Potsdam is the capital of Brandenburg state, located on the Havel River only 24 km (15 mi) southwest of Berlin city. In the 17th century, Elector Friedrich Wilhelm of Brandenburg made it his second residence, and Friedrich II (Frederick the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour
Really informative and helpful guide and got to see all the highlights of Potsdam

Our guide also gave us a good grounding in how to use the trains so we stayed a few afterwards to see the Sansouci palace and easily made our way back to Berlin

Highly recommend it

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Seda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Potsdam is definitely a mustsee. Its historical background is pretty complex and it is very interesting and satisfying to see German history as a whole. And our tour guide Jess was brilliant. As he is a graduate history student, he transfers his knowledge pretty objective and visual material he uses is quite subsidiary in remembering all of the figures. Most of all, his approach to all of us was quite kind and talkative. Though being exhaustive, we enjoyed the tour so much

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Matthew N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole day. Great experience catching local trains, tram and buses as well as walking the pathways and streets that make up Potsdam region. Our guide was a fountain of knowledge who took personal interest in each one of us to ensure we got max value. Would freely recommend this tour to any able bodied person. We did walk over 14 km that day. If you do go, where covered shoes as the gravel on open toe shoes is not good

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

KK China

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

The first day in Berlin is excellent. Visited most location with good view. The guide Calvin is informative and friendly.

The second day in Potsdam is also an enjoyable trip. The city is beautiful. However, my wife and I have a little issue on lunch arrangement. The guide Patrick started collecting lunch booking by distributing meal menu in the train before arrival to Potsdam. As I have already packed and carried my own lunch, I did not made the lunch order. Thereafter, the group were brought to a restaurant. After sitting down and have made an order for beer, I asked the guide if I can start taking my own lunch. I was told the restaurant will be upset for that. I was embarrased by that and reluctantly placed an order for the lunch. It would be good if I have been told such situation before arriving to the restaurant. Every member of the group should have the right to choose how they wanted to take their meal . The guide should briefed the group on the various option but not just giving one choice. Other than this , Patrick is friendly and informative. He has good knowledge on the history of Potsdam.

Doing what: Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

Sean B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was one of the highlights of my recent European vacation! I was not too familiar with Potsdam or German history prior to this tour, and the experience has made me excited to learn even more than I did with the group.

Our guide, Jess, is an American graduate student studying history, and I could not recommend his tour highly enough. At the outset he made it clear that German history can be very confusing, but he found a way to make everything exciting and lively, he found the humor and relatable elements in a historical legacy that goes back several hundred years.

This tour is a HIKE. It was a longer walk than we'd experienced on our other tours, and on a much hotter day, but my girlfriend and I were thrilled with the experience. We got to see and experience much more than we would've in a bus, and it proved more immersive to walk through a number of places that have experienced a number of highs and lows throughout history.

Great tour, great guide...do not hesitate, book this tour!

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Jean C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the best way to see Potsdam. We could make some choices about how much time to spend in certain places, and we could easily get our questions answered. One participant had trouble getting to the starting place because traffic had been cut off due to a bicycle tour in the area. Her taxi driver let her out to walk, but she went the wrong direction. The guide went out on foot and found her, going way beyond the call of duty to be sure everyone could participate. The guide was a new master's degree recipient and knew his history very well.

Doing what: Private Tour: Potsdam Day Trip from Berlin

JG United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

Boring fact N dates tour too long no time to enjoy Potsdam.had to abandon t our befo re getting to sans souci too tired and zoned out with blurb. No access to any museums without charges again.guide nearly left us on very crowded train as he didn't call us at our stop! Gave us just 20 mins for meal break at 1 pm after 3.5hours on road! Well diy this one next time.got better info. From a wonderful German lady we met in town.this is not a school trip , they needed to realise we are Adults on short break holiday so sound bites and pleasure should be ord of the very very long day.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Neil M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a very enjoyable tour with Torben as our guide. He was very knowledgeable, with a great understanding of the history plus a good communicator with personality. The tour involved a quite a few hours of walking which was all very worthwhile and a really good way to take in the main sights of Potsdam. Torben ensured that all members of the tour were supported, right down to making sure everyone made there way back to Berlin safely. Highly recommended as a thoroughly enjoyable day out.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Margaret K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Got to see most of Potsdam through our guide and learned about the history of the city. Lot of excercise, but lunch was fantastic and the day was great.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very good. We had a small group and beautiful day. The bikes were easy to ride and the perfect way to experience the extent of Potsdam. The lunch venue was a good choice too. Overall very enjoyable and informative. Couldn't ask for more.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

Ruth K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very good indeed, a brilliant experience, very nice guides who were interesting and well informed. A very safe experience and a good way of seeing a lot of the city. It is definitely worth doing Potsdam as well, it is beautiful and historic.

Doing what: Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

Stephanie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Potsdam is a gorgeous city and out guide was very knowledgeable about the city's history, along with its architecture. Great walking tour.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Jasper v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Both cycle tours are the best way to meet Berlin.Well organised with good guides.But the Potsdam cycle tour was one of the best experiences we ever had!A nice trip by train from Alexanderplatz to Potsdam and a big surprise follows:Hop on your bike and enjoy wonderful Potsdam with beautiful gardens and palaces.They call it Versailles of Berlin.Not true:much more beautiful than Versailles.Go for it !!!66 and 64 years old!

Doing what: Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

Janet C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

It was a great day for a bike ride. A perfect way to explore Potsdam. The food at the beer garden was great not included in the cost and the history lesson was well presented...chalk drawings on the pavement. Two thumbs up.

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

Tony V

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

We enjoyed the walking tour of Potsdam but were stressed out right at the start with - ate arriva of guide, lack of assistance in getting train tickets and a general lack of organisation. At the end were were left to find our own way back to Berlin

Ok not great

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Mr W I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Craig, our guide, was enthusiastic, informative, inclusive and it was an all-round fantastic day. We saw a lot of Potsdam, giving us a taster of what is worth returning to. Lunch in a Bavarian pub in the Danish Quarter gave us good food and a suitable rest before continuing. I would highly recommend this trip and we're thinking of returning with our children. Thanks!

Doing what: Potsdam Day Bike Tour

Maurice M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great day with Alex as our guide. He was very knowledgable on the subject matter and was able to answer all the questions that came from our fellow visitors. The tour itself was very good and we got to see and learn about the Potsdam history. We thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone considering a Potsdam visit.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Richard V

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful experience with helpful and informative guide and driver. Delivered a higher than expected quality of service. Potsdam was only one of multiple interesting destinations.

Doing what: Private Tour: Potsdam Day Trip from Berlin

Makito.deb

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Nice walking tour thru Potsdam. The guide was ideal, and knew about fan facts about some of the places we saw on the way.
It would have been nice to be able to enter into the different buildings we walked pass by, but overall is was a great tour.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Andrew M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting tour and definitely the way to get the most out of a first trip to Potsdam. Guide was knowlegeable and interesting though a bit keen to spend time with another guest who was also a guide such he left people behind on occasions particularly at road crossings. Potsdam is a very diverse place well worth a visit with guide to fully appreciate the history and character of the area.

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very nice trip out to Potsdam and a great guide!

Doing what: Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

Mary T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The history of beautiful Potsdam came alive through the historical expertise and engaging story-telling of our amazing guide Dennis! Thanks to him, everyone in our group of seven gave this tour a two thumbs up!

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Jeffrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Both of these tours were entertaining, illuminating, manageable by bike, and very satisfying. And good value for the money. The guides were filled with knowledge and no small amount of charm. Bikes are comfortable and easy to use. Both cities really are quite flat, so fatigue isn't a major issue. Our group for each trip was less than 25 people. Lunch was perfectly timed. And the guides were just superb. Potsdam, by its very nature, includes a bit more biking, a bit less stopping, and somewhat more historical recitation, but the guide made all of this come alive, and of course seeing the room where the Potsdam Conference took place . . . well, this made the tour very special indeed. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Berlin Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Potsdam Day Trip by Train with Bike Tour

Michelle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour of Potsdam... Make sure you get to the departure spot early. We got there and 9.40am as noted on the ticket and the tour had left managed to meet them at the first stop. Our guide on the day was AMAZING Hightly recommend Dennis

Doing what: Discover Potsdam Walking Tour

Craig R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Extremely well-versed guide who was very communicative. Very flexible in what we saw in Potsdam, and also going and returning.

Doing what: Private Tour: Potsdam Day Trip from Berlin

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message