For some of the best snorkeling on the Big Island, visit the protected waters of Kealakekua Bay. This remote area is also popular with hikers, who might come across the ruins of ancient temples and villages on their travels. Dolphins frolic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeffrey L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great adventure. Jameel was a great guude, lots of fun and very safety conscious. Nice challenge to kayak across the bay. Then snacks and plenty of time in the water to see an amazing coral reef and SO many tropical fish. All gear provided except towels and prescription goggles......had to rent those elsewhere ahead of tine.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Harleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We heard about this tour from a lot of people on the Island and we were glad to have booked it in advance 3 months ago. We opted for the snuba dive at the tour itself and it was the best decision of the day. Our Snuba guide, Mike, was very knowledgeable and gave us a detailed 15-minute training on what to expect and how to go about the snuba dive safely. He made sure everyone was on the same page during the dive and showed us some amazing corals, sea urchins, octopus, and a lot of colorful fish. He was also checking our pressure gauge at regular intervals during the half hour snuba dive. After that wonderful experience, we still had around 15 to 25 minutes to snorkel around the bay. We had a great time overall and enjoyed the scenic views all around us. We also managed to catch a glimpse of a hammer head shark on our way to the bay. During the return trip to the shore, we were delighted by the presence of dolphins around the boat whilst enjoying delicious fruits and chips as a snack. We also saw a baby Manta Ray in the bay from the boat !!!!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great Cruise the music and the food was great my Mother enjoyed herself very much. I would like to thank Michaela Larson for doing a great job on the history of the island

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Thea L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a fantastic experience on the afternoon snorkel cruise. As we left the boat at the end of our cruise, my 7-year-old grandson said This was so great. Let's do this again the next time we come to Hawaii! The boat crew was friendly, helpful, and professional. We were fortunate to see a humpback whale breaching as we made our to the Captain Cook Monument site. At the site, we had about 90 minutes of snorkel and fun time--it went by quickly! My grandson loved the slides and high dive. My husband and I enjoyed some amazing snorkeling. We snorkeled at a few other sites on the Big Island during our vacation, but this was definitely the most spectacular. As we began our snorkel, the boat captain drew our attention to a few spinner dolphins nearby. He asked that we not chase them, or try to get closer to them, as they come to the area to rest. It was a thrill to see them close by, both at the surface and underneath the water, but I was glad when the captain asked some of the snorkelers who had started to follow the dolphins to stop. I really appreciate this commitment to minimal impact on wildlife.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Patricia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

we were 6 total so we didn't spend a bunch of time getting ready and listening to rules. Our Captain took us right out to where the dolphins were swimming and we enjoyed at least an hour of swimming amongst them. My daughters were able to swim fast enough that when the dolphins came up, they were surrounded! Then she took us to her 'special' cove and we snorkeled, no other people around, so many beautiful fish! I would do this again!!!!!

Doing what: Dolphin Encounter and Kealakekua Bay Reef Snorkel

jbroling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We actually swam with swarms of dolphins - we were so close to some we could have even touched them -- but one does not!!! It was a wonderful and unforgetable day for our family of 20!
Janet B.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

sally s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Brian and Dempsey were superb. Very knowledgeable about the history of the region and about the marine life. They made me feel very comfortable even though I am a little afraid of water. I will do this again if I go back to the area.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Fred D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Great dinner cruise that included whales breaching, good food, and excellent service.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Ron K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Went in early January and the weather was a beautiful Hawaiian winter's day. As we entered the bay, spinner dolphins were displaying by jumping out of the water and, of course, spinning! The water was clear and gentle and the fish life diverse. The crew of the Fairwinds were very helpful and grill a good lunch!. We were a group of 8 adults who came for the snorkeling but they had slides and diving platforms for the swimmers and kids as well. Plenty of flotation devices provided if you just wanted to hang out. If the weather and water were a few degrees warmer, it would have been perfect, but that's not the fault of Fairwinds. Next time I'll come go in the Spring!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

David K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very good trip and a very good value. Well organized and well managed. It is a lot of people and when you arrive and see how many it is concerning. However, they do an excellent job of taking care of everyone. The reason is obvious: lots of staff on-board to assist everyone. The staff is the most attentive I've ever seen on an excursion like this. The snorkeling is world class. Clearest water you will find anywhere and very good fish populations. They feed you well included and a great cash bar selection after the snorkeling.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Spanish name

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

My family cruise. That is how I felt as my mother celebrated her birthday and we celebrated our wedding anniversary. The service was excellent and the staff courteous. One of the biggest surprise was the live entertainment. Which made our cruise one that we will never forget.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Willie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the most fun experience I have ever had in Hawaii. The young lady that gave us the ecological background did a great job. The swimming with the dolphins was great. I had a great time and saw dozens of dolphins of all different sizes. They have life preservers and flotation devices for those that are weak or poor swimmers. I felt very safe. The continental breakfast on the boat was good and the sandwiches for lunch were very good. After lunch we visited a reef and once again the experience was fabulous. On my next trip to the Big Island, I will definitely do this again.

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

Finisa R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Very nice. Food was good. We even saw whales.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved every second of the trip. Lots of friendly chat from the guides and great diving locations. Beautiful reefs and amazing fish. Lucky to say I also got to swim with a turtle that came up from the reef for about 15 minutes! Big bucket list moment ticked off! Good, basic lunch, but that's all that's needed when swimming and traveling on a high speed boat!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Angie USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an incredible experience! Captain Collin and Sharon were great. We saw two types of dolphins and some whales along the way. The snorkeling was impressive too. We got waaaaay more for our money! Highly recommend Zodiac tours!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Adela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I loved it! The tour guide was awesome, I was scared, so he was patient and made sure I felt comfortable Captain Steve. The fish were so beautiful and tropical. I just wish I saw a turtle!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Fabulous! Very knowledgeable crew, great sites, and bonus got to see bottlenose and spinner dolphins. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Sally G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour for the whole family. They had something for all ages and abilities. Great crew and good food.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Judith P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

It was a very pleasant evening. Narrative was informative and music suited the group. I would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Gaye D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Wonderful cruise with a great tour guide who imparted many wonderful tales of the history ot the Big Island. Great food and a stunning sunset! We even got to see lots of spinner and bottlenose dolphins! Highly recommend this cruise.

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

PANKAJ A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide and good value for the amount spent.....

Doing what: Private Tour: Big Island Photo Safari

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The crew was excellent! Very personable and concerned for the safety of all passengers. We got to swim with MANY dolphins! Snorkeling in the Bay was also fantastic! Great overall trip!

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome day out. We all had the best time ever. We were able to see lots of fish and have a good look around. The staff were very helpful and lots of fun. The lunch was basic but good. Would have been nice to have lettuce with the hamburger but not a biggy. The boat trip was good and the fruit was nice on the way there.
We all had a good time and would definitely recommend doing this tour. Lots of fun and very relaxing.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Neal C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rick and Buddha were our guides, and are skilled, intimately knowledgable, and ridiculously funny. We saw things the other boats missed like resting baby sharks and Rick made sure we got to Captain Cook before the ret of the boats so we had unfettered access and perfectly transparent water. The people in our boat were clearly having a LOT more fun than the other tours as well. This was our first activity of the vacation and was a great kickoff. The Zodiac is enormous fun, like a motorcycle!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Clinton W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time kayaking and snorkeling in the Kealakekua Bay! Our guides, Brian and Jamal, were very helpful in making the experience safe and enjoyable. The snorkeling area was great, clear water with beautiful coral and fish. We had freedom to explore the reef area. We were pleased with the lunch and were provided with plenty of water. We would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message