Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole world heritage site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 483 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda Wardell W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour was wonderful. E was our guide and did a great job. We took this tour our first day on the big island so we could get an idea of what we wanted to see and do on our own. The last time we took this tour, the only negative was - there were no sea turtles on the beach. This trip is worth every penny!!
Linda
Blair, Nebraska

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

JAMES R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great itinerary to see many of the major attractions on the Big Island. What made the tour especially great was a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic tour guide, Darian Basaldua.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Jayne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Definitely needed the expertise of our tour guide,Kawicka, to do all the driving and provide us with all his knowledge about the island and its history - he was kind, courteous, and very attune to our group's needs from getting a car seat to changing the location of our delicious lunch so that we would all be able to have seats and be covered from the impending rain! and to providing rain jackets for passengers that needed them!!...the van was comfortable and the lunch boxes we were given were quite unique! Long, memorable day but well worth it!! The only negative thing to mention has absolutely nothing to do with our guide he really was wonderful - I would highly recommend that the tour company be more careful in adding any passengers with children under the age of 2 to do this very long day trip to a van full of adults - it was hard to hear Kawicka talking to us over the noisy, and sometimes crying, toddler sitting behind us.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Gail L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Although this tour was very long as expected it was thoroughly enjoyable and worth the time. Our guide, Kai, was very knowledgeable, personable and concerned about our needs. Although you can't ever say you saw the whole island we sure did make an attempt. From beaches with turtles to volcanoes to arid areas to wetter sections we ended with a good feel for the big island of Hawaii.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Rosalyn J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

This was an awesome tour. Our guide was talkative and full of stories! It was a big day as we were staying in Kona but definitely worth the money. The zip lining was so much fun and very safe. The volcanoes were spectacular and dinner was delicious.

Doing what: Big Island Zipline Tour and Hawaii Volcanoes National Park from Hilo or Kona

Jackie R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We really enjoyed this tour. Unfortunately from the spot we were taken to we couldn't see the lava. But we did see the steam rising up from the volcano. We also saw a lot of beautiful waterfalls with a good amount of time to stop and take photos. Our guide also shared a lot of interesting stories and we learnt a lot about the culture.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

idunno66

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Started off well with good visits to the locations that were described. After the volcano it should have been a 1 hour and 45 minute return to our hotel. Instead the guide decided to run a Taxi service to the other side of the Island to drop off one guest resulting in a 3 hour drive back to Kona.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Daniel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Was amazing, especially our tour guide Kala. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent full day tour. The dawn pickup from our resort was on time and the driver was delightful. The first helicopter segment gave excellent views of the volcanoes and the pilot made sure we saw the current lava flows. In Hilo the transfer to the tour van was easy and on time. The guide on the van tour of Volcanoes N.P. was extremely knowledgeable and encouraged questions. The tour covered several highlights of this huge park. The sandwich lunch was good, about as expected. Transfer to the helicopter in Hilo was easy. The second helicopter flight was truly spectacular. We spotted breaching whales in the ocean and the pilot circled at a safe height so all could see. We flew into a narrow, Jurassic Park like valley and looked up at a 2,000 foot waterfall. Again the pilot the same one who flew our morning segment was knowledgeable and informative. After we landed just before sunset in Kailua-Kona, they sent us back to our resort in a cab at no added cost to us except tip. From end to end this was a fantastic tour. Very well organized and well-executed.

Doing what: Volcano by Air and Land: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour of Volcanoes National Park from Kona

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike the tour guide for great. He loved biking on the volcano. He had wonderful stories and knowledge of the area. Went from the top of the volcanoe down to where we had lunch by the ocean. He also was very safe and looked after the group very well. Gwen the owner drove the back up and was so gracious, loved her business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike was a wonderful guide. He loved biking on the volcanoe, had great stories and knowledge of the area. We went from the top to the ocean where we had lunch. Gwen the owner drove the back up van, was very gracious and loved the business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Lawrence L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is an outstanding tour! If you are considering booking it, I'd suggest asking for Glenn.

My girlfriend and I took this tour with Glenn as our guide and I cannot say enough good things about him. He is knowledgeable in the local history and culture, the geology of the volcanic activity, and botany and zoology, among many other things I'm sure. His passion for the culture and the natural beauty of Big Island really shines through and adds to a very strong itinerary.

Each of the separate activities ziplining, helicopter tour, and walking lava tour lives up to billing and the combination makes for a very full and enjoyable day. My personal favorite was probably the lava tour - the sight of lava bubbling at night is pretty magnificent - but it's a close call and, aside from driving between activities, I didn't feel that there was any wasted time.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

marlys m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

IT was a very good trip our guide did a great job of telling our group of all the sites he took us to.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had one day off from playing golf during our time on Big Island and decided to use this tour to learn as much as we could about the island and its past in the limited time available. We were not disappointed. We saw active though not very active volcanoes, spectacular waterfalls, deserts, rain forests and even green turtles resting on a black sand beach. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very passionate about his island home, its folklore, history and ecology and kept up a very entertaining and informative commentary throughout the tour. I came away from the tour feeling that I had a much greater understanding of the changes to the island and its life caused by earthquakes and volcanic activity, the resourcefulness and achievements of the native Polynesian peoples, the effects caused when 2 differing societies Polynesian and Western first encounter each other and the effect that Man has had on this island ecology. All this in one day!

I can thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to spend an entertaining day gaining a fuller understanding of Big Island, its history and ecology.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Hector G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The entire day was an amazing experience. Every site that we visited was well worth it. There was no dead time during the day because our guide, Darian Dreu Basaldua, kept us entertained with stories about the island. He is very knowledgeable and can speak for hours about the history and sites of the island. I can't say that I have a favorite place, but the volcano craters, waterfalls, and black sand beaches are a breathtaking scene.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We took the Big Island in a day tour and were so glad we did! There is no way we could have seen so much of this wonderful island in one day had we tried on our own. We went through cattle country, lush valleys, saw high waterfalls, molten lava and steam vents, lava tubes and black sand beach, as well as acres of macadamia nuts and coffee trees! All in a well-paced flow that didn't wear out the older members of our party. And our guide, Kai, was exceptional in his knowledge of the local history and stories, explaining the Hawaiian language and words to us, and making sure all our needs were met. This was the highlight of our trip!!!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really had a great time on the bike tour. Tour guide was exceptional. He took time will all level of riders which we had. We had a great time and would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

roger United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had an outstanding time. All our questions that we had prior to arriving on the Big Island were answered by Kala Holiday, our Tour Guide, in the first 20 minutes of our day. Kala was outstanding as he explained the history of the Hawaiian Islands, the Chiefs and Cheiftess', the arrival Captain Cook and how the King brought one rule of law over all the Islands. The sight seeing was tremendous. Not only did we get to see the Sea Turtles, the Black Sand beach, the Volcano, Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls, Kahuna Falls, but all the information of where the Jurassic movies and Waterworld were made, but the information shared by Kala made our day. Thank you - well worth the money. Kala also provided us tips and directions for the rest of our vacation so we could venture out on our own.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Annette L F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Jonathan, was a walking encyclopedia of Hawaiin knowledge. He knew everything! Our island tour was more than we expected and I highly recommend wasabi tours

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Judith O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We actually ended up taking the Summit Tour since there were not enough people for this one. They did their best to accommodate us but the alternate date did not work. Gwendolyn was very helpful in getting the change made. The organizers provided everything we needed including rain gear - a must for the day we went. They also gave good attention to safety and sustenance for the ride. Mike was an entertaining and informative tour guide while on our bikes. Pretty drove the support vehicle and also information about some of the sites. We would highly recommend this tour. The group was small - only ten in ours with a max of twelve - the staff was very personable.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Marilyn S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The guides were fantastic! Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. This was a great way to tour the park. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Linda J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Whole experience was amazing and we would never have found these places if we tried by ourselves. Only problem was by the end of the tour it would have been good to call into a coffee plantation for coffee as we had gone for hours without a coffee stop.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Takahiro H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This one-day trip was incredible! We were extremely lucky to have such perfect weather, very little rain, and even got to see TWO giant sea turtles up close! Fantastic views. Perfection. Me and my girlfriend had a fantastic time, but what really made the trip perfect was our guide. Darian our tour guide was not only knowledgeable, but so friendly that we felt like we had a close friend giving us the entire tour. He was an expert on the history, geography, nature, and biology of the entire island. I was so impressed by his courtesy and kindness, particular when offering to take pictures of me and my girlfriend together. He really made a huge effort to make sure every single person on the tour felt special and taken care of. He went above and beyond my expectations, and really wish him well! Anyone with limited time on the Big Island should not hesitate. The tour goes quick, but you really do get a taste of the best things the Big Island has to offer.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message