Forming a deep natural amphitheater, washed by the sea and waterfalls, the Big Island’s Waipi'o Valley is a natural wonderland of flowering rainforest and hiking trails. Cliffs thousands of feet high line the famously steep valley, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 71 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dennis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our family had a lot of fun on the ATVs. We also learned a great deal about the Hawaiian culture. Our guides were great!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was not just a sightseeing tour, it was a journey into the heart of the Hawaiian people. Our guide, Kolaa, please forgive if I misspelled was young and at first impression far too practiced. But as we traversed the primal Hawaiian landscape, he unveiled with unexpected wisdom, and a depth of passion only found when one is connected to the land as he is, secrets of the Hawaiian culture and heritage. We truly had no expectations other than to see a few island landscapes not ventured on previous trips, but this was an adventure extraordinaire with this interesting savant as our interpreter. Do not expect to be taken on drive-bys of purged and plumaged tourista attractions. Instead, try to empathize with a history of cultural and ecological interference and dominance, all related without malice but rather as historical fact. Not only were we enlightened to these waves of ways in which the Islands have changed, but we were treated to the stories, the myths, and the rich heritage of the Hawaiian culture. He also treated us to demonstrations of useful and medicinal plants and explained how, with careful planning, one could live completely self-sufficiently on this beautiful, mysterious and volatile rock. I could see how our young guide lived the Hawaiian way his reference to his family was always so tender and sincere. I would especially recommend our guide and this adventure to those who have an interest in anything ecologically related to the Islands. He has a depth of knowledge that you will find challenging and insightful.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Stephen P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and great guide. Well paced tour with enough time at each stop. Marcus was very knowledgeable and kept everyone engaged during the tour. The bento box lunch was tasty, we really enjoyed the tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Anne Katharina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was just great.Our tour guide Marcus was one of the best tour guides I ever had.He gives lots of information about the Island and everything else you want to know.Lunch was very good as well.The hotel pick up and drop off worked without any problems.Although it and #39;s a long day its worth it!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Devon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great staff, our guide Pat was a lot of fun. Very informative and taught the new drivers well as I'd never driven any type of ATV. I ended up driving a side by side vehicle with my nephew since he's too small to drive and received one on one instructions. Plenty of time on the trail, beautiful views, loads of fun. All the guides were happy to take photos as well and knew all the best scenic spots. Great tour!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Hetal P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great ride! Friendly guides . Even though raining was a wonderful experience and views you won't see
On your own. 4.5 stars

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience and super friendly guides

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Lynne O

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Fun trip, good guide with lots of good information during or rides to the various locations. An easy way to see the Northeast side of the island.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

gsracer58

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful and enjoyable, with the opportunity to see the rain forest side of Hawaii. The only problem we had was the expectation that people sit in the far rear seats on the right and left over the wheel wells of your vans. No way should anyone be expected to sit with their knees crunched up in their chest for this 8 hour tour. Suggest you NOT book the trip so full that anyone would be expected to sit in these rear right and left seats. Had the front seat not been available, we would not have gone on the tour and insisted our money be refunded.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

cielle92

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Both tour guides were very knowledgeable and very entertaining. The views were incredible!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Scott B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

As advertised!! My wife and I enjoyed our time with the guides the Waipio Valley was spectacular. Guides were thorough and stressed safety. We truly enjoyed all aspect of this tour. plan to come back

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Hiker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip. Crew was entertaining and knowledgable of the areas history.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Kathleen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was an amazing tour! Highly recommend! Guides were great scenery spectacular!! Our reservations had not been forwarded from Viator to Ride the Rim so we weren and #39;t on the list but they were very kind and accomodating. Would recommend calling ahead of time to make sure you are on the list.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Gail V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable able the island and took great cate of us. The small group size made for a quality experience.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Helmut V

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Fun Tour, but be careful what you sign.'
They want you to pay for EVERY damage, if it is your fault or not.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Lerneda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a very fun and informative tour especially if it is your first time on the Island. I was a little anxious about driving the ATV at first, but turned out I was very good at it. My husband and I had a blast. I highly recommend that you Ride the Rim!!!!!!!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Brad P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour. If you're an experienced ATV user, this ride is a breeze. It's mostly for the sights, not the ride. And I wasn't disappointed on the sights. The tour guides were great too.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

irmacraig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very fun tour even if it did rain almost the whole time.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Thomas S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was amazing . Our guide Chris was fantastic. Would do this again .

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

lr002

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had the best time. I never rode an ATV before and was nervous, but they let me do a few practice runs and I was comfortable before the real ride. The track was amazing. It was fun dirt roads with dips and rocks and hills that allowed for a rough and fun terrain ride. It was raining, they provided ponchos, but this just added to the adventure. They allow more time than other ATV tours and this was so worth it! Would do it again!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Harold S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Knowledgeable guides, well managed, great family experience.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Ward D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Highly recommended to take this tour!!! Disappointed with your handling of the booking. We booked it for Friday. Drove all the way up there to find out that you did NOT book it. The people were very nice and we were able to reschedule for Saturday morning!!!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Sam S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

long day. plenty of free time. the waterfalls are gorgeous. definitely do not need a swim suit there is no opportunity to go in the water.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message