There’s little more iconic than the image of a sheer mountain cliff surrounded by sea, its verdant flora overtaking the whole of the mountainside, greenery everywhere save for a little gap in the vegetation from which spouts a mighty torrent of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 201 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

This was not just a sightseeing tour, it was a journey into the heart of the Hawaiian people. Our guide, Kolaa, please forgive if I misspelled was young and at first impression far too practiced. But as we traversed the primal Hawaiian landscape, he unveiled with unexpected wisdom, and a depth of passion only found when one is connected to the land as he is, secrets of the Hawaiian culture and heritage. We truly had no expectations other than to see a few island landscapes not ventured on previous trips, but this was an adventure extraordinaire with this interesting savant as our interpreter. Do not expect to be taken on drive-bys of purged and plumaged tourista attractions. Instead, try to empathize with a history of cultural and ecological interference and dominance, all related without malice but rather as historical fact. Not only were we enlightened to these waves of ways in which the Islands have changed, but we were treated to the stories, the myths, and the rich heritage of the Hawaiian culture. He also treated us to demonstrations of useful and medicinal plants and explained how, with careful planning, one could live completely self-sufficiently on this beautiful, mysterious and volatile rock. I could see how our young guide lived the Hawaiian way his reference to his family was always so tender and sincere. I would especially recommend our guide and this adventure to those who have an interest in anything ecologically related to the Islands. He has a depth of knowledge that you will find challenging and insightful.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

ks135bm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour and tour guide! They took care of the little things like extra water, snacks, back packs, towels. Would love to do the waterfall again!

Doing what: Kohala Waterfalls Small Group Adventure Tour

Anne Marie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful trip. We have done helicopter tours several times in various places, but this one ranks on top, on par with Grand Canyon. The weather was rainy on the Volcanoes, so we followed the coast. The lava flowing into the sea and the flight over the cascades in the valleys were awesome.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Stephen P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Great tour and great guide. Well paced tour with enough time at each stop. Marcus was very knowledgeable and kept everyone engaged during the tour. The bento box lunch was tasty, we really enjoyed the tour. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Anne Katharina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was just great.Our tour guide Marcus was one of the best tour guides I ever had.He gives lots of information about the Island and everything else you want to know.Lunch was very good as well.The hotel pick up and drop off worked without any problems.Although it and #39;s a long day its worth it!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great tour. Sean was our pilot. He had so much info about the island. We saw lava flowing and amazing waterfalls. Company was easy to communicate with beforehand as well.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Lynne O

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Fun trip, good guide with lots of good information during or rides to the various locations. An easy way to see the Northeast side of the island.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

gsracer58

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Beautiful and enjoyable, with the opportunity to see the rain forest side of Hawaii. The only problem we had was the expectation that people sit in the far rear seats on the right and left over the wheel wells of your vans. No way should anyone be expected to sit with their knees crunched up in their chest for this 8 hour tour. Suggest you NOT book the trip so full that anyone would be expected to sit in these rear right and left seats. Had the front seat not been available, we would not have gone on the tour and insisted our money be refunded.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Nancy K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip and pilot. The day we went up it was right before a tropical storm. It was windy and grey and still beautiful. thanks!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

gerald b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The pilot was GREAT. First helicopter flight for my WIFE. She's HOOKED, Loved it

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Esmeralda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

it was above expectations, the pilot was great very informative and answered any and all questions. OMG the views were amazing. Thank you for a wonderful birthday. I would go again !!!!!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Pamela L F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful helicopter ride over the volcanoes and waterfalls. Ryan was awesome. When we took off he told us we were in for a beautiful surprise and he was not kidding. Two new vents had opened that morning and we were treated to beautiful lava flowing down the volcano. Even if we had not seen that the trip was well worth it. From booking to flying the staff was pleasant and easy to have fun with. Highly recommend this excursion. Next we will go with doors off.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

cielle92

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Both tour guides were very knowledgeable and very entertaining. The views were incredible!

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Denise H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This helicopter tour was a once in a lifetime event! Fabulous scenery, smooth helicopter flying and friendly staff. Wonderful experience! Thank you!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

KASTennis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was awesome and new lava flow was occurring.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

travel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it!!! Super great and friendly staff. Pilot Sean was great. It was awesome to see the orange glow and flowing lava I couldn and #39;t see at anywhere else!!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

susanmrich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Can be cancelled due to rain. Fortunately, we got a break ingredients the weather. Views were beautiful and the pilot was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Gail V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was very knowledgeable able the island and took great cate of us. The small group size made for a quality experience.

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Teresa c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really exciting excursion you could actually feel the heat of the lava the pilot got so close. Loved the accompanying music as well!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Graham C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Took a two hour helicopter ride with Paradise Helicopters. They operate out of Kona airport. If you contact them when in your resort you may be able to persuade them to send a complimentary cab for you - we found this out when we spoke to our hotel staff and this saved us about 100 dollars - so worth a phone call. The trip was excellent - the pilot was amusing and I felt safe at all times. The scenery was stunning and I would recommend this trip to anyone. It may seem expensive but it is worthwhile. definitely worth upgrading to a guaranteed window seat - and wear dark clothing as the windows can pick up reflections which can hamper photography.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful views and a fantastic flight. Organisation was efficient from pick up to drop off and we really enjoyed the pilots attempts to chase the lava down so we could get the best photographs.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Joanne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome Ron the pilot was great 10 stars a must do

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Thomas S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was amazing . Our guide Chris was fantastic. Would do this again .

Doing what: Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka Falls

Leanne R

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Loved it. Helicopter was incredible. Zipline was lovely contrast. Saw other side of the island.

Doing what: Big Island Super Saver: Helicopter Tour plus Zipline Adventure

Stefan Z

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The helicopter tour was very enjoyable -- the pilot was knowledgable and offered a lot of information about the island as part of the tour, and getting to see the island from the helicopter was a unique perspective that I would not have had the opportunity to experience, otherwise.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message