At the height of the Cold War in 1961, the notorious Berlin Wall was erected by communist East Germany, dividing Berlin (and the whole country) for nearly 30 years. With the downfall of communism in Poland, the Czech Republic, and other central ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 32 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Claire W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We did this tour with guide Rick, who was very knowledgeable and entertaining. It was an excellent tour where we saw things that we would not have found on our own. I would recommend this tour to anyone with an interest in the history behind the building of the wall and what life was like for east Berliners during that time. It is a fascinating insight into the history of the city at that time.

Doing what: East Berlin and Cold War Half-Day Walking Tour

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guide provided a very informative walking tour. It was a very hot day and he was considerate to stop and talk in shaded areas. He decided to skip the last stop at Gendarmenmarkt, due to the heat and we were running a little late. Not a big deal for us since our hotel was near the Gendarmenmarkt and we sat in the square between the 2 Doms. Stopping at the check point Charlie gave us a chance to go back to see the free Terror Museum at the Wall, no English only German self tour. Overall our guide did a great job, I would highly recommend this informative tour.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a really well done walking tour of Berlin. We met the guide at 10:30 at an easy to find location. We learned lots about Berlin's history. The guide really took the time to explain certain aspects, both obvious ones that we all want to see Brandenburg Gate, Berlin Wall, Checkpoint Charlie, etc. but also showed us some things we would never have seen or thought about if we were on our own. Overall I am really glad that I chose this particular tour to get a better understanding of Berlin.

Doing what: Berlin Small-Group Tour: Sights, History And Stories of Berlin's Past And Present

SUSAN K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

An entertaining and highly interesting afternoon with our guide, Matti. He brought a fascinating perspective as someone whose parents lived in the DDR, and who was born before the Wall fell.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Mr J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Waleem was a fabulous tour guide - funny and knowledgeable. It was a great 3 hours and we were sad to see it end. He looked after the entire group of varying abilities and kept it fun throughout, whilst paying the respect certain aspects required. This sis t an in depth, heartstrings-pulling account of the rise and fall of the wall, but a whistle stop tour of all the big sights with more than enough information to give you a great understanding of what went on and why. Highly, highly recommended!!!!!!

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

Deborah F

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

We like Segways and generally find them a good way to get around and see a lot of things with a guide.
Whether you have read about the Wall or East Germany before nothing replaces a local showing you and telling you their insider knowledge. Our guide spoke great English and was Irish. Keiran had a great sense of humour. We really enjoyed his tour. It should be said that the day we went, the admin people were overworked and disorganised. However safety is also an issue on Segways and Keiran looked after us all extremely well

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

Stephen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Alex was a great guide and had an wonderfully deep understanding of the DDR era and reunification. His choice of sites and routes through wall areas was very informative. A highlight of our trip and far exceeding expactations.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Behind the Iron Curtain and Berlin Wall

Kay I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was split in two due to it being a large group. The tour guide, Pipp, was amazing! As she guided us through the city, she engaged the group with her in depth knowledge and perspectives of historical Berlin, telling us a true story about everything from pre-Hitler to the fall of the Berlin Wall. I highly recommend this if you are visiting Berlin for the first time and don't have the time to do the research yourself. It was a long walk but well worth it!

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

patel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazingly insightful tour ...Jess was our tour guide who walked us thru 1000 years of German history in 4 hours...the narrative was as imaginative as it was accurate particularly about the death strip and Berlin Wall... His interpretation of the memorial struck a chord... Definitely worth the money!

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Moira R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We went on this tour with Rick and it was great. Very informative on a very warm day!. We started on Museum Island then went on a tour of the history of Berlin - with particular emphasis on the city's recent past. After the tour we went back and spent more time at the exhibition on the remainder of the Berlin Wall and the Topopgraphy of Terror. Rick was well informed and very enthusiastic on his subject and I would recommend this to anyone who wants to get an overview of the city.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Lalith W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The sites chosen by the guide were very atmospheric and really captured the sentiment and emotions of the divided city and what was happening in East Berlin. The wall itself, the gathering places for opposition against the communist regime, the events of 1989 were all covered. A very thoughtful tour.

Doing what: East Berlin and Cold War Half-Day Walking Tour

Jane O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour we did was booked by accident, I thought I had booked the Berlin wall tour.
However saying that, Rachel our guide made it by far the best tour we did all week. Lots of interesting little points of information and many funny stories. Was a big group but she made everyone welcome. Well done

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Ricardo L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great way to see various parts of Berlin in four to six hours. Very educational as well. DJ Alex from Canada was our tour guide and we was great! He really looked out for the group as well - for example, staging us for quick lights so we could all make it across the street in one group. I really enjoyed the Berlin Wall, Soviet War Memorial, the old rail bridge and of course lunch! A must do when in Berlin!

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

Harold H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A great tour about the time of the Berlin Wall. Craig very informative. Recommend to anyone. Great riding for 4.5 hours around the streets of Berlin.......Harold and Carol.

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

Damian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A Segway tour of Berlin is a must. Let's face it Berlin is just too big to see by foot and you get the added experience of riding around on a Segway - very cool. We took the tour hoping for an overview of Berlin, we got so much more. Our guide Toby was great. Not only was he very knowledgable about Berlin but it was his delivery of the info that made the tour so good. He shared his own experiences of Berlin from the cool places to have a drink to the experience of growing up with 'the wall'. I can't recommend this tour enough. You won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

Kacey C United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We were fortunate enough to be in Berlin for the 25th anniversary celebration of the fall of the Wall. Our tour guide, Dennis, was fantastic. He's a lover of history and when the tour was over, we felt that we really understood the history of Berlin. We would absolutely recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get a good overview of story of Berlin.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Sandy W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Learned a lot on this tour. It was a busy day in Berlin for other tours at the same time and while at The Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and Brandenburg Gate it was very crowded. Wear comfortable shoes for this one as there's all pavement and cobbles and by the third hour your feet are killing you. Tour guide Jess had a good sense of humor, but had a bit of an stand off'ish attitude. Whatever, I wasn't there for him. By the time we made it to Checkpoint Charlie we 'defected' from the tour and went off on our own. One note: Make notes of places that you found interesting so you can go back later as there's no time to really stop and take photographs or read posted information.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Jonathan H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

This was a very interesting trip and our guide filled us in with many amazing real life stories about attemps to escape over the wall. The cycling was easy as the ground is very flat in Berlin. The choice of lunch stop could have been better - it was a Morroccan takeaway which was good value for money but not something everyone likes! I would rather have had a German cafe! Nevertheless a very worthwhile experience!

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

Lizzan

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

I found the tour company at the West meeting point easily enough (but there is another tour company which start their tours from the other side of the bus stops, so make sure you find the right one). We then took the train to the east meeting point, but due to work on the train lines we were a bit later than we should have been.

Our guide Jonathan was very knowledgeable and made sure to find us places in the shade and places we could sit as often as possible, as the weather was very warm and sunny. He made sure to start the tour with a general history while we were sitting in the shade and then touched upon the relevant points when seeing the different sights.

There's quite a bit of a walk on this tour, about 6 kilometres. We saw Museum Island, Berlin Cathedral, Bebelplatz, the Holocaust Memorial, a bit of the Berlin wall and ended up outside the concert house. We rather quickly passed by Brandenburger Tor and Checkpoint Charlie. We had a short break at the Holocaust Memorial, where we could buy drinks and use the toilet, this was after about 3 hours of touring.

I'm wavering between 3 and 4 stars for this one, as I've certainly done better walking tours with better guides, but it was a nice introduction to Berlin. I personally feel that 4 hours is a bit too much time for one tour. Also, be aware that the first half hour of the tour is only transportation to the east meeting point if you choose to meet at the west one.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

mzimmerman

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic. Every tour I did on this vacation through Viator was great. Berlin has so much history and to be able to stand in the middle of it all was priceless. I loved seeing the Berlin Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and everything else. The guide was fantastic and extremely knowledgeable. I was a tad disappointed with the site of Hitler's Bunker as I was expecting to see an actual bunker. Otherwise it was a fantastic tour.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Olivia P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Best Tour I went on while holidaying in Europe. Our tour guide was Henric a German native who spoke fluent and easy to understand English. The walking tour showed all the best highlights of Berlin with an interesting insight into it's troubled history, architecture and art including sights like the Berlin Wall, Jewish Memorial and the death place of Hitler which had remained secret until recently and serves as reminder as to how history remembers the perpetrators of war, which you really need the whole tour experience to comprehend its impact.

I would highly recommend this tour for people of all ages my only advice is to wear sensible shoes and bring some water as it is a fair hike around the city, but well worth it.
Five Stars.

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Mehmet Turgut D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very enlightening tour mostly due to the tour guide Mr. Alex LaRocca - hope I did spell his name correctly -. He happened to be grad student majoring in History/Political History majoring in the German history of the 19 and 20th centuries. So he was very knowledgable and shared what could shared with a typical tour crowd. The Berliner Dome, Unter den Lİnden, Humboldt Universitat, Book Burning, Polish Church as a sign of tolerance, the Book Burning Incident of May 1933, Jewish Memorial, Hitler's Bunker, The Wall, Checkpoint Charlie and the underlying rumours, and the finish at the Gendarmen Markt. All seems to be vivid still. I definitely recommend this tour and strongly advise to ask for Mr. Alex LaRocca as the tour guide. I take this oppurtunity to thank him once more for his friendly attitude towards the group and also for his patience.
Mr. Turgut Dagdelen

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Laura

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great tour of Berlin. Seeing the old and the new, the East and the West. All the high points were covered in about 3 hours. You begin to get your compass set as to how to move around Berlin, so do this tour early in your stay. It is hard to believe that the wall stood rather recently and many remember those days. Thankfully, the area seems to be growing and inviting a very diverse culture.

Doing what: Berlin Segway Tour

Colby C

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

Great tour. The guide was well prepared and had lots of little bits of information that bought the town of Berlin and its history to life. This is a walking tour so be prepared to walk! The only place for the toilet stop was half way at the Brandenburg Gate - we went into the Starbucks and paid to use their bathrooms. The Berlin Wall stop was a bit disapointing - I would perhaps end the tour there instead of Checkpoint Charlie so people can have a look at the wall and the information there instead of just standing above it looking down and getting info from the guide. The meeting place is easy to find but as usual we left late. I would recommend this tour its a good way to see the main sights and hear the history of the place

Doing what: Discover Berlin Half-Day Walking Tour

Wallace S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This was a fantastic tour, and Kevin did a wonderful job leading us around. My wife and I did not know so much about the Cold War period here in Berlin, but it really came to life to us through the tour, and we recommend the biking tour to anyone who's considering Berlin and who would like to more about the history of "the Wall."

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour: Berlin Wall and Cold War

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message