Big Island of Hawaii ATTRACTIONS See all

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park

The mega attraction on the Big Island is Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii’s sole world heritage site. The volatile park’s centerpiece is Kilauea Volcano, which continues to blow its top and spout molten lava, ash and steam. Crater Rim Drive is a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 536 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Trevor K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A really worthwhile overview of the and #34;big island and #34; and best to do soon after arriving in my opinion. Our guide, Kai, was remarkable in his breadth of knowledge and Wasabi Tours should know that he represents them well.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

kathleen g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great trip. Well worth time and money. Lots of fun, interesting, and beautiful sights.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Jennifer N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a long day but well worth it! Jon, our tour guide was nice, and super knowledgeable. He shared a lot of history with us, especially during the car ride, which made the trips between each of the excursions feel less mundane. He was also a wonderful storyteller and introduced us to many of the historic storylines of the Hawaiian gods.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Kimberly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was my first visit to the Big Island but it won't be my last! I flew over from Oahu for the day to do this tour. Our guide Kai was very knowledgable about the island having growing up here. The small group size was perfect and we were all able to ask questions along the way. I didn't know what to expect when I booked this tour but it exceeded my expectations. We learned about the different types of lava, the volcanoes, and a good working history of the island. We visited many sights and learned a lot about the local flora with many opportunities for photos, of which I got many good shots! Kai even brought along snacks, drinks and provided a delicious bento box lunch from a local restaurant. I def plan to visit the Big Island again and hit up some of the beautiful sights we visited. This was a great way to get an overview of the island. I couldn't have asked for more from a guide. Kai was very considerate of our group and went out of his way to make sure we got the most from the tour. I def recommend this tour even if you've visited the Big Island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Germano M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great way to see the island and the tour guide was great and informative

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Danielle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

My husband and I have never been to Hawaii and this was the BEST way to explore the entire island! Our guide, Nathan, was fantastic and was very knowledgable about the island. Definitely recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Nancy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful tour of the Big Island for these first time visitors. The island has quite an eco system and it was very interesting to experience some of it. Our tour guide John was very knowledgeable and made sure we were always comfortable.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

MARY M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

I was a little bit disappointed that we didn't get to see the lava flowing as that was what we thought we would see when we booked the tour. otherwise the trip was very nice and educational. the lunch was real good too
the tour guide was good too

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Frank D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our Tour Guide 'Kawiki' was very professional. We learned a lot about the history of the Sites and local attractions. Thank you for making a 12 hour Tour so memorable and relaxing !

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Arlene K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

5 star. It was the best small group sight seeing experience I have ever had. Our guide, Kai was wonderful. He was informative, interesting, and kept all of us interested in so many stops at different locations.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Sureen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bike tour is pretty cool, a great way to get an overview of the national park. After the tour, we were able to spend some time exploring the park in greater detail with suggestions from the tour.
The guides are very knowledgeable about the park and Hawaiian folklore, and quick to tell a good story. The ride itself is quite easy so suitable for all fitness levels.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Awesome is the word that describes both the tour and the guide. He added such a rich experience to the day. He was able to share the tradition and culture of the native Hawaiian people that enhanced the outing for our family. With grandparents, parents and children ranging in age from 9 to 70 is a challenging task for any guide but he was able to turn a long day to a fun filled experience.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Theresa Z

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The helicopter ride was amazing,our pilot was so informative and passionate about his job, this is a must!
The Zip-Line was OK, but I have been on better. The tour guide that drove us there gave us some
great info about what we saw on the way.
The vineyard was so beautiful, the wine and tour of vineyard was great and the meal,delicious.
Seeing the red hot lava of the Volcano at night at the Jaggar Museum was well worth it.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Sarah O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was great our guide Nick was very knowledgeable and friendly. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Katie, was excellent!! Very knowledgeable and a great guide for the day. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Edward K N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well coordinated tool. Katie was great. Very Friendly and very knowledgeable

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome. Our tour guide was Carl, who was so on top of everything. We actually wound up running a little behind after the helicopter tour, but he made sure we saw everything. The zip line is a lot of fun - the last zip really is the best and you take a break in the middle where you get to try local fruits. The helicopter was so cool. You get really close to the volcano and our helicopter pilot made me feel really safe. You see lava oozing down the mountain. Then you go to Volcanos National Park and walk through a lava tube, which is really neat, and check out some other cool sites. Carl took us to a steam vent that was a little off the beaten path, so it wasn't surrounded by other tourists. Then volcano glow at night is just incredible. The dinner at the winery and their tour is pretty cool too. It's really worth every penny!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Brett K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our tour on July 3rd with Mike was awesome. He is very personable, knowledgeable , and did a great job as our guide on our Big Island tour. We went to some of the best parts of the island and my wife and I especially liked the volcano and lava tubes. This is a great way to see the island. Loved it!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Nicole M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was well worth it! Our tour guide Kawika was very knowledgeable and nice. I loved the stops that were chosen and the fruit stand stop was a really nice extra touch, as well as the lunch spot we ate at - Liliuokalani Garden.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Rennie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Whirlwind tour of the island but well explained and guided by the tour guide. He wasn't too militant about getting us in and out of places on time which was good. Its a good tour if you've only got a day in the big island and want to try and cover everything. My learning is I will need to come back again to do more exploration on my own - to do treks and explore lava caves in more detail. For a first time I'd recommend doing this tour. The highlight was seeing the turtles on black sand beach. Also Akaka falls was exquisite. The guide was very knowledgeable and went into the history of the island and how the various rulers fought for control. Also describing the various geological events that forced destiny on the people of the Big Island. Definitely a lot of knowledge and awareness of the place that you won't pick up from reading books - eg there was even a ghost tale told..from real life experience!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Stuart Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Big Island. Our tour guide Kawika was literally a walking encyclopedia and he told us so much history about the island and answered many questions. I highly recommend doing this and ask for Kawika he is awesome!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message