Bogotá ATTRACTIONS See all

La Candelaria (Historic Old Town)

And even today it is the cultural heart of modern Bogota’s slapdash modern sprawl: the graceful and carefully planned Spanish colonial city center, known as the Candelaria. The oldest part of the city is now the province of young artists and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Outstanding tour with a wonderful guide Santiago, who was super-knowledgeable about all the sites we visited and the history of Bogota and of Colombia more broadly. We had a ton of fun and a fascinating experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: La Candelaria Walking Tour in Bogotá

Randi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

They did a great job accommodating us since we got there so late. It was a safe way to see the city.

Doing what: Bogotá by Night City Tour

Unni F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2017

Very interesting with a super guide

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Edita M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2017

The tour in question should be about sightseeing tour of Bogota with a cable car ride to Monserrat.That ride up to Monserrat was done,but was told up there that the Church was closed that day, the sightseeing tour of Bogota was limited to the museum visit, the visit to the goverment square, the Emerald factory , the gold museum was also closed for the day. Tour guide was inadequately silent in pointing out other areas we drove through for us to gain some knowledge about Bogota as we see it close.We are disappointed for this tour.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

bpinzon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We saw so many great things. Our guide, Andres was the best.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Elmer P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed our tour and our tour guide was both fluent and entertaining with all the venues and shopping locations we wanted to see- Kudos to you and your organization! Viva la Patria!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Iliana G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

This tour was a fantastic way to experience Bogota with one of the best guides. Luis Suarez from Via Colombia Travel Services is very professional, kind, knowledgeable, engaging, and friendly. He was excellent!! He was on time and showed us the major sights and museums in the city. We had a great time! Well done!!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Erik H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Had a bit of an issue on the day of when the tour was rescheduled from morning to afternoon but my tour guide more than made up for it with a wonderful tour that packed in everything I needed and wanted to see. Thanks!

Doing what: Bogotá Small-Group Sightseeing Tour with Shopping at Zona Rosa

voehlers Aruba

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Very nice, friendly and helpful guide. I would definitely choose them again and highly recommend them.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Jason A

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2017

This was a good tour and you get to see the highlights of Bogota. The only drawback to it was that it was in a car and not a bus and the tour had a guide and driver and also on this occasion a guide who was learning the job, so, there were the 2 guests crammed into the back of the car, which was not ideal.
I am sure that this is not the way the tour is always run, but, it was a bit inconvenient.
Aside from that, it is well worth doing and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to see the city highlights in a short time.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Yuan L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

I rated this low because i only received an email on Dec. 30 2016 telling me the museums would be closed on Jan. 1, 2017. I would like to cancel the tour but realized that there would be no refund 2 days before the tour.

Danny, the guide, picked me up and dropped me off at the airport, then we walked around the city center. He bought me a breakfast, later we went to Salt Cathedral instead of the coffee tour. I don't feel it is worth the money i paid USD157!

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Gladys N Puerto Rico

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

I would not recommend this tour even to my worst enemy. The tour took us through one of the most dangerous areas of Bogota. Calle 26 y Caracas where our guide made us take shelter from the rain in the street. While we were waiting for the rain to stop we were robed at gun point of our cellulars and bicycles. The response to the incident was completely disorganised . The tour guide did not contact the police and continued to expose the group to danger making us take a taxi in the middle of the most dangerous area. The owners have not contact me to offer any kind of help and people in my hotel are all very worried about this incident being a setup.
Under no circumstances take this tour with this agency. I am glad a survived this awful incident I praise God and wish this doesn't happen to anyone else.

Blessings

Gladysd

Doing what: Bike Tour of Bogotá

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic way to explore Bogota with one of the best guides I have had. Daniel is funny, smart, engaging and can sculpt the tour to your liking.
He was excellent!!!!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

k_braggs

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The car to take us to our hotel was too small for all of our luggage. We had to put luggage inside the car beside/in between us.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Kelly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We absolutely loved this tour. We saw all the major sights and museums in the city, and we had a great time. Our guide, Fabián, was extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone, especially with Fabián as a guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

AK Panama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Jaime D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were with Karen. She was a full time independent guide and we had a different driver with car. We first did Montserrate, using the cable car, a fantastic must-visit site. She had us sample for free the coca tea, which also gave us time to rest to remember, Montserrate was at nearly 9,500 feet above sea level. We then did La Candelaria, the historic neighborhood where the city began and site of several universities. Then it was the fantastic Museo de Botero. We then got back into the car, walked again in a different part of the neighborhood then had a late lunch, courtesy of the tour. It was local Colombian food and the choices were good and filling. We then walked to the Simon Bolivar Square then to the nearby blocks winding up in the presidential palace and San Agustin Church.

We then did Usaquen neighborhood before getting back to the hotel. We were supposed to do Museo de Oro but it was closed on Mondays what a shame since that was going to be the highlight of the tour. But based on the itinerary, we also missed going to Quinta de Bolivar, the International Center near Parque 93, plus supposed stops in additional city neighborhoods. I guess because of those omissions, we finished an hour early. As I often comment, I wish the guides would comply with all the things indicated in the promised itinerary.

We still appreciated Karens great English, accommodating manners, and eagerness to please.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Norbert H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

It was not a private tour at all. A french Stewardess was invited by our tour guide at the Airport. Therefore we had a french and english tour ! Unfortunately the stewardess was more important. Thus, we spend more than 2 hours to bring this person back to her Hotel and just catched our flight !

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Monserrate was nice, fantastic views of the city, lots of beautiful flowers up top. La Candelaria was a bit underwhelming, this historic area has been allowed to fall into terrible condition, but fortunately it looks like it's being restored now. I did like when we stopped for a minute in a small local bar popular among students to try some chicha, which was tasty. The neighborhood itself lacks the requisite richness in history and detail to be interesting on its own. I'd recommend trying to find specific historical figures and stories to tell while walking through to make it more interesting similar to the tale of Bolivar being led out of his window by his mistress to avoid assassination--more of those. The Gold Museum was underwhelming, very repetitive with the same displays essentially being put up in a dozen or so rooms under the names of different ingenious tribes. Even most of the collection in the vault was kind of meh. The first section explaining how gold was mined and worked by these cultures was cool though. I did enjoy being taken to lunch at a popular local spot for some tasty ajiaco, that was nice.

Doing what: Bogota Historic Tour: La Candelaria, Monserrate and Gold Museum

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I enjoyed getting out and seeing the city, the art, and even the unplanned visit to Paloquemao market. Was confined to the car and only slow drivebys for a lot of the most impressive art due to unsafe neighborhoods we passed through. Honestly the market was the best part, loads of interesting and tasty fruits and lots of color and activity everywhere.

Doing what: Private Bogotá Street Art Tour

eglumac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Our tour guide was prompt and picked us up at the assigned time. She was very friendly and a great conversationalist. The tour was scheduled to be a 5 hour tour, however she ended up spending about 6 hours with us. We would not have been able to go to all the places we went to in six hours without the guide. It was well worth the money spent!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Hatajai L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was amazing with Ms. Patricia. She was very accomodating and thorough with the highlights of the city. Also she was very friendly and personable. We enjoyed ourselves greatly.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour- with only a short time in Bogota this tour offered a great taste of the city. Julio was a very knowledgeable and entertaining tour guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Gerald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of the best tours and the guide when out of his was to inform us about this great city and the people. He was on time, spoke french and English, I rate Luise as on of the best guides. This was our first tour on this trip and it set the bar very high for other guides and tours.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Natalia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved the tour! I learned a lot with my super knowledgeable tour guide who was very friendly. She shared her umbrella until I bought one and then it stopped raining, of course. Since it was a private tour, she let me stop everywhere I wanted to shop, look around, and take photos. I was able to pick the place where I wanted to have lunch.

Doing what: Bogota Historic Tour: La Candelaria, Monserrate and Gold Museum

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message