Hawaii is world famous for its stunning natural landscapes, its active volcanoes, its lush greenery, its warm blue waters, and in some cases, it’s throbbing cultural nightlife. Now that you’ve made it to the Big Island, where to begin? The Big ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 708 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

nadim-6

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Was very cool, had a lot of fun! It's more difficult than you think at first, but after it gets fun. Make sure to stay calm on the Jetpack. :

Doing what: Oahu Jetpack Experience

Linda Wardell W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our tour was wonderful. E was our guide and did a great job. We took this tour our first day on the big island so we could get an idea of what we wanted to see and do on our own. The last time we took this tour, the only negative was - there were no sea turtles on the beach. This trip is worth every penny!!
Linda
Blair, Nebraska

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What an amazing adventure! Jonathan our guide was wonderful- friendly, knowledgeable and all around great! His stories of the island and historical knowledge really helped to understand what we were seeing and allowed the group to see the island through the eyes of how it used to be: Top notch, I highly recommend taking this tour!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Harleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We heard about this tour from a lot of people on the Island and we were glad to have booked it in advance 3 months ago. We opted for the snuba dive at the tour itself and it was the best decision of the day. Our Snuba guide, Mike, was very knowledgeable and gave us a detailed 15-minute training on what to expect and how to go about the snuba dive safely. He made sure everyone was on the same page during the dive and showed us some amazing corals, sea urchins, octopus, and a lot of colorful fish. He was also checking our pressure gauge at regular intervals during the half hour snuba dive. After that wonderful experience, we still had around 15 to 25 minutes to snorkel around the bay. We had a great time overall and enjoyed the scenic views all around us. We also managed to catch a glimpse of a hammer head shark on our way to the bay. During the return trip to the shore, we were delighted by the presence of dolphins around the boat whilst enjoying delicious fruits and chips as a snack. We also saw a baby Manta Ray in the bay from the boat !!!!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Lava Legends was fantastic the dancers and the food and the history of the island was the best Thank you

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Kenia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide had such a dry yet hilarious sense of humor. My family and I had a great time touring the island and getting to know the local spots.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

JAMES R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great itinerary to see many of the major attractions on the Big Island. What made the tour especially great was a very knowledgeable and enthusiastic tour guide, Darian Basaldua.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Jayne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Definitely needed the expertise of our tour guide,Kawicka, to do all the driving and provide us with all his knowledge about the island and its history - he was kind, courteous, and very attune to our group's needs from getting a car seat to changing the location of our delicious lunch so that we would all be able to have seats and be covered from the impending rain! and to providing rain jackets for passengers that needed them!!...the van was comfortable and the lunch boxes we were given were quite unique! Long, memorable day but well worth it!! The only negative thing to mention has absolutely nothing to do with our guide he really was wonderful - I would highly recommend that the tour company be more careful in adding any passengers with children under the age of 2 to do this very long day trip to a van full of adults - it was hard to hear Kawicka talking to us over the noisy, and sometimes crying, toddler sitting behind us.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Gail L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Although this tour was very long as expected it was thoroughly enjoyable and worth the time. Our guide, Kai, was very knowledgeable, personable and concerned about our needs. Although you can't ever say you saw the whole island we sure did make an attempt. From beaches with turtles to volcanoes to arid areas to wetter sections we ended with a good feel for the big island of Hawaii.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Jackie R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

We really enjoyed this tour. Unfortunately from the spot we were taken to we couldn't see the lava. But we did see the steam rising up from the volcano. We also saw a lot of beautiful waterfalls with a good amount of time to stop and take photos. Our guide also shared a lot of interesting stories and we learnt a lot about the culture.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

ascachong

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

we were lucky, a humpback whale calf came close to our boat!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft Whale Watching Adventure

Daniel C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Was amazing, especially our tour guide Kala. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike the tour guide for great. He loved biking on the volcano. He had wonderful stories and knowledge of the area. Went from the top of the volcanoe down to where we had lunch by the ocean. He also was very safe and looked after the group very well. Gwen the owner drove the back up and was so gracious, loved her business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike was a wonderful guide. He loved biking on the volcanoe, had great stories and knowledge of the area. We went from the top to the ocean where we had lunch. Gwen the owner drove the back up van, was very gracious and loved the business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

marlys m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

IT was a very good trip our guide did a great job of telling our group of all the sites he took us to.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Thea L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a fantastic experience on the afternoon snorkel cruise. As we left the boat at the end of our cruise, my 7-year-old grandson said This was so great. Let's do this again the next time we come to Hawaii! The boat crew was friendly, helpful, and professional. We were fortunate to see a humpback whale breaching as we made our to the Captain Cook Monument site. At the site, we had about 90 minutes of snorkel and fun time--it went by quickly! My grandson loved the slides and high dive. My husband and I enjoyed some amazing snorkeling. We snorkeled at a few other sites on the Big Island during our vacation, but this was definitely the most spectacular. As we began our snorkel, the boat captain drew our attention to a few spinner dolphins nearby. He asked that we not chase them, or try to get closer to them, as they come to the area to rest. It was a thrill to see them close by, both at the surface and underneath the water, but I was glad when the captain asked some of the snorkelers who had started to follow the dolphins to stop. I really appreciate this commitment to minimal impact on wildlife.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Maryann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our Lei greeter was there when we arrived. A must when going to Hawaii for the first time.

Doing what: Traditional Lei Greeting in Kona

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had one day off from playing golf during our time on Big Island and decided to use this tour to learn as much as we could about the island and its past in the limited time available. We were not disappointed. We saw active though not very active volcanoes, spectacular waterfalls, deserts, rain forests and even green turtles resting on a black sand beach. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and very passionate about his island home, its folklore, history and ecology and kept up a very entertaining and informative commentary throughout the tour. I came away from the tour feeling that I had a much greater understanding of the changes to the island and its life caused by earthquakes and volcanic activity, the resourcefulness and achievements of the native Polynesian peoples, the effects caused when 2 differing societies Polynesian and Western first encounter each other and the effect that Man has had on this island ecology. All this in one day!

I can thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to spend an entertaining day gaining a fuller understanding of Big Island, its history and ecology.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Hector G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

The entire day was an amazing experience. Every site that we visited was well worth it. There was no dead time during the day because our guide, Darian Dreu Basaldua, kept us entertained with stories about the island. He is very knowledgeable and can speak for hours about the history and sites of the island. I can't say that I have a favorite place, but the volcano craters, waterfalls, and black sand beaches are a breathtaking scene.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Angela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We took the Big Island in a day tour and were so glad we did! There is no way we could have seen so much of this wonderful island in one day had we tried on our own. We went through cattle country, lush valleys, saw high waterfalls, molten lava and steam vents, lava tubes and black sand beach, as well as acres of macadamia nuts and coffee trees! All in a well-paced flow that didn't wear out the older members of our party. And our guide, Kai, was exceptional in his knowledge of the local history and stories, explaining the Hawaiian language and words to us, and making sure all our needs were met. This was the highlight of our trip!!!

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

jbroling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We actually swam with swarms of dolphins - we were so close to some we could have even touched them -- but one does not!!! It was a wonderful and unforgetable day for our family of 20!
Janet B.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really had a great time on the bike tour. Tour guide was exceptional. He took time will all level of riders which we had. We had a great time and would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

roger United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had an outstanding time. All our questions that we had prior to arriving on the Big Island were answered by Kala Holiday, our Tour Guide, in the first 20 minutes of our day. Kala was outstanding as he explained the history of the Hawaiian Islands, the Chiefs and Cheiftess', the arrival Captain Cook and how the King brought one rule of law over all the Islands. The sight seeing was tremendous. Not only did we get to see the Sea Turtles, the Black Sand beach, the Volcano, Rainbow Falls, Akaka Falls, Kahuna Falls, but all the information of where the Jurassic movies and Waterworld were made, but the information shared by Kala made our day. Thank you - well worth the money. Kala also provided us tips and directions for the rest of our vacation so we could venture out on our own.

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Bob H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We saw this on TV and decided to take a chance to do it. WOW. It's a must do. You will love the thrill and excitement of being up in the air and floating along. I would definitely do it again. The people there were just so kind and accommodating and made sure we were safe and guided us all the way to the top!!!

Doing what: Oahu Jetpack Experience

Annette L F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Our guide, Jonathan, was a walking encyclopedia of Hawaiin knowledge. He knew everything! Our island tour was more than we expected and I highly recommend wasabi tours

Doing what: Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message