Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 537 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Linda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Spectacular experience! This will stay in my memory forever!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

kathleen g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Had a great trip. Well worth time and money. Lots of fun, interesting, and beautiful sights.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Unusually erudite and knowledgeable tour guide Jim provided insight into early, and modern Hawaain cultures. The tour cleverly avoided crowds. We were able to spend time in the Lava tube with no other visitors, and experience the volcano simmering at night. Full sit down dinner was pleasant, Informal but fine dining in a lodge setting. A 12 hour day with lots to see and all comforts accounted for.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Florence R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Excellent, the tour guide made sure that we could get views of the volcanoes and waterfalls. He was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Sureen D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The bike tour is pretty cool, a great way to get an overview of the national park. After the tour, we were able to spend some time exploring the park in greater detail with suggestions from the tour.
The guides are very knowledgeable about the park and Hawaiian folklore, and quick to tell a good story. The ride itself is quite easy so suitable for all fitness levels.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Richard O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Chris, our guide, arrived promptly for morning pickup. Riding accommodations were very nice. He narrated throughout the journey but not constantly to distract from viewing the sites. We stopped for a brief lunch which was light in nature.The weather was sketchy at times with a huge downpour in Hilo, but that's what Hilo is all about. The timing of the rain was really perfect to view Rainbow Falls and then we visited Big Island Candies which was great for samples and staying dry. We proceeded to Volcano National Park for a tour and stopped several times to explore. Then we had dinner at Kilauea Lodge and Restaurant which was very good and I would recommend to anyone even if not on a tour. After dinner we went to the Thurston lava tube, even though already dark, made for no crowds and we could take our time. We were informed that even a portion of a great movie had been filmed thereyou'll have to go to find the answer. Finally, to the highlight of the trip was viewing the bubbling lava in the Kilauea Caldera, even though from a mile away, from the Jaggar Museum overlook as well as our guide's more private spot away from crowds. The night weather was perfect as the rains had gone and the sky was full of stars, including a couple of shooting stars while we were there viewing the caldera. The trip back to our lodging was quiet and restful as it was a long day. My wife and I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Andy L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2016

We flew with Paradise Helicopters in Hilo, and our pilot was Colin. We went with the 45 minute, open door helicopter tour. The price was a bit steep, but we thought it would be worth the experience. We were a little disappointed that we didn't see much red hot lava flowing, only one small glimpse in a tiny crater, but of course, that's nature for you! The views very beautiful, but the weather was not the greatest, as well - cloudy and rainy. Our guide Colin was informative and flew us over Kīlauea Volcano. The helicopter is a bit tight and squishy, so I wouldn't recommend this tour for anyone who gets claustrophobic or motion sickness. I am very short and small at 5' tall, and even for me there wasn't much leg room sitting in the centre front. Overall, I'd do this once for the experience, but probably wouldn't try it again.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Sarah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guide, Katie, was excellent!! Very knowledgeable and a great guide for the day. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Edward K N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Very well coordinated tool. Katie was great. Very Friendly and very knowledgeable

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Randi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Due to my two friends' flight being severly delayed, I was the only one on my group that was able to attend this all day adventure. Despite being the only one in my group, our tour guide, Jim, made sure I was included and not the odd man out in the tour group. This experience includes a lot of driving, but Jim kept us entertained with a lot of facts and stories about the island and its culture. I really enjoyed being able to see a good chunk of the island and seeing the volcano. Luckily, weather was cooperating with us. Overall I had a good time on this experience and would recommend it for anyone looking to learn a lot about the island.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

chris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This tour was awesome! Chris, our guide, was amazing. It and #39;s about a 12 hour tour, lots of stops for pictures, candy store visit, lunch and dinner. Well worth it; it and #39;s just hard to describe how awesome it was looking at the volcano at night. One of the highlights of our trip!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Rachel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Jim Carey was a great guide, very knowledgable! He made learning about Hawaii very fun! This was a full day tour but worth it!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Gregory A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

i would recommend this tour to anyone who hasn and #39;t been on the big island before. You get to see a lot of the island during the tour and Katie the tour guide was amazing. She was very informative and had a great sense of humor. It was a really good day.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Jennifer C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Such a great tour. Sean was our pilot. He had so much info about the island. We saw lava flowing and amazing waterfalls. Company was easy to communicate with beforehand as well.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Our guides, Mike and Pretty were awesome! We had a small group, about 12. We felt safe and comfortable the whole time. The upright bikes were easy to ride. We learned a lot too! A great way to see the park!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Carolyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Exceeded our expectations! Katie was the best guide!

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

gsracer58

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

Tour guide was excellent. Seeing lava actually coming out of the dome was a spectacular experience. Actually being on a black sand beach was amazing. Quite a long day so be prepared!

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Jane M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

This tour runs out of Hilo and is a great day trip to see the Volcanoes and lava. Our guide - John was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Big Island Hawaii Volcano Adventure

Debbie B

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

We really enjoyed the tour and our guide, Brad, was a very genuine guy. Going to the Jagger Museum at night was a wonderful experience. Dinner at the Kiluea lodge was very good. Definitely enjoyed the night time walk through the lava tube - added a bit of excitement. The only reason that I only gave this four stars is because we had to go to Waikoloa and then begin the tour. So we ended up on the bus for an extra 90 min. It would be nice if it could have started a bit earlier given the extra travel time.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Nancy K

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2016

Great trip and pilot. The day we went up it was right before a tropical storm. It was windy and grey and still beautiful. thanks!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Rochelle R

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2016

The pilot was great. However, the company called me the day before my booking and said, and #34;we need to reschedule you as the kids are not allowed on the flight you booked. and #34; Then they put me on a flight with a kid the same age as my youngest. The reality is the couldn and #39;t get the weights right.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

gerald b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The pilot was GREAT. First helicopter flight for my WIFE. She's HOOKED, Loved it

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message