Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Alexanderplatz

Alexanderplatz remains the largest urban square in all of Germany and is a central meeting place in Berlin, located in the Mitte District.  At its center is the large railway station (Alexanderplatz) with connections to many subway (U-Bahn), ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The hop-on hop-off bus was excellent to see all of the exhibitions and landmark buildings we were interested in. We stayed at the Park Inn on Alexanderplatz which was a main stopping popint for the bus and very convenient. For us, the 2 day ticket was perfect. We did notice that someone was turned away because their ticket was in their mobile phone and the necessary scanner wasn't working. Therefore, recommend taking a printed off ticket to avoid this problem.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jasper v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Both cycle tours are the best way to meet Berlin.Well organised with good guides.But the Potsdam cycle tour was one of the best experiences we ever had!A nice trip by train from Alexanderplatz to Potsdam and a big surprise follows:Hop on your bike and enjoy wonderful Potsdam with beautiful gardens and palaces.They call it Versailles of Berlin.Not true:much more beautiful than Versailles.Go for it !!!66 and 64 years old!

Doing what: Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

Barbara S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

What a cracking day! We had Alex as our guide who was fantastic! Stopped at a fabulous beer garden for lunch before meandering back to Alexanderplatz.. I would absolutely go on another tour, the team are friendly, with a fab sense of humour and probably know Berlin better than a Berliner! Thanks Alex.

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

Sweetheart S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The best way to see the city, 2 lines, approximately 3 hours per line without getting down, depending on the traffic. The only downside was, the tour ended at 5pm -- and as traffic was bad, the bus driver just dropped off all passengers at some stop when the clock hit 5pm! We were all surprised, we thought he would bring us back still to the point of embarkation Alexanderplatz which was like the center -- worst was, the driver did not speak good English and could not give proper directions. And as we were walking to find the nearest train station to bring us back to Alexanderplatz which was the familiar place, we saw other buses from the same company still having passengers on them -- possibly bringing them back to the city center. So when you get this tour -- make sure to be clear on when the end point will be so you'll know how you'll get to where you want to be from there.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

John E USA

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

Overall bus and boat tours were great. Return bus trip from Schloss Chartlottenburg was cut short when the bus driver stopped the ride and kicked us off the bus short of our intended stop. We were forced to find our way back to our hotel on foot. The other item was trying to find the ticket center at Alexanderplatz. We were not looking for a van on the corner as our destination. This info would have been helpful along with the name of the bus company.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Jennifer R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2009

We enjoyed the tour - it was very interesting, and it was easy to get on and off the bus. It was also good to have earphones to listen to the commentary in English. However, as we got on at Alexanderplatz, there was nowhere we could change our voucher for tickets. The bus driver just ushered us on to the bus, but we were getting off at next stop to do the boat trip. We didn't know which boat we were to use, but we were allowed on the one that was about to leave. There was then a problem as we didn't have tickets, so we had to get our voucher photocopied at the boat ticket office when we got off and then had to find a bus ticket office to change our vouchers to tickets. This was all a bit confusing for strangers in a strange land who couldn't speak the language.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Eleonora P USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2010

It was OK to just get around the city and see major sites. Although Viator said we had to go to Alexanderplatz to get the tickets, this wasn't true - they will let you in with the voucher on any stop.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Susan M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

I've taken Hop-on Hop-off in other cities including London and Madrid. Unfortunately this Berlin tour was not up to par with those experiences. First off there was a bit of confusion regarding just what bus I had booked. There are numerous companies with buses traveling around Berlin, but none of them were called Viator. I showed up at the noted bus stop near Alexderplatz, with a UPC code on my iPad, since the Viator site indicated that was satisfactory proof of purchase. Several bus drivers at the location struggled to ask me in English "where was my printed pass?" We'll - I'm on vacation, so I didn't exactly have a printer with me.

One driver on the City Pass bus evenly printed a ticket for me with a scribbled note. I am still wondering who is Viator? Just a website that takes your money? Additionally the quality of the audio content on the bus was not truly informative to the same extent the buses I'd taken in the other cities had been. For a great deal of the trip, you are just listening to instrumental music.

Lastly, I had a bad experience at the end of the day. I hopped on the bus at 5:30 PM, after touring a huge museum all afternoon. Much to my surprise the driver let everyone off at stop 8, which he claimed was the final stop of the day. I needed to get back to Alexamderplatz to get my connection. The driver flippantly directed me how to walk back to Alexanderplatz. Exhausted after a full day, i walked and walked and finally found my way. Later that night I checked - the distance from stop 8 back to Alexanderplatz was 1.6 miles. In all, in was disappointed with the quality of this bus and wish that I had selected another co. for touring Berlin.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message