Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Museumsinsel (Museum Island)

Located on the northern tip of Spree Island, Berlin’s Museumsinsel (Museum Island) is an ensemble of five world-renowned museums. In 1830, King Friedrich Wilhelm III commissioned the construction of the Royal Museum - now the Altes Museum - to allow ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Boyd J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A month before we came, I booked a half day bicycle tour of the main historical sights of central Berlin with a company called Fat Tire Bike Tours. I booked following the recommendations on Trip Advisor and am so pleased I did. It was excellent value for money and very interesting and our guide, Alex, a Canadian ex-pat, proved to be knowledgeable, funny and patient. His interpersonal skills and memory are impressive, ensuring that he learns peoples names and has a conversation with each person or group individually during the course of the tour to get to know a little about them.

We started in Alexanderplatz and made our way to the Book Burning Memorial, Humboldt University, Gendarmenmarkt, Checkpoint Charlie, the last largest remaining segment of the Wall, a former wall watch tower, the site of Hitlers Bunker, the Brandenburg Gate, Holocaust Memorial Memorial to the Murdered European Jews, Victory Column, Tiergarten, a beer garden for lunch Schleusenkrug, back to the Reichstag and finally, Museum Island. Each of these places enjoyed a stop, a brief history lesson from Alex and photo opportunities though he pointed out many other sights along the way.

What a wonderful way to see Berlin on a sunny day mixing with other travellers, some gentle exercise and discovering some of Berlins history. We were so impressed with it, that we signed up for a bicycle tour of Potsdam two days later.

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour


5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great idea to get this card for included travel and free entry to lots of museums and the Hop On Hop Off bus. I used the value of the card in entry fees and travel on the first day alone. The book you get with it has the included museums by area so you can spend a few hours at Museum Island for example and then move on somewhere else.

Doing what: Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions


5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were very happy with our 3 day Berlin Pass. Instruction to go to Hard Rock Cafe to validate voucher then Humbolt Box to collect pass are incorrect. Go straight to Humbolt Box near the Dom and Museum Island, they will have everything there for you. It would have been beneficial to have the booklet before we arrived so we could plan our Pass time efficiently. Bus tour is a great to get a feel of the city and the boat cruise very relaxing and informative too. Unlimited public transport each day was great especially when we were catching buses going in the wrong direction haha. Berlin has so much modern history, the transformation since WW2 is amazing. It is a progressive, vibrant city well worth visiting. I thoroughly recommend a bike ride in Teirgarten as well.

Doing what: Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions

Stephen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The pass is a great way to get the most out of Berlin and we probably did things that we otherwise would have not bothered with. We stayed very close to Museum Island and the entrance fee to all of the museums, as well as the cathedral, are on the pass so over the weekend we managed to have a good look around all of them. These are some of the best museums that I have ever seen with amazing artifacts.
On a rainy day we jumped on the hop on and off bus and did the whole circuit taking in what we may have missed and a walking tour is also a must.
II know that we got our moneys worth and probably didn't make the most out of the transport tickets, but I am so glad that we had it and will check viator for any passes when I travel in the future.
Berlin is an amazing city and we wouldn't have got as much out of it if we hadn't bought the passes.

Doing what: Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions

Neil Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Easy way to get around, the 48 hour pass was well priced and easy to buy. All the major sights are covered although major works on Museum Island and surrounds tests the drivers ability. Absolute must early in your visit to Berlin.

Doing what: Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

isa United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

With free public transport, museums and the included walking, bike and sightseeing tours, the Berlin Pass was really helpful for exploring the city! We especially liked the big choice of museums – don’t miss Museum’s Island!

Doing what: Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions

Anshalu B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Brilliant beautiful and eye soothing informative tour. at the end i did feel as if it was getting long and boring but Berlin is so big and huge that i realised it was worth being nearly 3 hours long. Museum island looks beautiful in the evening.

Doing what: Berlin Evening Cruise

Alison H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Would definitely recommend the Berlin Pass. Bus trip was good but commentary was live so a little difficult to follow. Boat trip excellent. We got more than our money's worth of museum entry, although a couple of places no longer offer free entry (Checkpoint Charlie museum, museum of musical instruments) and the big plus was you didn't need to join the long queues outside the museums on museum island as you don't need a ticket - just show your pass! The public transport system can be complicated so having a day pass (don't forget to validate it the first time you use it) took the stress out of buying tickets. Will definitely get a pass (if available) for the next city we visit.

Doing what: Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions


4 star rating: Recommended
June 2010

The river Spree is very long and there are more than one SchlossBrucke at Berlin. One at Island Museum near Radisson Hotel and the other at Charlottenburg district. So, the voucher should mentioned the district of Berlin to be more precise to take the boat. BRGDS

Doing what: Berlin Sightseeing Cruise on the River Spree


3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

We just broke even on this pass, mainly due to the fact we didn't do many of the museums although the pass includes a huge selection of museums and places to visit. It should be noted it does NOT include Schloss Charottenberg. It certainly did come in handy for the placed and activities we did do from it. It was easy to use and we had no issue with the places that were listed to take it.

Of note it does include a Fat Tire bike tour which was awesome and well worth doing!

We got the Pass that included the transit day tickets and that was very handy.

You do have to watch when you validate your Berlin pass, a day is a calendar day not a 24 hour period so if you validate in the evening you loose a bunch of time.

The instructions on the voucher only had one pick up point, on Museum Island, that was definitely a pain for people coming in from the airport to have to make their way to. Having a location at the airport or main train station to redeem the pass would have saved us a bunch of time.

Doing what: Berlin Pass Including Entry to More Than 50 Attractions

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message