Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp

Located just north of Berlin, Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was one of the most notorious death camps of the Nazi regime. The site was built in the summer of 1936 by prisoners from the Emsland camps and was used to train SS Officers who went on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 805 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

ldroehrka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of my favorite tours...informative, humbling, emotional.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Michelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of the best tours I've ever been on. It is a difficult subject to broach, and I feel like we lucked out with our guide, Dennis. He was an amazing wealth of knowledge, and is a great story teller. I learned a lot, and he did a great job answering everyone's questions. It's clear he's a history expert and he went above and beyond to make this tour memorable. We had some travel snafus out of his control with the trains, and he found an alternate route w/buses so we could complete our tour with no problem. I highly recommend this tour--you will want Dennis as your tour guide.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Bruce A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Caroline was an amazing guide. This tour is worth doing. Please note there is miles of walking, and this tour does not stop for lunch. You need to bring food and drink with you.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing guide with lots of knowledge. Such a heavy day and heavy subject. I felt I really understood what happened there. Packed a lunch and ate it there. Good day.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Himaani M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I did this tour in June 2016 and it was great. This was my first experience Viator, and it couldn and #39;t have gone better. Our tour guide Nicoli was just brilliant, he knew the history, and made tour very interesting and engaging.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

David A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent, Dennis was so informative and friendly! Was able to answer all follow up questions confidently too. Would highly reccomend!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Katherine M Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Amazing experience. Very disturbing but important to do. This was an excellent tour.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

dr.momof2boys

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was great! Extremely intelligent and presented history in a well thought out easy to understand way.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Lara Maria Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Dennis, our tour guide was superb - he made for a very interesting tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Ann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide J.J. was wonderful!! He was a wealth of knowledge and his presentation was wonderful. Best tour guide we've ever had. We learned so much!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Daniel N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour was very well done. Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Peter W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent!.
If you are going to go to a site like Sachsenhausen don't go alone. You'll need someone to tell you the story. Johnny sorry if I spelt this wrong from Nottingham was awesome!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Sonya W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had a fabulous guide with great knowledge. It was a heavy day full of information but presented wonderfully

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Amanda T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The guide was very patient and had comprehensive knowledge of the camp and #39;s history.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Jessica B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Denis was our guide and he was absolutely wonderful - made the tour which is quite long very easy to follow and interesting and kept our attention throughout! Big 5 stars for Denis and the tour!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Mark M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Denis was a great tour guide, and he used all of the travel time on the train, walking, etc. he could to tell us about the history of the camp. He told us all about the story of a single individual who stayed at Sachsenhausen. This really helped to put the history together in my mind. Denis was very knowledgeable about the region and history--having been educated in these things. He was very attentive and helpful for answering our questions.

My one small complaint is that it would have been nice to have some more time to explore around the camp on our own my wife really wanted to see the infirmary, for example. But you can't do everything in one day, of course--there is always more to see!

I definitely recommend this tour as an excursion for anyone staying in Berlin who cannot make the trip to Auschwitz in Poland, as was the case for us.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Ruth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I am very glad that I decided to book with TripAdvisor, rather than going on my own with only an audio tour. There was no stress of finding the location, as they met us directly in Berlin Mitte. As well, I found my guide Adrian focusing on a more sociological viewpoint to be extremely knowledgeable on not only the site, but the social and political context around it. As it can be a very heavy experience, my guide helped to keep it informative, yet not overwhelming.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Catherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide JJ was extremely knowledgable, clear in describing every part of the tour. You can see he is passionate about the information he is giving, which makes the tour even more interesting. We didn and #39;t get to say by bye! 5 STAR!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Ramon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was very well organized and tour guide was very helpful, it was a large group but he managed it well and we did not feel that we missed anything.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Mia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was incredible and moving. Our tour guide Sarah was so knowledgeable and passionate about the subject matter and the tour itself. Would highly recommend !!!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Sue A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rachel was great. Well organised, enough information.
Would recommend.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

anita d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Very well organized. Jared our guide was full of knowledge and passion. He taught me a lot. Maybe too much as we did not have much time to explore the camp at all. But this one can do one ones own if one wanted.

Only think he forgot at the end that it was Monday so all of us who got directions for various museums after the tour did so in vain!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message