Kilauea Volcano is the star of the Big Island’s Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii's only World Heritage Site. Kilauea Volcano remains active, spouting orange lava, venting steam, glowing and sputtering. When conditions are safe you can drive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 416 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing tour, where we were lucky enough to go on a long hike into the volcano. Our guide had an amazing knowledge of the nature around us. We did have a wet day, but it didn't ruin our day at all. The glow of the caldera against the low clouds was very Eerie! I'd definitely go again!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

collinpritchard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great! Check in was smooth, staff were very friendly and helpful, safety presentation was very good. Flight and pilot were great, just wish it was longer. Loved the music playing during our flight!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Karyn V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour and easy to find the helicopter check in at the airport.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Anna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

That was an amazing experience!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

spanish-services

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

All of the people involved in this trip were amazing! Glenn, our driver was very knowledgeable and super nice. Tony, Koby and Kailoa from the zip lines were also kind and reassuring. Ethan our helicopter pilot also went the extra mile to make sure we got great views of the volcano. He was also a wealth of information as to when and what had occurred with the volcanoes and their eruptions that created what we see today. Make sure you pack a good jacket for the wine tasting and volcano tour as it gets very cold and windy!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Michael W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see the island. Weather can affect flight and caused cancellation of our first scheduled flight. Flowing lava into the sea is very impressive view. Note that there are restrictions on how close helicopters can approach the eruptions in Volcano National Park. Facing backwards was not the best seat for viewing or photography. Mountains on north end of the island extremely impressive. Brief landing was plus for trip.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour which was well worth the price. Even though it's a lot of road time, Justin had lots of information to share which kept things interesting. We saw a nice variety of landscapes and features, the tour was paced well, enough time to enjoy but not too long at any one place.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Kiang Hong T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Due to some schedule clashes, we had to make a last minute request to change our booking to another day. Lucky for us, Forest Trail was really accommodating and assisted us in arranging for a new date.

The volcano national park tour was really interesting and educational. Our tour guide Matthew also made sure we are well taken care of during the tour. Kudos to Forest Trail for making the tour an enjoyable one for us!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Foteini K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The tour is oversetimated and overpriced for what you get out of it. Half of the time is spent on pick-ups from the resorts and drop-off driving to the volcano. One can do the same itinerary easily by himself as the main points of the park are visited, nothing you cannot go by yourself by car. The guide was a bit rude and indifferent. The stories not worth the 200 USD... The time to each sight in the volcano park was very limited and resulted in not being able to enjoy the scenery or the volcano as we had to run from one spot to the other very fast. Time for photos was very limited if any, i was very frustrated about that. The tour was running during the iron man event and even if the road was open to and from the resort the company Hawaii Forest and Trail refused to pick me up and announced a different meeting point just one day before the tour by email even if i had paid for this service, they were very rude and inflexible. I would not reccommend this tour except for old people that are not so interested in exploring the park by them selves.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

geychner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A true once-in-a-lifetime experience that exceeded our expectations. Great helicopter, great pilot, great ride!!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great day and a very informative one all about volcanoes and everything to do with them. The volcano put on a manificent show for us at night.Steve was awesome and very informative. The lunch and dinner spots were good and the food was very enjoyable. Would have loved to have got out of the bus a bit more but think the weather being quite wet might have changed the schedule a little bit.
It was a very good tour for getting an insight to the island and the vast climates and landscapes. Steve was very prepared and we all got a blanket to cuddle up to on the way home in the bus. We also had a hot towel to wash our faces with before we drove back at night. he thought of everything and was a great host. Excellent tour would definitely recommend it as a top tour to go on.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our pilot was ex military and flew the aircraft brilliantly. The 2 hour flight was fantastic and we spent a good time over the volcanos, turning around so that all passengers got a good view and able to take some good photos whatever side of the aircraft you were sitting. Seeing the lava entering the sea was good as was the flight up the coast and into the valleys. The entire flight was smooth and the weather on the day was very clear and fine. We flew back to Kona down the coast and you could see all the major resorts from the air. The driver who collected me arrived on time and drove very well and was very knowledgeable about the area and could answer any questions you had. I had the same driver on the return journey and was able to continue our conversations. A great time was had and I would highly recommend this trip. Great was to see the Big Island.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a brilliant day if but long. The zippling was fantastic as was the helicopter.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Gary E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is very informative! Our guide, Kaj, was an environmental scientist, who loves Hawaii's culture, lore, and was extremely knowledgeable! The tour was very long, 14 hrs, due to the time it took to pick up and drop off passengers at their hotels. Recommend meeting the tour at the office, with your own transportation. We felt very satisfied!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a great experience! Our pilot, Troy was exceptional in telling the story of the Big Island. He took us up close and personal with the volcano and its amazing history. The flight into the green caverns was amazing. Absolutely the best way to start your stay on the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

busboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had Shawn as a very experienced pilot. So we saw the waterfalls as the volcano very close. The same with the coastline and part of the island around Hilo. Anytime again.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Robert P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Had a great time!! It can be rough on the ankles so wear supportive shoes!!

Doing what: Hot Lava Hike to See Lava Volcano Tour

kathleen g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great trip. Well worth time and money. Lots of fun, interesting, and beautiful sights.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Jennifer N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a long day but well worth it! Jon, our tour guide was nice, and super knowledgeable. He shared a lot of history with us, especially during the car ride, which made the trips between each of the excursions feel less mundane. He was also a wonderful storyteller and introduced us to many of the historic storylines of the Hawaiian gods.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Anne Marie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful trip. We have done helicopter tours several times in various places, but this one ranks on top, on par with Grand Canyon. The weather was rainy on the Volcanoes, so we followed the coast. The lava flowing into the sea and the flight over the cascades in the valleys were awesome.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Theresa Z

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The helicopter ride was amazing,our pilot was so informative and passionate about his job, this is a must!
The Zip-Line was OK, but I have been on better. The tour guide that drove us there gave us some
great info about what we saw on the way.
The vineyard was so beautiful, the wine and tour of vineyard was great and the meal,delicious.
Seeing the red hot lava of the Volcano at night at the Jaggar Museum was well worth it.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome. Our tour guide was Carl, who was so on top of everything. We actually wound up running a little behind after the helicopter tour, but he made sure we saw everything. The zip line is a lot of fun - the last zip really is the best and you take a break in the middle where you get to try local fruits. The helicopter was so cool. You get really close to the volcano and our helicopter pilot made me feel really safe. You see lava oozing down the mountain. Then you go to Volcanos National Park and walk through a lava tube, which is really neat, and check out some other cool sites. Carl took us to a steam vent that was a little off the beaten path, so it wasn't surrounded by other tourists. Then volcano glow at night is just incredible. The dinner at the winery and their tour is pretty cool too. It's really worth every penny!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great tour. Sean was our pilot. He had so much info about the island. We saw lava flowing and amazing waterfalls. Company was easy to communicate with beforehand as well.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Andrew A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the highlights of our recent trip to Hawaii. Fun, challenging and well worth the effort to see something that most will only see on TV. Our guides were professional, fun and most importantly concerned about everyone's safety. At no time during the trip did I ever feel like excessive risks were taken. They even provided gloves to protect our hands from the sharp edges of the old lava flows. Just as a warning to those who may be considering doing this, if you have back, knee or ankle troubles I don't recommend attempting this trek. It was a total of just under 5 miles round trip with about 2 of those over rough terrain. You have to do this while carrying your own water and food which can easily total 20 pounds or more depending on what you bring. Also, wear sunscreen! The Hawaii sun is unforgiving and doesn't mind toasting your skin to near lobster colors. : So, wear sunscreen regardless of how the weather looks when you start.

Would I recommend this to others? Absolutely! I may have been exhausted at the end of the trip but every bead of sweat was well spent and made for a lifetime of memories. My youngest son even posted a picture and video on Facebook and said This was easily the coolest thing I have ever done.

Doing what: Hot Lava Hike to See Lava Volcano Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message