Forming a deep natural amphitheater, washed by the sea and waterfalls, the Big Island’s Waipi'o Valley is a natural wonderland of flowering rainforest and hiking trails. Cliffs thousands of feet high line the famously steep valley, and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Ed C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very amazing guides and fun thing to do in the Big Island
Very cultural

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Cindy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

great time riding the ATV and #39;s.The guides were awesome, friendly, and shared some interesting history about the area. first time on ATV and #39;s. 17 and 20 year old loved it. Beautiful views. ride the rim- I pictured going along the edge all the way around, but stopped at viewpoints, rode through trees -fun

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

nenet1234

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This was a cool outing. The tour guides were great. The Waipio Valley is B.E.A.U.T.I.F.U.L.! You can swim at the base of the waterfall, but you might want to bring water shoes and the base isn't too big.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Dennis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Our family had a lot of fun on the ATVs. We also learned a great deal about the Hawaiian culture. Our guides were great!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was not just a sightseeing tour, it was a journey into the heart of the Hawaiian people. Our guide, Kolaa, please forgive if I misspelled was young and at first impression far too practiced. But as we traversed the primal Hawaiian landscape, he unveiled with unexpected wisdom, and a depth of passion only found when one is connected to the land as he is, secrets of the Hawaiian culture and heritage. We truly had no expectations other than to see a few island landscapes not ventured on previous trips, but this was an adventure extraordinaire with this interesting savant as our interpreter. Do not expect to be taken on drive-bys of purged and plumaged tourista attractions. Instead, try to empathize with a history of cultural and ecological interference and dominance, all related without malice but rather as historical fact. Not only were we enlightened to these waves of ways in which the Islands have changed, but we were treated to the stories, the myths, and the rich heritage of the Hawaiian culture. He also treated us to demonstrations of useful and medicinal plants and explained how, with careful planning, one could live completely self-sufficiently on this beautiful, mysterious and volatile rock. I could see how our young guide lived the Hawaiian way his reference to his family was always so tender and sincere. I would especially recommend our guide and this adventure to those who have an interest in anything ecologically related to the Islands. He has a depth of knowledge that you will find challenging and insightful.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Dan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The guides are all born and raised on the island so they have such an extreme knowledge of the history of the islands. It was just not just a quad tour, but also history and passion woven into the activity. They are extremely cautious of the abilities of the riders, that even a novice rider will have a fantastic and safe time. You will tour parts of the island that one would never be able to see or experience any other way.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Judi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Dominic made this a wonderful and informative trip!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Stephen P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and great guide. Well paced tour with enough time at each stop. Marcus was very knowledgeable and kept everyone engaged during the tour. The bento box lunch was tasty, we really enjoyed the tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Anne Katharina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was just great.Our tour guide Marcus was one of the best tour guides I ever had.He gives lots of information about the Island and everything else you want to know.Lunch was very good as well.The hotel pick up and drop off worked without any problems.Although it and #39;s a long day its worth it!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Devon W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great staff, our guide Pat was a lot of fun. Very informative and taught the new drivers well as I'd never driven any type of ATV. I ended up driving a side by side vehicle with my nephew since he's too small to drive and received one on one instructions. Plenty of time on the trail, beautiful views, loads of fun. All the guides were happy to take photos as well and knew all the best scenic spots. Great tour!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Hetal P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Robert R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great ride! Friendly guides . Even though raining was a wonderful experience and views you won't see
On your own. 4.5 stars

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great experience and super friendly guides

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Lynne O

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Fun trip, good guide with lots of good information during or rides to the various locations. An easy way to see the Northeast side of the island.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

gsracer58

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful and enjoyable, with the opportunity to see the rain forest side of Hawaii. The only problem we had was the expectation that people sit in the far rear seats on the right and left over the wheel wells of your vans. No way should anyone be expected to sit with their knees crunched up in their chest for this 8 hour tour. Suggest you NOT book the trip so full that anyone would be expected to sit in these rear right and left seats. Had the front seat not been available, we would not have gone on the tour and insisted our money be refunded.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

cielle92

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Both tour guides were very knowledgeable and very entertaining. The views were incredible!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Scott B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

As advertised!! My wife and I enjoyed our time with the guides the Waipio Valley was spectacular. Guides were thorough and stressed safety. We truly enjoyed all aspect of this tour. plan to come back

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Hiker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent trip. Crew was entertaining and knowledgable of the areas history.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Kathleen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was an amazing tour! Highly recommend! Guides were great scenery spectacular!! Our reservations had not been forwarded from Viator to Ride the Rim so we weren and #39;t on the list but they were very kind and accomodating. Would recommend calling ahead of time to make sure you are on the list.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Gail V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable able the island and took great cate of us. The small group size made for a quality experience.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Helmut V

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Fun Tour, but be careful what you sign.'
They want you to pay for EVERY damage, if it is your fault or not.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Lerneda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This is a very fun and informative tour especially if it is your first time on the Island. I was a little anxious about driving the ATV at first, but turned out I was very good at it. My husband and I had a blast. I highly recommend that you Ride the Rim!!!!!!!

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Brad P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great tour. If you're an experienced ATV user, this ride is a breeze. It's mostly for the sights, not the ride. And I wasn't disappointed on the sights. The tour guides were great too.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

irmacraig

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a very fun tour even if it did rain almost the whole time.

Doing what: Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message