Hawaii is world famous for its stunning natural landscapes, its active volcanoes, its lush greenery, its warm blue waters, and in some cases, it’s throbbing cultural nightlife. Now that you’ve made it to the Big Island, where to begin? The Big ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 949 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Daniel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Was amazing, especially our tour guide Kala. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike the tour guide for great. He loved biking on the volcano. He had wonderful stories and knowledge of the area. Went from the top of the volcanoe down to where we had lunch by the ocean. He also was very safe and looked after the group very well. Gwen the owner drove the back up and was so gracious, loved her business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike was a wonderful guide. He loved biking on the volcanoe, had great stories and knowledge of the area. We went from the top to the ocean where we had lunch. Gwen the owner drove the back up van, was very gracious and loved the business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

marlys m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

IT was a very good trip our guide did a great job of telling our group of all the sites he took us to.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Thea L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a fantastic experience on the afternoon snorkel cruise. As we left the boat at the end of our cruise, my 7-year-old grandson said This was so great. Let's do this again the next time we come to Hawaii! The boat crew was friendly, helpful, and professional. We were fortunate to see a humpback whale breaching as we made our to the Captain Cook Monument site. At the site, we had about 90 minutes of snorkel and fun time--it went by quickly! My grandson loved the slides and high dive. My husband and I enjoyed some amazing snorkeling. We snorkeled at a few other sites on the Big Island during our vacation, but this was definitely the most spectacular. As we began our snorkel, the boat captain drew our attention to a few spinner dolphins nearby. He asked that we not chase them, or try to get closer to them, as they come to the area to rest. It was a thrill to see them close by, both at the surface and underneath the water, but I was glad when the captain asked some of the snorkelers who had started to follow the dolphins to stop. I really appreciate this commitment to minimal impact on wildlife.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Maryann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our Lei greeter was there when we arrived. A must when going to Hawaii for the first time.

Doing what: Traditional Lei Greeting in Kona

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had one day off from playing golf during our time on Big Island and decided to use this tour to learn as much as we could about the island and its past in the limited time available. We were not disappointed. We saw active though not very active volcanoes, spectacular waterfalls, deserts, rain forests and even green turtles resting on a black sand beach. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very passionate about his island home, its folklore, history and ecology and kept up a very entertaining and informative commentary throughout the tour. I came away from the tour feeling that I had a much greater understanding of the changes to the island and its life caused by earthquakes and volcanic activity, the resourcefulness and achievements of the native Polynesian peoples, the effects caused when 2 differing societies Polynesian and Western first encounter each other and the effect that Man has had on this island ecology. All this in one day!

I can thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to spend an entertaining day gaining a fuller understanding of Big Island, its history and ecology.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Hector G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The entire day was an amazing experience. Every site that we visited was well worth it. There was no dead time during the day because our guide, Darian Dreu Basaldua, kept us entertained with stories about the island. He is very knowledgeable and can speak for hours about the history and sites of the island. I can't say that I have a favorite place, but the volcano craters, waterfalls, and black sand beaches are a breathtaking scene.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Marilyn S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The guides were fantastic! Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. This was a great way to tour the park. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Gloria F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Jamie met us and took us to a private room where we sipped champagne and received a flower lei. Jorg, our pilot, gave us a safety talk.
The Big Island has some beautiful scenery. I especially enjoyed flying over the waterfalls, volcanoes, whales and macadamia nut plantation.
The Vog, volcanic smog, was quite thick and kept us from seeing some things clearly. I did get a good shot of the lava flowing into the ocean.
This tour was a birthday gift from one of my son's. Jamie and Kay, staff members for Paradise Tours, were very accommodating and made me feel special, giving me a birthday card at the end of the tour along with another glass of champagne.
The process of setting up the tour was easy and we were contacted several times, to reconfirm and answer questions.
A 6 seat helicopter is problematic as two of the seats face backward and the seats opposite are very close. The middle seat facing forward is not the best for taking pictures. These are my reasons for not giving them a five rating. Anyone with claustrophobic tendencies would not do well.

Doing what: Viator VIP: The Sunset Experience Helicopter Tour from Kona

Linda J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

Whole experience was amazing and we would never have found these places if we tried by ourselves. Only problem was by the end of the tour it would have been good to call into a coffee plantation for coffee as we had gone for hours without a coffee stop.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Spanish name

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour gave me the opportunity to view the entire island ina luxurious bus with a knowledgeable guide who was fun and entertaining.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Takahiro H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an excellent tour for a first-time Big Island visitor like my girlfriend and I. We thoroughly enjoyed every part of this tour. Our guide Hank was extremely knowledgeable and knew the entire place and route like the back of his hand. Driving up the rocky mountain side in a 4-wheel drive van, I knew that it wasn't something I wanted to try myself! He expertly guided us to the best spot, and gave a great star show. The stars were amazing, even though there were clouds in the sky, they were unnoticeable because the stars were so bright. I would recommend this tour to anyone who really loves star gazing.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Takahiro H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This one-day trip was incredible! We were extremely lucky to have such perfect weather, very little rain, and even got to see TWO giant sea turtles up close! Fantastic views. Perfection. Me and my girlfriend had a fantastic time, but what really made the trip perfect was our guide. Darian our tour guide was not only knowledgeable, but so friendly that we felt like we had a close friend giving us the entire tour. He was an expert on the history, geography, nature, and biology of the entire island. I was so impressed by his courtesy and kindness, particular when offering to take pictures of me and my girlfriend together. He really made a huge effort to make sure every single person on the tour felt special and taken care of. He went above and beyond my expectations, and really wish him well! Anyone with limited time on the Big Island should not hesitate. The tour goes quick, but you really do get a taste of the best things the Big Island has to offer.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Charlene A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Loved it. Highly recommend . Our tour guide was knowledgable and friendly and kept us entertained. Don't forget to pack for rainy weather though.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

ccaz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic trip. Well looked after. Guide very friendly and very informative. A great time had by all and our spirits were not dampened by the rain. THANKYOU...

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Zoya S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Love the trip. Tour guide, Kai, is very knowledgeable and pleasant. We had a great time.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

YIMIN X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Mark's the tour guide passion about the island, wildlife, Hawaiian culture and volcanoes is infectious. He is a wealth of knowledge which can rival any wikipedia page on the topic. Even though the weather was a cloudy and rainy at times, Mark's enthusiasm over the 12 hour tour never waned. He is a national treasure.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Stephen J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

I thought this was a very informative and interesting tour. My 16 year old was a little bored and my husband got a little car sick but other than that I thought it was a great tour. Our guide, Drew was SO knowledgeable and told so many great stories I felt like I really found out more about the Hawaiian culture than I ever did having visited all the other islands. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Remarkable, well planned and well executed excursion. Not only did Justin make the long trip enjoyable, he even managed to wonderfully balance the weather, schedule, and a hungry group of travelers.

Our itinerary included Volcano NP and surrounding areas, with pick ups from the Kona side of the island. Yes, it was a long day, but full with memories!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Karen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

We had a wonderful time! Jonathan was our tour guide and he kept us engaged for the entire tour. He was so knowledgeable and answered all questions. I learned so much about the island and knew what I wanted to see more of. I would definitely highly recommend this tour to anyone. A

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Evan W K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Got a bird's eye view of the island, including exploring the volcano and our guide sharing interesting folklore about the island.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Harsh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Tour was amazing and our Guide Justin was very knowledgable. We saw a lot of great stuff in one day.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Willie H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was the most fun experience I have ever had in Hawaii. The young lady that gave us the ecological background did a great job. The swimming with the dolphins was great. I had a great time and saw dozens of dolphins of all different sizes. They have life preservers and flotation devices for those that are weak or poor swimmers. I felt very safe. The continental breakfast on the boat was good and the sandwiches for lunch were very good. After lunch we visited a reef and once again the experience was fabulous. On my next trip to the Big Island, I will definitely do this again.

Doing what: Hawaii Combo: Wild Dolphin Swim and Kealakekua Bay Snorkeling

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Darian is our tour guide. He arranged all the sightseeing points so well, and made our group so happy and have lots of good laughs all the way.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message