If you're curious to know the stories below the surface of Berlin's fascinating architecture, there's nothing like walking the very same streets to bring alive everything you've ever wondered about WWII and the Third Reich. Berlin is a city that ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ranjan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very good tour, came to know a lot about Third Reich sites and history by this walking tour, guide was well informed, professional, intelligent, helpful , easy to understand and knew a lot about these sties, history and thought provoking.

Highly recommend this tour especially with this guide.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

C K s

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The guide gave a good historical perspective of the events. We actually did not visit any building inside. A quicker factual tour that routes inside Reichstag and topography of terror exhibition etc, may be a suggestion. Good for tourists who have some understanding of WWII.

Doing what: Berlin Third Reich Small-Group Walking Tour Including Topography of Terror

Sara D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

Very disappointed with this entire experience. Our guide spent more time talking about architecture and showing us embassy buildings, then anything that related to what the tour was actually to be about. I, nor my boyfriend, took anything positive away form this experience. We learned NOTHING at all about the Third Reich or Topography of Terror. We paid for entry into a museum which NEVER happened! We were late getting started, and did not have this time compensated. We barely saw any memorials or anything that had to do with the war era, which was out main reason for travelling from Canada. Our architectural guide insisted on taking many breaks so he could lean, or sit. He spent more time telling us why something was build the way it was or complaining about people taking selfies than actually teaching us anything. This entire tour was a complete and utter waste of money and time for the one day we had in Berlin to experience its culture and war history. I am unsure if the same tour provided by other guides is as disappointing, and wish I knew our guides name as I do not want to diminish the reputation but instead am more disappointed by our individual guide.

Doing what: Berlin Third Reich Small-Group Walking Tour Including Topography of Terror

TERRY D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was an excellent tour. Our guide Caroline was great company, very informative and passionate about Berlin and what occurred under the Third Reich. However, what really made the difference in this tour were her personal insights, as a German. into how the regime of the time had directly impacted on her family over that time and it was clear that Caroline is still trying to come to terms with how some of her ancestors acted at the time. Very moving and highly recommended.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Lucy N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My friend and I took the bike tour with Tom, and had a wonderful couple of hours exploring the city. The tour was well paced, with plenty of stops around the well known sights, including the Brandenburg Tor, the Reichstag, and the Memorial for the murdered Jews of Europe. Tom was very knowledgeable about the history of the city and had plenty of interesting facts, and was also personable and friendly, trying to get to know each person of the tour which made it really special. We also stopped at a beer garden for lunch, where the food was delicious and the portions generous. I'd definitely take this tour again, although maybe in the summer months when it isn't quite as chilly!

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

Mike R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was one of the highlights of my time in Berlin. Kathryn, our guide, was very well versed in this period of German history and made it accessible to everyone. Despite the heavy subject matter she managed to deliver the tour in a fun and engaging way without trivialising it. I learnt more about the Third Reich on this tour than I ever did at high school so I am truly grateful and would recommend it to anyone who wants to learn more about the rise and fall of one of the most depraved regimes in history.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Bob

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Great guide. Lots of fun with an international group of participants. There is an overlap of information with the Third Reich and Nazi Germany tour.

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour

Phillip Q

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This tour was a great experience. We would recommend not doing the Berlin Bike Tour together with the Third Reich and Nazi tour as there was significant duplication. The guide was very knowledgeable and provided great information on all our stops. Bike riding became somewhat dangerous in certain areas and the group needed to be more informed about utilising the road as a group. Lunch stop was great.

Doing what: Berlin Bike Tour: Third Reich and Nazi Germany

Linda M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Taylor, the guide, was very knowledgable and passionate about his subject. I found the tour very enjoyable, but there is a lot of walking - especially on a hot day. I learned a lot about the Third Reich.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

Lalith W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Informative trip. Brought the Third Reich to life, including the huge Nazi Ministry buildings, and the important sites related to the regime. Our guide Wouter was very pleasant and very helpful.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Patrick S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Barnaby lead a terrific tour. It was hot and he did his best to always stop in the shade. He provided excellent commentary on the tour, with a great sense of humor.

I also took the Third Reich Tour and Cesar also did an excellent job in bringing this history alive.

Doing what: Berlin Highlights and Hidden Sites Historical Walking Tour

Marcelo Way Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very great experience, saw a lot of third reich related places. The tour guide is very experienced and intelligent. I recommend.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Amanda W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour of the Third Reich in Berlin was on 6 December2014. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made the trip very enjoyable and informative. The weather was very cold and Berlin was overflowing with tourists at that time which made walking around quite difficult - however the guide was very professional and made the tour very special.

Doing what: Berlin Third Reich Small-Group Walking Tour Including Topography of Terror

James W T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

There were 6 of my family on this tour. Our guide was Ryan, a Scotsman from Glasgow. He was fantastic. Very knowledgeable. For example, we had seen the Jewish Memorial a couple of days before and really could not make heads or tails of it rather than it being different sized graves. He gave us various themes on what it all meant and it was very thought provoking.
Given the somber nature of this time in history, Ryan clearly painted a picture on how the Third Reich came to be, how it stayed in power, and then how it lost its way.
It was interesting to me how architecture played a role in demonstrating the power of the Third Reich. He also was not just Third Reich centric. He talked of the architecture that has been built, and is continuing to be built in Berlin today, and the themes in it.
A fascinating tour of the history. Ryan made it come to life.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

S. G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My son and I did the Third Reich Walking Tour last Tuesday, 9th September, 2014.
The tour guide was John, maybe Johnny, an English youngster who looked more like a surfer than a guide from Berlin. He 's such a charming person, his knowledge on this subject is outstanding, and he is a credit to your company.
10 out of 10. He is superb youngster.
Kind regards,
Suzanne Grylls

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Robert L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting and enjoyable. Our guide demonstrated a depth of knowledge of the history of the City, the Third Reich and subsequent division. I would certainly recommend it.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

audrey_king07

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our first time using viator - highly recommend it. The Berlin Original Walking Tours use guides who are very knowledgeable (thank you Caroline who did our third reich tour). Will highly recommend this tour and the Sachenhausen Concentration Camp tour.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

iluvmexico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour was a little over two hours long. Ryan, our tour guide, was very pleasant and knowledgeable. We saw many sites related to the Third Reich such as the former site of Hitler's Bunker and Reich Chancellery, the Air Ministry, the site of the Propaganda Ministry, a Soviet Memorial, the Reich Stag and Topography of Terror Museum, site of the Gestapo Headquarters.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

lewis a

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I Booked The Third Reich Tour Which was one of the highlights of my Trip. Excellent Tour Guide "Barnaby", Who has a great knowledge of Berlin and its history. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wishes to improve their knowledge or has a vast knowledge on WW2.

Thanks

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

Andrew J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The dark days of Germany's history are well known to most of us but we can always learn more, and this was certainly true on this sensational tour of Germany's capital.
US tour guide Rick was a font of knowledge during the three-and-a-half hour walk taking in the key sites of Nazi Germany, some of which are still standing.
It was a flawless, enlightening and unbiased view of the events leading up to, during and after The Third Reich's grip not only of Germany but surrounding countries.
Our small group learnt about the politics and fall-out of this dictatorship which led to one of the bloddiest conflicts this world has ever seen.
No words can sum up Rick's passion and detail that he imparted to us, and we were the greater for knowing it and for being in his company.
If you do nothing else in Berlin, and that would be hard givenm this vibrant city, then I cann't reccommend this walk highly enough.
Money and time well spent.
Andrew, Woking

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

PHILIP P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I had been to Berlin on 5 previous occasions; I was there before the wall came down and visited the eastern sector, all very intimidating. I was there when the wall came down and last visited in 1991. I served with the British Army for 41 years and visited the city then. On my previous visits most of the Reich locations were either in the east or around the wall and were inaccessible, also during my previous visits all planning had to be done before you left home, there being no Google so you could not plan on the march as people do now. I saw this tour advertised and went for it. The guide was young but very well informed on his subject. He guided us through the Reich sites with detailed explanations of how the Nazis came to Berlin from Munich and supported many of the locations we visited with pre-wartime photos so we could see how the sites looked then. We also visited some of the newer memorial to Nazi victims. Some of the sites the guide was able to take us to I would never have known about, an example is Mohrenstraße on the Berlin U-Bahn. This station is across the Road from Hiller's Chancellery and is furnished with a red marble which by coincidence (or maybe not) is furnished with the same type and colour of marble that furnished Hitler's abode. The German government say it is from elsewhere, at war’s end with rebuilding needed and a ready supply of good marble in the ruins across the road I am inclined to believe the guide's version. The tour ended in Niederkirchnerstraße which during the Nazi era was called Prinz-Albrecht-Straße and located HQ Gestapo and SS. There is an exposed area of the underground chambers of the Gestapo HQ where it is left to the imagination what happened there. It is the site of the Topography of Terror which covers the whole Nazi era. There is a section of the original wall there as well. The tour was excellent, the guide was superb and well informed and I would strongly recommend this to anyone. Phil

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Ted

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A wonderful day really brought to life by an outstanding guide. Please pass on our personal thanks.
The highlight for me was actually to stand on the site of the Fuhrerbunker and to witness the remaining architecture from the the Third Reich.
Highly recommended.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

JUlie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We thought the tour was excellent we had a experience that we will be recommending. The guide was so informative he gave us a real insight of the Third Reich although most of the buildings have changed or have been redeveloped the photo information that was supplied was in good detail and using the information he gave you could get a real feel of how life was. We will be returning again to Berlin and going on your other tours.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Sarah L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

My friends and I had an amazing time learning about the history of the Third Reich and visiting all the sites. Our tour guide was phenomenal, very knowledgeable, animated, engaging, don't have enough good things to say. Even though it was a bit cold on our walk, the three hours were some of the best I spent in Berlin.

Doing what: Berlin's Infamous Third Reich Sites Half-Day Walking Tour

Jtoast Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Recommended for history buff! The tour was highly interesting and from our guide Finn, we get to understand more of the Third Reich history in Berlin and also discover places that the public are unaware of.

Doing what: Final Days of World War 2 Walking Tour of Berlin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message