There’s little more iconic than the image of a sheer mountain cliff surrounded by sea, its verdant flora overtaking the whole of the mountainside, greenery everywhere save for a little gap in the vegetation from which spouts a mighty torrent of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 226 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rebecca B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

What an amazing adventure! Jonathan our guide was wonderful- friendly, knowledgeable and all around great! His stories of the island and historical knowledge really helped to understand what we were seeing and allowed the group to see the island through the eyes of how it used to be: Top notch, I highly recommend taking this tour!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent I have been on a few helicopter rides on the island but this one was by far the best . My mom is 89 years old and she was very impressed with the knowledge of the pilot about the island and the history. I would highly recommend this helicopter ride and the staff was 100 also like to thank Paradise Helicopter and the owner for a great day.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our pilot was as excited as we were to see the lava from the volcanoes, even though he had probably seen it many times. Pricey, but worth it!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

david d

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2017

good trip
the pilot was great
very tight in the helicopter

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

MELISSA073193

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Unfortunately our time slot was given to a group from the cruise ship as they have priority for those time slots I guess since they have a limited time in port. I had booked several months in advance. The folks who had our time slot got their tour. Ours was called off due to weather.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

johnnie_bean

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a blast! Our pilot, Ryan, was awesome!! He explained where we were headed before we took off with a map of the island. He played great music that matched the ride. Professional and funny. Because of the weather winter in Hawaii he modified our trip--yes, he let us know that in advance--he took us to the north coast for the waterfalls, too many to count. He made sure that everyone got to see the sights no matter what side of the helicopter you were on. Not only did we get to see fantastic views of the island, we saw whales too! Great experience, yes, I'd go back in a heart-beat.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was worth every nickel, you see more of Hawaii in two hours then anyway else. Getting to look down into the volcanoes was awesome. Really learn to appreciate our Earth seeing all the different things that are happening to it right from a short distance above.
Mother Earth at it's best, and we got to see it up close

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

ted_n_wang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I liked the smaller helicopters because one can zoom around like a sports car. Also, each side can have doors off, so opportunity for great pictures and actually feel the heat from the volcanos. We went to several Viatar excursions this trip and the helicopter ride was definitely the best.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Neville R C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An absolutely marvellous, unforgettable experience. Great pilot, great helicopter and unbelievable views. Would recommend this to anyone who wants to see the volcano and the exit of the lava to the ocean.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You may be hesitant to do this because of the cost, but it is well worth it! An amazing experience. Our pilot, Jork, was friendly, informative, and always willing to go back around again for another look! Seeing Kilauea from above was unforgettable. We were also fortunate to see the lava spilling into the sea. The coastline and the valleys with incredible waterfalls were majestic as well. We even saw whales along the coast. HIghly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Anneke H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a fantastic trip, a highlight of our Hawaiian holiday

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

rtoles

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

Hard to rate this tour because we did not get to do this tour. we were picked up in the morning and taken on a different route. We still saw Waipio Valley which is spectacular, but did not get to Akaka Falls went instead to some smaller falls and a Macadamia nut farm At the falls, everyone else knew to bring swim apparel and enjoy a dip - we did not have that in our tour info so it was a stand and watch others. This was an altogether different tour which we were put into I believe because our tour did not have enough participants. We did get a small refund from Viator but still very disappointing If we had been told we were taking a different tour, we would either have been prepared, or cancelled and found another tour to Akaka Falls. We were not given that choice. We were not told at pickup that it was not the tour we booked. All other tours with Viator, in many different countries, have been excellent. This was a major disappointment.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

michelle m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing trip! The pilot flew us over Kīlauea and to areas of active lava flow, which made for great pictures! He also took us down to where the lava met the ocean. He told us about the volcano and the many eruptions that have occurred. He was very knowledgeable. Next, he took us to fly over the Rainbow Falls, which was really pretty. In all locations, the pilot made sure that both sides of the helicopter got to see the sites. The only caution I would give is, if you get air sick, make sure you let the pilot know. The corkscrew turns to get pictures of the sites can make you pretty sick. But I wouldn't let that stop you from taking the trip!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

kathleen h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An amazing tour of the island. Being able to see the island from the air and follow the lava flows from the volcano to the ocean and see how they are building new land in front of our eyes was just amazing. And then flying from the volcanoes over and into the forest and seeing in such a short time the changing beauty of the island was just breathtaking. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

collinpritchard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great! Check in was smooth, staff were very friendly and helpful, safety presentation was very good. Flight and pilot were great, just wish it was longer. Loved the music playing during our flight!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Karyn V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour and easy to find the helicopter check in at the airport.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Anna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

That was an amazing experience!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Foteini K

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

The tour is worth been taken as one cannot visit easily by himself the WAipio Valley, and to me it was the most impressive point of the Big Island. The Akaka Falls were not visible due to rain and fog...

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

PANKAJ A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Excellent guide and good value for the amount spent.....

Doing what: Private Tour: Big Island Photo Safari

geychner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A true once-in-a-lifetime experience that exceeded our expectations. Great helicopter, great pilot, great ride!!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our pilot was ex military and flew the aircraft brilliantly. The 2 hour flight was fantastic and we spent a good time over the volcanos, turning around so that all passengers got a good view and able to take some good photos whatever side of the aircraft you were sitting. Seeing the lava entering the sea was good as was the flight up the coast and into the valleys. The entire flight was smooth and the weather on the day was very clear and fine. We flew back to Kona down the coast and you could see all the major resorts from the air. The driver who collected me arrived on time and drove very well and was very knowledgeable about the area and could answer any questions you had. I had the same driver on the return journey and was able to continue our conversations. A great time was had and I would highly recommend this trip. Great was to see the Big Island.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

busboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had Shawn as a very experienced pilot. So we saw the waterfalls as the volcano very close. The same with the coastline and part of the island around Hilo. Anytime again.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was not just a sightseeing tour, it was a journey into the heart of the Hawaiian people. Our guide, Kolaa, please forgive if I misspelled was young and at first impression far too practiced. But as we traversed the primal Hawaiian landscape, he unveiled with unexpected wisdom, and a depth of passion only found when one is connected to the land as he is, secrets of the Hawaiian culture and heritage. We truly had no expectations other than to see a few island landscapes not ventured on previous trips, but this was an adventure extraordinaire with this interesting savant as our interpreter. Do not expect to be taken on drive-bys of purged and plumaged tourista attractions. Instead, try to empathize with a history of cultural and ecological interference and dominance, all related without malice but rather as historical fact. Not only were we enlightened to these waves of ways in which the Islands have changed, but we were treated to the stories, the myths, and the rich heritage of the Hawaiian culture. He also treated us to demonstrations of useful and medicinal plants and explained how, with careful planning, one could live completely self-sufficiently on this beautiful, mysterious and volatile rock. I could see how our young guide lived the Hawaiian way his reference to his family was always so tender and sincere. I would especially recommend our guide and this adventure to those who have an interest in anything ecologically related to the Islands. He has a depth of knowledge that you will find challenging and insightful.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message