A lush and historic town with a funky, old-school type of charm, many of the tours from Hilo focus on the volcanic splendor of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Located only an hour drive from downtown Hilo (versus 2.5 hours from Kona), tours from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 432 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bhagwan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Actually got to see the crater and the red hot lava coming out of the volcano

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

Anna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

That was an amazing experience!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Karyn V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour and easy to find the helicopter check in at the airport.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

collinpritchard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great! Check in was smooth, staff were very friendly and helpful, safety presentation was very good. Flight and pilot were great, just wish it was longer. Loved the music playing during our flight!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip. Flying directly over the lava pools and the lava hitting the ocean was the only way to really experience the volcano. Great fly-bys over the waterfalls. Truly the only way to get a good appreciation for the terrain of the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

William R W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great experience for my husband. He especially enjoyed the fantastic views of the volcanoes. Unfortunately they didn't have bike small enough for my short stature. I rode in the van which was great talking to Driver Pretty. Mike was great at explaining volcano facts. He even gave a great hint for watching the sunset and seeing the colors in the crater. Great trip!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

busboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had Shawn as a very experienced pilot. So we saw the waterfalls as the volcano very close. The same with the coastline and part of the island around Hilo. Anytime again.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Betty K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guides were terrific. We were very glad we chose this tour.

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo

Gerald F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

By far, the best part of our trip to Hawaii! Interesting, fun, informative...an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Sureen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bike tour is pretty cool, a great way to get an overview of the national park. After the tour, we were able to spend some time exploring the park in greater detail with suggestions from the tour.
The guides are very knowledgeable about the park and Hawaiian folklore, and quick to tell a good story. The ride itself is quite easy so suitable for all fitness levels.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

JEFFREY F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Chris and Chris were the best. They had my afraid of heights kid going from zip line 1 to over the Akaka falls with confidence. We will be back next time!

Doing what: Hilo Zipline over KoleKole Falls

Tamara J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours we've ever been on, very well organized, the guides were excellent, very professional, enthusiastic and entertaining. The tour had a lot of variety and was great value for money as well, very highly recommended.

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo

Florence R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent, the tour guide made sure that we could get views of the volcanoes and waterfalls. He was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Maricela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

we had a great time, meal at winery was delicious and got to see the amazing lava glow.

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Spectacular experience! This will stay in my memory forever!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

gsracer58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was excellent. Seeing lava actually coming out of the dome was a spectacular experience. Actually being on a black sand beach was amazing. Quite a long day so be prepared!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guides, Mike and Pretty were awesome! We had a small group, about 12. We felt safe and comfortable the whole time. The upright bikes were easy to ride. We learned a lot too! A great way to see the park!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great tour. Sean was our pilot. He had so much info about the island. We saw lava flowing and amazing waterfalls. Company was easy to communicate with beforehand as well.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Craig H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guides Jake and Kamu made this 5 star Zipline adventure a 10 star adventure! The fun only gets bigger with each Zipline and the scenery more breathtaking and beautiful!!! Must do!!!

Doing what: Hilo Zipline over KoleKole Falls

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

A must see when in Hilo. Great experience. Well worth the cost,. Excellent narration along the way to and from both sites.

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

Elizabeth Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had such a great trip with Pretty and Michael! It was definitely the highlight of our time on the big island.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Danielle M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Even though it rained most of the bike ride it was still amazing! We would do it again, no questions!! :) once in a life time experiences!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

susanmrich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Can be cancelled due to rain. Fortunately, we got a break ingredients the weather. Views were beautiful and the pilot was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message