For some of the best snorkeling on the Big Island, visit the protected waters of Kealakekua Bay. This remote area is also popular with hikers, who might come across the ruins of ancient temples and villages on their travels. Dolphins frolic ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 147 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

PANKAJ A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide and good value for the amount spent.....

Doing what: Private Tour: Big Island Photo Safari

Sharon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The crew was excellent! Very personable and concerned for the safety of all passengers. We got to swim with MANY dolphins! Snorkeling in the Bay was also fantastic! Great overall trip!

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome day out. We all had the best time ever. We were able to see lots of fish and have a good look around. The staff were very helpful and lots of fun. The lunch was basic but good. Would have been nice to have lettuce with the hamburger but not a biggy. The boat trip was good and the fruit was nice on the way there.
We all had a good time and would definitely recommend doing this tour. Lots of fun and very relaxing.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Neal C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rick and Buddha were our guides, and are skilled, intimately knowledgable, and ridiculously funny. We saw things the other boats missed like resting baby sharks and Rick made sure we got to Captain Cook before the ret of the boats so we had unfettered access and perfectly transparent water. The people in our boat were clearly having a LOT more fun than the other tours as well. This was our first activity of the vacation and was a great kickoff. The Zodiac is enormous fun, like a motorcycle!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Clinton W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great time kayaking and snorkeling in the Kealakekua Bay! Our guides, Brian and Jamal, were very helpful in making the experience safe and enjoyable. The snorkeling area was great, clear water with beautiful coral and fish. We had freedom to explore the reef area. We were pleased with the lunch and were provided with plenty of water. We would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Dorothy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was the most awesome part of our trip - both of the guides Brian and Jamal were exceptional. I felt a little hesitant and they were very patient and talked me through until I felt comfortable enough. I recommend this to everyone!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Miguel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful, everything was on schedule a nice experience under the sea!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Miguel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful on schedule great experience under the sea!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good few hrs. Worth doing

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

DUMITRU C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We loved being on a speed boat! Captain Kendra and Mike were great: professional and very funny. We were able to see both Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa from the same spot while on boat. We loved the three snorkeling spots and all the caves, lava tubes, arches, cliffs , Captain Cook monument. Food was very good too.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Denise B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Was a good Adventure the Guide was perfect

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Frank D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a very nice way to relax and hear some of the History. Friendly staff , great food. All around a very nice experience. Thank you !

Doing what: Historical Dinner or Lunch Cruise to Kealakekua Bay

Chloe L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Something for every age. Very good.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Maricela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Super fun and staff was stellar!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Danielle T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wow this was amazing! We were told to go early in the morning, which was a great idea because it was sunny and the water was clear. By the time we left, it was cloudy and the water was rocky. Definitely recommend going on the early trips. We had Jamal, who lives in the area and gave us a fantastic history lesson about Kealakekua Bay. We saw dolphins, beautiful fish, and we were surrounded by magnificent culture. Loved this experience!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Devon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful! Perfect amount of cruising and snorkeling time. Beautiful location. Very nice and helpful staff. And the food was great!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Thomas C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

We loved this tour! We have snorkeled a lot in Hawaii and this was the BEST snorkeling we have ever experienced! Jamal was very knowledgeable about Big Island history and was very encouraging and patient with us novice kayakers. This tour has been the highlight of our trip!

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

LoriAnn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great staff, very friendly, easy going and knowledgeable. We did the morning tour. Bay was beautiful and calm. Snorkeling sight was awesome until 5 other tour groups showed up. Our half day was up by the time it got really crowded.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

Andrew A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the first thing we did when we arrived in Hawaii last week. Our captain was professional, knowledgeable about the area and he was fun to be with. His assistant was also a blast to be around. Our trip started out quickly with a couple of stops to be among dolphins who were returning from feeding all night. We attempted to find some whales but nature being fickle didn't produce any for us to see. We then proceeded to a very nice quiet area to do some snorkeling. The water was crystal clear and protected from the wind and waves further out.

Riding on the boat is fun especially out in the open ocean. Lots of bumps and bounces. Our captain was nice enough to stop several times to let everyone take a break and to release their death grip on the safety handles. :

Just a word to the wise, if you have back or neck troubles I don't recommend this mostly due to the bumps and how the boat is unforgiving on passing that feeling onto the passengers. I do, however, recommend this to anyone who can get down there and experience this adventure. It was a blast and even though I have already done it once, I will do it again during the next visit.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Isaac L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was a great experience. Our guide, Jamal, shared so much information on the history of the land, and on the marine life during our snorkeling. He also established a great comfortable environment for all of us.

Doing what: Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay

cymccork

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Boat was full, but didn and #39;t seem like it at all! Plenty of seating available! My kids loved the slides and snorkeling! Great service, food was decent, and this is totally worth the money!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Cheryl L H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Only good things to say about this tour. Had a great time!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Martin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

My husband and daughter had a wonderful time. Very informative and very helpful. Thank you. Have used Viator several times already..

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

buniot

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Very good, but some things were not as anticipated. Chris was great, snorkeling was great! I thought caves were played up too much...not really caves imo. I pictured going inside them. It is really just a cliff side. Food should be more than chips and fruit. Add something like a half sandwich per person. Good trip in general, but don't sell it as caves...

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message