Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Jewish Museum (Jüdisches Museum)

More than two thousand years of German Jewish history is displayed, analyzed and exhibited at Berlin’s fascinating Jewish Museum. The collection is housed in the baroque Old Building (the former Collegienhaus), courtyard gardens, and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 206 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alan W H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent way of seeing Berlin. Transport easy to use, Tickets delivered to Hotel first rate service.

Doing what: Berlin City Pass with Optional Panoramapunkt Entry

lesliepannell

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

We just broke even on this pass, mainly due to the fact we didn't do many of the museums although the pass includes a huge selection of museums and places to visit. It should be noted it does NOT include Schloss Charottenberg. It certainly did come in handy for the placed and activities we did do from it. It was easy to use and we had no issue with the places that were listed to take it.

Of note it does include a Fat Tire bike tour which was awesome and well worth doing!

We got the Pass that included the transit day tickets and that was very handy.

You do have to watch when you validate your Berlin pass, a day is a calendar day not a 24 hour period so if you validate in the evening you loose a bunch of time.

The instructions on the voucher only had one pick up point, on Museum Island, that was definitely a pain for people coming in from the airport to have to make their way to. Having a location at the airport or main train station to redeem the pass would have saved us a bunch of time.

Doing what: Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions

Leslie H

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

It was a nice tour the only thing I didn't like were that the guide had to take time to explain everything in two languages which can be boring and time consuming. He also said there are no Jews living in Prague then continued to talk about the only still working synagogue, so there must be Jews living in Prague.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Bradley R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2016

Way too many people on the tour. The guide had to explain everything twice: once in English, and once in French. He took us to a museum and read the plaques for us without including any other little known facts or idiosyncrasies, the reason we like to take tours. He could not answer questions very knowledgeably at all. We left partway through the tour because we figured we could do as well on our own.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Beautiful tour, had an excellent time. The friendly and well-spoken tour guide set a nice pace and gave a neat, informative tour, effortlessly and fluently switching between two languages to provide the tour to multiple parties in the tour group. Locations were excellent. I recommend this tour highly.

The only problem we ran into was that the meeting place for the tour was a little hard to find, and I recommend leaving yourself some extra time to find it - the rent-a-bike described is not on google maps even the street-view pictures were taken before it was there - it's tucked away under the railroad bridge at the corner of Grunerstraße and Dircksenstraße, southeast of the Alexanderplatz railroad station and the KFC. I'll try to upload pictures indicating the location.

Doing what: All-In-One Bike Tour

rhondacottage21

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was the best way to see and get around Berlin. Absolutely the best value for money. We saw everything we wanted to see and visit and could use all the transport we needed with the pass. We were thrilled with what we managed to do during our visit. We would recommend the Berlin Pass to everyone.

Doing what: Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions

Frank R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent tour, tour guide was very knowledgeable

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Serene A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bike tour with Jerry was super amazing, Shawn and I enjoyed it so much. Jerry is an awesome guide and he is so talented, speaking 3 different languages on the tour. He also keeps the tour very light hearted and throws in many fun facts for us to learn about the history and culture of Germany.

Doing what: All-In-One Bike Tour

lutib Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This tour is well worth doing. The tour guide we had, Jana, was very well versed in all things Jewish and made the tour a pleasant and enjoyable one. Shame we only visited 4 of the 6 Synagogues in Prague but there is only so much one can do in 3 hours.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

DARRLY F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2016

This was the worst tour I have ever taken.there were4 english speaking people and 2 Spanish speaking people. The guide spend 10 of her time speaking Spanish and should then turn and give us a 1 min explaination in engliSh. The guild left the english speaking people to go on there own and see the museum while she spent the whole time speaking in Spanish. 1 American left after 1 hour and the 3 who remained left after another 40 min. We were ignored and did not enjoy any part of this experience. I would definite not recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Noah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent tour! Our guide Sara was outstanding. Her vast knowledge combined with her enthusiasm for the subject matter was an unforgettable experience. The commentary and time spent at each location were perfect. The only negative was the Viator meeting place. Out of the way but this tour is a must!

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Martin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Unbelievable being able to just hop on and hop off any public transport underground rail, overland train, tram and bus even just to go up the hill, plus free entry without queuing up everywhere.

Doing what: Berlin City Pass with Optional Panoramapunkt Entry

Sharon M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The low point of our trip to Prague. Poorly organized. While the places were amazing, we were too frazzled to really enjoy them. And of course these areas are of such interest, the crowding added to the disorientation of the actual tour. I could and #39;ve just downloaded information and organized a tour.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Betsy C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

I think seeing the Jewish Quarter and old synagogues is a must-see for anyone who is spending time in Prague, but unfortunately Viator's tour was disappointing. It felt like the guide had no more understanding and information about what we were seeing than one could read in a travel guide. I was also surprised that some of the information imparted was not entirely accurate--for instance the explanation of what a mezuzah is and its significance to Jews. You also fly through each sight with not much more than literally 8-10 minutes to take in what you are seeing. I found the placards on the displays so much more informative than what we were getting from the guide. And yes, I realize there is a lot to see and only 3-hours to do it but I took 3-hour tours in many cities and this did not impress me. In fact we were looking at our watches to figure out how much time we had left.

I would offer what I hope will be a useful critique--I highly recommend the guides dig a little deeper in their understanding of what it was like to live in the Jewish Quarter which was a ghetto. How it impacted the community. Offer something that puts into context what was going on at the time and convey it in a way that resonates with customers whether or not they are Jewish. Ultimately I felt like I should have just gone without the tour and paid for the audioguides offered at the various sites.

I took free walking tours where the guides were more engaged, better informed and made the experience memorable in a way that this paid tour lacked. Which is not to say that our guide was not a well-meaning and lovely woman or that all free tours are great. We opted out of a few as the group swelled to an unmanageable amount of people. Although frankly, this tour was very full--and it had to be done bi-lingually.

I would not recommend using this company.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Lorraine D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

We made a mistake booking a three day pass. We didn't manage to get the value from it. It was a nuisance that the hop on hop off bus wasn't for 24 hours which meant we had to spend a whole day on the bus. The cruise was lovely. Also, we thought by booking the pass we could bypass the queues into the museums, but that wasn't the case.

Doing what: Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions

Melinda M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Absolutely not worth the money. It took us over 2.5 hours to find the Humbolt Box where we were to collect our tickets. For the amount of money we spent for a three day pass it is clearly not worth it as it is impossible to see very much and the savings on transport not worth the money. I would not recommend and we are extremely disappointed.

Doing what: Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions

Matthew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a day and what a way to see Berlin, tour guide Jerry has it all !

I looked at many sites for a cycle tour to cover the Berlin hotspots, why? Jerry has it all.

Great company, great fun, great guy. A day to remember.

Doing what: All-In-One Bike Tour

Nestor R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed having the transport and museum passes that come with this pass. Very easy to use. The list of museums on the pass is extensive. Did not have to waste time in lines or buying tickets. Good value for the money.

Doing what: Berlin City Pass with Optional Panoramapunkt Entry

Nitya I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Tour was delayed because of marathon. Guide knew her script, but seemed very tired. Perhaps she was having a bad day.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

fbarr

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

la verdad muy malo, no te informan nada, solo te piden identificacion y te dan las tarjetas, a la hora que pides informacion solo te dicen que leas los papeles, no vale la pena

Doing what: Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions

Elliot G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Our tour guide was very good however the tour started late due to having to pick up further people at a different location. The tour was also bilingual which I didn't realise when booking which meant that we were waiting for our explanation in English and therefore it seemed that half the time was wasted.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

James S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Splitting the commentary between English and German at each step of the way became a distraction. Guide had good subject knowledge.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Jean C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This would have been a good option except that we wasted a whole day trying to find the place to get the voucher validated. It could be validated in only one place that was not close to a U-bahn station. There was construction in the area. Directions were not helpful. We finally paid for our tickets to the German History Museum and looked for the validation site later in the day. If I had known how hard it would be, we wouldn't have purchased the four passes.

Doing what: Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions

Ami B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I was passed from Viator tours to the company next door, The guide was polite but his knowledge of the Jewish history, customs and religion was not impressive at all. He kept referring to the fact that jews were money lander at the time and kept rubbing his four fingers together which is viewed by many Jews as an offensive gestures. I did not enjoy his explanations at all

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message