Bogotá ATTRACTIONS See all

La Candelaria (Historic Old Town)

And even today it is the cultural heart of modern Bogota’s slapdash modern sprawl: the graceful and carefully planned Spanish colonial city center, known as the Candelaria. The oldest part of the city is now the province of young artists and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Monserrate was nice, fantastic views of the city, lots of beautiful flowers up top. La Candelaria was a bit underwhelming, this historic area has been allowed to fall into terrible condition, but fortunately it looks like it's being restored now. I did like when we stopped for a minute in a small local bar popular among students to try some chicha, which was tasty. The neighborhood itself lacks the requisite richness in history and detail to be interesting on its own. I'd recommend trying to find specific historical figures and stories to tell while walking through to make it more interesting similar to the tale of Bolivar being led out of his window by his mistress to avoid assassination--more of those. The Gold Museum was underwhelming, very repetitive with the same displays essentially being put up in a dozen or so rooms under the names of different ingenious tribes. Even most of the collection in the vault was kind of meh. The first section explaining how gold was mined and worked by these cultures was cool though. I did enjoy being taken to lunch at a popular local spot for some tasty ajiaco, that was nice.

Doing what: Bogota Historic Tour: La Candelaria, Monserrate and Gold Museum

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I enjoyed getting out and seeing the city, the art, and even the unplanned visit to Paloquemao market. Was confined to the car and only slow drivebys for a lot of the most impressive art due to unsafe neighborhoods we passed through. Honestly the market was the best part, loads of interesting and tasty fruits and lots of color and activity everywhere.

Doing what: Private Bogotá Street Art Tour

eglumac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Our tour guide was prompt and picked us up at the assigned time. She was very friendly and a great conversationalist. The tour was scheduled to be a 5 hour tour, however she ended up spending about 6 hours with us. We would not have been able to go to all the places we went to in six hours without the guide. It was well worth the money spent!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Hatajai L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was amazing with Ms. Patricia. She was very accomodating and thorough with the highlights of the city. Also she was very friendly and personable. We enjoyed ourselves greatly.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour- with only a short time in Bogota this tour offered a great taste of the city. Julio was a very knowledgeable and entertaining tour guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Gerald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of the best tours and the guide when out of his was to inform us about this great city and the people. He was on time, spoke french and English, I rate Luise as on of the best guides. This was our first tour on this trip and it set the bar very high for other guides and tours.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Natalia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved the tour! I learned a lot with my super knowledgeable tour guide who was very friendly. She shared her umbrella until I bought one and then it stopped raining, of course. Since it was a private tour, she let me stop everywhere I wanted to shop, look around, and take photos. I was able to pick the place where I wanted to have lunch.

Doing what: Bogota Historic Tour: La Candelaria, Monserrate and Gold Museum

Debra C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I have provided feedback but seem to keep getting requests.... Maybe because I keep giving it low ratings. I
The guide (which in my opinion) makes the trip was very distracted. He was in the phone multiple times (4) with someone. He left us alone for some time in a museum.

Doing what: Bogotá by Night City Tour

Stingray

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide Fernando was very informative and humorous!

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! You see a lot of Bogota in a short time and the view from Mount Monserrate is beautiful.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked the full-day tour of Bogota because I had a limited amount of time in the city but wanted a thorough exposure as much as you can get in one day without feeling rushed. Fabian arrived on schedule at my hotel. He asked if I had any specific interests and said that he could be flexible based on what I wanted to do. I told him that I wanted to see Monserrate, the Quinta de Bolivar, the gold museum and La Candelaria. I also told him that I was interested in the author Gabriel Garcia Marquez who had spent time and worked in Bogota for the local paper for a period. Fabian was very personable and knowledgeable about a variety of subjects, including my interests, and we had a great day together discussing various topics. We started at Monserrate which was not crowded at that time in the morning which saved us having to wait in line for the funicular. He shared his knowledge and pointed out some very interesting things throughout the day that made this tour well worth it to me. We stopped at a local restaurant for lunch before leaving La Candelaria to head north and that was a great choice as well.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Jorinne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fernando was an excellent guide - he gave us a great overview of Bogota with enough insight to really understand the history and culture of this great city!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Andreea V

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a nice tour of the city. Pick-up from hotel was on time and Fernando was a good guide. Knowledgeable and with a perfect English . Really recommend this tour, as Bogota is a big city and cannot be covered otherwise .

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Eric M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide, Emilio, and the driver, Juan David, were fantastic. The guide spoke excellent English and also spoke in Spanish, as we were trying to practice. He not only gave us a thorough explanation and interesting details on all of the sights, he engaged us in conversations about Colombian history, culture, food, etc. We had been to Bogota before, but the sights seemed new to us with all of the additional explanation and context. He offered us little experiences along the way, like finding us the best Ajiaco and Chicha along the way. Emilio was excellent at suggesting little breaks along the way to keep our legs fresh. It was a jam-packed day, but it was an excellent tour, and I would highly recommend it! The whole family loved it.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Veronica H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I really enjoyed the tour. I was lucky because it was a personalized tour, just for me!! No one else booked that day.
The tour guide was really kind to explain everything it was evident she enjoys what she does and knows her job very well. Her explanations were really clear and it was a fun time we shared together because she was also very friendly. I particularly loved Museo de Botero, so interesting and pretty.
Bogota is a beautiful city and of course there's more to see, I'll sure be coming back!

Doing what: Bogotá Small-Group Sightseeing Tour with Shopping at Zona Rosa

Adam T

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour guide was great however all the tours in Colombia are extremely expensive. It was good to see some areas of the City that you would have most likely walked straight past. Bogota is an awesome city but most can be seen on foot by yourself. In saying that though, you would not know much about the history of the city.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I was curious about Columbia and wanted to doing something enriching during a long layover in Bogota. This layover tour was perfect and was very invigorating. The guide was friendly, knowledgeable, and enthusiastic. He was very accommodating when we discussed what areas to visit. This tour is a great value for the money because you are given safe transportation and assistance through the city.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

veronique_1998

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great experience! Definitely beats staying at the airport for long layovers. My guide Luis was very knowledgeable and passionate about showing me his city. We got a lot done in about 7 hours.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Chad P United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Even though it rained and I was feeling a bit unwell, my guide, Angela, made this an enjoyable and unforgettable introduction to Bogota and Colombia! She was friendly, energetic and extremely knowledgeable, tailoring our afternoon to suit my interests and mood. I would highly recommend this city tour with her.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very nice way to see Bogota!

Doing what: Bogotá by Night City Tour

kedwards01

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very nice way to see Bogota with a very informative guide

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Meghan M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The pick up and drop off went smoothly. Also liked that we ended up changing the tour to suit our time. Skipping museums in favor of walking around. Guide was well informed and friendly. It was definitely pricey for a short tour but a great way to see some of Bogota on a layover.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message