Kilauea Volcano is the star of the Big Island’s Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii's only World Heritage Site. Kilauea Volcano remains active, spouting orange lava, venting steam, glowing and sputtering. When conditions are safe you can drive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 425 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

johnnie_bean

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a blast! Our pilot, Ryan, was awesome!! He explained where we were headed before we took off with a map of the island. He played great music that matched the ride. Professional and funny. Because of the weather winter in Hawaii he modified our trip--yes, he let us know that in advance--he took us to the north coast for the waterfalls, too many to count. He made sure that everyone got to see the sights no matter what side of the helicopter you were on. Not only did we get to see fantastic views of the island, we saw whales too! Great experience, yes, I'd go back in a heart-beat.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Lawrence L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is an outstanding tour! If you are considering booking it, I'd suggest asking for Glenn.

My girlfriend and I took this tour with Glenn as our guide and I cannot say enough good things about him. He is knowledgeable in the local history and culture, the geology of the volcanic activity, and botany and zoology, among many other things I'm sure. His passion for the culture and the natural beauty of Big Island really shines through and adds to a very strong itinerary.

Each of the separate activities ziplining, helicopter tour, and walking lava tour lives up to billing and the combination makes for a very full and enjoyable day. My personal favorite was probably the lava tour - the sight of lava bubbling at night is pretty magnificent - but it's a close call and, aside from driving between activities, I didn't feel that there was any wasted time.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was worth every nickel, you see more of Hawaii in two hours then anyway else. Getting to look down into the volcanoes was awesome. Really learn to appreciate our Earth seeing all the different things that are happening to it right from a short distance above.
Mother Earth at it's best, and we got to see it up close

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

ted_n_wang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I liked the smaller helicopters because one can zoom around like a sports car. Also, each side can have doors off, so opportunity for great pictures and actually feel the heat from the volcanos. We went to several Viatar excursions this trip and the helicopter ride was definitely the best.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Neville R C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An absolutely marvellous, unforgettable experience. Great pilot, great helicopter and unbelievable views. Would recommend this to anyone who wants to see the volcano and the exit of the lava to the ocean.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You may be hesitant to do this because of the cost, but it is well worth it! An amazing experience. Our pilot, Jork, was friendly, informative, and always willing to go back around again for another look! Seeing Kilauea from above was unforgettable. We were also fortunate to see the lava spilling into the sea. The coastline and the valleys with incredible waterfalls were majestic as well. We even saw whales along the coast. HIghly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

YIMIN X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Mark's the tour guide passion about the island, wildlife, Hawaiian culture and volcanoes is infectious. He is a wealth of knowledge which can rival any wikipedia page on the topic. Even though the weather was a cloudy and rainy at times, Mark's enthusiasm over the 12 hour tour never waned. He is a national treasure.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Remarkable, well planned and well executed excursion. Not only did Justin make the long trip enjoyable, he even managed to wonderfully balance the weather, schedule, and a hungry group of travelers.

Our itinerary included Volcano NP and surrounding areas, with pick ups from the Kona side of the island. Yes, it was a long day, but full with memories!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

michelle m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing trip! The pilot flew us over Kīlauea and to areas of active lava flow, which made for great pictures! He also took us down to where the lava met the ocean. He told us about the volcano and the many eruptions that have occurred. He was very knowledgeable. Next, he took us to fly over the Rainbow Falls, which was really pretty. In all locations, the pilot made sure that both sides of the helicopter got to see the sites. The only caution I would give is, if you get air sick, make sure you let the pilot know. The corkscrew turns to get pictures of the sites can make you pretty sick. But I wouldn't let that stop you from taking the trip!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Autumn Parker P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a great time on this tour and would definitely do it over again! Our guide Lawrence was amazing, the pilot Wesley was very friendly and our zip-line crew was very fun. Everyone was great and we enjoyed the experience! Seeing the lava in the volcano was unforgettable.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

kathleen h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An amazing tour of the island. Being able to see the island from the air and follow the lava flows from the volcano to the ocean and see how they are building new land in front of our eyes was just amazing. And then flying from the volcanoes over and into the forest and seeing in such a short time the changing beauty of the island was just breathtaking. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

2 thumbs up to Captain Daryl and the team at Big Island Air. Grateful that they still honored the tour even though there was only 1 other passenger besides me and my mom. Even if it were a full group, every seat gets their own window - no middle seat problem as you would have in a helicopter. And when we reached the main attraction where the lava meets the ocean, Captain Daryl circled in close and tight making sure we got to see the show.

Doing what: Big Island Sunset Flight from Kona

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing tour, where we were lucky enough to go on a long hike into the volcano. Our guide had an amazing knowledge of the nature around us. We did have a wet day, but it didn't ruin our day at all. The glow of the caldera against the low clouds was very Eerie! I'd definitely go again!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

collinpritchard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great! Check in was smooth, staff were very friendly and helpful, safety presentation was very good. Flight and pilot were great, just wish it was longer. Loved the music playing during our flight!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Karyn V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour and easy to find the helicopter check in at the airport.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Anna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

That was an amazing experience!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

spanish-services

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

All of the people involved in this trip were amazing! Glenn, our driver was very knowledgeable and super nice. Tony, Koby and Kailoa from the zip lines were also kind and reassuring. Ethan our helicopter pilot also went the extra mile to make sure we got great views of the volcano. He was also a wealth of information as to when and what had occurred with the volcanoes and their eruptions that created what we see today. Make sure you pack a good jacket for the wine tasting and volcano tour as it gets very cold and windy!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Michael W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see the island. Weather can affect flight and caused cancellation of our first scheduled flight. Flowing lava into the sea is very impressive view. Note that there are restrictions on how close helicopters can approach the eruptions in Volcano National Park. Facing backwards was not the best seat for viewing or photography. Mountains on north end of the island extremely impressive. Brief landing was plus for trip.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour which was well worth the price. Even though it's a lot of road time, Justin had lots of information to share which kept things interesting. We saw a nice variety of landscapes and features, the tour was paced well, enough time to enjoy but not too long at any one place.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Kiang Hong T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Due to some schedule clashes, we had to make a last minute request to change our booking to another day. Lucky for us, Forest Trail was really accommodating and assisted us in arranging for a new date.

The volcano national park tour was really interesting and educational. Our tour guide Matthew also made sure we are well taken care of during the tour. Kudos to Forest Trail for making the tour an enjoyable one for us!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Foteini K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The tour is oversetimated and overpriced for what you get out of it. Half of the time is spent on pick-ups from the resorts and drop-off driving to the volcano. One can do the same itinerary easily by himself as the main points of the park are visited, nothing you cannot go by yourself by car. The guide was a bit rude and indifferent. The stories not worth the 200 USD... The time to each sight in the volcano park was very limited and resulted in not being able to enjoy the scenery or the volcano as we had to run from one spot to the other very fast. Time for photos was very limited if any, i was very frustrated about that. The tour was running during the iron man event and even if the road was open to and from the resort the company Hawaii Forest and Trail refused to pick me up and announced a different meeting point just one day before the tour by email even if i had paid for this service, they were very rude and inflexible. I would not reccommend this tour except for old people that are not so interested in exploring the park by them selves.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

geychner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A true once-in-a-lifetime experience that exceeded our expectations. Great helicopter, great pilot, great ride!!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great day and a very informative one all about volcanoes and everything to do with them. The volcano put on a manificent show for us at night.Steve was awesome and very informative. The lunch and dinner spots were good and the food was very enjoyable. Would have loved to have got out of the bus a bit more but think the weather being quite wet might have changed the schedule a little bit.
It was a very good tour for getting an insight to the island and the vast climates and landscapes. Steve was very prepared and we all got a blanket to cuddle up to on the way home in the bus. We also had a hot towel to wash our faces with before we drove back at night. he thought of everything and was a great host. Excellent tour would definitely recommend it as a top tour to go on.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message