Hawaii is world famous for its stunning natural landscapes, its active volcanoes, its lush greenery, its warm blue waters, and in some cases, it’s throbbing cultural nightlife. Now that you’ve made it to the Big Island, where to begin? The Big ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 925 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Spanish name

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour gave me the opportunity to view the entire island ina luxurious bus with a knowledgeable guide who was fun and entertaining.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Takahiro H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an excellent tour for a first-time Big Island visitor like my girlfriend and I. We thoroughly enjoyed every part of this tour. Our guide Hank was extremely knowledgeable and knew the entire place and route like the back of his hand. Driving up the rocky mountain side in a 4-wheel drive van, I knew that it wasn't something I wanted to try myself! He expertly guided us to the best spot, and gave a great star show. The stars were amazing, even though there were clouds in the sky, they were unnoticeable because the stars were so bright. I would recommend this tour to anyone who really loves star gazing.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Takahiro H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This one-day trip was incredible! We were extremely lucky to have such perfect weather, very little rain, and even got to see TWO giant sea turtles up close! Fantastic views. Perfection. Me and my girlfriend had a fantastic time, but what really made the trip perfect was our guide. Darian our tour guide was not only knowledgeable, but so friendly that we felt like we had a close friend giving us the entire tour. He was an expert on the history, geography, nature, and biology of the entire island. I was so impressed by his courtesy and kindness, particular when offering to take pictures of me and my girlfriend together. He really made a huge effort to make sure every single person on the tour felt special and taken care of. He went above and beyond my expectations, and really wish him well! Anyone with limited time on the Big Island should not hesitate. The tour goes quick, but you really do get a taste of the best things the Big Island has to offer.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

William R W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great experience for my husband. He especially enjoyed the fantastic views of the volcanoes. Unfortunately they didn't have bike small enough for my short stature. I rode in the van which was great talking to Driver Pretty. Mike was great at explaining volcano facts. He even gave a great hint for watching the sunset and seeing the colors in the crater. Great trip!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Absolutely amazing! Summit and sunset spectacular. Guide entertaining and knowledgeable. Dinner left much to be desired, only negative. That aside, this was a must do, so glad we did it!!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing tour, where we were lucky enough to go on a long hike into the volcano. Our guide had an amazing knowledge of the nature around us. We did have a wet day, but it didn't ruin our day at all. The glow of the caldera against the low clouds was very Eerie! I'd definitely go again!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Loved every second of the trip. Lots of friendly chat from the guides and great diving locations. Beautiful reefs and amazing fish. Lucky to say I also got to swim with a turtle that came up from the reef for about 15 minutes! Big bucket list moment ticked off! Good, basic lunch, but that's all that's needed when swimming and traveling on a high speed boat!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Victor M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip and very knowledgeable guide Nate. We had a wonderful clear night at the summit and learned a great deal about our galaxy.
Very much recommended.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Lorelle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

As a local born on the island, our guide was very knowledgeable. The waterfalls were amazing and walking through the rainforest was unreal. So beautiful!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Carol S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Nate our guide was a wealth of knowledge and very professional. The sunset was amazing and the stargazing left one speechless!
Bucket List........Check!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Stephen R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Went on this Luau with family and we had a great time. The food was excellent, the entertainment was amazing, and our niece and two nephews were pulled up to participate which gave us all some forever memories. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Michelle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The best way to see the island is a short amount of time. Our tour guide Darian was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and went out of his way to make sure everyone on the bus was happy! We got to see waterfalls, and volcanos, and sea turtles, and we were very lucky with the fantastic weather!
I would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the big island!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

KINAM S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our tour guide - Kai was wonderful - so much knowledge of the Island's history! Thank you! Kinam

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

William R W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great trip going up to the top of Mauna Kea to see the sunset! Very pretty! The parkas and gloves were a must for folks not traveling with winter clothes. Unfortunately the star gazing was weak due to cloud cover. Mother Nature just didn't want us to see her jewels!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Nancy M

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

I would have liked a native Hawaiian to be our guide. Stops were too short maybe less travel and more time in one spot.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Eva V

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

This luau was full of entertainment. We had great seats but there were lots of seats that were reserved when we got there and were empty when the show started. The food was very good, lots of choices. It was a very enjoyable evening.

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour which was well worth the price. Even though it's a lot of road time, Justin had lots of information to share which kept things interesting. We saw a nice variety of landscapes and features, the tour was paced well, enough time to enjoy but not too long at any one place.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Marlese P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Mike was a terrific guide. His commentary was excellent. We had never been to Kona so this was a great way to orient ourselves to the island and learn where the good beaches, restaurants, etc. are on Kona.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Kiang Hong T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Due to some schedule clashes, we had to make a last minute request to change our booking to another day. Lucky for us, Forest Trail was really accommodating and assisted us in arranging for a new date.

The volcano national park tour was really interesting and educational. Our tour guide Matthew also made sure we are well taken care of during the tour. Kudos to Forest Trail for making the tour an enjoyable one for us!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

vincent s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Our guide Kia was great. He was very informative, entertaining, helpful, and concerned about passengers who were having some issues.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Adela A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

I loved it! The tour guide was awesome, I was scared, so he was patient and made sure I felt comfortable Captain Steve. The fish were so beautiful and tropical. I just wish I saw a turtle!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling Tour With Optional Honaunau Bay

Patricia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed the Big Island in one day tour. We found it to be the best thing we did on this trip to Hawaii and we went parasailing, took a helicopter tour and went to a luau, too. Although we enjoyed each of our adventures, the tour of the island was the most outstanding because our guide, Kevin, was so very knowledgeable and interesting! It had been raining recently so the waterfalls were full and so beautiful. The small group made it easy to get around and to get to know each other a bit. Lunch was very good and not the typical boxed sandwich we had expected. We went to the volcano, the black sand beach, an orchid facility. The approximately 11-hour tour was everything we wanted and more! We could not be more pleased!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

skeeter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a very interesting and informative tor guide. It is a time to remember all of the sights that we saw on this tour. He let us have time to look around and take photos.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Marlene R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

A wonderful experience at 13,000 ft, with great views weather permitted, fun meal and stargazing. Was a bucket list item I was thrilled to check off. Recommend to anyone who loves astronomy or astrology.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Brent was our tour guide. Awesome. Knowledgable. Friendly.
Would highly recommend this tour and Bent as a tour guide

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message