Volcanoes not only created the amazing mountains, valleys and waterfalls of Hawaii, they also allowed magnificent tropical plants to flourish in the mineral-rich soil. On the Big Island of Hawaii, these fiery outcrops continue to work their magic: ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 464 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leanna R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

An opportunity to see amazing natural events with a guide, Jim Carey, who was really knowledgeable. He covered historical, natural, musical, spiritual and political connections to what we saw. He did a great job of taking care of each of us. Our hotel was on the Kona side and it's a long trip to the volcanoes. Driving on our own we would never had stayed to see the volcanoes and stars at night, and they were highlights of the trip. Also the tour provided amenities like flashlights, binoculars, parkas and a telescope. Food was good at lunch and dinner.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Thomas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Outstanding guide Nick Phillips was fully informed and well equipped for his role. He gave us tremendous back ground on the history of the people and their society and of course on the history of the volcanoes and the balance of the Island's topography. The lunch stop was very pleasant at the picnic grounds and the dinner restaurant was outstanding. Really good food and service.

After lunch we pulled into Hilo which is a classic Hawaiian town with very lush vegetation and where the Rainbow Falls is located. Our next stop was at the really cool Thurston Lava Tube.

After the great dinner at the Kilauea Lodge Nick took us to see the Kilauea caldera which was very active and easily seen through our personal binoculars and his huge tripod mounted binoculars. He then turned his binoculars skyward and gave us a tremendous view of the moon and the Milky Way. He showed us how to take pictures through the binoculars with our iPhones!! That's cool.

Throughout the 12 hour day Nick kept us amused and informed. He was most interesting because he had done his research and it showed.

I use to be in the guide business and I was very impressed with Nick.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Casey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Well worth it - excellent tour guide, vehicle, and food - especially the dinner! Very nice restaurant with excellent food. Seeing the volcanic lava was awesome. And our guide was excellent - knowledgable, and entertaining. This tour was the highlight of our multiple big island excursions.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

maggie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

We had a terrific day and evening with our guides Chris and Cory. In addition to everything volcano, we also receied great Hawaiian culture and history information during the journey from the comfort of a cozy Mercedes leather seat, plus insights into the flora, fauna and wildlife. Loved the Rainbow Falls vista, the hike inside the nearby Banyan tree, lava tube walk where Indiana Jones was filmed fleeing from the fireball and nearby tropical forest, the Kilauea steam vents, and, of course, the bubbling and leaping magma both day and night views. The lunch and dinner were excellent three cheers for the selection of the Kilauea Lodge and it's delicious food, service and old Hawaii ambience. Chris and Cory were extremely attentive to our questions and comfort...we were even offered warm moist towels for freshening after dinner and cookies to enjoy on the ride back to Kona. We'd absolutely repeat or try another Kailani Hawaii Tours in the future! Thank you to the Kailani Hawaii Tours team!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

idunno66

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2017

Started off well with good visits to the locations that were described. After the volcano it should have been a 1 hour and 45 minute return to our hotel. Instead the guide decided to run a Taxi service to the other side of the Island to drop off one guest resulting in a 3 hour drive back to Kona.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

MELISSA073193

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2017

Unfortunately our time slot was given to a group from the cruise ship as they have priority for those time slots I guess since they have a limited time in port. I had booked several months in advance. The folks who had our time slot got their tour. Ours was called off due to weather.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike the tour guide for great. He loved biking on the volcano. He had wonderful stories and knowledge of the area. Went from the top of the volcanoe down to where we had lunch by the ocean. He also was very safe and looked after the group very well. Gwen the owner drove the back up and was so gracious, loved her business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Katherine B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Mike was a wonderful guide. He loved biking on the volcanoe, had great stories and knowledge of the area. We went from the top to the ocean where we had lunch. Gwen the owner drove the back up van, was very gracious and loved the business and the people she served.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

ted_n_wang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I liked the smaller helicopters because one can zoom around like a sports car. Also, each side can have doors off, so opportunity for great pictures and actually feel the heat from the volcanos. We went to several Viatar excursions this trip and the helicopter ride was definitely the best.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Neville R C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

An absolutely marvellous, unforgettable experience. Great pilot, great helicopter and unbelievable views. Would recommend this to anyone who wants to see the volcano and the exit of the lava to the ocean.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Charles V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Really had a great time on the bike tour. Tour guide was exceptional. He took time will all level of riders which we had. We had a great time and would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Judith O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We actually ended up taking the Summit Tour since there were not enough people for this one. They did their best to accommodate us but the alternate date did not work. Gwendolyn was very helpful in getting the change made. The organizers provided everything we needed including rain gear - a must for the day we went. They also gave good attention to safety and sustenance for the ride. Mike was an entertaining and informative tour guide while on our bikes. Pretty drove the support vehicle and also information about some of the sites. We would highly recommend this tour. The group was small - only ten in ours with a max of twelve - the staff was very personable.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Patricia E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

I think our tour director did a great job getting us out of the vehicle and move around every 45-60 minutes. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. We really enjoyed the small size of the group and how much personal attention each person seemed to garner throughout the tour. The lunch was good and the dinner at the lodge near the volcano was great. Would highly recommend this tour. It may seem pricey but the cost was worth a wonderfully spent day.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Claire M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We highly recommend this tour. Nick, our guide, was friendly, very knowledgable, a great story teller, and oh, so, thoughtful. The meals were great - especially the restaurant. The hot towels proffered after a very cold star gazing episode was heavenly. Really, couldn't have asked for a better guide or a better day. Oh, dress extremely warmly for the end of the day. Gloves and hats are not overkill.

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Marilyn S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

The guides were fantastic! Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. This was a great way to tour the park. I would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Paul T

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2017

The tour was great, the pilot excellent.
However, the pre-tour booking experience was not good. The flights I booked on line were not honoured and I had to split my 5 family members across 3 flights, over three hours. This was a huge waste of time due to the limited time we had on the island. This was extremely disappointing, as we could not even get the open door flights we booked except for one of the flights, with 2 of my family members.

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfall Extreme: 45-Minute Open-Door Volcanoes Helicopter Flight

Ernie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Wonderful time on this informative and exciting tour of the Big Island. Jim Carey is hands down the best tour guide on the island! Would love to take another tour with him as our guide!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

Lewis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was FAR AND AWAY the BEST tour we have taken through Viator not that the others were bad this was so good. Everything Kailani Tours did was to ensure we had a wonderful experience. They are well organized and very nice folks to deal with from Chris the owner to Nick our tour driver/guide who was very knowledgeable and just the nicest guy, felt like your favorite nephew was there looking out for you. Lunch was very good and dinner was fantastic. It was cold on the mountain but they had warm parkas for everyone that wanted one and large umbrellas during the rain. They also provide access to their very powerful binoculars on a tripod to better view the lava lake and boy did make a difference.As an added bonus we used the binoculars to stargaze on the way back to the hotel. Hawaii and needing a parka who would have thunk it!? This turned out to be the highlight of our short time on the Island. I highly recommend you tour the volcano with Kailani to really enhance the experience. DON'T MISS THIS it is awesome!!

Doing what: Small Group Tour: Deluxe Volcano Experience with Restaurant Dinner

michelle m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

This was an amazing trip! The pilot flew us over Kīlauea and to areas of active lava flow, which made for great pictures! He also took us down to where the lava met the ocean. He told us about the volcano and the many eruptions that have occurred. He was very knowledgeable. Next, he took us to fly over the Rainbow Falls, which was really pretty. In all locations, the pilot made sure that both sides of the helicopter got to see the sites. The only caution I would give is, if you get air sick, make sure you let the pilot know. The corkscrew turns to get pictures of the sites can make you pretty sick. But I wouldn't let that stop you from taking the trip!

Doing what: Volcanoes and Waterfalls Helicopter Adventure from Hilo

Shaun B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

this trip was incredible. everything was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

KOK YIN C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Highly recommended Tour !!
Our family had a great time and we are glad to have Dominik as our guide. He is very knowledgable, caring, attentive to our individual needs and always take the extra effort to ensure we are having a good time.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

Peter T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2016

Thanks so much to Katie our tour guide, everything well arranged, and explains to us so clear and well in every locations.

Doing what: Small-Group Big Island Tour: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Kona Coffee Farm

William R W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

This was a great experience for my husband. He especially enjoyed the fantastic views of the volcanoes. Unfortunately they didn't have bike small enough for my short stature. I rode in the van which was great talking to Driver Pretty. Mike was great at explaining volcano facts. He even gave a great hint for watching the sunset and seeing the colors in the crater. Great trip!

Doing what: Kilauea Volcano Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message