour would benefit from an earlier start during winter months in order to make the most of sunlight. Would have been good to be able to do the tour at the distillery in my opinion. A note to vegetarians: although the lunch menu is limited at Bushmills, they do have a vegetarian option!
Overall a superb tour and I would recommend it to anyone who visits Belfast. Thanks guys.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

ylm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We got rained on, but the tour was very nice especially for this great price! We were shuttled to our meeting point by another driver, Derek, who does the Game of Thrones tour and was funny and very nice. We actually ran into him multiple times through the day at our stops, so the two tours cross paths often. Seems like a cool guy to take a tour with. Our tour guide was Allen, who was loaded with bad jokes, in the best way. He was very informative but kept us moving, and was a great guide. We enjoyed the distillery stop, but wish we had had time for a tour. Giant's Causeway was absolutely beautiful even in the increasing rain. We escaped the rain a bit early and stopped in at the Causeway Hotel for drinks, which has a nice calm atmosphere. An awesome trip for all of us!

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Catherine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We went as group of 4 , we took the all-day bus tour from Belfast to the giants causeway and bushmills distillery, along the coastal road, with a couple of stops to view castles. Well organised trip,pick up from hotel, dropped back to city centre
Ian the driver gave good commentary along the way and clear instructions as to when to return and where to go at each stop. very enjoyable day out, beautiful scenery

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

vaibhav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great time at causeway. Not only causeway, but even the stops were very scenic. Bushmill Wishkey Distillery was excellent. Wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Claire M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Picked up right on time and shuttled by mini bus from our hotel to the coach with great commentary on the way.
Lovely trip up the coast sit on the right hand side of the coach to be next to the sea but lots of interesting stuff on the left.
Fabulous scenery at the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge followed by lunch at the Bushmills Distillery with a free tot of their 12 year old whiskey.
Spent a good couple of hours at the Causeway then took a more direct route back to Belfast city centre with several drop off points close to the main hotels.

All in all a great day out - Sparky was an informative and entertaining guide and driver.

One tip though, the rope bridge and the Causeway are free to National Trust members if you've got your card with you.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Jill C United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

After being collected from hotel we took a leisurely drive along the beautiful Antrim coast. We visited both Carrick a Rede road bridge and Giants Causeway- we had plenty of time at each which was needed as there is a walk to each. Both are spectacular and well worth the walk! Lunch was taken at Bushmills distillery and whilst this was only a stop off in the cafe the snifters of 10 and 12 year malts made the short visit worthwhile. Our driver regaled historic stories and plenty of interesting facts. A fabulous day that ticked off another couple of items off the bucket list.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Jeff S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A brilliant day. Allen our tour guide was funny and informative. We had plenty of time to see all the attractions
and enjoy a nice lunch at the distillery. Well worth the money. The drive along the coast was spectacular.At the end of the day Allen was very obliging and dropped people off at convenient drop off locations. If you love scenery and a relaxing day out this is the tour to take.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

michelle g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Raymond was a great guide and took us on a wonderful scenic tour. Only minor criticism was not enough time was given at the Giants Causeway, and feel the Bushmills Distillery tour should be given as an option and not part of the visit as this was a wasted hour for our party.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Katherine M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had an absolutely wonderful tour guide, Patrick, who kept us entertained and laughing during the trip. We took the tour in the middle of a winter storm and the bridge was closed, however he worked the day out so that we had extra time at other sites including being able to take the distillery tour which is normally not included. I would highly recommend this company for future tours! The actual company was McComb's that ran the bus we were on. We will definitely be using this company again!

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Denise O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was fantastic! Our guide Darren was very knowledgeable and full of local colour. The main attractions, Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-Rede Bridge were breathtaking and we had the perfect blustery day. If you have difficulty walking, it is quite a distance from where the bus drops you off to the bridge, well more than the 1km we were told. At Giant's Causeway there was a shuttle bus, so that was better for those of us with arthritis. The views were unforgettable. The only thing that I wish was made clear was that you could also have your lunch and the Causeway visitor Centre. It was a nice alternative to the Bushmill's Distillery, which had limited selections. But still a must see.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was just what I was looking for. A very enjoyable trip through the beautiful country side of the Antrium coast. The Giants Causeway and rope bridge were well worth the trip. The walk along the rugged, spectacular coastline to get down to the causeway or bridge was just as enjoyable as the sites themselves. We were impressed with the drivers bus driving skills on some of those narrow roads, but also liked his narrative along the way. Bushmills Distillery was not remarkable and the restaurant was pretty ordinary and crowded. The snack bar at the Giants Causeway is better.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Michelle S USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our bus tour was a wonderful way to see the northeast coast and the destination of the Giant's Causeway. We only had 2 days in the area and this tour afforded us a beautiful way to experience a magnificent area of Northern Ireland. The coach was extremely clean, and the tour guide extremely knowledgeable and courteous. It is a full day, we had some trail mix and water with us which turned out to be perfect. The tour does include stopping at the touristy Bushmills distillery and cafe, for a meal that was later in the day. The meal at Bushmills was actually good!. I would recommend this tour if you don't plan to drive your own auto.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

eljx1988 Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great experience and nicely paced. Sufficient time to explore each tourist location. We started off with Carrickfergus Castle for phototaking opportunity, followed by Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge (stunning view!) and then Old Bushmills Distillery for Irish Whiskey and lunch, Dunluce Castle (taking photos) and finally Giant's Causeway. Breathtaking view and amazing scenery. Enough time was allocated for Giant's Causeway so there is plenty of time to walk around. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Emily M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

my mom and I have both been to Ireland several times, but had never made it to the Causeway - a place we both really wanted to see. We took this tour together, and it was a great trip! The coastal route out to the Causeway was absolutely stunning, and the little stops along the way were nice breaks (lunch at the distillery was delicious!) We felt we had plenty of time at the Causeway, I didn't feel rushed, and the time of year was great. The cold and wind were worth it since there were hardly any other tourists there! You also don't have to pay to see the Causeway - you only have to pay if you want an actual tour or audioguides, walking down and seeing the Causeway is no-charge. our tour guide was also friendly and knowledgeable and funny, making for a great time!

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Richard F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent value for money! The driver/guide, Patrick, was very knowledgeable and took great pride in, not only the history of his country but also, the geological and mythical information of the area. He never stopped talking the whole trip! Being a National Trust member, I didn't have to pay entry fees to Giant's Causeway or Carrick Ropebridge but fellow travellers seemed very pleased with the discount joint-ticket on offer. It's a shame there wasn't time for the guided tour at Bushmills Distillery but the restaurant and shop were welcome when the only bad weather of the day (a sudden downpour of rain) appeared! The weather cleared up for the Giant's Causeway and what a wonderful natural phenomena it is. The coach company picked me up at my slightly 'out-of-the-way' guest house in the Queens University area and dropped me back in the city after a very long, but enjoyable 10 hour tour! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Neil S United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

This is a trip well worth considering when in Belfast. It is a full day and takes in so many attractions. You are picked up from your hotel door and taken to a central point to join a luxury coach when the day begins. Darren was the driver for the day who had a very dry sense of humour and made the entire day so informative. He commentates throughout the tour and is a wealth of knowledge. The highlights of the day are the trip to the Bushmill's Distillery. You do not have time for the tour but you stop there for lunch. The food is superb and plentiful. You can try the whiskeys through the cafe and bar and the new Bushmill's Honey is worth a try. You pay extra to go on the rope bridge and later to enter the Giants Causeway but the driver sells discounted tickets (£10) You must go on the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge. It is not as scary as you may think. Though high and windy, the rope is very secure and you have confidence in the bridge. The guides from the National Trust are also very helpful. It helps if you bend your knees when crossing to stop them knocking! Then onto Giant's Causeway which is the highlight of the day. You spend two hours there so plenty of time to explore. Fascinating to see how nature has created these structures. You can climb on them so I strongly recommend a sturdy footwear. There is time for a coffee before setting for home. Pick up at 9.15 a.m. and we were dropped off at 6.30 p.m. I would highly recommend this trip as it is not only a superb day but also value for money as the price is so reasonable.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Elliott G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Good tour and guide. Too bad no time for a quick look around at the Bushmills distillery.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

janet G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful day out. The sun shone. Giants Causeway was a fascinating place. Picked up from the hotel and dropped off on time too. Engaging guide. Personally I did not rate the stopover at the Whiskey distillery but everything else was good.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

sabin.carpiuc

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The tour was very interesting. We saw Carrickfergus Castle, we cross the famous Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge and we had a nice lunch at the Old Bushmills Distillery before seeing the Giants Causeway. The bus driver, Ray, was the man of the day. He was our guide for the full day doing a great job, with a lot of jokes and interesting stories about the places we visited. The bus was modern and confortable. The weather was nice with a mix of clouds and sun. The only drawback was that we had to keep the schedule, being all the day in a hurry. But it was a good value for money and I definetly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Kim T

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Really enjoyed it. Tour guide was good too. Felt there could have been more time at distillery and slightly less at giants causeway. Also should be explained that you have to pay extra for the visitors centre at giants causeway when you book.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Valerie B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Having 'phoned as instructed, we were told the coach would pick us up at 9.00. At 9.45, the hotel 'phoned for us and at 10.00 the coach came. Sadly it was a very misty morning so we couldn't see much of the beautiful Antrim coastal drive. We stopped at two castles for 'photographs. One was a ruin but the other looked worth a visit. The food and drink at the Bushmills Distillery were grossly overpriced as were the souvenirs. The town of Bushmill looked very pleasant with numerous eateries but we were too far away to avail ourselves of them. The Rope Bridge was awesome - luckily I am a member of the National Trust so didn't have to pay the £5.50 entry fee. Giant's Causeway was busy but the audio guide was fun. Once again I didn't have to pay the entry fee (£8.50). My friend didn't want to do the Rope Bridge and isn't a National Trust member but because she came on the coach she paid a reduced (Green) entry fee. We rushed straight home via the motorway which was a shame as the mist had burnt off by lunchtime and we could have enjoyed the coastal ride instead of the motorway. It is a pity that, having heard the weather forecast, the coach firm didn't reverse the order of the day so we wouldn't all have felt cheated out of part of the trip. Having said that, it was along day but I think good value for money. I would certainly recommend it.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

jillian l

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

So the bus tour itself was great, getting to see some gorgeous sights along the way. What I struggled with was the commercial stop at Bushmills distillery, and I was unprepared for the intense overcrowding of the tourist stops. Very hard to get a real feel for the environment whilst surrounded by thousands. Not a fault of the tour, just the timing of the trip during peak tourist season. Better sights to see without the hassle.

Doing what: Giant’s Causeway Day Trip from Belfast

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message