Kilauea Volcano is the star of the Big Island’s Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii's only World Heritage Site. Kilauea Volcano remains active, spouting orange lava, venting steam, glowing and sputtering. When conditions are safe you can drive ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 399 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

kathleen g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great trip. Well worth time and money. Lots of fun, interesting, and beautiful sights.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Jennifer N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

It was a long day but well worth it! Jon, our tour guide was nice, and super knowledgeable. He shared a lot of history with us, especially during the car ride, which made the trips between each of the excursions feel less mundane. He was also a wonderful storyteller and introduced us to many of the historic storylines of the Hawaiian gods.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Anne Marie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful trip. We have done helicopter tours several times in various places, but this one ranks on top, on par with Grand Canyon. The weather was rainy on the Volcanoes, so we followed the coast. The lava flowing into the sea and the flight over the cascades in the valleys were awesome.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Theresa Z

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

The helicopter ride was amazing,our pilot was so informative and passionate about his job, this is a must!
The Zip-Line was OK, but I have been on better. The tour guide that drove us there gave us some
great info about what we saw on the way.
The vineyard was so beautiful, the wine and tour of vineyard was great and the meal,delicious.
Seeing the red hot lava of the Volcano at night at the Jaggar Museum was well worth it.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome. Our tour guide was Carl, who was so on top of everything. We actually wound up running a little behind after the helicopter tour, but he made sure we saw everything. The zip line is a lot of fun - the last zip really is the best and you take a break in the middle where you get to try local fruits. The helicopter was so cool. You get really close to the volcano and our helicopter pilot made me feel really safe. You see lava oozing down the mountain. Then you go to Volcanos National Park and walk through a lava tube, which is really neat, and check out some other cool sites. Carl took us to a steam vent that was a little off the beaten path, so it wasn't surrounded by other tourists. Then volcano glow at night is just incredible. The dinner at the winery and their tour is pretty cool too. It's really worth every penny!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great tour. Sean was our pilot. He had so much info about the island. We saw lava flowing and amazing waterfalls. Company was easy to communicate with beforehand as well.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Andrew A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

One of the highlights of our recent trip to Hawaii. Fun, challenging and well worth the effort to see something that most will only see on TV. Our guides were professional, fun and most importantly concerned about everyone's safety. At no time during the trip did I ever feel like excessive risks were taken. They even provided gloves to protect our hands from the sharp edges of the old lava flows. Just as a warning to those who may be considering doing this, if you have back, knee or ankle troubles I don't recommend attempting this trek. It was a total of just under 5 miles round trip with about 2 of those over rough terrain. You have to do this while carrying your own water and food which can easily total 20 pounds or more depending on what you bring. Also, wear sunscreen! The Hawaii sun is unforgiving and doesn't mind toasting your skin to near lobster colors. : So, wear sunscreen regardless of how the weather looks when you start.

Would I recommend this to others? Absolutely! I may have been exhausted at the end of the trip but every bead of sweat was well spent and made for a lifetime of memories. My youngest son even posted a picture and video on Facebook and said This was easily the coolest thing I have ever done.

Doing what: Hot Lava Hike to See Lava Volcano Tour

David J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Did see lava flow, but I believe the tour offers two types of hikes.
I was ready to go in a jungle and hike, never happened on my trip, we just walked down a dirt road about 2 miles and walked across some dried lava fields to find some break outs flowing lava.
Our guide was great but I still wanted more of a jungle type journey for the price.

Doing what: Hot Lava Hike to See Lava Volcano Tour

Tuyet Yen T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

fantasic tour and organizations by the company. Just a small group of people in the tour so eveything was well on time.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

gsracer58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was excellent. Seeing lava actually coming out of the dome was a spectacular experience. Actually being on a black sand beach was amazing. Quite a long day so be prepared!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Jane M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour runs out of Hilo and is a great day trip to see the Volcanoes and lava. Our guide - John was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Nancy K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip and pilot. The day we went up it was right before a tropical storm. It was windy and grey and still beautiful. thanks!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

gerald b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The pilot was GREAT. First helicopter flight for my WIFE. She's HOOKED, Loved it

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Esmeralda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

it was above expectations, the pilot was great very informative and answered any and all questions. OMG the views were amazing. Thank you for a wonderful birthday. I would go again !!!!!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Pamela L F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful helicopter ride over the volcanoes and waterfalls. Ryan was awesome. When we took off he told us we were in for a beautiful surprise and he was not kidding. Two new vents had opened that morning and we were treated to beautiful lava flowing down the volcano. Even if we had not seen that the trip was well worth it. From booking to flying the staff was pleasant and easy to have fun with. Highly recommend this excursion. Next we will go with doors off.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Rose M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Ryan our pilot was AWESOME!! This was our first time in a helicopter and have to admit we were a little nervous! No reason to be nervous at all! Such a smooth ride! Got to see so much of the island from a totally different view which was breathtaking! I think this was our favorite thing that we did all week and we did a lot! If you can do this one while you are there... DO IT!

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Denise H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This helicopter tour was a once in a lifetime event! Fabulous scenery, smooth helicopter flying and friendly staff. Wonderful experience! Thank you!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

loribalmer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We all enjoyed this day and it was worth the price!! Our guide Aaron was extremely helpful and provided so much history and information. This is a fun was to see a lot of the island in one day. The staff at the zip line course were friendly and fun and we felt safe at all times. Great adventure but a very long day!!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

KASTennis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was awesome and new lava flow was occurring.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

travel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it!!! Super great and friendly staff. Pilot Sean was great. It was awesome to see the orange glow and flowing lava I couldn and #39;t see at anywhere else!!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

ceci b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

amazing view with exceptional service.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

susanmrich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Can be cancelled due to rain. Fortunately, we got a break ingredients the weather. Views were beautiful and the pilot was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Reema Q

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was absolutely AMAZING! From all the activities to the dinner at the volcano winery to the guides was just amazing. I couldn't have asked for a better day. Each person we had for each activity was awesome! Our tourguide Ken was awesome, he spent most of the day with us sharing great stories and history of Hawaii. I am not one to enjoy guided tours but Ken was one of the best guides I've had. I honestly wouldn't have been able to see everything I was able to see with this tour. One of the most memorable days. Would recommend this tour to anyone headed to the big island.

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Aaron H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was awesome! One thing on the down side was that our helicopter ride was cancelled due to weather, but both companies worked with us to reschedule. Our guides were Jason and Carl! Had a great time with them and learned alot, especially about plants. Great experience well worth the money!

Doing what: Big Island Adventure Combo: Helicopter, Zipline and Lava Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message