Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 568 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William R W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great experience for my husband. He especially enjoyed the fantastic views of the volcanoes. Unfortunately they didn't have bike small enough for my short stature. I rode in the van which was great talking to Driver Pretty. Mike was great at explaining volcano facts. He even gave a great hint for watching the sunset and seeing the colors in the crater. Great trip!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing tour, where we were lucky enough to go on a long hike into the volcano. Our guide had an amazing knowledge of the nature around us. We did have a wet day, but it didn't ruin our day at all. The glow of the caldera against the low clouds was very Eerie! I'd definitely go again!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip. Flying directly over the lava pools and the lava hitting the ocean was the only way to really experience the volcano. Great fly-bys over the waterfalls. Truly the only way to get a good appreciation for the terrain of the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

collinpritchard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great! Check in was smooth, staff were very friendly and helpful, safety presentation was very good. Flight and pilot were great, just wish it was longer. Loved the music playing during our flight!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Karyn V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour and easy to find the helicopter check in at the airport.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

MickiD

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is a fantastic tour, our expert tour guide, Jim really know Hawaiian culture, information about everything you are seeing and doing. This is a long tour, due to visiting the volcano from kona, it's a long drive. The lunch and especially dinner were terrific. But, the best thing is seeing the very active volcano at night! Jim has his high quality binoculars to give everyone an upclose view of the volcanic activity. Jim has a wealth of knowledge about hawaii. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Linda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was incredible...especially if you only have a few days on The Big Island. You get a great overview of the raw natural beauty of the island...this 12 hour tour turned out to be 13 hours and loved every minute of it. Everything was handled on this tour including a hand packed lunch, visit to the lava fields, waterfalls in the rain. Seeing the lava flow during the day, walk through the lava tubes/rain forest at sunset, visit to the candy/cookie factory and an outstanding dinner at the Volcano Lodge. But the most incredible thing of all is seeing the lava flows/eruptions at night...Mother Nature in all her glory. Incredible!!! This tour provides everything that you might need, from umbrellas, flashlights to parkas...and yes, you you need them. Our tour guide was the best, forgive me I can't remember his name, but he knew everything about everything on the island. Highly recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Anna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

That was an amazing experience!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide JIm was really good,I would suggest you ask for him

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Michelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had such an amazing experience learning the history and all the sites the national park has to offer!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Michael W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see the island. Weather can affect flight and caused cancellation of our first scheduled flight. Flowing lava into the sea is very impressive view. Note that there are restrictions on how close helicopters can approach the eruptions in Volcano National Park. Facing backwards was not the best seat for viewing or photography. Mountains on north end of the island extremely impressive. Brief landing was plus for trip.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Excellent tour which was well worth the price. Even though it's a lot of road time, Justin had lots of information to share which kept things interesting. We saw a nice variety of landscapes and features, the tour was paced well, enough time to enjoy but not too long at any one place.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Heather S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had a great time on this tour! Chris was extremely knowledgeable about this island history, botany, and local sites. He was very friendly and goes out of his way to make sure everyone is happy. The volcano was incredible!

My mom's only complaint, which could not be avoided, was how long the tour was. We were the first to be picked up and the last to be dropped off, which made for a very long day, and late night. Luckily, I was able to sleep in the very comfortable van.

I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Kiang Hong T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Due to some schedule clashes, we had to make a last minute request to change our booking to another day. Lucky for us, Forest Trail was really accommodating and assisted us in arranging for a new date.

The volcano national park tour was really interesting and educational. Our tour guide Matthew also made sure we are well taken care of during the tour. Kudos to Forest Trail for making the tour an enjoyable one for us!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Rod R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We have taken many tours in Hawaii and elsewhere but this was on of the best we have had. The driver Nick was entertaining and knowledgeable about the area. He also went out of his way to take pictures of us so we both could be on the trip. Both lunch and dinner were excellent, the dinner at the Lodge was one of the better meals we had on Hawaii. I strongly recommend this tour to anyone visiting the Big Island.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

One of the best tours we have ever done, Jim Carey our tour guide. He was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and a credit to the company....Would go and do it again in a heartbeat ....The crater was glowing too...

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Lewis M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Outstanding trip, tour guide and dinner!!!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Arturo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful day, our guide was the owner of his company and he was very knowledgeable, entertaining and helpful. He thought of everything all the little extras. We would highly recommend this tour, dinner was great , the volcano views simply amazing we have many special memories. Thank You!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Tara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2016

Jim was fantastic! He kept the trip entertaining and we got a ton of fun education along the way. Loved the chant and seeing the volcano at night was nothing short of once in a lifetime type stuff! The dinner was great and the restaurant was really cute Can't wait to come back!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Foteini K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2016

The tour is oversetimated and overpriced for what you get out of it. Half of the time is spent on pick-ups from the resorts and drop-off driving to the volcano. One can do the same itinerary easily by himself as the main points of the park are visited, nothing you cannot go by yourself by car. The guide was a bit rude and indifferent. The stories not worth the 200 USD... The time to each sight in the volcano park was very limited and resulted in not being able to enjoy the scenery or the volcano as we had to run from one spot to the other very fast. Time for photos was very limited if any, i was very frustrated about that. The tour was running during the iron man event and even if the road was open to and from the resort the company Hawaii Forest and Trail refused to pick me up and announced a different meeting point just one day before the tour by email even if i had paid for this service, they were very rude and inflexible. I would not reccommend this tour except for old people that are not so interested in exploring the park by them selves.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Richard O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

Chris, our guide, arrived promptly for morning pickup. Riding accommodations were very nice. He narrated throughout the journey but not constantly to distract from viewing the sites. We stopped for a brief lunch which was light in nature.The weather was sketchy at times with a huge downpour in Hilo, but that's what Hilo is all about. The timing of the rain was really perfect to view Rainbow Falls and then we visited Big Island Candies which was great for samples and staying dry. We proceeded to Volcano National Park for a tour and stopped several times to explore. Then we had dinner at Kilauea Lodge and Restaurant which was very good and I would recommend to anyone even if not on a tour. After dinner we went to the Thurston lava tube, even though already dark, made for no crowds and we could take our time. We were informed that even a portion of a great movie had been filmed thereyou'll have to go to find the answer. Finally, to the highlight of the trip was viewing the bubbling lava in the Kilauea Caldera, even though from a mile away, from the Jaggar Museum overlook as well as our guide's more private spot away from crowds. The night weather was perfect as the rains had gone and the sky was full of stars, including a couple of shooting stars while we were there viewing the caldera. The trip back to our lodging was quiet and restful as it was a long day. My wife and I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Note from Viator: Supplier Comment: Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Chris! He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide with top notch hospitality allowing our guests to sit back and enjoy the day. We are so happy to hear that you also enjoyed all of the sights and treats throughout the day! Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island.

Deborah C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

We had a great day and a very informative one all about volcanoes and everything to do with them. The volcano put on a manificent show for us at night.Steve was awesome and very informative. The lunch and dinner spots were good and the food was very enjoyable. Would have loved to have got out of the bus a bit more but think the weather being quite wet might have changed the schedule a little bit.
It was a very good tour for getting an insight to the island and the vast climates and landscapes. Steve was very prepared and we all got a blanket to cuddle up to on the way home in the bus. We also had a hot towel to wash our faces with before we drove back at night. he thought of everything and was a great host. Excellent tour would definitely recommend it as a top tour to go on.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Lee B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

An outstanding tour of volcanoes, with Jim Carey! It doesn and #39;t get any better... actually it does.
You have a great dinner at the Kilauea Lodge, then finish the night viewing the lava glow. And yes, your guide and #39;s name really is Jim Carey - and he and #39;s funny, and full of stories and information.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Gary E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

This tour is very informative! Our guide, Kaj, was an environmental scientist, who loves Hawaii's culture, lore, and was extremely knowledgeable! The tour was very long, 14 hrs, due to the time it took to pick up and drop off passengers at their hotels. Recommend meeting the tour at the office, with your own transportation. We felt very satisfied!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Gary H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2016

What a great experience! Our pilot, Troy was exceptional in telling the story of the Big Island. He took us up close and personal with the volcano and its amazing history. The flight into the green caverns was amazing. Absolutely the best way to start your stay on the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message