A lush and historic town with a funky, old-school type of charm, many of the tours from Hilo focus on the volcanic splendor of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Located only an hour drive from downtown Hilo (versus 2.5 hours from Kona), tours from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 408 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gsracer58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was excellent. Seeing lava actually coming out of the dome was a spectacular experience. Actually being on a black sand beach was amazing. Quite a long day so be prepared!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guides, Mike and Pretty were awesome! We had a small group, about 12. We felt safe and comfortable the whole time. The upright bikes were easy to ride. We learned a lot too! A great way to see the park!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great tour. Sean was our pilot. He had so much info about the island. We saw lava flowing and amazing waterfalls. Company was easy to communicate with beforehand as well.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Craig H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guides Jake and Kamu made this 5 star Zipline adventure a 10 star adventure! The fun only gets bigger with each Zipline and the scenery more breathtaking and beautiful!!! Must do!!!

Doing what: Hilo Zipline over KoleKole Falls

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must see when in Hilo. Great experience. Well worth the cost,. Excellent narration along the way to and from both sites.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

Elizabeth Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had such a great trip with Pretty and Michael! It was definitely the highlight of our time on the big island.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Danielle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Even though it rained most of the bike ride it was still amazing! We would do it again, no questions!! :) once in a life time experiences!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

susanmrich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Can be cancelled due to rain. Fortunately, we got a break ingredients the weather. Views were beautiful and the pilot was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Brian J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour and and a great guide, who fully explained everything make the trip well worth while

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

travel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Loved it!!! Super great and friendly staff. Pilot Sean was great. It was awesome to see the orange glow and flowing lava I couldn and #39;t see at anywhere else!!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

KASTennis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide was awesome and new lava flow was occurring.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Pamela L F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful helicopter ride over the volcanoes and waterfalls. Ryan was awesome. When we took off he told us we were in for a beautiful surprise and he was not kidding. Two new vents had opened that morning and we were treated to beautiful lava flowing down the volcano. Even if we had not seen that the trip was well worth it. From booking to flying the staff was pleasant and easy to have fun with. Highly recommend this excursion. Next we will go with doors off.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

David B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

100 worth doing! Lava was flowing really well for us and was able to get great photos. Waterfalls looked amazing also. Highly recommend no doors.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

gerald b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The pilot was GREAT. First helicopter flight for my WIFE. She's HOOKED, Loved it

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Teresa c

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really exciting excursion you could actually feel the heat of the lava the pilot got so close. Loved the accompanying music as well!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

katey_did

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was awesome! Our tour guide was great and made it pleasurable! He was extremely knowledgable which made the trip great. Thank you!

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

Gail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fantastic trip. Our guide knew so much about both the volcano and the towns we drove through. We were lucky enough to have visible lava when we were there. Even without that spectacular sight it would have been one of the best trips ever. We flew from Oahu to Hilo just for this trip and it was worth every penny.

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo

carolrburton

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Once in a lifetime experience. Everyone involved was very professional and had our safety utmost in mind. Our pilot gave everyone a chance to see the views from all angles. I would definitely recommend a medium heavy jacket. I only had a very light one on and got a little chilly. I also wore long jeans and shoes and socks. I saw several in line waiting who had only sandals and shorts on and felt a little sorry for them. The views were absolutely amazing and I would highly recommend this tour to anyone! The doors off made it really wonderful. If you are debating between doors off or not, do it!!!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Yin-Ju Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was probably one of my favorite moments during the 8 days in Hawaii! As far as I know, the tour group is typically quite small. The agenda was very well planned and not rushed at all. Our guide Jesse was absolutely fantastic, very personable and knowledgeable about Hawaii. Most importantly, he was very passionate about what he does. Beverages and snacks were provided on the van. The dinner at the winery was actually very delicious, on contrary to what you'd expect on an included meal during a tour. Very glad we chose to do the evening tour, which allowed us to see the glow at the crater!

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo

Renae T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very exciting. feel the heat and smell the sulfur. Truly amazing!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Lana L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great family activity. Our two teens loved it. Great way to see the the volcano area. Guide and driver most helpful. Felt safe and had a fun adventure

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Greg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Quit an adventure without the doors. I highly recommend this to those who have taken closed door helicopter tours. This is a different experience.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message