Belize City ATTRACTIONS See all

Belize City Cruise Port

With more than its fair share of natural delights, Belize is paradise for outdoor-adventure enthusiasts, and Belize City is the gateway to its spoils. Shore excursions include river kayaking, horseback riding, Mayan temples, ziplining and cave ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 21 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Darlene C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

In my opinion, the best tour in Belize. Our guide- Philipe, was very knowledgeable about the Mayan culture, the flora we came in contact with, as well as history of Belize. It was both educational and enjoyable, loved it and highly recommend it

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Nakia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Marie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

the tour was fantastic and the tour guide we had- Felipe - is so interesting and knowledgeable about all of the Mayan culture - would like to go to Belize again soon and will take another tour with Felipe-

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Jamie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Filipe was so knowledgeable and a great guide! We learned all about medicinal plants and so much about Mayan Culture. My husband and I were so happy we choose this excursion. It was quite the hike up the ruins that literally left us breathless in so many ways. He also showed us the town and we stopped at a rum factory. Don't miss out on this tour!

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Carim L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great Ruins tour, city tour is not worth much and we did not get the rain forest tour because we spent too much time at the ruins.

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

mari United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent tour. There were eight of us from two ships in a van with our guide. The guide spoke English and Spanish, and kept everyone engaged. Altun Ha was definitely worth visiting: good visitors' center, manicured lawns, trees labeled with their names, handrails to help climb the highest temple, reconstructed areas easily identifiable so you can tell what is original and what was added, etc. Our guide not only shared his knowledge about Altun Ha, the Mayans and Belize City, but also about medicinal plants. After the visit to the ruins 30-45 minutes?, we were taken on a tour in the van of Belize City.
The tour included two stops not listed in the Viator tour description. First, a five minute stop on the way to Altun Ha to see iguanas and try optional local wines. Second, a ten minute stop at a local distillery. We did not mind these stops always good to step off the van and stretch, but wanted to let others know about them.
We returned to the port at the scheduled time. It was an enjoyable introduction to Belize's Mayan heritage.

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Suzette C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was the best part of our trip! We were guided by Alyssa. Seven of us jumped into a well maintained comfortable van and off we went. Our guide worked hard to make everyone comfortable. One couple only spoke Spanish so she was able to give all information in both English and Spanish. Her heritage provided the most amazing love and feel for the culture of the Mayan people. The good humor and amazing facts worked to bring a sense of camaraderie amongst the group. I highly recommend this tour. Ice cold bottled water was provided for the trip home.

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Maxwell G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour guy we travel with was named Robert Lopez. He was very polite and professional, and did an outstanding job. He shared all his knowledge about belize with us making the drive seem short. While walking to the cave he showed us several things about the forest. He was understanding and helpful getting my Grandma (78) to be able to do everything on this excursion. The excursion was a blast. We were the 1st tender to belize and quick made our way out of port to the guide. We were the first to arrive at the site and had a private tour with our tour guide. Spent several ours tubing, had a amazing buffett, and spent another hour ziplining. Would highly recommend this excursion to anyone and recommend the guide to anyone as well.

Doing what: Belize City Shore Excursion: Canopy Zipline and Cave-Tubing Adventure

Marc S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

This was a great excursion. Vel (our driver and guide) was extremely knowledgeable and kept us on time for the whole day. We even stopped at a local grocery store for snacks, which was a good experience as well. Ziplining was fantastic -- the entire group of 9 enjoyed it (teens and adults). Cave tubing was also fun (after the 1.5 mile hike on the rocks in aqua socks). All in all, a great day in Belize!

Doing what: Belize City Shore Excursion: Canopy Zipline and Cave-Tubing Adventure

MINDY K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Excellent tour guide! He was very informed and friendly! Only regret is that we did not see the beautiful parts of Belize.

Doing what: Belize City Shore Excursion: City Tour with Altun Ha Mayan Temples

Jerri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

We loved it! We were so happy that we booked with you. We had a nice small tour of 8 (our family) and were well taken care of by our wonderful guide Vel, who was funny and a wealth of information on the Mayans! Being in a small tour like this we had a little more leway to go at our own pace. GREAT!!!!!

Doing what: Belize City Shore Excursion: City Tour with Altun Ha Mayan Temples

sweet_angel84647

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This is an amazing experience. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, patient, and got us back for our cruise ship in a timely manor. The drive to the ruins is lengthy and I recommend to not bring children under 12 as it is very hot and boring to them.

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Folake

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The tour was great. The rainforest part of it was just driving on a regular road to get to Altun Ha and was more of the secondary rainforest so that part was somewhat misleading. It might help to add that snacks and souvenirs are available at Altun Ha and at the pick up location. Knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Linda Y

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Felipe was our guide and he did an excellent job telling us about the history of the Mayas and the temples. He made it very interesting and enjoyable. Would recommend him to anyone one wanting a tour of the ruins.

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Scott t W

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The tour cost was less expensive than booking through a cruise line and the savings was worth it. Our guide, Alicia Tun, was very knowledgeable and friendly. She was able to answer all of our questions and added a personal touch to the Mayan history, based on her ancestry. The directions provided to meet with the tour group were easy to follow and Alicia made sure we were back to the dock on time. Bring mosquito spray!

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Jessica H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The ruins were very interesting. Our Guide was very informative, explaining the history of Belize as well as the Mayan history of the ruins at Altun ha. I wish we would have just a little bit more time at the ruins, but it and #39;s not huge place so we did have a chance to walk around and take photos.

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Stephen C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Our guide Roberto was great! He was incredibly knowledgable about all things Belize and was more than we could of asked for. There was a bit of miscommunication about the time to meet up (Belize local time vs. Cruise ship time) but after a 40 minute wait, the excursion couldn't have gone smoother. Top quality guide, equipment and transit. Would highly recommend and do it again.

Doing what: Belize City Shore Excursion: Canopy Zipline and Cave-Tubing Adventure

Stacey B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

Freaked us out ! Pickup was 45 minutes late and all other tours had left the dock! Third party guide at the park was wonderful...not related to Viator!!! :((

Doing what: Belize City Shore Excursion: Canopy Zipline and Cave-Tubing Adventure

Jeanne S

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

Our tour guide did a GREAT JOB and made the excursion the best possible. The zip line and cave tubing were fun but VERY crowded which took away a lot of the enjoyment. The six of of enjoyed it but the crowds were a bit over-whelming.

Doing what: Belize City Shore Excursion: Canopy Zipline and Cave-Tubing Adventure

G Duane M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

The tour was not as advertised. There was no city tour or forest tour. The transportation was uncomfortable and the guide was merely adequate. My friend and I attached ourselves to another guide at the ruins and learned much more.

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Mark H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

As there were no cruise ships for the day, the gate to their booth at Terminal 4 was closed.

Doing what: Altun Ha Belize City Rain Forest Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message