Overlooking the beautiful Mopan River from a stunning hilltop, the ruins at Xunantunich are some of the most visited Mayan sites in the world. Located in the Cayo region, Xunantunich, which means "stone woman" in Mayan, dates back to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Diana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This ride was really fun and not very technical mostly dirt road, but some potholes and roots to make it interesting. A long slow climb, then downhill into farmland next to the river. We rode across a river on a hand cranked car ferry and climbed the paved hill up to Xunantuich Ruins. What made the ride and ruins tour so spectacular, is that our guide, Selwyn Bol is a naturalist with a degree from Belize University. He had a keen eye for birds, their sounds, and where to see them. He also had extensive knowledge of the local flora there. He explained so much about the Mayan Culture and Xunantunich, that it informed our later tours of Caracol, and Cahal Pech. This was money well spent and we rode our bikes through the jungle!

Doing what: Xunantunich Mountain Bike Adventure

Casey J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Loved the horse ride, walking the ruins, and learning the history of the Mayans. The horses were great and well trained, making this a wonderful experience for my daughter's first time riding a horse. I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Belize.

Doing what: Horseback Ride to Xunantunich Maya Ruins Including Traditional Lunch

jcsluis

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good tour. I guess I was a little tired after my 4th Mayan ruin. We did not get to horseback ride onto the ruin due to undisclosed reasons, but we did have a 2 hour ride/waterfall swim later that day in place of the morning ride. Be careful: Horseback riding can be uncomfortable :

Doing what: Horseback Ride to Xunantunich Maya Ruins Including Traditional Lunch

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything and everyone was wonderful! My wife is a professional horse trainer, and she impressed with the care and concern the staff had not only for their customers, but their horses as well. Often horses at these types of stables catering to tourists are ill treated, overworked, etc. Our guides were knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna as well as the local community and culture.

Doing what: Horseback Ride to Xunantunich Maya Ruins Including Traditional Lunch

PAUL C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

excellent, guide very very good

Doing what: Xunantunich and The Belize Zoo

lawrence p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Rudi Thompson, our tour guide, made this trip not only enjoyable but memorable beyond words! He was so informative, supportive, friendly, funny, and tremendously good hearted. In short, he created a very happy day. You should clone him.

Doing what: Xunantunich and The Belize Zoo

Julie T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

had great time at mayan ruins and wonderful visit at the Belize zoo!

Doing what: Xunantunich and The Belize Zoo

webspender

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The trip is nice. Xunantuich is smaller than Lamanai. But it is still worth visting. In addition, this is a wonderful combination that you can go to the zoo with the Mayan site. The zoo is small, but this is the only zoo I ever visited that I saw a Margray cat.
The tapirs in the zoo are also lovely.

Doing what: Xunantunich and The Belize Zoo

Richard W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

With the ferry out of service, we visited Cahal Pech instead of Xunantunich. At the zoo, our guide was known by all the animals.

Doing what: Xunantunich and The Belize Zoo

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

For both tours the guide was very pleasant and well-informed. I was the only participant on both tours. The tour to Xunantunich and the Belize Zoo was very good and I appreciated the fact that you ran the tour even though I was the only guest.

Doing what: Xunantunich and The Belize Zoo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message