Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp

Located just north of Berlin, Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was one of the most notorious death camps of the Nazi regime. The site was built in the summer of 1936 by prisoners from the Emsland camps and was used to train SS Officers who went on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 854 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very good tour but not enough time to be able to see and experience everything. Our tour guide Rick was excellent.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Linda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A very moving and worthwhile experience. The tour lasted around 6 hours including the train from and back to Berlin. Kathryn our guide was hugely knowledgeable and interesting, she handled the subject matter very sensitively. The only downside was that due to all the information Kathryn needed to impart we didn't have enough time to view and read all the information displayed at the site, although Kathryn did highlight some things that we might otherwise have missed. Would thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Mary P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent Tour. Guide was very informative and knew his stuff. Well worth the price and time to go and see the camp. Will recommend to my friends when travelling here.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

LBC

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Great tour. We went on the tour with Ryan. There were about 30 people in our group. The logistics were so smooth. Ryan made sure we knew the exact plan and guided to Sachsenhausen by train with ease. He is one of the best guides we've had on this trip. Not only was he so well informed, he is a great story teller and painted us a picture of what life was like during this time period, told us insight into the events that led up to the imprisonments and murders, and some of the aftermath. Ryan clearly is passionate about German history and is well read on the subject. His enthusiasm and compassion made our trip so rewarding. Growing up Jewish and from a family whose relatives lived through this time period and were in the camps different camp I thought I knew most of what he would share with us - I was wrong. Ryan taught me a great deal and I was so moved by his tour. Thank you Ryan for what you do.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Alison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Whilst this tour was not a fun trip , it was a must do and our guide ( Jamie ) was well informed who relayed information about what actually went on brilliantly , i would highly recommend doing this trip

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Anthony R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent!!!
Our tour guide Jared was well informed and provided a great insight into the camp and the times. he was patient, professional, respectful and answered all questions.
I would recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Helen O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A wonderful experience with a great 'Irish' tour guide. I had never been to a concentration camp before, and , although sobering, it was tremendous.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Amy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Pips was an awesome guide. She was very knowledgeable and informative. I am glad that we don't take this tour on our own as I think we would have missed a few things. It was a heavy day emotionally but I appreciate Pippa's commitment to ensure that people know what happened and never forget! This is so very important.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Brent B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

excellent but sad. Guide was great and this was a well organised tour

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Abida S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide and tour well worth the visit could not fault it

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Andrew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Lorna was a terrific tour guide. She was well informed with the facts of the concentration camp as well as other facts pertaining to the 2nd world war and the Nazi party. When asked questions, she had almost every answer and when asked her opinions, she shared he point of view freely. It was clear she is a history major and a very smart young lady.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Martin B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Michael was so knowledgable on the camp. You felt that you could ask him anything and he would know the answer. Brilliant experience. A long day with a lot of walking but well worth it.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Joan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Enlightening, somber experience. We are glad we did this tour as the guide was very knowledgeable and we learned so much.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Kim F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

we really enjoyed the whole day. JJ was a great guide really friendly and so informative. He also made sure we were all on the right track to get back to our hotels. I recommend the tour great day . With thanks

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

dgregga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thanks to our tour guide Lorna she was a great guide, the knowledge that Lorna had was unbelievable.
This was a very sad experience but on the other hand its something I had to do, every one should experience this tour to keep the memorie alive and not be forgotten.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

jjacksonforsberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Jared was our tour guide, and he did an amazing job of contextualizing the site - its history and the atrocities committed here as well as its present use. I thought about just going out to the site on our own but am so glad we booked the tour. We learned a lot going with a guide, his particular interests provided an important critical lens for the site, and it simplified travel going with someone who knew how to navigate trains and buses to Oranienburg.

Our guide for this tour, Jared, studied undergraduate neuroscience and anthropology and came to Germany for graduate school. His study of the science of identity, empathy, and post traumatic stress disorder provided an important lens for this site.

Among the thoughts he shared is the insight that the grammar of culture is story, but few of us ever take a class that unpacks and analyzes those stories that structure our cultural identities. The stories we tell and the language we use are not neutral and it is important to think critically about them. He also pointed out that genocide is a cultural innovation, only present in the human record for our most recent 10,000 years. As such, it is learned and can be unlearned. That's why it is important to visit sites like this one and learn about history.

This tour was exceptional. Don't hesitate to book!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Chelsea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My tour guide was Beth and she was incredible! She was very friendly and super knowledgeable - I think this company requires their tour guides to have a degree in German history which makes me confident that the information given was accurate. Although this concentration camp is now a memorial, you will still get to see the way prisoners lived and get a feel for the terror and brutality that occurred here. Our tour started on the outside of the camp talking about where the SS lived and trained before we went inside. There are 13 exhibits and we had approximately 10 minutes in two of them, therefore, if you want to spend more time reading and seeing artifacts, you will either have to stay behind at the end of the tour or come back another day. Personally, I prefer historical facts presented in more of a storytelling form and Beth exceeded my expectations in how she recreated the realities of the camp. She also focused on details such as the difference between Sachsenhausen and Auschwitz which I felt was very important. This tour requires a LOT of walking and comfortable shoes. If you have trouble with your knees or cannot keep up at a brisk walking pace, I recommend you visit Sachsenhausen on your own. Our group was significantly slowed down by someone with knee problems and it was slightly annoying since there is so much to see in so little time. Overall, a highly recommended tour when visiting Berlin!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Deep M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Such trips need the best guides and we had one in Maria. She was really amazing with all the facts she shared with us and without this extensive historical views, the trip would have not bee the time. It was a lot of walking and we were extremely grateful to Maria to keep going with the facts even with the exceptional heat wave that covered Berlin for the two days.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a highlight of our trip to Germany...our tour guide and driver were informative, friendly and very educational! It was a 10!

Doing what: Private Half-Day Minivan Tour from Berlin to Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp

Matthew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Jamie was an excellent guide, knew his stuff, was polite, helpful and we really enjoyed the tour because of him.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Alexynne V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very enlightening tour, not exactly the happiest of all tours, mainly because of how devastating it was to hear the stories in the camp. But the tour itself was a breeze. Our tour guide was so awesome and very accommodating. Thanks for the tour!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

LAURA K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour although very thought provoking and traumatic at times. Our guide Sam was very knowledgable and spent a lot of time going into great detail regarding events of the war and what went in the concentration camp. Quite a walk from train station to the camp but well worth the money and effort.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Matthew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My guide was Pip. I could not have asked for better. She was not just full of knowledge about her subject, but had the rare gift of imparting very complex historical concepts regarding interpretation, memory, meaning, and the use of space in ways that anyone can understand. Those who manage to take this trip with her will learn a lot more than just what happened where at this sad monument to human cruelty. Pip will tell them why it matters, how it came to be, what people have thought about Nazi crimes over time and why the Nazi bureaucracy was able to create a system where ever greater amounts of cruelty and caprice with human life were rewarded, rather than sanctioned.

I cannot recommend Pip highly enough.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Nicola R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would definately recommend this tour. Very knoweldgable tour guide. Had an absolutely fascination and thought provoking walk around the concentration camp. You can not imagine all the terrible things that happened to the prisoners. I just pray something like this never happens again.

My tip is wear comfortable shoes and bring an umbrella if weather not looking great!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message