Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole world heritage site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 513 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great our guide Nick was very knowledgeable and friendly. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Katie, was excellent!! Very knowledgeable and a great guide for the day. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Edward K N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well coordinated tool. Katie was great. Very Friendly and very knowledgeable

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome. Our tour guide was Carl, who was so on top of everything. We actually wound up running a little behind after the helicopter tour, but he made sure we saw everything. The zip line is a lot of fun - the last zip really is the best and you take a break in the middle where you get to try local fruits. The helicopter was so cool. You get really close to the volcano and our helicopter pilot made me feel really safe. You see lava oozing down the mountain. Then you go to Volcanos National Park and walk through a lava tube, which is really neat, and check out some other cool sites. Carl took us to a steam vent that was a little off the beaten path, so it wasn't surrounded by other tourists. Then volcano glow at night is just incredible. The dinner at the winery and their tour is pretty cool too. It's really worth every penny!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Brett K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour on July 3rd with Mike was awesome. He is very personable, knowledgeable , and did a great job as our guide on our Big Island tour. We went to some of the best parts of the island and my wife and I especially liked the volcano and lava tubes. This is a great way to see the island. Loved it!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Nicole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was well worth it! Our tour guide Kawika was very knowledgeable and nice. I loved the stops that were chosen and the fruit stand stop was a really nice extra touch, as well as the lunch spot we ate at - Liliuokalani Garden.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Rennie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Whirlwind tour of the island but well explained and guided by the tour guide. He wasn't too militant about getting us in and out of places on time which was good. Its a good tour if you've only got a day in the big island and want to try and cover everything. My learning is I will need to come back again to do more exploration on my own - to do treks and explore lava caves in more detail. For a first time I'd recommend doing this tour. The highlight was seeing the turtles on black sand beach. Also Akaka falls was exquisite. The guide was very knowledgeable and went into the history of the island and how the various rulers fought for control. Also describing the various geological events that forced destiny on the people of the Big Island. Definitely a lot of knowledge and awareness of the place that you won't pick up from reading books - eg there was even a ghost tale told..from real life experience!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Stuart Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Big Island. Our tour guide Kawika was literally a walking encyclopedia and he told us so much history about the island and answered many questions. I highly recommend doing this and ask for Kawika he is awesome!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Gregory A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

i would recommend this tour to anyone who hasn and #39;t been on the big island before. You get to see a lot of the island during the tour and Katie the tour guide was amazing. She was very informative and had a great sense of humor. It was a really good day.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Andrew A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the highlights of our recent trip to Hawaii. Fun, challenging and well worth the effort to see something that most will only see on TV. Our guides were professional, fun and most importantly concerned about everyone's safety. At no time during the trip did I ever feel like excessive risks were taken. They even provided gloves to protect our hands from the sharp edges of the old lava flows. Just as a warning to those who may be considering doing this, if you have back, knee or ankle troubles I don't recommend attempting this trek. It was a total of just under 5 miles round trip with about 2 of those over rough terrain. You have to do this while carrying your own water and food which can easily total 20 pounds or more depending on what you bring. Also, wear sunscreen! The Hawaii sun is unforgiving and doesn't mind toasting your skin to near lobster colors. : So, wear sunscreen regardless of how the weather looks when you start.

Would I recommend this to others? Absolutely! I may have been exhausted at the end of the trip but every bead of sweat was well spent and made for a lifetime of memories. My youngest son even posted a picture and video on Facebook and said This was easily the coolest thing I have ever done.

Doing what: Hot Lava Hike to See Lava Volcano Tour

David J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Did see lava flow, but I believe the tour offers two types of hikes.
I was ready to go in a jungle and hike, never happened on my trip, we just walked down a dirt road about 2 miles and walked across some dried lava fields to find some break outs flowing lava.
Our guide was great but I still wanted more of a jungle type journey for the price.

Doing what: Hot Lava Hike to See Lava Volcano Tour

AMcClain

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Excellent!! Well worth the money. Kawika did an excellent job of explaining all the stops and sharing many points of the history of Hawaii. He was very personable and really seemed to make sure that everyone enjoyed themselves. You can tell Kawika is proud of this island and enjoys showing it off. We had just enough time at all the stops and we didn't feel rushed. The bus was large enough to accommodate all the tour guests and the air conditioning was great when we got back in the bus from each stop. We took the tour early in our week in Hawaii. We hoped that the tour would provide us with an overview of what the island had to offer and ideas of what we would want to do during our stay. The tour was perfect and met our need.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Norman W Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

If you are in two minds as to whether or not to do this tour - DO IT! It's worth every cent! Extremely
well organised.

Doing what: Volcano by Air and Land: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour of Volcanoes National Park from Kona

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Kawika did a great job of showing us the Big Island in one day! Small 14 person passenger van, not a big bus and able to stop at small places to show local finds and small interesting details. The volcano vents were a big hit for us, as were the waterfalls. Not too strenuous, a little too much sitting for us in one day, but a great tour we'd do again as a first time visitor to the Big Island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guides, Mike and Pretty were awesome! We had a small group, about 12. We felt safe and comfortable the whole time. The upright bikes were easy to ride. We learned a lot too! A great way to see the park!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Carolyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exceeded our expectations! Katie was the best guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Steven M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Our tour guide KaWica was terrific! The tour covered pretty much the whole island. Would have been prefect of the A/C was working a little better from the back.
The second water fall stop is not really necessary would prefer a stop for a snack at a local food market for native fruit/snack instead

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

LoriAnn N

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We saw a lot more than we would have on our own. The only disappointment was we only received 20 mins at the volcano sight which isn't even enough time to go through the visitor's center. Lunch wasn't very good either. Recommend bringing your own snacks/lunch.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Jane M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour runs out of Hilo and is a great day trip to see the Volcanoes and lava. Our guide - John was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Jan K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and excellent guide Dave. A lot to see and learn. I recommend to all.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Rose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Ryan our pilot was AWESOME!! This was our first time in a helicopter and have to admit we were a little nervous! No reason to be nervous at all! Such a smooth ride! Got to see so much of the island from a totally different view which was breathtaking! I think this was our favorite thing that we did all week and we did a lot! If you can do this one while you are there... DO IT!

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Jane L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is amazing journey for us. Our guide Ketti is very profassionor. Thanks Ketti, you made our day! we highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message