Often called Kailua-Kona, and referring to the western Kona Coast district as a whole, Kona is on the leeward (dry and sunny) side of the Big Island. The Kona Coast is the Big Island’s vacation central, with good weather, watersports, great ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 272 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Harleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We heard about this tour from a lot of people on the Island and we were glad to have booked it in advance 3 months ago. We opted for the snuba dive at the tour itself and it was the best decision of the day. Our Snuba guide, Mike, was very knowledgeable and gave us a detailed 15-minute training on what to expect and how to go about the snuba dive safely. He made sure everyone was on the same page during the dive and showed us some amazing corals, sea urchins, octopus, and a lot of colorful fish. He was also checking our pressure gauge at regular intervals during the half hour snuba dive. After that wonderful experience, we still had around 15 to 25 minutes to snorkel around the bay. We had a great time overall and enjoyed the scenic views all around us. We also managed to catch a glimpse of a hammer head shark on our way to the bay. During the return trip to the shore, we were delighted by the presence of dolphins around the boat whilst enjoying delicious fruits and chips as a snack. We also saw a baby Manta Ray in the bay from the boat !!!!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Lava Legends was fantastic the dancers and the food and the history of the island was the best Thank you

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

ascachong

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

we were lucky, a humpback whale calf came close to our boat!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft Whale Watching Adventure

Joe C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

The submarine tour was good. Enjoyed Tomo's patter while many chatted over it. He was a consummate gentlemen. His stats about 40 of the Great Barrier Reef damaged or destroyed by man-made global warming are highly eggerated by global warming warmist high priests. No Matter. The submarine trip was fine but the luau was impossible to find and in my car I had to use a map because my GPS and maps couldn't find itl Kailua Kona is only good for those on a tour or hand-guided group. No parking, no signage, no help, nothing!!!!!

Doing what: Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Thea L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a fantastic experience on the afternoon snorkel cruise. As we left the boat at the end of our cruise, my 7-year-old grandson said This was so great. Let's do this again the next time we come to Hawaii! The boat crew was friendly, helpful, and professional. We were fortunate to see a humpback whale breaching as we made our to the Captain Cook Monument site. At the site, we had about 90 minutes of snorkel and fun time--it went by quickly! My grandson loved the slides and high dive. My husband and I enjoyed some amazing snorkeling. We snorkeled at a few other sites on the Big Island during our vacation, but this was definitely the most spectacular. As we began our snorkel, the boat captain drew our attention to a few spinner dolphins nearby. He asked that we not chase them, or try to get closer to them, as they come to the area to rest. It was a thrill to see them close by, both at the surface and underneath the water, but I was glad when the captain asked some of the snorkelers who had started to follow the dolphins to stop. I really appreciate this commitment to minimal impact on wildlife.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Maryann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a very good tour for anyone. We really enjoyed it and the price is very reasonable.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

jbroling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We actually swam with swarms of dolphins - we were so close to some we could have even touched them -- but one does not!!! It was a wonderful and unforgetable day for our family of 20!
Janet B.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Ron K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Went in early January and the weather was a beautiful Hawaiian winter's day. As we entered the bay, spinner dolphins were displaying by jumping out of the water and, of course, spinning! The water was clear and gentle and the fish life diverse. The crew of the Fairwinds were very helpful and grill a good lunch!. We were a group of 8 adults who came for the snorkeling but they had slides and diving platforms for the swimmers and kids as well. Plenty of flotation devices provided if you just wanted to hang out. If the weather and water were a few degrees warmer, it would have been perfect, but that's not the fault of Fairwinds. Next time I'll come go in the Spring!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

David K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Very good trip and a very good value. Well organized and well managed. It is a lot of people and when you arrive and see how many it is concerning. However, they do an excellent job of taking care of everyone. The reason is obvious: lots of staff on-board to assist everyone. The staff is the most attentive I've ever seen on an excursion like this. The snorkeling is world class. Clearest water you will find anywhere and very good fish populations. They feed you well included and a great cash bar selection after the snorkeling.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Cathy S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The Captain did his best to find whale sightings. It was a slow day initially, but turned out fabulous. He took extra time to allow us to listen to a whale singing that ended up very close. The Captain didn't always have his facts straight, but overall was a good adventure.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft Whale Watching Adventure

Paul H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What you will see is pretty darn good, but what you learn and how you learn it is wonderful. The staff is fun and knowledgeable. Well worth the money - great experience.

Doing what: Kona Submarine Adventure and Island Breeze Luau

Stephen R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Went on this Luau with family and we had a great time. The food was excellent, the entertainment was amazing, and our niece and two nephews were pulled up to participate which gave us all some forever memories. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Angie USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an incredible experience! Captain Collin and Sharon were great. We saw two types of dolphins and some whales along the way. The snorkeling was impressive too. We got waaaaay more for our money! Highly recommend Zodiac tours!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Eva V

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This luau was full of entertainment. We had great seats but there were lots of seats that were reserved when we got there and were empty when the show started. The food was very good, lots of choices. It was a very enjoyable evening.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Alina K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

The submarine part was awesome!! Really a unique experience. But the luau wasn and #39;t that great, performance was ok, the guy dancing with fire is super cool, but food was terrible.

Doing what: Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Diana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

So impressed since we checked-in until the end. It was such a unique experience, the crew was amazing and very knowledgeable . They also made you feel safe. The whole experience lasted about 45-50 minutes. So impressed to see the sealife. Highly recommend !

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Sally G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

This was a great tour for the whole family. They had something for all ages and abilities. Great crew and good food.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome day out. We all had the best time ever. We were able to see lots of fish and have a good look around. The staff were very helpful and lots of fun. The lunch was basic but good. Would have been nice to have lettuce with the hamburger but not a biggy. The boat trip was good and the fruit was nice on the way there.
We all had a good time and would definitely recommend doing this tour. Lots of fun and very relaxing.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Neal C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rick and Buddha were our guides, and are skilled, intimately knowledgable, and ridiculously funny. We saw things the other boats missed like resting baby sharks and Rick made sure we got to Captain Cook before the ret of the boats so we had unfettered access and perfectly transparent water. The people in our boat were clearly having a LOT more fun than the other tours as well. This was our first activity of the vacation and was a great kickoff. The Zodiac is enormous fun, like a motorcycle!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Miguel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful, everything was on schedule a nice experience under the sea!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Miguel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful on schedule great experience under the sea!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good few hrs. Worth doing

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Denise B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Was a good Adventure the Guide was perfect

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Panagiotis P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

just getting on the boat and in a submarine and going more than 110 ft below the surface was plenty exciting. The crew was friendly, the speaker was funny and knowledgeable. A must see.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Sandra L R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The luau was so much more than I expected! Great show, food was fantastic! It was my favorite part of coming to Hawaii other than the beautiful plants, trees, and scenery!

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message