Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp

Located just north of Berlin, Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was one of the most notorious death camps of the Nazi regime. The site was built in the summer of 1936 by prisoners from the Emsland camps and was used to train SS Officers who went on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 835 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kim F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

we really enjoyed the whole day. JJ was a great guide really friendly and so informative. He also made sure we were all on the right track to get back to our hotels. I recommend the tour great day . With thanks

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

dgregga

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Thanks to our tour guide Lorna she was a great guide, the knowledge that Lorna had was unbelievable.
This was a very sad experience but on the other hand its something I had to do, every one should experience this tour to keep the memorie alive and not be forgotten.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

jjacksonforsberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Jared was our tour guide, and he did an amazing job of contextualizing the site - its history and the atrocities committed here as well as its present use. I thought about just going out to the site on our own but am so glad we booked the tour. We learned a lot going with a guide, his particular interests provided an important critical lens for the site, and it simplified travel going with someone who knew how to navigate trains and buses to Oranienburg.

Our guide for this tour, Jared, studied undergraduate neuroscience and anthropology and came to Germany for graduate school. His study of the science of identity, empathy, and post traumatic stress disorder provided an important lens for this site.

Among the thoughts he shared is the insight that the grammar of culture is story, but few of us ever take a class that unpacks and analyzes those stories that structure our cultural identities. The stories we tell and the language we use are not neutral and it is important to think critically about them. He also pointed out that genocide is a cultural innovation, only present in the human record for our most recent 10,000 years. As such, it is learned and can be unlearned. That's why it is important to visit sites like this one and learn about history.

This tour was exceptional. Don't hesitate to book!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Chelsea G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My tour guide was Beth and she was incredible! She was very friendly and super knowledgeable - I think this company requires their tour guides to have a degree in German history which makes me confident that the information given was accurate. Although this concentration camp is now a memorial, you will still get to see the way prisoners lived and get a feel for the terror and brutality that occurred here. Our tour started on the outside of the camp talking about where the SS lived and trained before we went inside. There are 13 exhibits and we had approximately 10 minutes in two of them, therefore, if you want to spend more time reading and seeing artifacts, you will either have to stay behind at the end of the tour or come back another day. Personally, I prefer historical facts presented in more of a storytelling form and Beth exceeded my expectations in how she recreated the realities of the camp. She also focused on details such as the difference between Sachsenhausen and Auschwitz which I felt was very important. This tour requires a LOT of walking and comfortable shoes. If you have trouble with your knees or cannot keep up at a brisk walking pace, I recommend you visit Sachsenhausen on your own. Our group was significantly slowed down by someone with knee problems and it was slightly annoying since there is so much to see in so little time. Overall, a highly recommended tour when visiting Berlin!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Deep M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Such trips need the best guides and we had one in Maria. She was really amazing with all the facts she shared with us and without this extensive historical views, the trip would have not bee the time. It was a lot of walking and we were extremely grateful to Maria to keep going with the facts even with the exceptional heat wave that covered Berlin for the two days.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Christopher C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a highlight of our trip to Germany...our tour guide and driver were informative, friendly and very educational! It was a 10!

Doing what: Private Half-Day Minivan Tour from Berlin to Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp

Matthew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Jamie was an excellent guide, knew his stuff, was polite, helpful and we really enjoyed the tour because of him.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Alexynne V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a very enlightening tour, not exactly the happiest of all tours, mainly because of how devastating it was to hear the stories in the camp. But the tour itself was a breeze. Our tour guide was so awesome and very accommodating. Thanks for the tour!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

LAURA K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour although very thought provoking and traumatic at times. Our guide Sam was very knowledgable and spent a lot of time going into great detail regarding events of the war and what went in the concentration camp. Quite a walk from train station to the camp but well worth the money and effort.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Matthew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My guide was Pip. I could not have asked for better. She was not just full of knowledge about her subject, but had the rare gift of imparting very complex historical concepts regarding interpretation, memory, meaning, and the use of space in ways that anyone can understand. Those who manage to take this trip with her will learn a lot more than just what happened where at this sad monument to human cruelty. Pip will tell them why it matters, how it came to be, what people have thought about Nazi crimes over time and why the Nazi bureaucracy was able to create a system where ever greater amounts of cruelty and caprice with human life were rewarded, rather than sanctioned.

I cannot recommend Pip highly enough.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Nicola R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I would definately recommend this tour. Very knoweldgable tour guide. Had an absolutely fascination and thought provoking walk around the concentration camp. You can not imagine all the terrible things that happened to the prisoners. I just pray something like this never happens again.

My tip is wear comfortable shoes and bring an umbrella if weather not looking great!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Michael S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide Dennis did an excellent job with the tour. We had a large group and it was raining, but he kept us all together. There is a fair amount of walking on this tour, but he gave us quite a bit of history en route. Instead of reciting faceless numbers, he told us one man's journey through the camp. Excellent presentation. Do this if you get a chance. Booking was easy. Make sure to buy your full day train ticket before you go. Tour guides have them available.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Sreebala91

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Beth from Wales was our tour guide. If I can give her a rating higher than 5 stars I would. That and #39;s how excellent a tour guide she was. Her subject knowledge and passion for history was remarkable I would recommend this tour to everyone to see how a few bigoted ideas can cause ripple effect.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Deborah H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

John was an amazing historian. We learned things from this tour that we had not known. Thank-you so much.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Veli-Matti N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We had Jan as our quide. He was great. Tour was awesome and very interesting. Make sure to bring some snacks and drinks with you. Also prepare to walk a lot so go with good shoes.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Betty P M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide was so knowledgeable and personable. He added a perspective to the whole tour that was insightful and respectful of the history and the people who died there. I learned a lot from this tour. I can't say enough good things about the whole experience.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Loretta T United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great Tour, very informative, would highly reccommend

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Kelsey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Well worth a visit. Very emotional and confronting at times but the memorials are displayed very respectfully. Our guide was Phil and he was brilliant! His wealth of knowledge was incredible. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Anne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Jan was superb. He related the information very well. His English expression is superb.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

WMW Netherlands

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

need to bring your own lunch/drink along as this extensive tour is 6 hours!
learn a lot today!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Lorna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

As dark and disturbing as the subject matter on this tour is, it was well worth the time spent to learn more about the concentration camps and this one in particular. Adrian, my tour guide, is a fountain of information. Really taught me more than just WHAT happened, but also taught WHY these things happened from a Sociological standpoint.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Alison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A confronting and thoughtful experience. A reminder that the past can be recreated if we are not very careful.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

ldroehrka

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of my favorite tours...informative, humbling, emotional.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message