Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole world heritage site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 582 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Takahiro H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This one-day trip was incredible! We were extremely lucky to have such perfect weather, very little rain, and even got to see TWO giant sea turtles up close! Fantastic views. Perfection. Me and my girlfriend had a fantastic time, but what really made the trip perfect was our guide. Darian our tour guide was not only knowledgeable, but so friendly that we felt like we had a close friend giving us the entire tour. He was an expert on the history, geography, nature, and biology of the entire island. I was so impressed by his courtesy and kindness, particular when offering to take pictures of me and my girlfriend together. He really made a huge effort to make sure every single person on the tour felt special and taken care of. He went above and beyond my expectations, and really wish him well! Anyone with limited time on the Big Island should not hesitate. The tour goes quick, but you really do get a taste of the best things the Big Island has to offer.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Charlene A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved it. Highly recommend . Our tour guide was knowledgable and friendly and kept us entertained. Don't forget to pack for rainy weather though.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

ccaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic trip. Well looked after. Guide very friendly and very informative. A great time had by all and our spirits were not dampened by the rain. THANKYOU...

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Zoya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Love the trip. Tour guide, Kai, is very knowledgeable and pleasant. We had a great time.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Thanks so much to Katie our tour guide, everything well arranged, and explains to us so clear and well in every locations.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Darian is our tour guide. He arranged all the sightseeing points so well, and made our group so happy and have lots of good laughs all the way.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

William R W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great experience for my husband. He especially enjoyed the fantastic views of the volcanoes. Unfortunately they didn't have bike small enough for my short stature. I rode in the van which was great talking to Driver Pretty. Mike was great at explaining volcano facts. He even gave a great hint for watching the sunset and seeing the colors in the crater. Great trip!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing tour, where we were lucky enough to go on a long hike into the volcano. Our guide had an amazing knowledge of the nature around us. We did have a wet day, but it didn't ruin our day at all. The glow of the caldera against the low clouds was very Eerie! I'd definitely go again!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Lorelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

As a local born on the island, our guide was very knowledgeable. The waterfalls were amazing and walking through the rainforest was unreal. So beautiful!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

spanish-services

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

All of the people involved in this trip were amazing! Glenn, our driver was very knowledgeable and super nice. Tony, Koby and Kailoa from the zip lines were also kind and reassuring. Ethan our helicopter pilot also went the extra mile to make sure we got great views of the volcano. He was also a wealth of information as to when and what had occurred with the volcanoes and their eruptions that created what we see today. Make sure you pack a good jacket for the wine tasting and volcano tour as it gets very cold and windy!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The best way to see the island is a short amount of time. Our tour guide Darian was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and went out of his way to make sure everyone on the bus was happy! We got to see waterfalls, and volcanos, and sea turtles, and we were very lucky with the fantastic weather!
I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the big island!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

KINAM S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide - Kai was wonderful - so much knowledge of the Island's history! Thank you! Kinam

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Nancy M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

I would have liked a native Hawaiian to be our guide. Stops were too short maybe less travel and more time in one spot.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Michael W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see the island. Weather can affect flight and caused cancellation of our first scheduled flight. Flowing lava into the sea is very impressive view. Note that there are restrictions on how close helicopters can approach the eruptions in Volcano National Park. Facing backwards was not the best seat for viewing or photography. Mountains on north end of the island extremely impressive. Brief landing was plus for trip.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Eva V

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2016

We were suppose to be picked up at 6:15 and waited and waited. Finally got through to the tour office at 7:00 and were told the driver would be there within 15 minutes, it took 30. We later found out that the driver over slept, he should have told us that but didn't. We picked up other people, they weren't too happy about being late either. The zip lining was fantastic, the guys were great although we never got a chance to tip them and they deserved it. Our group of 4 felt rushed all day like they were trying to play catch up. Didn't eat lunch until 2 pm. It was a dry chicken sandwich but tasted good by that time. The lava beach was very cool, you need a wind breaker.
All the places we stopped at were great - beach, lava tube, painted church, volcano crater museum but the day started off with a lie and we were rushed all day and got very tired of hearing apologizes from everyone.

Doing what: Big Island Zipline Tour and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park from Hilo or Kona

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour which was well worth the price. Even though it's a lot of road time, Justin had lots of information to share which kept things interesting. We saw a nice variety of landscapes and features, the tour was paced well, enough time to enjoy but not too long at any one place.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Marlese P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Mike was a terrific guide. His commentary was excellent. We had never been to Kona so this was a great way to orient ourselves to the island and learn where the good beaches, restaurants, etc. are on Kona.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Kiang Hong T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Due to some schedule clashes, we had to make a last minute request to change our booking to another day. Lucky for us, Forest Trail was really accommodating and assisted us in arranging for a new date.

The volcano national park tour was really interesting and educational. Our tour guide Matthew also made sure we are well taken care of during the tour. Kudos to Forest Trail for making the tour an enjoyable one for us!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

vincent s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Kia was great. He was very informative, entertaining, helpful, and concerned about passengers who were having some issues.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Patricia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the Big Island in one day tour. We found it to be the best thing we did on this trip to Hawaii and we went parasailing, took a helicopter tour and went to a luau, too. Although we enjoyed each of our adventures, the tour of the island was the most outstanding because our guide, Kevin, was so very knowledgeable and interesting! It had been raining recently so the waterfalls were full and so beautiful. The small group made it easy to get around and to get to know each other a bit. Lunch was very good and not the typical boxed sandwich we had expected. We went to the volcano, the black sand beach, an orchid facility. The approximately 11-hour tour was everything we wanted and more! We could not be more pleased!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Michael W. B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I enjoyed this tour very much. We didn't have a lot of time on the Big island so this was a great way to see a lot of sights in one day. Tour guide Kevin was both very informative and entertaining. Even though the tour was long 11 hours from pick up to drop off, the time went by fast. The views of the waterfalls and valleys were amazing and going to the top of the volcano and into the lava tube was spectacular. Also saw lots of sea turtles resting on the black beach. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Olivia Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This tour was AMAZING!! We were immediately impressed by the knowledge that was shared, even just in the first few minutes of the drive. Kala was our tour guide and we feel very lucky to have had him!! He kept the entire tour interesting with the little history lessons of the island! I highly recommend Kala for anyone looking for a thorough tour of the Island! Not only did we get to see some of our wish list places on this tour, but Kala was able to share information with us about other spots, which we were able to see on our own the next day!! I can't stress enough how amazing this tour was!!! Thank you Kala and Wasabi tours for the amazing experience!!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

sandra s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

What a great day! It was everything it promised to be! We saw all the major places and had plenty of time at each to get good pictures and walk around. We had some rain as we got to Akaka Falls but we were given rain jackets if we wanted. Mike was an amazing guide. He had lots of info and he absolutely loves waterfalls so we got to see an extra on the way back!! The best part is we saw all this and I didn't have to do all the driving myself!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Kathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Great way to see the Island in one day Wow!! Gives you a full view of what the Island has to offer in one day! Tour guide Kevin was friendly, fun and knowledgeable! He provided suggestions/recommendations of other things to do and so for those with more days to explore. I requested a gluten free meal for lunch and they provided and it was hot and delicious! Tour. Tour included 13 plus driver and guidelines said under 12 ppl. But it was enough room in van. My only compliant for a full day of tour was they did not offer any gluten free snack options - they had snacks for other travelers. So be sure to pack your snacks if you have food allergies - it is a long day. They have plenty of water and juice!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

David M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

The tour was amazing and the guide was very informative.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message