Many of the tours from Kona, as visitors to Hawaii’s Big Island might expect, focus on activities found along the Kona coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. That being said, one of the largest visitor draws on the island—Hawaii Volcanoes National Park—is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1154 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jim R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It is timed just right so that you have enough time to have a good look around the summit before sunset but not too long that you get really cold.

Our guide Brett was excellent. He was very safety conscious whilst we were up at the summit checking that no one was feeling the effects of the high altitude. Also he was very knowledgable about Mauna Kea and the Stars. He made it all very interesting and we learnt a lot.

We highly recommend this tour.

Annette and Jim, Australia

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Very good few hrs. Worth doing

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Anthony P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

It was so chilled up in the air shame it was not long enough. Will do again

Doing what: Big Island Parasailing Experience

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a great experience! Our pilot, Troy was exceptional in telling the story of the Big Island. He took us up close and personal with the volcano and its amazing history. The flight into the green caverns was amazing. Absolutely the best way to start your stay on the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Gary E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is very informative! Our guide, Kaj, was an environmental scientist, who loves Hawaii's culture, lore, and was extremely knowledgeable! The tour was very long, 14 hrs, due to the time it took to pick up and drop off passengers at their hotels. Recommend meeting the tour at the office, with your own transportation. We felt very satisfied!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Miguel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful, everything was on schedule a nice experience under the sea!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Miguel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Wonderful on schedule great experience under the sea!

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Georgina M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Lovely evening with lots of food, drink and entertainment, Fresh flowers for round your neck cost extra.

Doing what: Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island

kkat1910

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

If you have not been to the Big Island before, this trip was very helpful to see what sites and activities there are to enjoy. Long day but worth it

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Neal C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Amazing! We had 9 animals visit us I got bumped by them more than once. Great, friendly, helpful crew. Cheers to the non-swimmer, non-English-speaker who got back to the boat by riding me like a whale!

Doing what: Manta Ray Night Snorkel from Kona

Neal C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Rick and Buddha were our guides, and are skilled, intimately knowledgable, and ridiculously funny. We saw things the other boats missed like resting baby sharks and Rick made sure we got to Captain Cook before the ret of the boats so we had unfettered access and perfectly transparent water. The people in our boat were clearly having a LOT more fun than the other tours as well. This was our first activity of the vacation and was a great kickoff. The Zodiac is enormous fun, like a motorcycle!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

va475 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

The assisting personnel at the airport and the tour guide were terrific and made the day. Both were courteous, knowledgeable, professional and eager to assist. The tour guide shared much information about Oahu, Honolulu and the national monuments/memorials. He was also entertaining and friendly. He made certain we reached each destination on-time, including the airport through heavy traffic. The personnel make the tour highly recommended despite what appears to be a high price.

Doing what: Oahu Day Trip: Pearl Harbor, Honolulu and Punchbowl from the Big Island

Louis S Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Our pilot was ex military and flew the aircraft brilliantly. The 2 hour flight was fantastic and we spent a good time over the volcanos, turning around so that all passengers got a good view and able to take some good photos whatever side of the aircraft you were sitting. Seeing the lava entering the sea was good as was the flight up the coast and into the valleys. The entire flight was smooth and the weather on the day was very clear and fine. We flew back to Kona down the coast and you could see all the major resorts from the air. The driver who collected me arrived on time and drove very well and was very knowledgeable about the area and could answer any questions you had. I had the same driver on the return journey and was able to continue our conversations. A great time was had and I would highly recommend this trip. Great was to see the Big Island.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

geychner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

A true once-in-a-lifetime experience that exceeded our expectations. Great helicopter, great pilot, great ride!!

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Cassandra L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Not only was the view from the summit spectacular, our guide, Nate, was so knowledgeable about the night sky that we had an amazing time with his explanation of space. My husband had a hard time with the high altitude, but Nate was prepared to accommodate him with oxygen readily available, which allowed him to enjoy the experience. This tour was not only a must do, we also felt safe and was well taken care of throughout.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small Group Adventure Tour

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Awesome day out. We all had the best time ever. We were able to see lots of fish and have a good look around. The staff were very helpful and lots of fun. The lunch was basic but good. Would have been nice to have lettuce with the hamburger but not a biggy. The boat trip was good and the fruit was nice on the way there.
We all had a good time and would definitely recommend doing this tour. Lots of fun and very relaxing.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Deluxe Snorkel Cruise

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great day and a very informative one all about volcanoes and everything to do with them. The volcano put on a manificent show for us at night.Steve was awesome and very informative. The lunch and dinner spots were good and the food was very enjoyable. Would have loved to have got out of the bus a bit more but think the weather being quite wet might have changed the schedule a little bit.
It was a very good tour for getting an insight to the island and the vast climates and landscapes. Steve was very prepared and we all got a blanket to cuddle up to on the way home in the bus. We also had a hot towel to wash our faces with before we drove back at night. he thought of everything and was a great host. Excellent tour would definitely recommend it as a top tour to go on.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Judi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

John was a wonderful and funny tour guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Judi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

John was a wonderful and funny tour guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Jeanne B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

A lot of fun. Good for families. The food and entertainment were excellent

Doing what: Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island

Richard C C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Katy At Hawaiian Adventure Guides was fantastic, the tour went ahead with just my wife and myself.
The late night viewing of kilaua was the highlight.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Gav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great trip

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

ks135bm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour and tour guide! They took care of the little things like extra water, snacks, back packs, towels. Would love to do the waterfall again!

Doing what: Kohala Waterfalls Small Group Adventure Tour

Germano M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

great tour and experience

Doing what: Manta Ray Night Snorkel from Kona

Anne Marie L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Wonderful trip. We have done helicopter tours several times in various places, but this one ranks on top, on par with Grand Canyon. The weather was rainy on the Volcanoes, so we followed the coast. The lava flowing into the sea and the flight over the cascades in the valleys were awesome.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message