Overlooking the beautiful Mopan River from a stunning hilltop, the ruins at Xunantunich are some of the most visited Mayan sites in the world. Located in the Cayo region, Xunantunich, which means "stone woman" in Mayan, dates back to the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Shlomo W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This trip is well worth it! And our guide, Robert the owner of the company is exemplary! Our day started with a tour of the, Xunantunich, the Mayan ruins. The ruins themselves are amazing, but Robert made the experience even more special due to his knowledge of Mayan history and these particular ruins. He is a very patient, personable, and friendly guy.

After seeing the ruins, we drove through beautiful countryside to visit several waterfalls. Since Robert grew up in the area on his family's farm he had lots of fun stories to tell. To get to the waterfalls, we cruised the river on Robert's pontoon boat, a lovely experience. Once there we were able to swim very close to the falls and float around with inner tubes. Robert is very good with a camera/iPhone so we got some really good photos.

All in all this was a once in a life time experience! Thanks again, Robert.
Andy and Shlomo

Doing what: Xunantunich Temples and Jungle Pontoon Waterfall Adventure

Jennifer P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Robert was a wonderful guide with so much knowledge! We loved walking around these stunning ruins. The pontoon adventure was gorgeous!! Calm water, jungle, birds and even a baby alligator... climbing the waterfalls and swimming at a little beach were a great end to this day. We enjoyed Robert so much that we booked him for a tour the very next day!

Doing what: Xunantunich Temples and Jungle Pontoon Waterfall Adventure

Diana B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This ride was really fun and not very technical mostly dirt road, but some potholes and roots to make it interesting. A long slow climb, then downhill into farmland next to the river. We rode across a river on a hand cranked car ferry and climbed the paved hill up to Xunantuich Ruins. What made the ride and ruins tour so spectacular, is that our guide, Selwyn Bol is a naturalist with a degree from Belize University. He had a keen eye for birds, their sounds, and where to see them. He also had extensive knowledge of the local flora there. He explained so much about the Mayan Culture and Xunantunich, that it informed our later tours of Caracol, and Cahal Pech. This was money well spent and we rode our bikes through the jungle!

Doing what: Xunantunich Mountain Bike Adventure

Casey J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour. Loved the horse ride, walking the ruins, and learning the history of the Mayans. The horses were great and well trained, making this a wonderful experience for my daughter's first time riding a horse. I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Belize.

Doing what: Horseback Ride to Xunantunich Maya Ruins Including Traditional Lunch

jcsluis

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Good tour. I guess I was a little tired after my 4th Mayan ruin. We did not get to horseback ride onto the ruin due to undisclosed reasons, but we did have a 2 hour ride/waterfall swim later that day in place of the morning ride. Be careful: Horseback riding can be uncomfortable :

Doing what: Horseback Ride to Xunantunich Maya Ruins Including Traditional Lunch

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Everything and everyone was wonderful! My wife is a professional horse trainer, and she impressed with the care and concern the staff had not only for their customers, but their horses as well. Often horses at these types of stables catering to tourists are ill treated, overworked, etc. Our guides were knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna as well as the local community and culture.

Doing what: Horseback Ride to Xunantunich Maya Ruins Including Traditional Lunch

PAUL C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

excellent, guide very very good

Doing what: Xunantunich and The Belize Zoo

lawrence p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Rudi Thompson, our tour guide, made this trip not only enjoyable but memorable beyond words! He was so informative, supportive, friendly, funny, and tremendously good hearted. In short, he created a very happy day. You should clone him.

Doing what: Xunantunich and The Belize Zoo

Julie T USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2011

had great time at mayan ruins and wonderful visit at the Belize zoo!

Doing what: Xunantunich and The Belize Zoo

webspender

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The trip is nice. Xunantuich is smaller than Lamanai. But it is still worth visting. In addition, this is a wonderful combination that you can go to the zoo with the Mayan site. The zoo is small, but this is the only zoo I ever visited that I saw a Margray cat.
The tapirs in the zoo are also lovely.

Doing what: Xunantunich and The Belize Zoo

Richard W USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

With the ferry out of service, we visited Cahal Pech instead of Xunantunich. At the zoo, our guide was known by all the animals.

Doing what: Xunantunich and The Belize Zoo

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2010

For both tours the guide was very pleasant and well-informed. I was the only participant on both tours. The tour to Xunantunich and the Belize Zoo was very good and I appreciated the fact that you ran the tour even though I was the only guest.

Doing what: Xunantunich and The Belize Zoo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message