Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 581 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike the tour guide for great. He loved biking on the volcano. He had wonderful stories and knowledge of the area. Went from the top of the volcanoe down to where we had lunch by the ocean. He also was very safe and looked after the group very well. Gwen the owner drove the back up and was so gracious, loved her business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike was a wonderful guide. He loved biking on the volcanoe, had great stories and knowledge of the area. We went from the top to the ocean where we had lunch. Gwen the owner drove the back up van, was very gracious and loved the business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Marilyn S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The guides were fantastic! Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. This was a great way to tour the park. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Paul T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was great, the pilot excellent.
However, the pre-tour booking experience was not good. The flights I booked on line were not honoured and I had to split my 5 family members across 3 flights, over three hours. This was a huge waste of time due to the limited time we had on the island. This was extremely disappointing, as we could not even get the open door flights we booked except for one of the flights, with 2 of my family members.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Ernie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful time on this informative and exciting tour of the Big Island. Jim Carey is hands down the best tour guide on the island! Would love to take another tour with him as our guide!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Lewis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was FAR AND AWAY the BEST tour we have taken through Viator not that the others were bad this was so good. Everything Kailani Tours did was to ensure we had a wonderful experience. They are well organized and very nice folks to deal with from Chris the owner to Nick our tour driver/guide who was very knowledgeable and just the nicest guy, felt like your favorite nephew was there looking out for you. Lunch was very good and dinner was fantastic. It was cold on the mountain but they had warm parkas for everyone that wanted one and large umbrellas during the rain. They also provide access to their very powerful binoculars on a tripod to better view the lava lake and boy did make a difference.As an added bonus we used the binoculars to stargaze on the way back to the hotel. Hawaii and needing a parka who would have thunk it!? This turned out to be the highlight of our short time on the Island. I highly recommend you tour the volcano with Kailani to really enhance the experience. DON'T MISS THIS it is awesome!!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

YIMIN X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Mark's the tour guide passion about the island, wildlife, Hawaiian culture and volcanoes is infectious. He is a wealth of knowledge which can rival any wikipedia page on the topic. Even though the weather was a cloudy and rainy at times, Mark's enthusiasm over the 12 hour tour never waned. He is a national treasure.

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Remarkable, well planned and well executed excursion. Not only did Justin make the long trip enjoyable, he even managed to wonderfully balance the weather, schedule, and a hungry group of travelers.

Our itinerary included Volcano NP and surrounding areas, with pick ups from the Kona side of the island. Yes, it was a long day, but full with memories!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

michelle m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing trip! The pilot flew us over Kīlauea and to areas of active lava flow, which made for great pictures! He also took us down to where the lava met the ocean. He told us about the volcano and the many eruptions that have occurred. He was very knowledgeable. Next, he took us to fly over the Rainbow Falls, which was really pretty. In all locations, the pilot made sure that both sides of the helicopter got to see the sites. The only caution I would give is, if you get air sick, make sure you let the pilot know. The corkscrew turns to get pictures of the sites can make you pretty sick. But I wouldn't let that stop you from taking the trip!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Shaun B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

this trip was incredible. everything was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

KOK YIN C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommended Tour !!
Our family had a great time and we are glad to have Dominik as our guide. He is very knowledgable, caring, attentive to our individual needs and always take the extra effort to ensure we are having a good time.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Thanks so much to Katie our tour guide, everything well arranged, and explains to us so clear and well in every locations.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

William R W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great experience for my husband. He especially enjoyed the fantastic views of the volcanoes. Unfortunately they didn't have bike small enough for my short stature. I rode in the van which was great talking to Driver Pretty. Mike was great at explaining volcano facts. He even gave a great hint for watching the sunset and seeing the colors in the crater. Great trip!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

An amazing tour, where we were lucky enough to go on a long hike into the volcano. Our guide had an amazing knowledge of the nature around us. We did have a wet day, but it didn't ruin our day at all. The glow of the caldera against the low clouds was very Eerie! I'd definitely go again!

Doing what: Volcano National Park Small Group Twilight Tour

John K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great trip. Flying directly over the lava pools and the lava hitting the ocean was the only way to really experience the volcano. Great fly-bys over the waterfalls. Truly the only way to get a good appreciation for the terrain of the Big Island.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

collinpritchard

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Everything was great! Check in was smooth, staff were very friendly and helpful, safety presentation was very good. Flight and pilot were great, just wish it was longer. Loved the music playing during our flight!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Karyn V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Great tour and easy to find the helicopter check in at the airport.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

MickiD

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This is a fantastic tour, our expert tour guide, Jim really know Hawaiian culture, information about everything you are seeing and doing. This is a long tour, due to visiting the volcano from kona, it's a long drive. The lunch and especially dinner were terrific. But, the best thing is seeing the very active volcano at night! Jim has his high quality binoculars to give everyone an upclose view of the volcanic activity. Jim has a wealth of knowledge about hawaii. Definitely worth it.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Linda J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This tour was incredible...especially if you only have a few days on The Big Island. You get a great overview of the raw natural beauty of the island...this 12 hour tour turned out to be 13 hours and loved every minute of it. Everything was handled on this tour including a hand packed lunch, visit to the lava fields, waterfalls in the rain. Seeing the lava flow during the day, walk through the lava tubes/rain forest at sunset, visit to the candy/cookie factory and an outstanding dinner at the Volcano Lodge. But the most incredible thing of all is seeing the lava flows/eruptions at night...Mother Nature in all her glory. Incredible!!! This tour provides everything that you might need, from umbrellas, flashlights to parkas...and yes, you you need them. Our tour guide was the best, forgive me I can't remember his name, but he knew everything about everything on the island. Highly recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Anna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

That was an amazing experience!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Our guide JIm was really good,I would suggest you ask for him

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Michelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We had such an amazing experience learning the history and all the sites the national park has to offer!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Michael W

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2016

Great way to see the island. Weather can affect flight and caused cancellation of our first scheduled flight. Flowing lava into the sea is very impressive view. Note that there are restrictions on how close helicopters can approach the eruptions in Volcano National Park. Facing backwards was not the best seat for viewing or photography. Mountains on north end of the island extremely impressive. Brief landing was plus for trip.

Doing what: Volcano and Kohala Landing Helicopter Tour on the Big Island

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message