Often called Kailua-Kona, and referring to the western Kona Coast district as a whole, Kona is on the leeward (dry and sunny) side of the Big Island. The Kona Coast is the Big Island’s vacation central, with good weather, watersports, great ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 236 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome day out. We all had the best time ever. We were able to see lots of fish and have a good look around. The staff were very helpful and lots of fun. The lunch was basic but good. Would have been nice to have lettuce with the hamburger but not a biggy. The boat trip was good and the fruit was nice on the way there.
We all had a good time and would definitely recommend doing this tour. Lots of fun and very relaxing.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Neal C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rick and Buddha were our guides, and are skilled, intimately knowledgable, and ridiculously funny. We saw things the other boats missed like resting baby sharks and Rick made sure we got to Captain Cook before the ret of the boats so we had unfettered access and perfectly transparent water. The people in our boat were clearly having a LOT more fun than the other tours as well. This was our first activity of the vacation and was a great kickoff. The Zodiac is enormous fun, like a motorcycle!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Miguel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful, everything was on schedule a nice experience under the sea!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Miguel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful on schedule great experience under the sea!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good few hrs. Worth doing

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Denise B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Was a good Adventure the Guide was perfect

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Panagiotis P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

just getting on the boat and in a submarine and going more than 110 ft below the surface was plenty exciting. The crew was friendly, the speaker was funny and knowledgeable. A must see.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Sandra L R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The luau was so much more than I expected! Great show, food was fantastic! It was my favorite part of coming to Hawaii other than the beautiful plants, trees, and scenery!

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Chloe L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Something for every age. Very good.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Maricela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Super fun and staff was stellar!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Vera B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was a great experience. Everyone at the office was really helpful. Javier was a great teacher. He coached us every time we fell on how to get back up and adjust our posture to help us stay up longer. We had a toddler with us and we worried that someone would have to stay behind with him, but Javier kept him happy and on the board with him the whole time. Definitely made us fall in love with paddleboarding.

Doing what: Stand-Up Paddleboard Lesson on the Big Island

Anne k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

First time in Hawaii we loved the show buffet was lovely plenty to choose from and drinks were included so a good night out . Right on the water front beautiful view watched the sunset . Went for a walk during the day to find the place and saw the pork being cooked already . Highly recommend

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Jeremy B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2016

Great show and good food.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Devon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Wonderful! Perfect amount of cruising and snorkeling time. Beautiful location. Very nice and helpful staff. And the food was great!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

amandafishburn22

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

The luau was a blast, the food was great and the entertainment was high. We enjoyed it!

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Andrew A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was the first thing we did when we arrived in Hawaii last week. Our captain was professional, knowledgeable about the area and he was fun to be with. His assistant was also a blast to be around. Our trip started out quickly with a couple of stops to be among dolphins who were returning from feeding all night. We attempted to find some whales but nature being fickle didn't produce any for us to see. We then proceeded to a very nice quiet area to do some snorkeling. The water was crystal clear and protected from the wind and waves further out.

Riding on the boat is fun especially out in the open ocean. Lots of bumps and bounces. Our captain was nice enough to stop several times to let everyone take a break and to release their death grip on the safety handles. :

Just a word to the wise, if you have back or neck troubles I don't recommend this mostly due to the bumps and how the boat is unforgiving on passing that feeling onto the passengers. I do, however, recommend this to anyone who can get down there and experience this adventure. It was a blast and even though I have already done it once, I will do it again during the next visit.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

cymccork

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Boat was full, but didn and #39;t seem like it at all! Plenty of seating available! My kids loved the slides and snorkeling! Great service, food was decent, and this is totally worth the money!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Cheryl L H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Only good things to say about this tour. Had a great time!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

buniot

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

Very good, but some things were not as anticipated. Chris was great, snorkeling was great! I thought caves were played up too much...not really caves imo. I pictured going inside them. It is really just a cliff side. Food should be more than chips and fruit. Add something like a half sandwich per person. Good trip in general, but don't sell it as caves...

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Alan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is the second time I've been to this luau, so it was good enough to come back to. I also went to another luau on this trip, and while it was good, the Lava Legends was definitely better. There is a wide variety of great food, and the entertainment is top notch. I don't have small kids, but did see some activities for them. Don't miss it!

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Jackie B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

If you don't swim or snorkel, this is the way to go. guides were very informative they knew all the fish, was a great time, recommend it highly.

Doing what: Kona Submarine Adventure and Royal Kona Resort Luau

Judi A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The pilot was very knowledgeable. He gave a lot of information about the volcanos and history of the island. He circled around so better pictures could be obtained. It was awesome!

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Michael G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Was an awesome experience. Do not book through the cruise ship. Book directly through here. Much cheaper.
Staff was great and very interactive. We seen a lot of great sites.

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

L.BETTIS

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Easy to book online. Luau was extremely enjoyable. Must do on your vacation. Island hula dancers and fire dancers were great. All ages of our party enjoyed this. Food was excellent.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

cielle92

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The staff was very nice and understanding when after they closed the hatch, I went into a little panic and asked if I could leave. My husband loved it.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message