Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Jewish Museum (Jüdisches Museum)

More than two thousand years of German Jewish history is displayed, analyzed and exhibited at Berlin’s fascinating Jewish Museum. The collection is housed in the baroque Old Building (the former Collegienhaus), courtyard gardens, and the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 193 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sharon M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

The low point of our trip to Prague. Poorly organized. While the places were amazing, we were too frazzled to really enjoy them. And of course these areas are of such interest, the crowding added to the disorientation of the actual tour. I could and #39;ve just downloaded information and organized a tour.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Betsy C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

I think seeing the Jewish Quarter and old synagogues is a must-see for anyone who is spending time in Prague, but unfortunately Viator's tour was disappointing. It felt like the guide had no more understanding and information about what we were seeing than one could read in a travel guide. I was also surprised that some of the information imparted was not entirely accurate--for instance the explanation of what a mezuzah is and its significance to Jews. You also fly through each sight with not much more than literally 8-10 minutes to take in what you are seeing. I found the placards on the displays so much more informative than what we were getting from the guide. And yes, I realize there is a lot to see and only 3-hours to do it but I took 3-hour tours in many cities and this did not impress me. In fact we were looking at our watches to figure out how much time we had left.

I would offer what I hope will be a useful critique--I highly recommend the guides dig a little deeper in their understanding of what it was like to live in the Jewish Quarter which was a ghetto. How it impacted the community. Offer something that puts into context what was going on at the time and convey it in a way that resonates with customers whether or not they are Jewish. Ultimately I felt like I should have just gone without the tour and paid for the audioguides offered at the various sites.

I took free walking tours where the guides were more engaged, better informed and made the experience memorable in a way that this paid tour lacked. Which is not to say that our guide was not a well-meaning and lovely woman or that all free tours are great. We opted out of a few as the group swelled to an unmanageable amount of people. Although frankly, this tour was very full--and it had to be done bi-lingually.

I would not recommend using this company.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Lorraine D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

We made a mistake booking a three day pass. We didn't manage to get the value from it. It was a nuisance that the hop on hop off bus wasn't for 24 hours which meant we had to spend a whole day on the bus. The cruise was lovely. Also, we thought by booking the pass we could bypass the queues into the museums, but that wasn't the case.

Doing what: Berlin Pass

Melinda M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2016

Absolutely not worth the money. It took us over 2.5 hours to find the Humbolt Box where we were to collect our tickets. For the amount of money we spent for a three day pass it is clearly not worth it as it is impossible to see very much and the savings on transport not worth the money. I would not recommend and we are extremely disappointed.

Doing what: Berlin Pass

Matthew D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a day and what a way to see Berlin, tour guide Jerry has it all !

I looked at many sites for a cycle tour to cover the Berlin hotspots, why? Jerry has it all.

Great company, great fun, great guy. A day to remember.

Doing what: All-In-One Bike Tour

Nestor R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed having the transport and museum passes that come with this pass. Very easy to use. The list of museums on the pass is extensive. Did not have to waste time in lines or buying tickets. Good value for the money.

Doing what: Berlin City Pass with Optional Panoramapunkt Entry

Nitya I

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Tour was delayed because of marathon. Guide knew her script, but seemed very tired. Perhaps she was having a bad day.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

fbarr

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

la verdad muy malo, no te informan nada, solo te piden identificacion y te dan las tarjetas, a la hora que pides informacion solo te dicen que leas los papeles, no vale la pena

Doing what: Berlin Pass

Elliot G

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Our tour guide was very good however the tour started late due to having to pick up further people at a different location. The tour was also bilingual which I didn't realise when booking which meant that we were waiting for our explanation in English and therefore it seemed that half the time was wasted.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

James S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Splitting the commentary between English and German at each step of the way became a distraction. Guide had good subject knowledge.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Jean C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

This would have been a good option except that we wasted a whole day trying to find the place to get the voucher validated. It could be validated in only one place that was not close to a U-bahn station. There was construction in the area. Directions were not helpful. We finally paid for our tickets to the German History Museum and looked for the validation site later in the day. If I had known how hard it would be, we wouldn't have purchased the four passes.

Doing what: Berlin Pass

Ami B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

I was passed from Viator tours to the company next door, The guide was polite but his knowledge of the Jewish history, customs and religion was not impressive at all. He kept referring to the fact that jews were money lander at the time and kept rubbing his four fingers together which is viewed by many Jews as an offensive gestures. I did not enjoy his explanations at all

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Frank165 United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Well worth the money

Doing what: Berlin Pass

Sylvia L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was extremely informative.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Anne C

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Helen was our tour guide. I enjoyed going into the different synagogues and the museum. She did a great presentation for each one. The tour ended in the newer Spanish synagogue near the old town square.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Sarah A

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The bike tour was a lot of fun and a great way to get a glimpse of and introduction to Berlin. I was a little disappointed we didn't see the same places listed on the tour details, especially since some of the ones we wanted to see the most we didn't. However, we did see other things not on the list that we probably would not have seen without the tour. The meeting point was a little tricky to find so give yourselves time to find the place so you don't miss your tour. Great tour, would definitely recommend!

Doing what: All-In-One Bike Tour

Seif B Spain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent tour and Nora was an excellent guide with a great knowledge of jewish european culture

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Arvid S Norway

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Jeg likte denne turen meget godt - en meget kunnskapsrik guide. Synd at vi ikke var innom Den nygamle synagogen - men her gjelder egne billetter og vi hadde nok ikke hatt tid til det.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Sue H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Disappointing. The tour was promoted as English speaking but the guide had the difficult task of having to do the tour in 2 languages repeating everything in English and German. This reduced the time for content and dragged down the tour. More than that, the guide though knowledgable, also presented misinformation and even told two jokes/stories that were insulting to Jewish people. Surely there is more historical fact that could be used than to talk about something said on a grave stone and what a miser he was... I did get to see all the sites that I had been hopeful to see - just wished I had the guide that led the WWII tour different company who was AMAZING!

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Sharon L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Berlinpass was a bit of a rip off . We had to pay for a bus into the city to pick up the pass.
The only value we got out of it was the travel tickets which could be purchased for 7.80 per day.
Wouldn't recommend to buy this

Doing what: Berlin Pass

Lisa C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Berlin was an amazing city. Very humbling with all it's history. The Berlin pass was a good pass to have, but our trip would have been less stressful had we had the option for the pass to be sent to our home address as the roads were blocked and we were unable to access the street to the Humbolt box. Also the directions of how to get to the pick up point were poor, would have been clueless had I not looked at the Berlin Pass official website. Would also have been beneficial to receive the guidebook prior to our trip to allow forward planning. Also worth knowing that the Pass is flexible as to when it is commenced. However, the pass itself was worth the money having transport ABC zones included.

Doing what: Berlin Pass

Nerissa N

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

I was completely satisfied with the various museum pass that this offers. However, there are other museums that this pass was not accepted especially CHeckpoint Charlie. THis is should have been included. Also, I like that it has subway and bus tickets because it is extremely helpful to a tourist who does not wish to buy tickets in the vending machine. The other suggestion that I would recommend is to have the city tour pass for 2 days. A day is not enough to cover all the tourist spots. Please extend it!

Of course, I will recommend this to my family members and friends.

Doing what: Berlin Pass

Rafael H. O

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

I don't think this Citipass adds much value beyond the Museum And Berlin cards.

Doing what: Berlin City Pass with Optional Panoramapunkt Entry

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We used the pass with ease. The hop on hop off tour was excellent. No problems with entrance into the museum or use of the public transportation. Great value for the time we spent in Berlin.

Doing what: Berlin Pass

Raelene J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. If you are interested in Jewish history then this tour is a must do. Had a great guide too.

Doing what: Jewish Prague Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message