Berlin ATTRACTIONS See all

Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp

Located just north of Berlin, Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was one of the most notorious death camps of the Nazi regime. The site was built in the summer of 1936 by prisoners from the Emsland camps and was used to train SS Officers who went on ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 914 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Louis K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a wonderful tour. John Jehrome was our guide and he was so knowlegable. He had such a high respect for the Camp and the history surrounding it. I did not read the important fact that told me I would need and ABC ticket, but we bought the proper ticket at the station before heading off on the train ride for the tour. The only thing I would emphasize that, in addition to the waling tour of the camp, you need to be prepared for a 15 minute minimum brisk walk through the town to get to the camp. My wife has a bad knee and that walk was hard for her. The camp tour was fine because we walked, stopped and talked throughout the length of the tour. The guides also recommended that we bring water and a snack to take during the break. All in all, I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Oliver K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

A truly memorable and somber experience, my tour guide Mike was excellent I would highly recommend this tour for any person as it highlights and informs about a part of history that should never be forgotten

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Hazel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What a fantastic tour. Our guide Woulton was very good. It and #39;s a very interesting but sad tour.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Alan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

The tour to Sachsenhausen was led by JJ who made the day very memorable and moving. His stories about the inmates experiences were capturing, fascinating and at times motivational. I visited this site before the fall of the Berlin Wall when the message was focussed on Red Army propaganda so it was good to see there has been investment in remembering those incarcerated here through a wider perspective, a message that JJ got over really well. I would thoroughly recommend this tour, enjoyable is the wrong word and enlightening does not give it justice... you have to experience the place before you can try to understand the suffering that occurred there.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

miss_e_clifton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Guide Ryan was amazing! Had so much knowledge and respect for the camp. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Kathi W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was a very moving, somber experience but a must for everyone to see. Our guide was very informative and knowledgeable. He picked us up at our hotel, had subway passes for us and brought us back to our hotel. Good thing too because I would not,have been able to find the camp as there was. O signage once we got to the town. Worth the money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp from Berlin

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Amazing. Jamie was very knowledgeable and it was fascinating to me - historical perspective. Be warned that the tour is 6 hours and lots of walking - about 80℅ outside. If u are ok with this then it is the tour to go on! Bring a sack lunch with you and appropriate clothing for the elements.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

jess87

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Rachel was awesome! Really knew her stuff, very friendly and organised! Definately recommend. Thanks

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Anthony G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

It's the most important and thought provoking tour on offer in Berlin. Denis our guide has to be the most intelligent professor grade guide in Europe. His continued narrative will mentally transport you back in time, six hours is not enough. Its heavy stuff in parts but told and demonstrated in a sensitive way, you'll respect what the victims faced and appreciate the brutal nature of the situation they were subjugated to.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Shelagh P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An absolutely brilliant experience. Very moving and thought provoking. The guide Catherine was knowledgeable, passionate and really knew her subject. I must admit I had misgivings about the trip, but my 21 year old daughter wanted to go.
I am now really pleased that I went and would highly recommend it

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Lynda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a great tour guide JJ or John he was well organised, really helpful and kept telling us where we were going and making sure that we all stayed in a group. The knowledge John was able to share with us about Sachsenhausen was raw, imformative, and truthful. I could only imagine what the prisoners in the camp went through it would have been the worst 6 years for those that were lucky to survive. I would recommend this tour- it really gave a lot of understanding to how terrible the holocaust was. Meeting point was easy to get too and John informed us to buy lunch at the station as there was no where to purchase food at sachsenhausen.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Karlie V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a truly unforgettable experience. We went on this tour from Berlin hoping to understand what happened by seeing things firsthand. Our tour guide Jared was absolutely amazing! He knew his stuff! He made sure to take the time to introduce himself, shared background information, and made everyone feel comfortable. Starting with the trip to the camp, which is about an hour trip using public transit, Jared was teaching us. We highly recommend this to anyone, and ask for Jared!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Susana R South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Visiting Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp was very emotional. Our guide Michael was very informative and told us interesting stories about the Holocaust and the II World War. I recommend to do this tour.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

dora

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Anyone remotely interested in history should see this

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

alison d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent day - although freezing conditions wrap up warm in winter. Very knowledgeable guide in a relatively small group - 20 of us. Make sure you take food and water with you and there is nothing there to buy. Very interesting museums, well laid out and challenges own thoughts about this period of history.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent tour and fabulous guide

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

MR R W C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Wouter Bernhardt was an excellent guide, very knowledgeable and open to questions at any time. He brought the facts to life and allowed us time to view. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

borntexan_28 Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our tour guide was called in to cover for our original tour guide at the last minute. He was amazing. He had so much information to give us and also gave us time to view things at our leisure. He was quick to answer any questions that we had for him. Plan on a few hours. There is a lot of walking but it was a great tour.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Cindy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was a great tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helped us to really know and feel what is would have been like at the camp. It is a very sobering part of Germany's history.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Matthew F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very interesting tour with Sam. It was cold but my wife and I and our two children ages 10 and 11 found it informative.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Kenneth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Michael did a fantastic job keeping our large group together and did an awesome job teaching our group!

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Connor K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

While this tour was very heavy and sad, it was a must do. It was amazing to learn about what REALLY happened. Our guide, Brian, was amazing and very knowledgeable about everything having to do with the camp.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Jean H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing tour and excellent value for monly. Kathryn Evans was the best ever guide and looked after us all really well. She was also very informative and we learned so much. An unmissable part of our Berlin trip.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Memorial Walking Tour

Russell K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great tour from Phil at Insider Tours. He was very passionate and knowledgeable, and he was able to answer all of our questions. We met with the group in downtown Berlin and took two trains to Oranienburg. Phil shared history and information with us along the way.

Check the weather before you book. We had a cold and rainy day. It's a 15 minute walk through Oranienburg from the train station to the camp, and many of the sights are outdoors. The exhibition spaces are restored buildings and barracks, so they get crowded, especially when it's wet out.

Pack a snack and water as well. There is a cafe on site but the tour didn't stop there, as there were so many things to see and learn about. The main points of interest are the restored Jewish barracks, the memorial obelisk- seen in most pictures, Station Z- where bodies were burnt, and the infirmary - where autopsies and human experiments were performed.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

raeleneshields

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our tour guide for the day was 'Jared.' He knew his stuff and it was amazing. It is definitely worth it.

Doing what: Sachsenhausen Concentration Camp Tour from Berlin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message