Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 545 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Chris, our guide, arrived promptly for morning pickup. Riding accommodations were very nice. He narrated throughout the journey but not constantly to distract from viewing the sites. We stopped for a brief lunch which was light in nature.The weather was sketchy at times with a huge downpour in Hilo, but that's what Hilo is all about. The timing of the rain was really perfect to view Rainbow Falls and then we visited Big Island Candies which was great for samples and staying dry. We proceeded to Volcano National Park for a tour and stopped several times to explore. Then we had dinner at Kilauea Lodge and Restaurant which was very good and I would recommend to anyone even if not on a tour. After dinner we went to the Thurston lava tube, even though already dark, made for no crowds and we could take our time. We were informed that even a portion of a great movie had been filmed thereyou'll have to go to find the answer. Finally, to the highlight of the trip was viewing the bubbling lava in the Kilauea Caldera, even though from a mile away, from the Jaggar Museum overlook as well as our guide's more private spot away from crowds. The night weather was perfect as the rains had gone and the sky was full of stars, including a couple of shooting stars while we were there viewing the caldera. The trip back to our lodging was quiet and restful as it was a long day. My wife and I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Note from Viator: Supplier Comment: Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Chris! He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide with top notch hospitality allowing our guests to sit back and enjoy the day. We are so happy to hear that you also enjoyed all of the sights and treats throughout the day! Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island.

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great day and a very informative one all about volcanoes and everything to do with them. The volcano put on a manificent show for us at night.Steve was awesome and very informative. The lunch and dinner spots were good and the food was very enjoyable. Would have loved to have got out of the bus a bit more but think the weather being quite wet might have changed the schedule a little bit.
It was a very good tour for getting an insight to the island and the vast climates and landscapes. Steve was very prepared and we all got a blanket to cuddle up to on the way home in the bus. We also had a hot towel to wash our faces with before we drove back at night. he thought of everything and was a great host. Excellent tour would definitely recommend it as a top tour to go on.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Lee B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An outstanding tour of volcanoes, with Jim Carey! It doesn and #39;t get any better... actually it does.
You have a great dinner at the Kilauea Lodge, then finish the night viewing the lava glow. And yes, your guide and #39;s name really is Jim Carey - and he and #39;s funny, and full of stories and information.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Gary E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is very informative! Our guide, Kaj, was an environmental scientist, who loves Hawaii's culture, lore, and was extremely knowledgeable! The tour was very long, 14 hrs, due to the time it took to pick up and drop off passengers at their hotels. Recommend meeting the tour at the office, with your own transportation. We felt very satisfied!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a great experience! Our pilot, Troy was exceptional in telling the story of the Big Island. He took us up close and personal with the volcano and its amazing history. The flight into the green caverns was amazing. Absolutely the best way to start your stay on the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Spectacular experience! This will stay in my memory forever!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

kathleen g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great trip. Well worth time and money. Lots of fun, interesting, and beautiful sights.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unusually erudite and knowledgeable tour guide Jim provided insight into early, and modern Hawaain cultures. The tour cleverly avoided crowds. We were able to spend time in the Lava tube with no other visitors, and experience the volcano simmering at night. Full sit down dinner was pleasant, Informal but fine dining in a lodge setting. A 12 hour day with lots to see and all comforts accounted for.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Florence R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent, the tour guide made sure that we could get views of the volcanoes and waterfalls. He was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Sureen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bike tour is pretty cool, a great way to get an overview of the national park. After the tour, we were able to spend some time exploring the park in greater detail with suggestions from the tour.
The guides are very knowledgeable about the park and Hawaiian folklore, and quick to tell a good story. The ride itself is quite easy so suitable for all fitness levels.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Richard C C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Katy At Hawaiian Adventure Guides was fantastic, the tour went ahead with just my wife and myself.
The late night viewing of kilaua was the highlight.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Gerald F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

By far, the best part of our trip to Hawaii! Interesting, fun, informative...an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Judi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

John was a wonderful and funny tour guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Judi P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

John was a wonderful and funny tour guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Andy L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

We flew with Paradise Helicopters in Hilo, and our pilot was Colin. We went with the 45 minute, open door helicopter tour. The price was a bit steep, but we thought it would be worth the experience. We were a little disappointed that we didn't see much red hot lava flowing, only one small glimpse in a tiny crater, but of course, that's nature for you! The views very beautiful, but the weather was not the greatest, as well - cloudy and rainy. Our guide Colin was informative and flew us over Kīlauea Volcano. The helicopter is a bit tight and squishy, so I wouldn't recommend this tour for anyone who gets claustrophobic or motion sickness. I am very short and small at 5' tall, and even for me there wasn't much leg room sitting in the centre front. Overall, I'd do this once for the experience, but probably wouldn't try it again.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Katie, was excellent!! Very knowledgeable and a great guide for the day. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Edward K N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well coordinated tool. Katie was great. Very Friendly and very knowledgeable

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Randi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Due to my two friends' flight being severly delayed, I was the only one on my group that was able to attend this all day adventure. Despite being the only one in my group, our tour guide, Jim, made sure I was included and not the odd man out in the tour group. This experience includes a lot of driving, but Jim kept us entertained with a lot of facts and stories about the island and its culture. I really enjoyed being able to see a good chunk of the island and seeing the volcano. Luckily, weather was cooperating with us. Overall I had a good time on this experience and would recommend it for anyone looking to learn a lot about the island.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome! Chris, our guide, was amazing. It and #39;s about a 12 hour tour, lots of stops for pictures, candy store visit, lunch and dinner. Well worth it; it and #39;s just hard to describe how awesome it was looking at the volcano at night. One of the highlights of our trip!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Rachel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jim Carey was a great guide, very knowledgable! He made learning about Hawaii very fun! This was a full day tour but worth it!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Gregory A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

i would recommend this tour to anyone who hasn and #39;t been on the big island before. You get to see a lot of the island during the tour and Katie the tour guide was amazing. She was very informative and had a great sense of humor. It was a really good day.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great tour. Sean was our pilot. He had so much info about the island. We saw lava flowing and amazing waterfalls. Company was easy to communicate with beforehand as well.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message