A lush and historic town with a funky, old-school type of charm, many of the tours from Hilo focus on the volcanic splendor of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Located only an hour drive from downtown Hilo (versus 2.5 hours from Kona), tours from ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 446 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Judith O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We actually ended up taking the Summit Tour since there were not enough people for this one. They did their best to accommodate us but the alternate date did not work. Gwendolyn was very helpful in getting the change made. The organizers provided everything we needed including rain gear - a must for the day we went. They also gave good attention to safety and sustenance for the ride. Mike was an entertaining and informative tour guide while on our bikes. Pretty drove the support vehicle and also information about some of the sites. We would highly recommend this tour. The group was small - only ten in ours with a max of twelve - the staff was very personable.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really had a great time on the bike tour. Tour guide was exceptional. He took time will all level of riders which we had. We had a great time and would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Neville R C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An absolutely marvellous, unforgettable experience. Great pilot, great helicopter and unbelievable views. Would recommend this to anyone who wants to see the volcano and the exit of the lava to the ocean.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

ted_n_wang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I liked the smaller helicopters because one can zoom around like a sports car. Also, each side can have doors off, so opportunity for great pictures and actually feel the heat from the volcanos. We went to several Viatar excursions this trip and the helicopter ride was definitely the best.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike was a wonderful guide. He loved biking on the volcanoe, had great stories and knowledge of the area. We went from the top to the ocean where we had lunch. Gwen the owner drove the back up van, was very gracious and loved the business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike the tour guide for great. He loved biking on the volcano. He had wonderful stories and knowledge of the area. Went from the top of the volcanoe down to where we had lunch by the ocean. He also was very safe and looked after the group very well. Gwen the owner drove the back up and was so gracious, loved her business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

michelle m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing trip! The pilot flew us over Kīlauea and to areas of active lava flow, which made for great pictures! He also took us down to where the lava met the ocean. He told us about the volcano and the many eruptions that have occurred. He was very knowledgeable. Next, he took us to fly over the Rainbow Falls, which was really pretty. In all locations, the pilot made sure that both sides of the helicopter got to see the sites. The only caution I would give is, if you get air sick, make sure you let the pilot know. The corkscrew turns to get pictures of the sites can make you pretty sick. But I wouldn't let that stop you from taking the trip!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Bhagwan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Actually got to see the crater and the red hot lava coming out of the volcano

Doing what: Hilo Shore Excursion: Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls

Anna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

That was an amazing experience!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Karyn V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour and easy to find the helicopter check in at the airport.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

collinpritchard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great! Check in was smooth, staff were very friendly and helpful, safety presentation was very good. Flight and pilot were great, just wish it was longer. Loved the music playing during our flight!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip. Flying directly over the lava pools and the lava hitting the ocean was the only way to really experience the volcano. Great fly-bys over the waterfalls. Truly the only way to get a good appreciation for the terrain of the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

William R W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great experience for my husband. He especially enjoyed the fantastic views of the volcanoes. Unfortunately they didn't have bike small enough for my short stature. I rode in the van which was great talking to Driver Pretty. Mike was great at explaining volcano facts. He even gave a great hint for watching the sunset and seeing the colors in the crater. Great trip!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

busboy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had Shawn as a very experienced pilot. So we saw the waterfalls as the volcano very close. The same with the coastline and part of the island around Hilo. Anytime again.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Betty K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our tour guides were terrific. We were very glad we chose this tour.

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo

Gerald F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

By far, the best part of our trip to Hawaii! Interesting, fun, informative...an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Sureen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bike tour is pretty cool, a great way to get an overview of the national park. After the tour, we were able to spend some time exploring the park in greater detail with suggestions from the tour.
The guides are very knowledgeable about the park and Hawaiian folklore, and quick to tell a good story. The ride itself is quite easy so suitable for all fitness levels.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

JEFFREY F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Chris and Chris were the best. They had my afraid of heights kid going from zip line 1 to over the Akaka falls with confidence. We will be back next time!

Doing what: Hilo Zipline over KoleKole Falls

Tamara J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

One of the best tours we've ever been on, very well organized, the guides were excellent, very professional, enthusiastic and entertaining. The tour had a lot of variety and was great value for money as well, very highly recommended.

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo

Florence R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent, the tour guide made sure that we could get views of the volcanoes and waterfalls. He was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Maricela M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

we had a great time, meal at winery was delicious and got to see the amazing lava glow.

Doing what: Evening Volcano Explorer From Hilo

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Spectacular experience! This will stay in my memory forever!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message