Kilauea Volcano is the star of the Big Island’s Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii's only World Heritage Site. Kilauea Volcano remains active, spouting orange lava, venting steam, glowing and sputtering. When conditions are safe you can drive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 301 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent I have been on a few helicopter rides on the island but this one was by far the best . My mom is 89 years old and she was very impressed with the knowledge of the pilot about the island and the history. I would highly recommend this helicopter ride and the staff was 100 also like to thank Paradise Helicopter and the owner for a great day.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our pilot was as excited as we were to see the lava from the volcanoes, even though he had probably seen it many times. Pricey, but worth it!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

david d

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

good trip
the pilot was great
very tight in the helicopter

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

MELISSA073193

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Unfortunately our time slot was given to a group from the cruise ship as they have priority for those time slots I guess since they have a limited time in port. I had booked several months in advance. The folks who had our time slot got their tour. Ours was called off due to weather.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

johnnie_bean

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a blast! Our pilot, Ryan, was awesome!! He explained where we were headed before we took off with a map of the island. He played great music that matched the ride. Professional and funny. Because of the weather winter in Hawaii he modified our trip--yes, he let us know that in advance--he took us to the north coast for the waterfalls, too many to count. He made sure that everyone got to see the sights no matter what side of the helicopter you were on. Not only did we get to see fantastic views of the island, we saw whales too! Great experience, yes, I'd go back in a heart-beat.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Lawrence L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is an outstanding tour! If you are considering booking it, I'd suggest asking for Glenn.

My girlfriend and I took this tour with Glenn as our guide and I cannot say enough good things about him. He is knowledgeable in the local history and culture, the geology of the volcanic activity, and botany and zoology, among many other things I'm sure. His passion for the culture and the natural beauty of Big Island really shines through and adds to a very strong itinerary.

Each of the separate activities ziplining, helicopter tour, and walking lava tour lives up to billing and the combination makes for a very full and enjoyable day. My personal favorite was probably the lava tour - the sight of lava bubbling at night is pretty magnificent - but it's a close call and, aside from driving between activities, I didn't feel that there was any wasted time.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was worth every nickel, you see more of Hawaii in two hours then anyway else. Getting to look down into the volcanoes was awesome. Really learn to appreciate our Earth seeing all the different things that are happening to it right from a short distance above.
Mother Earth at it's best, and we got to see it up close

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

ted_n_wang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I liked the smaller helicopters because one can zoom around like a sports car. Also, each side can have doors off, so opportunity for great pictures and actually feel the heat from the volcanos. We went to several Viatar excursions this trip and the helicopter ride was definitely the best.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Neville R C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An absolutely marvellous, unforgettable experience. Great pilot, great helicopter and unbelievable views. Would recommend this to anyone who wants to see the volcano and the exit of the lava to the ocean.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You may be hesitant to do this because of the cost, but it is well worth it! An amazing experience. Our pilot, Jork, was friendly, informative, and always willing to go back around again for another look! Seeing Kilauea from above was unforgettable. We were also fortunate to see the lava spilling into the sea. The coastline and the valleys with incredible waterfalls were majestic as well. We even saw whales along the coast. HIghly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Anneke H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a fantastic trip, a highlight of our Hawaiian holiday

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

michelle m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing trip! The pilot flew us over Kīlauea and to areas of active lava flow, which made for great pictures! He also took us down to where the lava met the ocean. He told us about the volcano and the many eruptions that have occurred. He was very knowledgeable. Next, he took us to fly over the Rainbow Falls, which was really pretty. In all locations, the pilot made sure that both sides of the helicopter got to see the sites. The only caution I would give is, if you get air sick, make sure you let the pilot know. The corkscrew turns to get pictures of the sites can make you pretty sick. But I wouldn't let that stop you from taking the trip!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Autumn Parker P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great time on this tour and would definitely do it over again! Our guide Lawrence was amazing, the pilot Wesley was very friendly and our zip-line crew was very fun. Everyone was great and we enjoyed the experience! Seeing the lava in the volcano was unforgettable.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

kathleen h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An amazing tour of the island. Being able to see the island from the air and follow the lava flows from the volcano to the ocean and see how they are building new land in front of our eyes was just amazing. And then flying from the volcanoes over and into the forest and seeing in such a short time the changing beauty of the island was just breathtaking. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

2 thumbs up to Captain Daryl and the team at Big Island Air. Grateful that they still honored the tour even though there was only 1 other passenger besides me and my mom. Even if it were a full group, every seat gets their own window - no middle seat problem as you would have in a helicopter. And when we reached the main attraction where the lava meets the ocean, Captain Daryl circled in close and tight making sure we got to see the show.

Doing what: Big Island Sunset Flight from Kona

collinpritchard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great! Check in was smooth, staff were very friendly and helpful, safety presentation was very good. Flight and pilot were great, just wish it was longer. Loved the music playing during our flight!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Karyn V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour and easy to find the helicopter check in at the airport.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Anna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

That was an amazing experience!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

spanish-services

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

All of the people involved in this trip were amazing! Glenn, our driver was very knowledgeable and super nice. Tony, Koby and Kailoa from the zip lines were also kind and reassuring. Ethan our helicopter pilot also went the extra mile to make sure we got great views of the volcano. He was also a wealth of information as to when and what had occurred with the volcanoes and their eruptions that created what we see today. Make sure you pack a good jacket for the wine tasting and volcano tour as it gets very cold and windy!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Michael W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see the island. Weather can affect flight and caused cancellation of our first scheduled flight. Flowing lava into the sea is very impressive view. Note that there are restrictions on how close helicopters can approach the eruptions in Volcano National Park. Facing backwards was not the best seat for viewing or photography. Mountains on north end of the island extremely impressive. Brief landing was plus for trip.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

geychner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A true once-in-a-lifetime experience that exceeded our expectations. Great helicopter, great pilot, great ride!!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our pilot was ex military and flew the aircraft brilliantly. The 2 hour flight was fantastic and we spent a good time over the volcanos, turning around so that all passengers got a good view and able to take some good photos whatever side of the aircraft you were sitting. Seeing the lava entering the sea was good as was the flight up the coast and into the valleys. The entire flight was smooth and the weather on the day was very clear and fine. We flew back to Kona down the coast and you could see all the major resorts from the air. The driver who collected me arrived on time and drove very well and was very knowledgeable about the area and could answer any questions you had. I had the same driver on the return journey and was able to continue our conversations. A great time was had and I would highly recommend this trip. Great was to see the Big Island.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a brilliant day if but long. The zippling was fantastic as was the helicopter.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message