Many of the tours from Kona, as visitors to Hawaii’s Big Island might expect, focus on activities found along the Kona coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. That being said, one of the largest visitor draws on the island—Hawaii Volcanoes National Park—is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This was worth every nickel, you see more of Hawaii in two hours then anyway else. Getting to look down into the volcanoes was awesome. Really learn to appreciate our Earth seeing all the different things that are happening to it right from a short distance above.
Mother Earth at it's best, and we got to see it up close

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Maryann S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This is a very good tour for anyone. We really enjoyed it and the price is very reasonable.

Doing what: Atlantis Kona Submarine Adventure

Thea L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We had a fantastic experience on the afternoon snorkel cruise. As we left the boat at the end of our cruise, my 7-year-old grandson said This was so great. Let's do this again the next time we come to Hawaii! The boat crew was friendly, helpful, and professional. We were fortunate to see a humpback whale breaching as we made our to the Captain Cook Monument site. At the site, we had about 90 minutes of snorkel and fun time--it went by quickly! My grandson loved the slides and high dive. My husband and I enjoyed some amazing snorkeling. We snorkeled at a few other sites on the Big Island during our vacation, but this was definitely the most spectacular. As we began our snorkel, the boat captain drew our attention to a few spinner dolphins nearby. He asked that we not chase them, or try to get closer to them, as they come to the area to rest. It was a thrill to see them close by, both at the surface and underneath the water, but I was glad when the captain asked some of the snorkelers who had started to follow the dolphins to stop. I really appreciate this commitment to minimal impact on wildlife.

Doing what: Kealakekua Bay Snorkel Cruise

johnnie_bean

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

What a blast! Our pilot, Ryan, was awesome!! He explained where we were headed before we took off with a map of the island. He played great music that matched the ride. Professional and funny. Because of the weather winter in Hawaii he modified our trip--yes, he let us know that in advance--he took us to the north coast for the waterfalls, too many to count. He made sure that everyone got to see the sights no matter what side of the helicopter you were on. Not only did we get to see fantastic views of the island, we saw whales too! Great experience, yes, I'd go back in a heart-beat.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

WERTSS311

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very nice people. Enjoyed every part and they us all feel comfortable

Doing what: Big Island Parasailing Experience

Bev J J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed the Luau very much. The dancing was outstanding. Just being outside and near a body of water where it was warm was great, We come from a cold climate so it was wonderful.

Doing what: Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island

Erica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was so much fun, did the 1200 not scary at all. Next time I will do it with someone because it can be a little lonely up there. I wish I had someone to enjoy the views with. The two gentleman running the boat were so friendly. Not just necessarily friendly either they carried great conversation

Doing what: Big Island Parasailing Experience

KOK YIN C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommended Tour !!
Our family had a great time and we are glad to have Dominik as our guide. He is very knowledgable, caring, attentive to our individual needs and always take the extra effort to ensure we are having a good time.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

kathleen h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

An amazing tour of the island. Being able to see the island from the air and follow the lava flows from the volcano to the ocean and see how they are building new land in front of our eyes was just amazing. And then flying from the volcanoes over and into the forest and seeing in such a short time the changing beauty of the island was just breathtaking. Highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Experience Hawai'i Big Island Helicopter Flight from Kona

Shaun B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

this trip was incredible. everything was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Remarkable, well planned and well executed excursion. Not only did Justin make the long trip enjoyable, he even managed to wonderfully balance the weather, schedule, and a hungry group of travelers.

Our itinerary included Volcano NP and surrounding areas, with pick ups from the Kona side of the island. Yes, it was a long day, but full with memories!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

YIMIN X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Mark's the tour guide passion about the island, wildlife, Hawaiian culture and volcanoes is infectious. He is a wealth of knowledge which can rival any wikipedia page on the topic. Even though the weather was a cloudy and rainy at times, Mark's enthusiasm over the 12 hour tour never waned. He is a national treasure.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Abigail W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Our guides were awesome! Very, very friendly, did not treat us like tourist cattle, were very fun. We spotted a whale and it was amazing! Even in cloudy weather, I highly recommend. Very awesome and peaceful 1,200 ft from the ground.
Fun times! Would do it again.

Doing what: Big Island Parasailing Experience

Derek Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

It started great, but with the full moon, the waves had their affect on almost everyone. The show took about 20-25 minutes to start, but we saw two mantas munch through the plankton buffet - pretty cool how close they get to you. Can't touch them, which is fine, but they are close when they swim by you. Took great GoPro Session4 footage - screen clips below.

Doing what: Manta Ray Night Snorkel from Kona

Takahiro H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an excellent tour for a first-time Big Island visitor like my girlfriend and I. We thoroughly enjoyed every part of this tour. Our guide Hank was extremely knowledgeable and knew the entire place and route like the back of his hand. Driving up the rocky mountain side in a 4-wheel drive van, I knew that it wasn't something I wanted to try myself! He expertly guided us to the best spot, and gave a great star show. The stars were amazing, even though there were clouds in the sky, they were unnoticeable because the stars were so bright. I would recommend this tour to anyone who really loves star gazing.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Spanish name

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This tour gave me the opportunity to view the entire island ina luxurious bus with a knowledgeable guide who was fun and entertaining.

Doing what: Big Island Grand Circle Island Tour

Spanish name

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

The entertainment was excellent. My family was mesmerized by the performances. Bring your appetite for delicious Polynesian food.

Doing what: Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island

Angie USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

What an incredible experience! Captain Collin and Sharon were great. We saw two types of dolphins and some whales along the way. The snorkeling was impressive too. We got waaaaay more for our money! Highly recommend Zodiac tours!

Doing what: Zodiac Raft and Snorkel Adventure

Stephen R United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Went on this Luau with family and we had a great time. The food was excellent, the entertainment was amazing, and our niece and two nephews were pulled up to participate which gave us all some forever memories. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Lava Legends and Legacies Luau on the Big Island

Carol S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Highly recommend this tour. Nate our guide was a wealth of knowledge and very professional. The sunset was amazing and the stargazing left one speechless!
Bucket List........Check!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Liesl G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

I have been to Kona several times and I can't believe I did not do this sooner. It was an amazing experience and not to be missed. Can't wait to go back and do it again.

Doing what: Manta Ray Night Snorkel from Kona

jessica b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

The food and hospitality was amazing.

Doing what: Island Breeze Luau on the Big Island

Victor M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip and very knowledgeable guide Nate. We had a wonderful clear night at the summit and learned a great deal about our galaxy.
Very much recommended.

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing tour, where we were lucky enough to go on a long hike into the volcano. Our guide had an amazing knowledge of the nature around us. We did have a wet day, but it didn't ruin our day at all. The glow of the caldera against the low clouds was very Eerie! I'd definitely go again!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Absolutely amazing! Summit and sunset spectacular. Guide entertaining and knowledgeable. Dinner left much to be desired, only negative. That aside, this was a must do, so glad we did it!!

Doing what: Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message