Bogotá ATTRACTIONS See all

La Candelaria (Historic Old Town)

And even today it is the cultural heart of modern Bogota’s slapdash modern sprawl: the graceful and carefully planned Spanish colonial city center, known as the Candelaria. The oldest part of the city is now the province of young artists and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 107 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

bpinzon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

We saw so many great things. Our guide, Andres was the best.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Elmer P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2017

Enjoyed our tour and our tour guide was both fluent and entertaining with all the venues and shopping locations we wanted to see- Kudos to you and your organization! Viva la Patria!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Yuan L

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2017

I rated this low because i only received an email on Dec. 30 2016 telling me the museums would be closed on Jan. 1, 2017. I would like to cancel the tour but realized that there would be no refund 2 days before the tour.

Danny, the guide, picked me up and dropped me off at the airport, then we walked around the city center. He bought me a breakfast, later we went to Salt Cathedral instead of the coffee tour. I don't feel it is worth the money i paid USD157!

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Gladys N Puerto Rico

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2017

I would not recommend this tour even to my worst enemy. The tour took us through one of the most dangerous areas of Bogota. Calle 26 y Caracas where our guide made us take shelter from the rain in the street. While we were waiting for the rain to stop we were robed at gun point of our cellulars and bicycles. The response to the incident was completely disorganised . The tour guide did not contact the police and continued to expose the group to danger making us take a taxi in the middle of the most dangerous area. The owners have not contact me to offer any kind of help and people in my hotel are all very worried about this incident being a setup.
Under no circumstances take this tour with this agency. I am glad a survived this awful incident I praise God and wish this doesn't happen to anyone else.

Blessings

Gladysd

Doing what: Bike Tour of Bogotá

Michael K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2016

Fantastic way to explore Bogota with one of the best guides I have had. Daniel is funny, smart, engaging and can sculpt the tour to your liking.
He was excellent!!!!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

k_braggs

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2016

The car to take us to our hotel was too small for all of our luggage. We had to put luggage inside the car beside/in between us.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Kelly H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

We absolutely loved this tour. We saw all the major sights and museums in the city, and we had a great time. Our guide, Fabián, was extremely knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone, especially with Fabián as a guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

AK Panama

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2016

Jaime D

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2016

We were with Karen. She was a full time independent guide and we had a different driver with car. We first did Montserrate, using the cable car, a fantastic must-visit site. She had us sample for free the coca tea, which also gave us time to rest to remember, Montserrate was at nearly 9,500 feet above sea level. We then did La Candelaria, the historic neighborhood where the city began and site of several universities. Then it was the fantastic Museo de Botero. We then got back into the car, walked again in a different part of the neighborhood then had a late lunch, courtesy of the tour. It was local Colombian food and the choices were good and filling. We then walked to the Simon Bolivar Square then to the nearby blocks winding up in the presidential palace and San Agustin Church.

We then did Usaquen neighborhood before getting back to the hotel. We were supposed to do Museo de Oro but it was closed on Mondays what a shame since that was going to be the highlight of the tour. But based on the itinerary, we also missed going to Quinta de Bolivar, the International Center near Parque 93, plus supposed stops in additional city neighborhoods. I guess because of those omissions, we finished an hour early. As I often comment, I wish the guides would comply with all the things indicated in the promised itinerary.

We still appreciated Karens great English, accommodating manners, and eagerness to please.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Norbert H

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2016

It was not a private tour at all. A french Stewardess was invited by our tour guide at the Airport. Therefore we had a french and english tour ! Unfortunately the stewardess was more important. Thus, we spend more than 2 hours to bring this person back to her Hotel and just catched our flight !

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2016

Monserrate was nice, fantastic views of the city, lots of beautiful flowers up top. La Candelaria was a bit underwhelming, this historic area has been allowed to fall into terrible condition, but fortunately it looks like it's being restored now. I did like when we stopped for a minute in a small local bar popular among students to try some chicha, which was tasty. The neighborhood itself lacks the requisite richness in history and detail to be interesting on its own. I'd recommend trying to find specific historical figures and stories to tell while walking through to make it more interesting similar to the tale of Bolivar being led out of his window by his mistress to avoid assassination--more of those. The Gold Museum was underwhelming, very repetitive with the same displays essentially being put up in a dozen or so rooms under the names of different ingenious tribes. Even most of the collection in the vault was kind of meh. The first section explaining how gold was mined and worked by these cultures was cool though. I did enjoy being taken to lunch at a popular local spot for some tasty ajiaco, that was nice.

Doing what: Bogota Historic Tour: La Candelaria, Monserrate and Gold Museum

Harvie Hopkins United States of ... 

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2016

I enjoyed getting out and seeing the city, the art, and even the unplanned visit to Paloquemao market. Was confined to the car and only slow drivebys for a lot of the most impressive art due to unsafe neighborhoods we passed through. Honestly the market was the best part, loads of interesting and tasty fruits and lots of color and activity everywhere.

Doing what: Private Bogotá Street Art Tour

eglumac

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

Great tour! Our tour guide was prompt and picked us up at the assigned time. She was very friendly and a great conversationalist. The tour was scheduled to be a 5 hour tour, however she ended up spending about 6 hours with us. We would not have been able to go to all the places we went to in six hours without the guide. It was well worth the money spent!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Hatajai L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2016

The tour was amazing with Ms. Patricia. She was very accomodating and thorough with the highlights of the city. Also she was very friendly and personable. We enjoyed ourselves greatly.

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Catherine J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved this tour- with only a short time in Bogota this tour offered a great taste of the city. Julio was a very knowledgeable and entertaining tour guide.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Gerald S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

This was one of the best tours and the guide when out of his was to inform us about this great city and the people. He was on time, spoke french and English, I rate Luise as on of the best guides. This was our first tour on this trip and it set the bar very high for other guides and tours.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Natalia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2016

I loved the tour! I learned a lot with my super knowledgeable tour guide who was very friendly. She shared her umbrella until I bought one and then it stopped raining, of course. Since it was a private tour, she let me stop everywhere I wanted to shop, look around, and take photos. I was able to pick the place where I wanted to have lunch.

Doing what: Bogota Historic Tour: La Candelaria, Monserrate and Gold Museum

Debra C

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2016

I have provided feedback but seem to keep getting requests.... Maybe because I keep giving it low ratings. I
The guide (which in my opinion) makes the trip was very distracted. He was in the phone multiple times (4) with someone. He left us alone for some time in a museum.

Doing what: Bogotá by Night City Tour

Stingray

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour guide Fernando was very informative and humorous!

Doing what: Bogotá Layover Private City Sightseeing Tour with Round-Trip Airport Transport

Elizabeth S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour! You see a lot of Bogota in a short time and the view from Mount Monserrate is beautiful.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

David D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I booked the full-day tour of Bogota because I had a limited amount of time in the city but wanted a thorough exposure as much as you can get in one day without feeling rushed. Fabian arrived on schedule at my hotel. He asked if I had any specific interests and said that he could be flexible based on what I wanted to do. I told him that I wanted to see Monserrate, the Quinta de Bolivar, the gold museum and La Candelaria. I also told him that I was interested in the author Gabriel Garcia Marquez who had spent time and worked in Bogota for the local paper for a period. Fabian was very personable and knowledgeable about a variety of subjects, including my interests, and we had a great day together discussing various topics. We started at Monserrate which was not crowded at that time in the morning which saved us having to wait in line for the funicular. He shared his knowledge and pointed out some very interesting things throughout the day that made this tour well worth it to me. We stopped at a local restaurant for lunch before leaving La Candelaria to head north and that was a great choice as well.

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Jorinne J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fernando was an excellent guide - he gave us a great overview of Bogota with enough insight to really understand the history and culture of this great city!

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Andreea V

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a nice tour of the city. Pick-up from hotel was on time and Fernando was a good guide. Knowledgeable and with a perfect English . Really recommend this tour, as Bogota is a big city and cannot be covered otherwise .

Doing what: Bogotá City Sightseeing Tour with Optional Lunch and Cable Car Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message