British explorer Captain James Cook met his death at Kealakekua Bay on February 14, 1779 perhaps due to a misunderstanding over the use of a boat. Today, a white obelisk marks the spot where he died, standing sentinel over the lush coast and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved every second of the trip. Lots of friendly chat from the guides and great diving locations. Beautiful reefs and amazing fish. Lucky to say I also got to swim with a turtle that came up from the reef for about 15 minutes! Big bucket list moment ticked off! Good, basic lunch, but that's all that's needed when swimming and traveling on a high speed boat!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Angie USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an incredible experience! Captain Collin and Sharon were great. We saw two types of dolphins and some whales along the way. The snorkeling was impressive too. We got waaaaay more for our money! Highly recommend Zodiac tours!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Adela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I loved it! The tour guide was awesome, I was scared, so he was patient and made sure I felt comfortable Captain Steve. The fish were so beautiful and tropical. I just wish I saw a turtle!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous! Very knowledgeable crew, great sites, and bonus got to see bottlenose and spinner dolphins. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Neal C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rick and Buddha were our guides, and are skilled, intimately knowledgable, and ridiculously funny. We saw things the other boats missed like resting baby sharks and Rick made sure we got to Captain Cook before the ret of the boats so we had unfettered access and perfectly transparent water. The people in our boat were clearly having a LOT more fun than the other tours as well. This was our first activity of the vacation and was a great kickoff. The Zodiac is enormous fun, like a motorcycle!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Clinton W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time kayaking and snorkeling in the Kealakekua Bay! Our guides, Brian and Jamal, were very helpful in making the experience safe and enjoyable. The snorkeling area was great, clear water with beautiful coral and fish. We had freedom to explore the reef area. We were pleased with the lunch and were provided with plenty of water. We would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Dorothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the most awesome part of our trip - both of the guides Brian and Jamal were exceptional. I felt a little hesitant and they were very patient and talked me through until I felt comfortable enough. I recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good few hrs. Worth doing

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

DUMITRU C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved being on a speed boat! Captain Kendra and Mike were great: professional and very funny. We were able to see both Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa from the same spot while on boat. We loved the three snorkeling spots and all the caves, lava tubes, arches, cliffs , Captain Cook monument. Food was very good too.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Denise B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Was a good Adventure the Guide was perfect

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Danielle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wow this was amazing! We were told to go early in the morning, which was a great idea because it was sunny and the water was clear. By the time we left, it was cloudy and the water was rocky. Definitely recommend going on the early trips. We had Jamal, who lives in the area and gave us a fantastic history lesson about Kealakekua Bay. We saw dolphins, beautiful fish, and we were surrounded by magnificent culture. Loved this experience!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved this tour! We have snorkeled a lot in Hawaii and this was the BEST snorkeling we have ever experienced! Jamal was very knowledgeable about Big Island history and was very encouraging and patient with us novice kayakers. This tour has been the highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

LoriAnn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great staff, very friendly, easy going and knowledgeable. We did the morning tour. Bay was beautiful and calm. Snorkeling sight was awesome until 5 other tour groups showed up. Our half day was up by the time it got really crowded.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Andrew A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the first thing we did when we arrived in Hawaii last week. Our captain was professional, knowledgeable about the area and he was fun to be with. His assistant was also a blast to be around. Our trip started out quickly with a couple of stops to be among dolphins who were returning from feeding all night. We attempted to find some whales but nature being fickle didn't produce any for us to see. We then proceeded to a very nice quiet area to do some snorkeling. The water was crystal clear and protected from the wind and waves further out.

Riding on the boat is fun especially out in the open ocean. Lots of bumps and bounces. Our captain was nice enough to stop several times to let everyone take a break and to release their death grip on the safety handles. :

Just a word to the wise, if you have back or neck troubles I don't recommend this mostly due to the bumps and how the boat is unforgiving on passing that feeling onto the passengers. I do, however, recommend this to anyone who can get down there and experience this adventure. It was a blast and even though I have already done it once, I will do it again during the next visit.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Isaac L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great experience. Our guide, Jamal, shared so much information on the history of the land, and on the marine life during our snorkeling. He also established a great comfortable environment for all of us.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Cheryl L H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Only good things to say about this tour. Had a great time!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Martin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and daughter had a wonderful time. Very informative and very helpful. Thank you. Have used Viator several times already..

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

buniot

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Very good, but some things were not as anticipated. Chris was great, snorkeling was great! I thought caves were played up too much...not really caves imo. I pictured going inside them. It is really just a cliff side. Food should be more than chips and fruit. Add something like a half sandwich per person. Good trip in general, but don't sell it as caves...

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Linda A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We absolutely loved this tour. Kayaking was fun, snorkeling was great and Jamal is the very best guide. Highly recommend!!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Shannon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful experience!! Kealakekua Bay and Honaunau Bay were excellent snorkel locations. We saw a wide array of fish, sea turtles, and dolphins during our tour. Captain Dave and Kevin were fantastic! Very engaging, informative, and we had a blast!!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Rose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such a fun time!! Iwa and Jamal were awesome! We were inexperienced kayakers and snorkelers and they walked us through step by step! We got to see spinner dolphins and the fish while snorkeling were just amazing!!! Loved hearing the history too! Just a great tour all around!! Would highly recommend this tour to EVERYONE!!!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Michael G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was an awesome experience. Do not book through the cruise ship. Book directly through here. Much cheaper.
Staff was great and very interactive. We seen a lot of great sites.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Rennie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommend this tour that I took on 16th June. The guides Bill and Michael were very easy going and humourous and told us a lot about the surrounding area. Despite me not heeding their instructions on where to snorkel and ending up being washed up on the sharp coral rocks they were still able to come to my aid and help me get my wounds and scratches dressed. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and the highlight was seeing the spinner dolphins in the bay doing their stuff spinning in the air. Don't forget to take your sunscreen though.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Priti P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was an amazing experience. Tour was organized very nicely. Tour guide Jamhal was caring, helpful and awesome. Other staff was also good. We were lucky to see dolphins that day. ocean kayaking..must do thing..!!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message