Many of the tours from Kona, as visitors to Hawaii’s Big Island might expect, focus on activities found along the Kona coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. That being said, one of the largest visitor draws on the island—Hawaii Volcanoes National Park—is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1106 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our pilot was as excited as we were to see the lava from the volcanoes, even though he had probably seen it many times. Pricey, but worth it!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Kenia V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Our guide had such a dry yet hilarious sense of humor. My family and I had a great time touring the island and getting to know the local spots.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Lava Legends was fantastic the dancers and the food and the history of the island was the best Thank you

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Craig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Excellent I have been on a few helicopter rides on the island but this one was by far the best . My mom is 89 years old and she was very impressed with the knowledge of the pilot about the island and the history. I would highly recommend this helicopter ride and the staff was 100 also like to thank Paradise Helicopter and the owner for a great day.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Harleen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We heard about this tour from a lot of people on the Island and we were glad to have booked it in advance 3 months ago. We opted for the snuba dive at the tour itself and it was the best decision of the day. Our Snuba guide, Mike, was very knowledgeable and gave us a detailed 15-minute training on what to expect and how to go about the snuba dive safely. He made sure everyone was on the same page during the dive and showed us some amazing corals, sea urchins, octopus, and a lot of colorful fish. He was also checking our pressure gauge at regular intervals during the half hour snuba dive. After that wonderful experience, we still had around 15 to 25 minutes to snorkel around the bay. We had a great time overall and enjoyed the scenic views all around us. We also managed to catch a glimpse of a hammer head shark on our way to the bay. During the return trip to the shore, we were delighted by the presence of dolphins around the boat whilst enjoying delicious fruits and chips as a snack. We also saw a baby Manta Ray in the bay from the boat !!!!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

mikecooper40

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Great trip, knowledgeable guide. Provides a great contrast with temperatures and environment of the resort areas. You travel though the diverse climate and environmental zones of the Big Island.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Anneke H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a fantastic trip, a highlight of our Hawaiian holiday

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Ron K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Went in early January and the weather was a beautiful Hawaiian winter's day. As we entered the bay, spinner dolphins were displaying by jumping out of the water and, of course, spinning! The water was clear and gentle and the fish life diverse. The crew of the Fairwinds were very helpful and grill a good lunch!. We were a group of 8 adults who came for the snorkeling but they had slides and diving platforms for the swimmers and kids as well. Plenty of flotation devices provided if you just wanted to hang out. If the weather and water were a few degrees warmer, it would have been perfect, but that's not the fault of Fairwinds. Next time I'll come go in the Spring!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Fred D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Tour was one of the best ever taken. Beware that Viator sends everyone on this tour to the wrong location for pick-up. Do not book this tour thru Viator. Vendor has tried without success to correct this issue with Viator.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

sally s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Even though the summit was closed due to weather, the star gazing was better than I could have imagined. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the region and the local history. I would highly recommend this trip and I will do it again next time I am in the area.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Another fabulous Big Island adventure! Our guide, Joe H, was excellent...very informative and passionate about the island culture and the stars! The sunset from the summit was unforgettable, and the thin air experience was really cool. The star gazing was incredible, especially compared to the light polluted northeast suburbs. I would do this again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Stephen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

You may be hesitant to do this because of the cost, but it is well worth it! An amazing experience. Our pilot, Jork, was friendly, informative, and always willing to go back around again for another look! Seeing Kilauea from above was unforgettable. We were also fortunate to see the lava spilling into the sea. The coastline and the valleys with incredible waterfalls were majestic as well. We even saw whales along the coast. HIghly recommended.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

jbroling

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We actually swam with swarms of dolphins - we were so close to some we could have even touched them -- but one does not!!! It was a wonderful and unforgetable day for our family of 20!
Janet B.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

Teresa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This Luau is the best one I have ever been to. I would recommend it to everyone. The people that put this on are very nice and helpful and make it very enjoyable.

Doing what: Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was worth every nickel, you see more of Hawaii in two hours then anyway else. Getting to look down into the volcanoes was awesome. Really learn to appreciate our Earth seeing all the different things that are happening to it right from a short distance above.
Mother Earth at it's best, and we got to see it up close

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Maryann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a very good tour for anyone. We really enjoyed it and the price is very reasonable.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Thea L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a fantastic experience on the afternoon snorkel cruise. As we left the boat at the end of our cruise, my 7-year-old grandson said This was so great. Let's do this again the next time we come to Hawaii! The boat crew was friendly, helpful, and professional. We were fortunate to see a humpback whale breaching as we made our to the Captain Cook Monument site. At the site, we had about 90 minutes of snorkel and fun time--it went by quickly! My grandson loved the slides and high dive. My husband and I enjoyed some amazing snorkeling. We snorkeled at a few other sites on the Big Island during our vacation, but this was definitely the most spectacular. As we began our snorkel, the boat captain drew our attention to a few spinner dolphins nearby. He asked that we not chase them, or try to get closer to them, as they come to the area to rest. It was a thrill to see them close by, both at the surface and underneath the water, but I was glad when the captain asked some of the snorkelers who had started to follow the dolphins to stop. I really appreciate this commitment to minimal impact on wildlife.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

johnnie_bean

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a blast! Our pilot, Ryan, was awesome!! He explained where we were headed before we took off with a map of the island. He played great music that matched the ride. Professional and funny. Because of the weather winter in Hawaii he modified our trip--yes, he let us know that in advance--he took us to the north coast for the waterfalls, too many to count. He made sure that everyone got to see the sights no matter what side of the helicopter you were on. Not only did we get to see fantastic views of the island, we saw whales too! Great experience, yes, I'd go back in a heart-beat.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

WERTSS311

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very nice people. Enjoyed every part and they us all feel comfortable

Doing what: Big Island Parasailing Experience

Bev J J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed the Luau very much. The dancing was outstanding. Just being outside and near a body of water where it was warm was great, We come from a cold climate so it was wonderful.

Doing what: Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island

Erica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was so much fun, did the 1200 not scary at all. Next time I will do it with someone because it can be a little lonely up there. I wish I had someone to enjoy the views with. The two gentleman running the boat were so friendly. Not just necessarily friendly either they carried great conversation

Doing what: Big Island Parasailing Experience

KOK YIN C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommended Tour !!
Our family had a great time and we are glad to have Dominik as our guide. He is very knowledgable, caring, attentive to our individual needs and always take the extra effort to ensure we are having a good time.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

kathleen h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An amazing tour of the island. Being able to see the island from the air and follow the lava flows from the volcano to the ocean and see how they are building new land in front of our eyes was just amazing. And then flying from the volcanoes over and into the forest and seeing in such a short time the changing beauty of the island was just breathtaking. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Shaun B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

this trip was incredible. everything was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message