Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole world heritage site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 598 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Was amazing, especially our tour guide Kala. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Excellent full day tour. The dawn pickup from our resort was on time and the driver was delightful. The first helicopter segment gave excellent views of the volcanoes and the pilot made sure we saw the current lava flows. In Hilo the transfer to the tour van was easy and on time. The guide on the van tour of Volcanoes N.P. was extremely knowledgeable and encouraged questions. The tour covered several highlights of this huge park. The sandwich lunch was good, about as expected. Transfer to the helicopter in Hilo was easy. The second helicopter flight was truly spectacular. We spotted breaching whales in the ocean and the pilot circled at a safe height so all could see. We flew into a narrow, Jurassic Park like valley and looked up at a 2,000 foot waterfall. Again the pilot the same one who flew our morning segment was knowledgeable and informative. After we landed just before sunset in Kailua-Kona, they sent us back to our resort in a cab at no added cost to us except tip. From end to end this was a fantastic tour. Very well organized and well-executed.

Doing what: Volcano by Air and Land: Helicopter, Coach, and Walking Tour of Volcanoes National Park from Kona

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike the tour guide for great. He loved biking on the volcano. He had wonderful stories and knowledge of the area. Went from the top of the volcanoe down to where we had lunch by the ocean. He also was very safe and looked after the group very well. Gwen the owner drove the back up and was so gracious, loved her business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike was a wonderful guide. He loved biking on the volcanoe, had great stories and knowledge of the area. We went from the top to the ocean where we had lunch. Gwen the owner drove the back up van, was very gracious and loved the business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Lawrence L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is an outstanding tour! If you are considering booking it, I'd suggest asking for Glenn.

My girlfriend and I took this tour with Glenn as our guide and I cannot say enough good things about him. He is knowledgeable in the local history and culture, the geology of the volcanic activity, and botany and zoology, among many other things I'm sure. His passion for the culture and the natural beauty of Big Island really shines through and adds to a very strong itinerary.

Each of the separate activities ziplining, helicopter tour, and walking lava tour lives up to billing and the combination makes for a very full and enjoyable day. My personal favorite was probably the lava tour - the sight of lava bubbling at night is pretty magnificent - but it's a close call and, aside from driving between activities, I didn't feel that there was any wasted time.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

marlys m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

IT was a very good trip our guide did a great job of telling our group of all the sites he took us to.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had one day off from playing golf during our time on Big Island and decided to use this tour to learn as much as we could about the island and its past in the limited time available. We were not disappointed. We saw active though not very active volcanoes, spectacular waterfalls, deserts, rain forests and even green turtles resting on a black sand beach. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very passionate about his island home, its folklore, history and ecology and kept up a very entertaining and informative commentary throughout the tour. I came away from the tour feeling that I had a much greater understanding of the changes to the island and its life caused by earthquakes and volcanic activity, the resourcefulness and achievements of the native Polynesian peoples, the effects caused when 2 differing societies Polynesian and Western first encounter each other and the effect that Man has had on this island ecology. All this in one day!

I can thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to spend an entertaining day gaining a fuller understanding of Big Island, its history and ecology.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Hector G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The entire day was an amazing experience. Every site that we visited was well worth it. There was no dead time during the day because our guide, Darian Dreu Basaldua, kept us entertained with stories about the island. He is very knowledgeable and can speak for hours about the history and sites of the island. I can't say that I have a favorite place, but the volcano craters, waterfalls, and black sand beaches are a breathtaking scene.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Marilyn S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The guides were fantastic! Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. This was a great way to tour the park. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Linda J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Whole experience was amazing and we would never have found these places if we tried by ourselves. Only problem was by the end of the tour it would have been good to call into a coffee plantation for coffee as we had gone for hours without a coffee stop.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Takahiro H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This one-day trip was incredible! We were extremely lucky to have such perfect weather, very little rain, and even got to see TWO giant sea turtles up close! Fantastic views. Perfection. Me and my girlfriend had a fantastic time, but what really made the trip perfect was our guide. Darian our tour guide was not only knowledgeable, but so friendly that we felt like we had a close friend giving us the entire tour. He was an expert on the history, geography, nature, and biology of the entire island. I was so impressed by his courtesy and kindness, particular when offering to take pictures of me and my girlfriend together. He really made a huge effort to make sure every single person on the tour felt special and taken care of. He went above and beyond my expectations, and really wish him well! Anyone with limited time on the Big Island should not hesitate. The tour goes quick, but you really do get a taste of the best things the Big Island has to offer.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Charlene A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved it. Highly recommend . Our tour guide was knowledgable and friendly and kept us entertained. Don't forget to pack for rainy weather though.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

ccaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic trip. Well looked after. Guide very friendly and very informative. A great time had by all and our spirits were not dampened by the rain. THANKYOU...

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Zoya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Love the trip. Tour guide, Kai, is very knowledgeable and pleasant. We had a great time.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

YIMIN X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Mark's the tour guide passion about the island, wildlife, Hawaiian culture and volcanoes is infectious. He is a wealth of knowledge which can rival any wikipedia page on the topic. Even though the weather was a cloudy and rainy at times, Mark's enthusiasm over the 12 hour tour never waned. He is a national treasure.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Stephen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I thought this was a very informative and interesting tour. My 16 year old was a little bored and my husband got a little car sick but other than that I thought it was a great tour. Our guide, Drew was SO knowledgeable and told so many great stories I felt like I really found out more about the Hawaiian culture than I ever did having visited all the other islands. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Remarkable, well planned and well executed excursion. Not only did Justin make the long trip enjoyable, he even managed to wonderfully balance the weather, schedule, and a hungry group of travelers.

Our itinerary included Volcano NP and surrounding areas, with pick ups from the Kona side of the island. Yes, it was a long day, but full with memories!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Karen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a wonderful time! Jonathan was our tour guide and he kept us engaged for the entire tour. He was so knowledgeable and answered all questions. I learned so much about the island and knew what I wanted to see more of. I would definitely highly recommend this tour to anyone. A

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Evan W K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Got a bird's eye view of the island, including exploring the volcano and our guide sharing interesting folklore about the island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Shaun B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

this trip was incredible. everything was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Autumn Parker P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great time on this tour and would definitely do it over again! Our guide Lawrence was amazing, the pilot Wesley was very friendly and our zip-line crew was very fun. Everyone was great and we enjoyed the experience! Seeing the lava in the volcano was unforgettable.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Harsh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was amazing and our Guide Justin was very knowledgable. We saw a lot of great stuff in one day.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

KOK YIN C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommended Tour !!
Our family had a great time and we are glad to have Dominik as our guide. He is very knowledgable, caring, attentive to our individual needs and always take the extra effort to ensure we are having a good time.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Thanks so much to Katie our tour guide, everything well arranged, and explains to us so clear and well in every locations.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Darian is our tour guide. He arranged all the sightseeing points so well, and made our group so happy and have lots of good laughs all the way.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message